Farmed Mussels

Salmon

Credit: Brenda Guild

Names:

Eastern Blue mussel (Mytilus edulis), Western Blue mussel (Mytilus trossulus), Gallo/Mediterranean mussel (Mytilus galloprovincialis)

Locations:

British Columbia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec.

Methods:

Seed collection from the wild (method mostly used on the East Coast) or procured from hatcheries (method mostly used on the West Coast), followed by grow-out to market size in mussel socks suspended from long-line systems (ropes) or rafts.

At a Glance

Mussels are Canada's top shellfish aquaculture product, produced in Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec. Mussels are available year round, it is the second most important species in terms of volume and farm-gate value produced in Canada. Much of Canada’s mussel production is exported to markets in the United States.

Value

The annual average farm-gate value of mussel culture in Canada was $ 44.7 million in the last five years (2011-2015). Prince Edward Island is the largest mussel cultivator in the country and its production represents around 65% of the total value. The farm-gate value represents a product’s value once it is sold by the producer.

Production

An annual average of 25,800 tonnes of mussels was produced in the last five years (2011-2015).

Prince Edward Island produced almost 80% of that quantity.

Cultured mussels are not grown on the ocean bottom; rather, the seed or spat is transferred to grow to market size on mussel socks suspended from rafts or longlines near the surface of the water. Mussels obtain all of their nutritional requirements naturally from the marine environment and do not require additional feeding from farmers. They are filter feeders and eat by pumping and filtering water through gill filaments that filter out small particles. Blue mussels grow for 18 to 24 months, depending on location, water temperature and the availability of plankton for feed. The average market-size blue mussel is harvested when it reaches between 5.5 to 6 centimetres.

When properly sited and designed, blue mussel culture operations cause minimal impact to the marine environment. In fact, mussel farming in combination with finfish and marine plant farming has the potential to reduce the impact on the marine environment. This concept is commonly referred to as “integrated multi-trophic aquaculture” and is the subject of a number of scientific research initiatives.

For more information on aquaculture’s impact, consult:

Regulations

In Prince Edward Island, a management board with members from DFO, the province, and industry, issues a lease which has a licence attached. Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for issuing shellfish licences to farmers in British Columbia. The administration of aquaculture tenures in British Columbia is the responsibility of the provincial government. In other provinces where mussels are farmed, there are provincial regulations and legislation for the administration of aquaculture site leases, licences, and permits.

Scientific Research

Scientific research informs the development of, and decisions related to, aquaculture regulations in Canada. Scientific studies related to the farming of blue mussels are also focused on optimizing the collection of mussel seed; strengthening the capacity of mussels to remain on long-line ropes during harvest; mitigating and controlling invasive tunicate species; assessing carrying capacity in and around culture sites; and using new technologies to improve blue mussel culture production while ensuring the sustainable development of the industry.

Moules d'élevage

Salmon

Illustration : Brenda Guild

Noms :

Moule bleue de l’est (Mytilus edulis), Moule bleue de l'ouest (Mytilus trossulus), Moule gallo (Mytilus galloprovincialis)

Emplacements :

Colombie-Britannique, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouvelle-Écosse, Québec, et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Méthode :

Collecte de naissains de leur état naturel (méthode utilisée surtout sur la côte Est), ou achat de semis d’écloseries (méthode utilisée surtout sur la côte Ouest), suivie d'un processus de grossissement jusqu'à ce que ceux-ci atteignent la taille marchande mené au moyen de boudins de moules suspendus à des systèmes de filières (cordes) ou à des radeaux

En bref

La moule est le principal coquillage cultivé au Canada; on la cultive dans les provinces de la Colombie-Britannique, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Québec ainsi celle de Terre-Neuve et Labrador. Les moules sont disponibles toute l'année, elles représentent la deuxième plus importante espèce cultivée au Canada en terme de volume et de valeur à la ferme. La majorité des moules cultivées au Canada sont exportées dans les marchés des États-Unis.

Valeur

La moyenne annuelle de la valeur à la ferme de la production de moules était de 44,7  millions de dollars durant les cinq dernières années (2011-2015) . L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard est le plus grand producteur de moules au pays, sa production représente environ 65% de la valeur totale canadienne. La valeur à la ferme correspond à la valeur du produit lorsque ce dernier est mis en marché par le producteur.

Production

Une moyenne annuelle de  25 800 tonnes de moules a été produite au Canada dans les cinq dernières années (2011-2015).

L 'Île-du-Prince-Édouard a produit presque 80 % de cette quantité.

Les moules d'élevage ne sont pas cultivées sur le plancher océanique : le naissain libre ou naturel est transféré sur des boudins de moules suspendus à des radeaux ou à des filières placées près de la surface de l'eau jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne la taille marchande. Le milieu naturel marin répond à tous les besoins nutritionnels des moules, par conséquent, celles-ci n'ont pas besoin d'être nourries par les mytiliculteurs. La moule bleue est un organisme filtreur et mange en pompant et en filtrant l'eau grâce à ses filaments branchiaux, lesquels éliminent les petites particules. L'espèce se développe pendant une période de 18 à 24 mois, selon l'emplacement, la température de l'eau et la quantité de plancton à manger. La moule bleue de taille  commerciale moyenne est pêchée lorsqu'elle mesure de 5,5 à 6 cm. (I can't correct the format, please ensure consistency)

Lorsqu'elles sont bien situées et bien conçues, les exploitations mytilicoles ont peu de répercussions sur le milieu marin. En fait, la mytiliculture, combinée à la pisciculture et à la production de plantes marines, peut réduire l'impact sur l'environnement marin. Ce concept est communément appelé « aquaculture multitrophique intégré » et constitue le thème de plusieurs projets de recherche scientifique.

Pour en savoir plus sur les répercussions de l'aquaculture, consultez :

Réglementation

À l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, un conseil de gestion composé de membres du MPO, de la province et de l'industrie délivre une concession à laquelle est rattaché un permis. Pêches et Océans Canada a la responsabilité de délivrer les permis de pêche aux mollusques et aux crustacés aux éleveurs de la Colombie-Britannique. L'administration des concessions aquacoles en Colombie-Britannique relève du gouvernement provincial. Dans les autres provinces où sont cultivées des moules, des lois et des règlements provinciaux régissent l'administration des baux, des licences et des permis de pêche liés à l'aquaculture.

Recherche scientifique

Les recherches scientifiques alimentent l'élaboration des règlements régissant l'aquaculture au Canada ainsi que les décisions connexes. Les études scientifiques sur l'élevage de la moule bleue portent également sur l'optimisation de la collecte des naissains de moule, le renforcement de la capacité des moules à rester sur les filières pendant la récolte, l'atténuation et le contrôle des espèces envahissantes de tuniciers, l'évaluation de la capacité de charge dans les sites aquacoles et à proximité et l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies pour améliorer la production de moules bleues, tout en assurant un développement durable de l'industrie.