Language selection

Search

Request a review of your project near water: Step 2. Understand the project review process

Before you request a review of your project or a project authorization, understand the overview of steps in this process:

1 Avoiding risks to fish and fish habitat

We encourage all project proponents to avoid causing the death of fish and the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat.

The measures to protect fish and fish habitat will help proponents avoid risks to fish and fish habitat. If there are aquatic species at risk in the area, proponents must also avoid harming, harassing, capturing or taking those species. Proponents who can implement these measures do not require a project review by the program.

2 Mitigating risks to fish and fish habitat

The Fish and Fish Habitat Protection Program recognizes that certain projects:

  • must take place in or near water
  • have the potential to cause harmful impacts to fish and fish habitat

We’ve developed a series of codes of practice for routine works, undertakings and activities. These provide guidance on how to avoid and mitigate risks to fish and fish habitat and comply with the Fisheries Act and Species at Risk Act:

The following interim codes of practice will remain as interim versions and can continue to be used. Further analysis and review is required before final versions of these codes can be published:

3 Regulatory review

The various steps involved in the regulatory review of works, undertakings and activities under the Fisheries Act and the Species at Risk Act (and their respective regulations) are illustrated in the FFHPP Regulatory Review Process Map. The first page of this map demonstrates how proponents should use the guidance found on the Projects Near Water website to determine if a request for review form should be submitted.

In cases where risks to fish and fish habitat cannot be avoided, the project does not fall within waterbodies where our review isn’t required or the scope of the project is not entirely covered under standards and code of practice, proponents are asked to submit a request for review to their Fish and Fish Habitat Protection Program regional office.

Once a request for review form is received, the program will review the proposed project to identify risks to fish and fish habitat. The Fish and Fish Habitat Protection Program will work with the proponent to ensure that risks are managed in the best way possible. FFHPP Regulatory Review Process Map on pages 2-4 outlines the internal decision making processes, including the review of submitted applications to obtain Fisheries Act authorizations, and the various elements considered while conducting the review of proposed works, undertakings or activities in or near water.

4 Species at Risk Act Permit

Submit a request for review if your project may result in the:

  • death, harm, harassment, capture or taking possession, collection, purchase, sale or trade an individual (or any part or derivative of such an individual) of an aquatic species at risk
  • damage or destruction of the residence of an aquatic species at risk
  • the destruction of any part of the critical habitat of an aquatic species at risk

5 Authorization

If death of fish, the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat will likely result from a project, you are required to obtain an authorization from the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard as per Paragraph 34.4(2)(b) or 35(2)(b) of the Fisheries Act Regulations.

The authorization includes terms and conditions the proponent must follow to avoid, mitigate, offset (i.e. counterbalance impacts), and monitor the impacts to fish and fish habitat resulting from the project. Failure to abide by these terms and conditions is a contravention of the Act and may result in fines.

The Fish and Fish Habitat Protection Policy Statement explains the fish and fish habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act and outlines how the Department will implement these provisions.

If an aquatic species at risk or its critical habitat are also affected by the project, the authorization will also act as a SARA permit, and contain terms and conditions to minimize impacts on the species and its critical habitat. The Fish and Fish Habitat Protection Policy Statement explains the fish and fish habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act and outlines how the Department will implement these provisions.

Offsetting impacts to fish and fish habitat

Offsetting impacts to fish and fish habitat is required when impacts can’t be avoided or mitigated and you’re applying for a project authorization.

The objective of offsetting is to counterbalance unavoidable impacts to fish and fish habitat.

The Policy for Applying Measures to Offset Impacts to Fish and Fish Habitat Under the Fisheries Act provides more offset guidance, consistent with the fish and fish habitat protection provisions of Canada’s Fisheries Act.

It’s recommended that an application for authorization only be pursued after a project review has been completed.

Consult our guidance documents for further information regarding authorizations.

Aboriginal and treaty rights

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for the duty to consult, and where appropriate accommodate Indigenous peoples of Canada in relation to Fisheries Act or Species at Risk Act regulatory decisions that may have the potential to impact Aboriginal and treaty rights.

Did you find what you were looking for?

What was wrong?

You will not receive a reply. Telephone numbers and email addresses will be removed.
Maximum 300 characters

Thank you for your feedback

Date modified:

Demander l’examen d’un projet près de l’eau : Étape 2. Comprendre le processus de revue de projet

Voici une vue d'ensemble des étapes à considérer avant de demander l’examen de votre projet ou une autorisation de projet :

1 Éviter les répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat

Nous encourageons tous les promoteurs de projets à ne pas causer la mort du poisson, ainsi que la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de son habitat.

