Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice Video

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA)

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Video

Featured Publication

Canadian Aquaculture R/D Review 2013 PDF

Over the past decade, scientists have studied ways to improve the productivity and environmental sustainability of marine aquaculture practices. This includes examining the economic and environmental benefits of growing finfish, shellfish and marine plants together – an idea now known as integrated multi-trophic aquaculture.

Integrated multi-trophic aquaculture borrows a concept from nature; namely, that in the food chain, one species always finds a feeding niche in the waste generated by another species. Researchers thus tested the theory that nutrients fed to finfish would generate high-quality organic and inorganic waste that shellfish and marine plants depend on to grow.

In New Brunswick, for example, a team of scientists studied the combined culture of salmon, kelp, and blue mussels at several aquaculture sites for more than five years. The fine particulate wastes from the salmon cages, including from food pellets, were extracted by the mussels, while the kelp absorbed the dissolved inorganic waste created by the farm. This “recycling” of aquaculture nutrients led to a reduction of the waste products in the marine environment, including on the ocean floor. It also decreased the risk of algal blooms and cloudy water around the integrated multi-trophic aquaculture site.

Research conducted in British Columbia achieved similar results. Between 2007 and 2009, for example, a full-scale operation examined the combined culture of five species: sablefish, sea cucumber, sea urchin, shellfish, and kelp. Among the results, sea cucumbers were found to use the waste deposits below fish pens as a food source and did not appear to accumulate heavy metals or other trace contaminants.

Designing an effective IMTA system. An effective IMTA operation requires the selection, arrangement and placement of various... read more...

IMTA

Integrated multi-trophic aquaculture regulations

To put the results of integrated multi-trophic aquaculture research into commercial practice, aquaculture regulations first had to be amended. For example, operators licensed to farm salmon also needed to be licensed to culture shellfish and marine plants on the same site. New procedures also had to be developed and added to the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program to ensure that facilities practicing this kind of aquaculture adhered to the same food safety standards required for shellfish-only culture operations.

As a result, today’s operators of this kind are required to have an integrated multi-trophic aquaculture management plan which includes, among other factors, a detailed hazard analysis of all critical control points on the site. Integrated multi-trophic aquaculture operations must also have a documented statement that all shellfish products destined for interprovincial or international trade will be processed in a federally registered fish processing establishment as required by Canada’s Fish Inspection Regulations.

Canadian Integrated Multi-Tropic Aquaculture Network

IMTA logoResearch on integrated multi-trophic aquaculture continues to evolve and mature. A strategic network of 27 scientists from eight universities, six Fisheries and Oceans Canada laboratories, and one provincial laboratory is presently undertaking 14 multi-disciplinary projects. These projects are focused on developing integrated multi-trophic aquaculture systems in four main areas: ecological design, ecosystem interactions, and biomitigative efficiency; system innovation and engineering; economic viability and social acceptance; and regulatory science.

The Network is primarily funded by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, with additional funds and in-kind support from the Department and industry partners. This national initiative supports interdisciplinary research and development and the training of highly qualified persons to further develop integrated multi-trophic aquaculture approaches.

More information:

Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée

Nouvelles méthodes de contrôle pour gérer le pou du poisson

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice Video

Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) - organismes limivores

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Video

Publication du jour

L’Aquaculture au Canada : Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI)

Au cours de la dernière décennie, des scientifiques ont étudié des méthodes innovatrices pour améliorer la productivité et la durabilité environnementale des pratiques aquacoles marines. Cela comprend l'étude des avantages économiques et environnementaux de la culture simultanée de poissons, de mollusques et de plantes marines au profit de toutes les cultures et l'environnement. Il s'agit d'une idée maintenant connue sous le nom d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI).

L'AMTI emprunte ce concept à la nature; notamment au concept voulant que, dans la chaîne alimentaire, une espèce trouve toujours une source de nourriture dans les déchets d'une autre espèce. Des chercheurs ont donc mis à l'essai la théorie voulant que les nutriments donnés aux poissons génèrent des déchets organiques et inorganiques dont dépendent les mollusques et les plantes marines pour croître.

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, par exemple, une équipe de scientifiques a étudié la culture combinée de saumons, de varech et de moules bleues sur plusieurs sites aquacoles pendant plus de cinq ans. Les déchets de particules fines provenant des cages de saumon, y compris ceux des aliments en granulés, ont été extraits par les moules tandis que le varech absorbait les déchets inorganiques dissous créés par l'exploitation. Ce « recyclage » de nutriments aquacoles a entraîné une réduction des déchets dans le milieu marin, y compris sur le plancher océanique. Il a aussi réduit le risque de prolifération d'algues et d'eaux troubles aux alentours du site d'AMTI. De plus, toutes ces espèces cultivées ont une valeur économique en plus de jouer un rôle clé dans les services et les processus de recyclage de cet écosystème artificiel.

Des recherches effectuées en Colombie-Britannique sont parvenues à des résultats similaires. Entre 2007 et 2009, par exemple, une exploitation à grande échelle a examiné la culture combinée de cinq espèces : la morue charbonnière, l'holothurie, l'oursin, le mollusque et le varech. Les résultats ont révélé, entre autres, que les holothuries utilisent les dépôts de déchets sous les filets des cages comme source de nourriture et ne semblent pas accumuler des métaux lourds ou tout autre contaminant trace.

Concevoir un système d'AMTI efficace pour qu'une exploitation d'AMTI soit efficace, il faut... des exploitation aquacoles. Pour en savoir plus...

IMTA

Règlements de l'AMTI

Afin de mettre les résultats des recherches d'AMTI en pratique à l'échelle commerciale, des modifications doivent tout d'abord être apportées aux règlements sur l'aquaculture. Par exemple, les exploitants détenant un permis d'élevage de saumon devaient aussi être titulaires d'un permis d'élevage de mollusques et de plantes marines sur le même site. De nouvelles procédures ont aussi dû être mises au point et ajoutées au Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques afin d'assurer que les installations d'AMTI respectaient les mêmes normes de salubrité des aliments requises pour les exploitations pratiquant exclusivement la culture de mollusques.

Ainsi, les exploitants d'AMTI d'aujourd'hui doivent avoir un plan de gestion d'AMTI qui comprend, entre autres, une analyse détaillée des risques de tous les points de contrôle critiques du site. Les exploitations d'AMTI doivent aussi avoir un énoncé documenté indiquant que tous les mollusques destinés au commerce interprovincial ou international seront traités dans un établissement de transformation du poisson agréé par le gouvernement fédéral, comme le demande le Règlement sur l'inspection du poisson du Canada.

Réseau canadien d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée

IMTA logoLa recherche sur l'AMTI continue d'évoluer et se développer. Un réseau stratégique de 27 scientifiques provenant de huit universités, six laboratoires de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et un laboratoire provincial mène actuellement 14 projets multidisciplinaires. Ces projets se concentrent sur le développement de systèmes d'AMTI par quatre principaux aspects : la conception écologique, l'interaction des écosystèmes et l'efficacité de la bioatténuation; l'innovation et l'ingénierie des systèmes; la viabilité économique et l'assentiment collectif et; la régulation des sciences.

Le RCAMTI reçoit la majorité de son financement du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, avec des fonds supplémentaires et un appui non financier du MPO et de partenaires de l'industrie. Cette initiative nationale appuie la recherche et le développement interdisciplinaires et la formation de personnes hautement qualifiées afin de développer davantage les approches d'AMTI.

Complément d'information :