Farmed Arctic char

Salmon

Credit: Brenda Guild

Names:

Arctic Char or Arctic Charr (Salvelinus alpinus)

Locations:

Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec, and Yukon

Methods:

Juveniles: land-based hatchery facilities (flow through and recirculation)

Grow-Out: land-based systems (flow through and recirculation) and saltwater net pens

Broodstock: land-based (flow through and recirculation)

At a Glance

Freshwater Arctic char aquaculture is a small, but growing industry in Canada. As its name suggests, Arctic char thrives in cold water and so is suited to aquaculture in Canada’s North.

While the farming of Arctic char is still relatively young in Canada, the industry is diverse. Operators produce both eggs and mature fish. Arctic char eggs are exported to a number of countries eager to develop their own char industries, while the meat is sold both domestically and abroad. Arctic char aquaculture is benefiting First Nations and remote communities in Canada, economically and socially.

For more information on aquaculture’s impact, consult Communities and Employment.

Regulations

The Arctic char aquaculture industry is comprehensively regulated at the federal, provincial and territorial levels. Regulation of the industry helps to ensure sustainable farms and the environments in which they operate. Provincial and territorial governments have regulatory responsibilities in licensing sites and processing plants. Management of the aquaculture industry is based on science and also incorporates traditional and local knowledge.

Scientific Research

Scientific research is important for the responsible development of the Arctic char aquaculture industry in Canada. A number of innovative research initiatives have been undertaken by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, industry, academic and other government researchers to optimize Arctic Char growth performance and health, as well as environmental conditions in culture practices.

Omble chevalier d’élevage

Salmon

Illustration : Brenda Guild

Noms :

Omble chevalier (Salvelinus alpinus)

Emplacements :

Alberta, Manitoba, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Ontario, Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Yukon

Méthodes :

Juvéniles : écloseries sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation)

Grossissement : systèmes sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation) et parcs en filet en eau salée

Stock de géniteurs : sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation)

En bref

L’élevage de l’omble chevalier en eau douce constitue une petite industrie, mais cette dernière connaît une expansion au Canada. L’omble chevalier se développe dans les eaux froides, comme celles de l’Arctique. Cette espèce est donc adaptée à l’aquaculture dans le Nord canadien.

Même si l’élevage de l’omble chevalier est encore relativement jeune au Canada, cette industrie est diversifiée. Les éleveurs produisent à la fois des œufs et des poissons matures. On exporte les œufs dans de nombreux pays souhaitant développer leur propre industrie de l’omble chevalier, tandis qu’on vend la chair du poisson tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale. De plus, l’aquaculture de l’omble chevalier génère des retombées économiques et sociales positives pour les Premières nations et les collectivités éloignées du Canada.

Pour en savoir davantage sur les répercussions de l’aquaculture, consultez Prospérité économique et les communautés.

Réglementation

L’industrie aquacole de l’omble chevalier est entièrement réglementée à l’échelle fédérale, provinciale et territoriale. La réglementation de l’industrie permet d’assurer la durabilité des fermes d’élevage et des milieux dans lesquels ces fermes sont exploitées. Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux doivent assumer des responsabilités réglementaires pour délivrer des permis aux sites et aux usines de transformation. La gestion de l’industrie aquacole est fondée sur les sciences; elle s’appuie également sur les connaissances locales et traditionnelles.

Recherche scientifique

La recherche scientifique est essentielle pour favoriser le développement responsable de l’industrie aquacole de l’omble chevalier au Canada. De nombreux projets de recherche novateurs ont été entrepris par des chercheurs de Pêches et Océans Canada, de l’industrie et du secteur universitaire, et par d’autres chercheurs du gouvernement, en vue d’optimiser le rendement de la croissance et la santé de l’omble chevalier, ainsi que les conditions environnementales liées aux pratiques d’élevage.