Les mesures visant à protéger le poisson et son habitat aideront les promoteurs à éviter les répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat. S'il y a des espèces aquatiques en péril dans la région, les promoteurs doivent également éviter de nuire, de harceler, de capturer ou de prendre ces espèces. Les promoteurs qui peuvent mettre ces mesures en œuvre n’ont pas besoin de recourir au programme pour l'examen du projet.

2 Atténuer les répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat

Le Programme de protection du poisson et de son habitat reconnaît que certains projets:

Nous avons élaboré une série de normes et de codes de pratiques pour les ouvrages, entreprises et activités communs. Ceux-ci fournissent des conseils sur la façon d'éviter et d'atténuer les répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat et sont conformes à la Loi sur les pêches et à la Loi sur les espèces en péril:

3 Examen réglementaire

Les différentes étapes de l’examen réglementaire des ouvrages, des entreprises et des activités en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches et de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (et de leurs règlements respectifs) sont illustrées dans le Diagramme du processus d’examen réglementaire du PPPH. La première page de ce diagramme démontre comment les promoteurs devraient utiliser l’orientation fournie sur le site internet des Projets près de l’eau pour déterminer si un formulaire de demande d’examen devrait être soumis.

Dans les cas où les répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat ne peuvent pas être évitées, que le projet ne se situe pas dans des plans d'eau qui ne sont pas assujettis à un examen ou si la portée du projet n'est pas entièrement couverte par les normes et le code de pratique, les promoteurs sont invités à soumettre un formulaire de demande d'examen à leur bureau régional du Programme de protection du poisson et de son l'habitat.

Une fois le formulaire de demande d’examen reçu, le programme examinera les plans du projet afin d'identifier les risques potentiels à la conservation et la protection du poisson et de son habitat et collaborera avec le promoteur pour s'assurer que ces répercussions sont gérées de la meilleure façon possible. Les pages 2 à 4 du Diagramme du processus d’examen réglementaire du PPPH  présentent les processus décisionnels internes, notamment l’examen d’applications soumises pour l’obtention d’autorisation en vertu de la Loi sur les Pêches, ainsi que les éléments variés considérés lors de l’évaluation des impacts d’ouvrages, des entreprises et des activités proposés dans ou près de l’eau.

4 Permis de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Soumettez une demande d'examen si votre projet peut entraîner la :

5 Autorisation

Si le projet risque d’entraîner la mort du poisson, la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de son habitat, vous devez obtenir une autorisation du ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne, conformément à l'alinéa 34.4(2)(b) ou 35(2)(b) du Règlement de la Loi sur les pêches.

L’autorisation comprend les conditions que le promoteur doit suivre pour éviter, atténuer, compenser (c’est-à-dire contrebalancer les répercussions) et surveiller les répercussions sur le poisson et son habitat résultant du projet. Le non-respect de ces termes et conditions constitue une infraction à la Loi et peut entraîner des amendes.

L'énoncé de politique sur la protection du poisson et de son habitat explique les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches relatives à la protection du poisson et de son habitat, et indique comment le ministère mettra en œuvre ces dispositions.

Si le projet touche également une espèce aquatique en péril ou son habitat essentiel, l'autorisation agira également comme un permis en vertu de la LEP et contiendra des conditions permettant de minimiser les répercussions sur l'espèce et son habitat essentiel.

Compenser les effets sur le poisson et son habitat

Il est nécessaire de compenser les effets sur le poisson et son habitat lorsque ces répercussions ne peuvent pas être évitées ou atténuées et que vous demandez une autorisation de projet.

L'objectif de la compensation est de contrebalancer les répercussions inévitables sur le poisson et son habitat.

La Politique sur l’application des mesures visant à compenser les effets néfastes sur le poisson et son habitat en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches (disponible sous peu) offre davantage d’indications en matière de compensation, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches du Canada en matière de protection du poisson et de son habitat.

Il est recommandé de ne recourir à une demande d’autorisation qu’après l’examen du projet.
Consultez nos documents d'orientation pour plus d'informations sur les autorisations.

Droits ancestraux et issus de traités

Pêches et Océans Canada est responsable de l'obligation de consulter et, le cas échéant, d'accommoder les peuples autochtones du Canada en ce qui concerne les décisions réglementaires en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches ou de la Loi sur les espèces en péril susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités.

Date de modification :