Farmed Oysters

Oysters Oysters

Credit: Brenda Guild

Names:

American or Eastern Oyster (Crassostrea virginica), Pacific Oyster (Crassostrea gigas)

Locations:

British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec

Methods:

Ocean floor beds or off-floor suspension (holding bags, cages, trays or rope lines)

At a Glance

Farmed oysters are Canada’s second most valuable shellfish aquaculture species, after mussels. They are the third most important species raised in Canada in terms of volume. British Columbia is the leading oyster producing province in Canada.

Value

The annual average farm-gate value of oyster culture in Canada was $11.7 million in the last five years (2011-2015). British Columbia oyster culture production represents almost 45% of this total while Prince Edward Island represents just over 30% and New-Brunswick around 20%. Farm-gate value represents a product’s value once it is sold by the producer.

Production

An annual average of 25,800 tonnes of oysters was produced in the last five years (2011-2015). British Columbia produced 60% of that quantity.

The Pacific Oyster is the most widely cultured oyster in the world. Introduced from Japan specifically for aquaculture in Canada, this shellfish species is farmed only in British Columbia; primarily in the Strait of Georgia and on the west coast of Vancouver Island. Principal markets for British Columbia oysters are the United States, Singapore, and Hong Kong.

American Oysters are grown in the warm, shallow bays and estuaries of the southwestern Gulf of St. Lawrence along the coast of Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick, as well as in the coves of Cape Breton’s Bras d’Or Lakes. Water temperatures in other coastal areas are generally too cold for the natural reproduction and suitable growth of these oysters. Two types of American Oyster are produced in Atlantic Canada: the traditional-size oyster (between 7.6 and 12.7 cm or 3 to 5 inches); and the “cocktail” oyster (less than 7.6 cm or 3 inches).

Oyster farmers need a reliable source of seed or spat. Producers in Atlantic Canada have been using “spat collectors” since the 1950s to culture seed, while British Columbia oyster growers mainly purchase seed from hatcheries. When the oysters are ready for grow-out, they are spread onto beaches or placed in suspension culture systems. Suspension systems can be floating rafts, floating bags, bags in cages, trays, or bags on racks or tables. Held in suspension, oysters grow more rapidly and develop plumper meats because the water circulation increases the availability of food.

For more information on aquaculture’s impact, consult Aquaculture statistics and reports:

Regulations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for oyster lease applications in Prince Edward Island. In New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, provincial regulations and legislation guide the administration of aquaculture site leases, licences, and permits. Specific allowed periods of collection, which differ from one location to the other, are indicated on the spat collection licence.

Licences to cultivate Pacific oysters in British Columbia are administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada as authorized through the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations. In British Columbia, provincial legislation guides the administration of aquaculture site tenures.

Scientific Research

Scientific research informs the development of, and decisions related to, aquaculture regulations in Canada. This includes regulations related to the cultivation sites for American and Pacific oysters. Scientific studies have been undertaken to: improve production technologies and practices; mitigate the effects of cultivation gear on the marine ecosystem; and better understand diseases that might affect farmed oysters.

Huîtres d'élevage

Oysters Oysters

Illustration : Brenda Guild

Noms :

Huître américaine ou huître de l’est (Crassostrea virginica), huître creuse du Pacifique (Crassostrea gigas).

Emplacements :

Colombie-Britannique, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, et Québec

Méthodes :

Huîtrières sur le plancher océanique ou en suspension (sacs, cages, plateaux ou cordages)

En bref

Dans l'industrie de la conchyliculture au Canada, l'élevage de l'huître suit immédiatement celui de la moule en termes de rentabilité. Il s’agit de la troisième plus importante espèce cultivée au pays en terme de volume. La Colombie-Britannique est la province qui produit le plus d'huîtres au Canada.

Valeur

La moyenne annuelle de la valeur à la ferme de la production d’huîtres au Canada était de 11,7  millions de dollars durant les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). La production en Colombie-Britannique représente presque 45% de ce total alors que la production de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard représente un peu plus de 30% et celle du Nouveau-Brunswick d’environ 20%. La valeur à la ferme correspond à la valeur du produit lorsque ce dernier est mis en marché par le producteur.

Production

Une moyenne annuelle de  25 800 tonnes d’huîtres a été produite au Canada dans les cinq dernières années (2011-2015). La Colombie-Britannique a produit 60% de cette quantité.

L'huître creuse du Pacifique est l'huître la plus cultivée dans le monde. Importée du Japon spécifiquement pour l'aquaculture canadienne, cette espèce est élevée exclusivement en Colombie-Britannique, principalement dans le détroit de Géorgie et sur la côte Ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Les principaux marchés de l'huître creuse du Pacifique sont les États-Unis, Singapour et Hong Kong.

L'huître américaine est cultivée dans les eaux chaudes des baies et des estuaires peu profonds du sud-ouest du golfe du Saint-Laurent le long des côtes de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du Nouveau-Brunswick, ainsi que dans les anses du lac Bras d'Or de l'île du Cap-Breton. La température de l'eau dans les autres zones côtières est généralement trop froide pour permettre la reproduction naturelle et une croissance appropriée de cette espèce d'huître. Dans le Canada atlantique, on produit deux formes d'huîtres américaines : l'huître classique (de 76 à 127 mm, ou 3 à 5 pouces) et l'huître « cocktail » (moins de 76 mm, ou 3 pouces).

Les ostréiculteurs ont besoin d'une source fiable d'embryons ou de naissains. Les producteurs du Canada atlantique utilisent des « capteurs de naissains » depuis les années 1950 pour élever les naissains, tandis que ceux de la Colombie-Britannique se tournent vers les écloseries pour obtenir la semence. Le moment de la croissance venu, les huîtres sont placées sur des plages ou suspendues dans des systèmes de culture. Dans la culture en flottaison ou en suspension, les ouvrages peuvent revêtir la forme de radeaux flottants, de sacs flottants, de sacs en cages, de plateaux ou de sacs sur tables. Lorsqu'elles sont élevées en suspension, les huîtres croissent plus rapidement et deviennent plus charnues car la circulation de l'eau augmente la disponibilité de nourriture.

Pour en savoir plus sur les répercussions de l'aquaculture, consultez Statistiques et rapports en aquaculture 

Réglementation

Pêches et Océans Canada est responsable de l'administration des demandes de concession d'ostréiculture à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse, l'administration des concessions et des permis d'aquaculture est régie par la réglementation provinciale. Les différentes périodes pendant lesquelles le captage des naissains est autorisé varient d'un lieu à un autre et sont indiquées sur le permis de captage.

En Colombie-Britannique, les permis d'élevage de l'huître creuse du Pacifique sont administrés par Pêches et Océans Canada en vertu de la Règlement du Pacifique sur l'aquaculture. Dans cette province, l'administration des tenures des sites d'aquaculture est régie par la réglementation provinciale.

Recherche scientifique

Les recherches scientifiques alimentent l'élaboration des règlements régissant l'aquaculture au Canada ainsi que les décisions connexes, y compris les règlements régissant les sites d'élevage de l'huître américaine et de l'huître creuse du Pacifique. Des études scientifiques sont en cours en vue d'améliorer les technologies et pratiques de production; d'atténuer les effets des engins de culture sur l'écosystème marin; de mieux comprendre les maladies qui peuvent affecter les huîtres de culture.