The Scotian shelf: an atlas of human activities

Co-editors
Heather Breeze
Tracy Horsman

Maps
Tracy Horsman
Heather Breeze
Stanley K. Johnston

Layout and Design
Francis Kelly

Writers
Heather Breeze
Scott Coffen-Smout
Derek Fenton
Tim Hall
Glen Herbert
Tracy Horsman
Paul Macnab
David Millar
Peter Strain
Philip Yeats

All rights reserved. No part of this information (publication or product) may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, or stored in a retrieval system, without prior written permission of the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0S5 or at Copyright.Droitdauteur@communication.gc.ca.

Cat. No.
Fs23-483-2005
Fs23-483/2005-PDF
Fs23-483/2005E-HTML
ISBN
0-662-69160-1
0-662-69170-9 (PDF)
0-662-40952-3 (HTML)
URL
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Published by:
Oceans and Coastal Management Division
Oceans and Habitat Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Maritimes Region
P.O. Box 1006
Dartmouth, NS B2Y 4A2
fax: (902) 426-3855
e-mail: essim@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

DFO/2005-816

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2005

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements


Many people contributed to the development of the atlas by providing data, assisting with analyses, or reviewing the accompanying texts. The co-editors would like to thank Brian Altheim, Steve Bigelow, Christine Bonnell-Eisnor, and Eric Theriault from the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board; Pierre Chiasson, Tina Cleghorn, and Joel Richardson from the Government of New Brunswick; Andrew Kennedy, André Laflamme, Scott Lewis, Victor Li, and François Thériault from Environment Canada; Phil Moir from Natural Resources Canada; Erica deSousa from the Coastal Communities Network; Jason Cummings from ESRI (Environmental Systems Research Institute Inc.); Michael Earle and Judy Barrington from the Canadian Coast Guard; Linda Murphy from the Nova Scotia Department of Tourism, Culture, and Heritage; Alasdair Wilkie from Hibernia Atlantic; Paul Kravis from IT Telecom; Ahmed El Sakkary from Teleglobe; Ross Lee, telecommunications consultant; Bernadette MacNeil from the Sydney Ports Corporation; and Richard Parsons from the Atlantic Canada Cruise Association.

We would like to thank the many staff of Fisheries and Oceans Canada who provided information, advice or reviewed texts, including Chris Annand, Maureen Butler, Shelley Bond, Charlene Coates, Art Cosgrove, Verna Docherty, Kevin DesRoches, Christie Dyer, Michael Eagles, Mark Fowler, Jon Hansen, Erica Head, Joseph Hunt, Peter Hurley, Jim Jamieson, Chris Jones, Andrew McMaster, Bill MacEachern, Lisa Paon, Ted Potter, Dale Roddick, Andrew Smith, Tobias Spears, Greg Stevens, Reg Sweeney, Clarissa Theriault, Tammy Waechter, Gary Weber and Tana Worcester. The co-editors would especially like to thank Claire MacDonald who co-ordinated review of the fisheries information by the Fisheries and Aquaculture Management Branch.

Introduction

This atlas was prepared by the Eastern Scotian Shelf Integrated Management (ESSIM) Planning Office to show the extent of human activities on the Scotian Shelf and some of the management boundaries related to those activities. Managing multiple human activities is a major theme in the draft ESSIM Integrated Ocean Management Plan and a number of objectives set out in the plan relate to this theme. By providing information on the extent and intensity of a broad range of human activities on the shelf, it is hoped that managers, ocean users and others involved with the ESSIM initiative will have a better understanding of human activities in the offshore.

For several years, the ESSIM Planning Office has been collecting information on the location of human activities and management boundaries. However, this information was often portrayed in very different ways, covered different time periods and different geographic areas, or was in different data formats. With the atlas, our goal was to collect the most current information available from authoritative sources and present as complete a snapshot of human use on the Scotian Shelf as possible. We have not been completely successful, as complete geo-referenced data are not available for all activities. Nonetheless, we believe the picture of human activities shown here has helped us to develop a more complete view of the Scotian Shelf. In addition, the information collected and GIS layers developed to make the atlas will allow the Planning Office to develop decision-making tools for integrated management.

