Farmed Salmon

Salmon Salmon

Credit: Brenda Guild

Names:

Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar), Chinook Salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha), and Coho Salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch)

Locations:

British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Prince Edward Island

Methods:

Juveniles: land-based hatchery facilities (flow-through and recirculation);

Grow-out: saltwater net pens, some land-based systems;

Broodstock: land-based (flow through and recirculation)

At a Glance

Canada is the fourth-largest producer of farmed salmon in the world. Atlantic salmon is Canada’s top aquaculture export, although Chinook and Coho species are also farmed. The United States is Canada’s largest export market for farmed salmon. Farmed salmon is Canada’s third-largest seafood export by value, the largest agri-food export from British Columbia. Salmon production represents over 70% of the overall production volume produced in Canada and over 80% of the overall farm-gate value. It is a significant economic contributor to coastal and rural communities on the east and west coasts.

Value

The annual average farm-gate value of salmon culture in Canada was $735.2 million in the last five years (2011-2015). British Columbia’s salmon production represents about 60% of this total.  The farm-gate value represents a product’s value once it is sold by the producer.

Production

An annual average of 122,300 tonnes of salmon was produced in the last five years (2011-2015). Salmon has represented an average of 70% of total Canadian aquaculture volume. British Columbia’s salmon production represents over 60% of this total. 

For more information on aquaculture’s impact, consult Aquaculture statistics and reports:

Regulations

Salmon farming is comprehensively regulated to oversee the environmental, food safety, and animal health aspects of salmon operations. Provincial governments also have regulatory responsibilities in licensing aquaculture sites and processing plants. Regulation of the industry helps to ensure both sustainable salmon farms and the environments in which they operate.

Licences to cultivate salmon in British Columbia are administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada as authorized through the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations, while provincial legislation guides the administration of aquaculture site tenures.

Scientific Research

Scientific research informs the development of, and decisions related to, aquaculture management and regulations in Canada. This includes regulations related to the salmon-farming industry. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has been involved in a significant amount of research on salmon farming, especially with respect to the interactions of aquaculture operations with the marine environment and wild fish and shellfish. Other areas of cultured salmon research have focussed on aquatic animal health, fish feed composition, and product quality.

Saumon d'élevage

Salmon Salmon

Illustration : Brenda Guild

Noms :

Saumon de l'Atlantique (Salmo salar), saumon quinnat (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha) et saumon coho (Oncorhynchus kisutch)

Emplacements :

Colombie-Britannique, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Méthodes :

Juvéniles : écloseries sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation) et parcs en filet en eau douce

Grossissement : parcs en filet en eau salée, quelques systèmes sur terre

Stock de géniteurs : installations sur terre (circulation directe et recirculation) et parcs en filet en eau salée

En bref

Le Canada est le quatrième producteur mondial de saumon d'élevage. Le saumon de l'Atlantique est le produit aquacole le plus exporté, mais les saumons quinnat et coho sont d'autres espèces d'élevage. Les États-Unis sont le plus gros marché d'exportation pour le saumon d'élevage canadien. Le saumon d'élevage s'inscrit au troisième rang du point de vue de la valeur des exportations canadiennes de produits de la mer; c'est la principale source d’exportation de produits agricoles de la Colombie-Britannique. La production de saumon représente plus de 70% du volume total produit au Canada et plus de 80% de sa valeur à la ferme. Il s’agit d’un important moteur économique pour les collectivités côtières et rurales des côtes Est et Ouest.

Valeur

La moyenne annuelle de la valeur à la ferme du saumon d'élevage était de 735.2 millions de dollars durant les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). La production de la Colombie-Britannique représente plus de 60 % de ce total. La valeur à la ferme correspond à la valeur du produit une fois ce dernier vendu par le producteur.

Production

Une moyenne annuelle de 122 300 tonnes de saumon a été produite au Canada dans les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). La Colombie-Britannique a produit plus de 60 % de cette quantité.

Pour en savoir plus sur les répercussions de l'aquaculture, consultez :

Réglementation

La réglementation couvre entièrement tous les aspects de la salmoniculture : salubrité alimentaire, santé des animaux et aspects environnementaux des activités. Les gouvernements provinciaux sont également responsables de l'octroi des permis aux sites d'aquaculture et aux usines de transformation. La réglementation de l'industrie permet d'assurer la durabilité des fermes salmonicoles et des milieux dans lesquels ces fermes sont exploitées.

En Colombie-Britannique, les permis d'élevage de saumon sont administrés par Pêches et Océans Canada en vertu de la Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture alors que l'administration des tenures des sites d'aquaculture est régie par la réglementation provinciale.

Recherche scientifique

Les recherches scientifiques aliment l'élaboration des règlements régissant la gestion de l'aquaculture au Canada ainsi que les décisions connexes, y compris la réglementation de l'industrie salmonicole. Pêches et Océans Canada a participé à de nombreuses recherches sur la salmoniculture, notamment en ce qui concerne les interactions entre les activités de l'aquaculture d'une part, l'environnement marin et les espèces sauvages de poissons et de mollusques et crustacés de l'autre. D'autres recherches consacrées au saumon d'élevage ont porté sur la santé des animaux aquatiques, la composition des aliments des poissons et la qualité des produits.