Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2009

Introduction

Integrated aquaculture systems to be tested on commercial scale at BC site

Is it possible to rear commercial quantities of several marketable seafoods on fish waste and sunshine within a full-scale finfish net pen operation? If the “devil is in the details”, work now underway in BC is answering some of the crucial questions around commercial scale development of Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) systems, or what team leader Dr. Steve Cross of Kyuquot SEAFoods Ltd. calls Sustainable Ecological Aquaculture (SEA).

Over the past two years a study funded by DFO‘s Aquaculture Collaborative Research and Development Program (ACRDP) has been investigating the feasibility of a full-scale sablefish/ sea cucumber/ sea urchin/ shellfish/ kelp operation, with a focus on three seminal questions:

  1. Can sea cucumbers effectively use the settled waste below net pens, via an infrastructure that is functionally independent from the finfish operation?
  2. Can modifications be made to steel cages to accommodate more range of depth for shellfish than is possible with traditional wooden rafts?
  3. Can kelp seed be set throughout the year to ensure consistent, adequate interception of dissolved nutrients and continuous, commercially viable production?

Answers from these lines of investigation, according to Cross, will determine critical details of the system’s design and operation, and allow SEA systems to be more adaptable.

With a grant from DFO-ACRDP, and co-funding from Kyuquot Seafoods Ltd. of Courtney, BC, Dr. Steve Cross, and Drs. Chris Pearce and Lucy Hannah of DFO are concluding preliminary studies on sea cucumbers. They have engineered and built a prototype movable tramway system to service shellfish lines suspended within fish cage superstructures, and designed and tested submergible culture trays that can be positioned beneath net pens, and operated without interfering with the pens.

According to Cross, preliminary results strongly indicate that sea cucumbers will utilize waste deposits below fish pens as a food source, and do not appear to accumulate heavy metals or other trace contaminants. Sea cage modifications developed during the study will facilitate simultaneous culture of more than one type of shellfish (e.g., mussels near the surface, scallops at depths up to 15 m.). Timing of kelp seedling development can be controlled to allow year-round seeding and harvest.

A site in Kyuquot Sound, on the West Coast of Vancouver Island, will be the proving ground for both equipment and grow-out protocols based in part on the results of this work, and will act as an ongoing test site for future research and development. It is the first multi-trophic SEA site to be approved in BC. Other IMTA sites exist in New Brunswick on the East Coast.

Duration: Apr ’07 – Jun ‘09

Funded by: DFO-ACRDP. Co-funded by: Kyuquot SEAFoods Ltd.

Project team: Steven Cross (Kyuquot SEAFoods Ltd. and U Vic), Chris Pearce (DFO), Lucy Hannah (U Vic), Nathan Blasco (U Vic).

For more information contact: Steve Cross ( sfcross@office.geog.uvic.ca).

IMTA project investigates adding polychaete worms as additional biofilter

The Canadian aquaculture industry is striving to become more sustainable and environmentally benign. The underlying principle behind the Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) concept is one of re-cycling nutrients for more profitability and sustainability. In essence, the IMTA practice combines, in the right proportions, the cultivation of fed aquaculture species (e.g., finfish) with organic extractive aquaculture species (e.g., filter feeders, deposit feeders) and inorganic extractive aquaculture species (e.g., seaweed).

While recent research shows that mussels are effectively filtering the fine organic particulates coming from the salmon site, the majority of the organic loads settling to the bottom are too large for mussels to physically handle. Therefore, the waste energy coming from the salmon faeces needs to be recycled through detritivores or decomposers before it reaches the sea bottom; preferably one that also has a commercial value. One group of organisms that would fit the detritivore criteria for finfish aquaculture is the polychaetes.

This study evaluated the feasibility of using polychaete worms (Nereis virens) in an IMTA operation with salmon. Lab study showed that the worms could be grown successfully on a diet composed of salmon food/feces. However, field trials indicated that production was lower than expected. Prototype culture containers were developed during the project.

Duration: Jul ‘07 – Mar ‘09

Funded by: DFO-ACRDP. Co-funded by: Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

Project team: Shawn Robinson (DFO), Rachel Shaw (DFO), Fernando Salazar (DFO), Craig Smith (DFO), Jim Martin (DFO), Terralynn Lander (DFO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

For information contact: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

The sand worm, Nereis virens, in a white plastic dish in the lab. The species is being examined as one of potential organic biofilters from the detritivore trophic level.

Particulate engineer, Darren Cleaves, working on some of the flow characteristics of organic particles in the lab and how they may be possibly captured by a cage for polychaete worms.

IMTA study finds salmon farm by-product particulates affect biophysical properties of mussel faeces

Mussels cultured under Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) techniques are supplemented with pulses of salmon farm particulate nutrients. The effect of these particles on the biophysical properties of mussel biodeposits is unknown and is essential information for modelling nutrient dynamics of IMTA systems.

Researchers in this project are characterizing the effect of various diets (mix algal paste, diatoms paste,salmon feed ‘fines’ and salmon faeces) on the biophysical properties (faecal morphometrics, organic content and density) of mussel faeces produced.