For most activities, the maps include information for the period 1999-2003. Choosing a consistent time period allows comparisons between activities and there is some information available for most activities for this period. However, for some activities complete information was not available or was not available in a format that we could use.

The text provided with each map includes important information which is intended to provide a better understanding of what is portrayed on the maps. Because several different people contributed to writing the descriptions there is more detail provided on some activities than others. In general, we chose to keep as much detail as was provided.

The Planning Office will continue to improve and expand the atlas as more data becomes available. Subsequent digital editions may be released in the future. If we have overlooked an important activity or are missing key management boundaries, please let us know so we can improve the atlas in the future.

Although we have made efforts to verify the information provided here, readers should be aware that the maps are intended to illustrate the location of activities and should not be used for navigational or legal purposes.

Date modified:

La plate-forme Néo-Écossaise: atlas des activités humaines

Corédactrices en chef
Heather Breeze
Tracy Horsman

Cartes
Tracy Horsman
Heather Breeze
Stanley K. Johnston

Conception et mise en page
Francis Kelly

Auteurs
Heather Breeze
Scott Coffen-Smout
Derek Fenton
Tim Hall
Glen Herbert
Tracy Horsman
Paul Macnab
David Millar
Peter Strain
Philip Yeats

Tous droits réservés. Il est interdit de reproduire ou de transmettre l'information (ou le contenu de la publication ou du produit), sous quelque forme ou par quelque moyen que ce soit, reproduction électronique ou mécanique, photocopie, enregistrement magnétique ou autre, ou de la verser dans un système de recherche documentaire, sans l'autorisation écrite préalable du ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S5, Copyright.Droitdauteur@communication.gc.ca.

N° de cat.
Fs23-483-2005
Fs23-483/2005-PDF
Fs23-483/2005E-HTML
ISBN
0-662-69160-1
0-662-69170-9 (PDF)
0-662-40952-3 (HTML)
URL
Pêches et Océans Canada

Publié par la :
Division de la gestion des océans et des côtes
Direction des océans et de l'habitat
Pêches et Océans Canada, Région des Maritimes
C.P. 1006
Dartmouth (N.-É.) B2Y 4A2
téléc : (902) 426-3855
courriel : essim@mar.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

DFO/2005-816

© Sa Majesté la Reine, chef du Canada, 2005

Table des matières

Remerciements


Nombreux sont ceux et celles qui ont contribué à l'élaboration de l'atlas en nous fournissant des données, en nous aidant à procéder aux analyses ou en examinant les textes d'accompagnement. Les corédactrices désirent remercier Brian Altheim, Steve Bigelow, Christine Bonnell-Eisnor et Eric Theriault, de l'Office Canada - Nouvelle-Écosse des hydrocarbures extracôtiers; Pierre Chiasson, Tina Cleghorn et Joel Richardson, du gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick; Andrew Kennedy, André Laflamme, Scott Lewis, Victor Li et François Thériault, d'Environnement Canada; Phil Moir, de Ressources naturelles Canada; Erica deSousa, du Coastal Communities Network; Jason Cummings, du ESRI (Environmental Systems Research Institute Inc.); Michael Earle et Judy Barrington, de la Garde côtière canadienne; Linda Murphy, du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Patrimoine de la Nouvelle-Écosse; Alasdair Wilkie, de Hibernia Atlantic; Paul Kravis, de IT Telecom; Ahmed El Sakkary, de Téléglobe; Ross Lee, expert-conseil en télécommunications; Bernadette MacNeil, de la Sydney Ports Corporation; et Richard Parsons, de la Atlantic Canada Cruise Association.

