Farmed Clams

Clams Shoftshell Clams Manila

Credit: Brenda Guild

Names:

Manila clam (Venerupis philippinarum), Soft-shell clam (Mya arenaria), Geoduck (Panopea generosa), Hard clam quahog (Mercenaria mercenaria), Littleneck clam (Protothaca staminea), Varnish clam (Nuttallia obscurata)

Locations:

British Columbia, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island

Methods:

Ocean floor beds

At a Glance

British Columbia is Canada’s major clam producing province with the aquaculture industry farming Manila clam, Varnish clam, Litlleneck clam and Geoduck. Clam culture is also important in Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia where the industry farms Quahog and Soft-shell clam.

Value

The annual average farm-gate value of clam culture in Canada was $ 9.2 million in the last five years (2011-2015). British Columbia clam culture production represents over 70% of this total. Farm-gate value represents a product’s value once it is sold by the producer.

Production

An annual average of 2,700 tonnes of clams was produced in the last five years (2011-2015) . British Columbia produced 60% of that quantity.

For more information on aquaculture’s impact, consult Aquaculture statistics and reports.

Regulations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for issuing shellfish licences in British Columbia. In Nova Scotia, farmers of Quahog and Soft-shell clams are licensed through the Province’s aquaculture licence and lease regulations. In Prince Edward Island, a management board with members from DFO, the province, and industry, issues a lease which has a licence attached.

Scientific Research

Scientific research informs the development of, and decisions related to, aquaculture regulations in Canada. Scientific research has also focused on improving the understanding of the basic biology of Geoduck clams as it relates to commercial aquaculture production, as well as the physiological and genetic characteristics that differentiate Soft-shell clam from other clam species. Combined with other research initiatives, these studies are facilitating informed decisions about the feasibility of clam culture in Canada and optimal spat collection, feeding, harvesting techniques, and examining new species such as Basket cockles (Clinocardium nuttallii).

Palourdes d'élevage

Clams Shoftshell Clams Manila

Illustration : Brenda Guild

Noms :

Palourde japonaise (Venerupis philippinarum), mye commune (Mya arenaria), panope du Pacifique (Panopea generosa), palourde américaine (Mercenaria mercenaria), palourde du Pacifique (Protothaca staminea), palourde lustrée (Nuttallia obscurata)

Emplacements :

Colombie-Britannique, Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Nouvelle-Écosse

Méthodes :

Parcs d’élevage sur le plancher océanique

En bref

La Colombie-Britannique est la province qui produit le plus de palourdes au Canada, avec des élevages de palourdes japonaises, de palourdes et de panopes du Pacifique. La vénériculture est aussi une activité importante à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et en Nouvelle-Écosse, où l'on élève la palourde américaine et la mye commune.

Valeur

La moyenne annuelle de la valeur à la ferme de la production de palourdes au Canada était de 9,2 millions de dollars durant les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). La production en Colombie-Britannique représente 70 % de ce total.

Production

Une moyenne annuelle de 2 700 tonnes de palourdes a été produite au Canada dans les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). La Colombie-Britannique a produit 60% de cette quantité.

Pour en savoir plus sur les répercussions de l'aquaculture, consultez Statistiques et rapports en aquaculture.

Réglementation

Pêches et Océans Canada est chargé de l'émission des permis d'élevage de mollusques et crustacés en Colombie-Britannique. En Nouvelle-Écosse, les permis d'élevage de palourde américaine et de mye commune relèvent de la réglementation provinciale applicable aux permis et concessions d'aquaculture.À l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, un conseil de gestion composé de membres du MPO, de la province et de l'industrie délivre une concession à laquelle est rattaché un permis.

Recherche scientifique

Les recherches scientifiques aliment l'élaboration de règlements régissant l'aquaculture au Canada ainsi que les décisions connexes. La recherche scientifique est surtout axée sur l'amélioration de la compréhension de la biologie fondamentale de la panope en lien avec la production de l’aquaculture commerciale, de même que sur les caractéristiques physiologiques et génétiques qui différencient la mye des autres espèces de palourdes. Combinées à d'autres projets de recherche, ces initiatives permettent de prendre des décisions éclairées quant à la faisabilité de la vénériculture au Canada et aux méthodes optimales de captage de naissain, d'alimentation et de récolte, tout en étudiant de nouvelles espèces, par exemple les bucardes de Nuttall (Clinocardium nuttallii).