Farmed Trout

Brook trout
Rainbow trout
Steelhead

Credit: Brenda Guild

Names:

Rainbow trout / Steelhead (Oncorhynchus mykiss), Brown Trout (Salmo trutta), Lake trout / Lake char (Salvelinus namaycush) and Brook Trout / Speckled Trout (Salvelinus fontinalis)

Locations:

Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan

Methods:

Juveniles: land-based hatchery facilities (flow-through and recirculation)

Grow-Out: freshwater net pens, saltwater net pens (for Steelhead culture), land-based raceways, and ponds

Broodstock: land-based (flow-through and recirculation)

At a Glance

Rainbow trout and Brook trout are the most common freshwater fish farmed in Canada. Rainbow trout that spend part of their life at sea or are farmed in saltwater are referred to as Steelhead trout. Ontario is the largest trout producer in Canada. In addition to commercial trout production, there are many privately owned operations that grow trout for enhancement or recreational fishing purposes. Trout is the third most valuable species raised in Canada in terms of farm-gate value. Most rainbow trout is exported to the United States.

Value

The annual average farm-gate value of trout culture in Canada was $40.7 million in the last five years (2011-2015). Ontario’s trout culture represents almost 50% of this total. The farm-gate value represents a product’s value once it is sold by the producer.

Production

An annual average of 7,000 tonnes of trout was produced in the last five years (2011-2015) in Canada. Ontario produced 55% of this amount. Trout production in Ontario is located in two principal areas: south-western Ontario, which primarily grows fingerlings for stocking or enhancement; and northern Ontario, where most grow-out sites are located in the waters of Georgian Bay and around Manitoulin Island in the North Channel of Lake Huron.

Quebec is a also an important producer of trout, with Rainbow trout and Brook trout as its main farmed species. Aquaculture activities in Quebec’s freshwater are performed throughout the province of Quebec, with some concentrations in the Estrie, Laurentians, Outaouais, and Centre-Quebec regions.

Rainbow trout is the most important aquaculture species in Saskatchewan. Commercial production in the province is found almost entirely in the Lake Diefenbaker area.

For more information on aquaculture’s impact, consult Aquaculture statistics and reports.

Regulations

Trout farming is comprehensively regulated at the federal, provincial and territorial levels to ensure that farms maintain the highest standards of food safety, animal health, and environmental sustainability. Provincial and territorial governments also have regulatory responsibilities in licensing farm sites and processing plants. Management of the aquaculture industry is based on science and also incorporates traditional and local knowledge.

Licences to cultivate trout in British Columbia are administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada as authorized through the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations. In British Columbia, provincial legislation guides the administration of aquaculture site tenures.

Scientific Research

Scientific research informs the development of, and decisions related to, trout farming regulations in Canada. This includes regulations that serve to prevent any negative effects of trout-farming on water quality and the environment. Science related to trout aquaculture has focused on advanced feed technology and feeding techniques to ensure that the maximum amount of trout feed is absorbed by the fish. Research on freshwater culture has also studied trout health issues, such as bacterial coldwater disease.

Truite d'élevage

Brook troutRainbow troutSteelhead

Illustration : Brenda Guild

Noms :

Truite arc-en-ciel/saumon arc-en-ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss), truite brune/truite de mer (Salmo trutta), touladi/truite grise (Salvelinus namaycush) et omble de fontaine/truite mouchetée (Salvelinus fontinalis)

Emplacements :

Alberta, Colombie-Britannique, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Manitoba, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Ontario, Québec, Saskatchewan et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Méthodes :

Juvéniles : écloseries sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation)

Grossissement : parcs en filets en eau douce (et en eau salée pour la truite arc-en-ciel), bassins allongés et étangs

Stock de géniteurs : sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation)

En bref

La truite arc-en-ciel et l'omble de fontaine comptent parmi les espèces de poisson d'eau douce les plus communément élevées en aquaculture au Canada. Les truites arc-en-ciel qui passent la plus grande partie de leur vie en mer ou qui sont élevées en eau salée sont appelées saumons arc-en-ciel. L'Ontario était le plus grand producteur de truites au Canada. Outre les sites de production commerciale de la truite, de nombreuses installations d'élevage privées produisent des poissons à des fins de mise en valeur des stocks et de pêche récréative. La truite est la troisième plus important espèce cultivée au Canada en termes de valeur à la ferme. La plupart des truites arc-en-ciel sont exportées vers les États-Unis.

Valeur

La moyenne annuelle de la valeur à la ferme de la truite d'élevage était de 40,7  millions de dollars dans les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). L’Ontario a produit 50% de cette quantité. La valeur à la ferme correspond à la valeur du produit une fois ce dernier vendu par le producteur.

Production

Une moyenne annuelle de 7 000 tonnes de truites a été produite au Canada dans les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). L’Ontario a produit 55% de cette quantité. L'industrie ontarienne est concentrée à deux endroits, soit au sud-ouest de la province où sont produits essentiellement des alevins destinés à l'empoissonnement et à la mise en valeur, et au nord de la province, où l'on trouve la plupart des sites de grossissement dans les eaux de la baie Georgienne et autour de l'île Manitoulin, dans le chenal nord du lac Huron.

Le Québec est un important producteur de truites; la truite arc-en-ciel et l’omble de fontaine sont les principales espèces d'élevage. L'aquaculture en eau douce du secteur québécois est pratiquée partout dans la province, quoi que certains élevages sont concentrés dans l'Estrie, les Laurentides, l'Outaouais, et le Centre du Québec.

La truite arc-en-ciel est la plus importante espèce aquacole en Saskatchewan. La production commerciale de cette province se concentre presque entièrement autour du lac Diefenbaker.

Pour en savoir plus sur les répercussions de l'aquaculture, consultez :

Réglementation

L'élevage des truites fait l'objet d'une réglementation complète à l'échelle fédérale, provinciale et territoriale pour veiller à ce que les installations piscicoles maintiennent des normes élevées en matière de salubrité des aliments, de santé animale et de durabilité environnementale. Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux doivent également assumer des responsabilités réglementaires pour délivrer des permis aux sites piscicoles et aux usines de transformation. La gestion de l'industrie aquacole est fondée sur les sciences; elle s'appuie également sur les connaissances locales et traditionnelles.

En Colombie-Britannique, les permis d'élevage de truite sont administrés par Pêches et Océans Canada en vertu du Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture alors que l'administration des tenures des sites d'aquaculture est régie par la réglementation provinciale.

Recherche scientifique

La recherche scientifique étaye l'élaboration de règlements et le processus décisionnel en matière d'élevage de la truite au Canada. La réglementation vise notamment à prévenir les effets nuisibles de l'élevage de la truite sur la qualité de l'eau et sur l'environnement. Notamment, des recherches ont porté sur des techniques évoluées en matière d'aliments et de nourrissage afin de parvenir à une absorption optimale des aliments par la truite d'élevage. D'autres recherches sur l'élevage en eau douce ont abordé certaines questions touchant la santé des truites, et notamment la maladie des eaux froides d'origine bactérienne.