Nous tenons aussi à remercier les nombreux membres du personnel de Pêches et Océans Canada qui nous ont donné des renseignements, nous ont conseillées ou ont examiné les textes, notamment Chris Annand, Maureen Butler, Shelley Bond, Charlene Coates, Art Cosgrove, Verna Docherty, Kevin DesRoches, Christie Dyer, Michael Eagles, Mark Fowler, Jon Hansen, Erica Head, Joseph Hunt, Peter Hurley, Jim Jamieson, Chris Jones, Andrew McMaster, Bill MacEachern, Lisa Paon, Ted Potter, Dale Roddick, Andrew Smith, Tobias Spears, Greg Stevens, Reg Sweeney, Clarissa Theriault, Tammy Waechter, Gary Weber et Tana Worcester. Les corédactrices adressent des remerciements particuliers à Claire MacDonald, qui a coordonné l'examen de l'information sur les pêches par la Direction de la gestion des pêches et de l'aquaculture.

Introduction

Le présent atlas a été établi par le Bureau de planification de l'initiative de Gestion intégrée de l'est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (GIEPFNE) pour illustrer le champ des activités humaines sur la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et certaines des limites des zones de gestion de ces activités. La gestion d'activités humaines multiples est un des grands axes de l'ébauche du Plan de gestion intégrée de l'océan établie dans le cadre de la GIEPFNE et un certain nombre des objectifs du plan y sont rattachés. En présentant des renseignements sur l'étendue et l'intensité d'une vaste gamme d'activités humaines sur la plate-forme, on espère donner aux gestionnaires, aux utilisateurs de l'océan et aux autres parties concernées par l'initiative de GIEPFNE une meilleure connaissance des activités humaines dans le secteur extracôtier.

Pendant plusieurs années, le Bureau de planification de la GIEPFNE a recueilli de l'information sur les sites d'activités humaines et sur les limites des zones de gestion. Mais cette information était souvent décrite de manière très différente d'un cas à l'autre ou portait sur des périodes ou des étendues géographiques différentes, ou encore était présentée sous des formes différentes. Dans l'atlas, notre objectif a été de recueillir l'information disponible la plus récente émanant de sources qui font autorité et de présenter une image aussi complète que possible des utilisations humaines de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise. Nous n'avons pas atteint totalement cet objectif, car il n'existe pas de données géoréférencées pour toutes les activités. Néanmoins, nous croyons que la représentation des activités humaines que nous avons établie nous permet d'avoir une vision plus complète de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise. De plus, l'information que nous avons recueillie et les couches de données de SIG que nous avons élaborées pour réaliser l'atlas serviront au Bureau de planification à concevoir des outils décisionnels de gestion intégrée.

Dans le cas de la majorité des activités, l'information contenue dans les cartes porte sur la période 1999-2003. Le fait de se reporter à une même période de temps permet d'effectuer des comparaisons entre les activités. Des renseignements sont fournis au sujet de la plupart des activités de cette période, mais dans le cas de certaines d'entre elles, l'information complète n'était pas disponible ou présentée sous une forme utilisable par nous.

Le texte remis avec chaque carte comprend des renseignements importants visant à faire mieux comprendre les cartes. Étant donné que plusieurs personnes différentes ont contribué à la rédaction des descriptions, certaines de ces dernières sont plus détaillées que d'autres. En général, nous avons décidé de conserver autant de détails que possible.

Le Bureau de planification continuera à améliorer et agrandir l'atlas au fur et à mesure que de plus amples données deviendront disponibles. Des éditions numériques plus nouvelles pourraient être publiées dans l'avenir. Si nous avons omis une activité importante ou s'il manque des limites de zones de gestion essentielles, veuillez nous le faire savoir, afin que nous puissions améliorer l'atlas à l'avenir.

Il convient de préciser que, bien que nous ayons vérifié du mieux possible l'information présentée dans l'atlas, les cartes présentées visent seulement à illustrer les lieux des diverses activités et qu'elles ne doivent pas servir à la navigation ou à des fins juridiques

Date de modification :