All diets in the experiments were fed to three mussel size classes (small: 30 - 35 mm, medium: 50 – 55 mm, and large 70 – 75 mm). The team found that differences in faecal deposit characteristics are minimal within small mussel sizes, but become more significant as mussel lengths increase (50 mm to 75 mm). Absorption efficiencies of mix algal, diatom, salmon feed and salmon faces, were 87, 81, 90, and 86% (all significantly different, p < 0.05) respectively. Regardless of diet, small mussels produced biodeposits that dispersed over larger areas than those produced by larger mussels as a function of sinking velocity: small 0.18 cm sec-1, medium 0.29 cm sec-1 and large 0.54 cm sec-1 (sinking velocity of 50 % of particles).

Duration: Oct ‘07 – Feb ‘09

Funded by: ACOA-AIF. Co-funded by: DFO

Project team: Matthew Liutkus (DFO), Shawn Robinson (DFO), Bruce MacDonald (DFO), Gregor Reid (DFO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

For information contact: Matthew Liutkus ( Mathew.Liutkus@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Study to shed light on effects of organic enrichment by salmon in IMTA systems

The flow of nutrients from salmon farms and their effects on the growth and reproductive physiology of species within the localized farm ecosystem is not clearly understood. This project aims to better understand these pathways and effects within Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) farms in Southeast New Brunswick.

Mytilus edulisStrongylocentrotus droebachiensis and Caprella mutica - representing filter feeding molluscs, scavenging echinoderms and opportunistic crustaceans, respectively - have been selected to investigate the contributions to the pathways of effects.

The assimilation of salmon farm waste by these species is being investigated over a one year period using stable isotope and fatty acid tracers. The effect of this diet on growth and reproduction is then measured by calculating differences in growth and reproductive output of animals held within and outside of the nutrient plume of three salmon farms.

These species, representing different functional groups and trophic levels within the organic extractive niche of the IMTA farm, provide insight into the effects of organic enrichment on secondary production and trophic energy transfer efficiencies. Such research is essential for calculating the nutrient recovery potential of IMTA candidate species. Ultimately this research improves our understanding of energy flow and effects within IMTA sites and coastal ecosystems.

Duration: May ‘07 – May ’10

Funded by: ACOA-AIF

Project team: Jason Mullen (DFO), Shawn Robinson (DFO), Bruce MacDonald (DFO), Gregor Reid (DFO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

For information contact: Jason Mullen ( Jason.Mullen@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Researchers incorporate sea urchins into IMTA system

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) is proving to be successful in the Bay of Fundy with salmon, mussels, and kelp as the initial bio-extractive components. Currently, several detritivores species are being considered for incorporation into the IMTA system in order to further improve the level of nutrient recycling in an open marine environment for finfish aquaculture.

The green sea urchin appears to be a promising candidate because of its relatively high economic value and ability to ingest larger organic particles descending from finfish cages. They are often found around salmon aquaculture sites.

This project is evaluating the potential relative growth performance of sea urchins from aquaculture sites compared to nearby reference areas. A relationship between the test diameter and the length of the rotules found in Aristotle’s lantern, the chewing organ of the sea urchin, has been observed.

Using the growth rings found in the rotules, researchers are comparing animals from different sites to evaluate the hypothesis that sea urchins around the aquaculture sites experience higher growth rates than conspecifics in nearby natural areas. This project is part of a larger initiative looking at the degree to which aquaculture sites impact the relative growth rates of organisms away from the site.

Duration: Dec ‘08 – Mar ’09

Funded by: DFO

Project team: Shawn Robinson (DFO), Andrew Cooper (DFO), Janelle Arsenault (DFO), Carissa Graydon (DFO), Jacquelyn Ferris (DFO), Jim Martin (DFO), Terralynn Lander(DFO), Craig Smith (DFO)

For information contact: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

IMTA group examines recycling of aquaculture nets for the collection of mussel seed

In order to successfully implement mussels as a full commercial crop in the Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) system, a consistent collection source for juveniles (‘spat’ or ‘seed’) must be identified. Researchers have been examining the potential for reusing old salmon nets previously treated with cuprous oxide for mussel spat collection in the Bay of Fundy.

Juvenile mussels that have settled on used salmon nets that will be shortly harvested and re-deployed in socks hung on IMTA mussel rafts (Photo by S. Robinson)

The settlement density and shell length of blue mussels was measured on newly treated (NT), previously treated (PT) and untreated (UT) collector panels, made from commercial salmon nets, to assess how mussel spat collection efficiency was affected by commercial cuprous oxide treatment.

Significant differences were found between treatments for mean spat density (MSD) after a 5 months. Reduced settlement on NT and PT panels was attributed to the inhibitory effects of cuprous oxide on mussel settlement. Although PT panels collected fewer spat than UT panels, the numbers were still adequate for commercial spat collection. Mean shell length (MSL) was not significantly different between treatments.

Based on these results, the research team believes there is potential for recycling used salmon nets for mussel collection as PT panels continued to collect large numbers of mussel spat while inhibiting unwanted foulers with lingering anti-foulant properties.

Duration: Jun ‘07 – Dec ’07

Funded by: DFO

Project Team: Shawn Robinson (DFO), Rachel Shaw (DFO), Terralynn Lander (DFO), Jim Martin (DFO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.

For information contact: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Newfoundland project investigates mussels to mitigate some impacts of cod aquaculture

Newfoundland researchers are investigating the feasibility of culturing mussels, Mytilus edulis, as a component in a cod Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) system. They are evaluating the effluent leaving an onshore Atlantic cod aquaculture site as a food source for mussels.

Experimental exposure trials at Memorial University (Ocean Sciences Centre) (Photo: A. Both)

Experiments are being undertaken to measure changes in the biochemical composition of mussels fed effluent in comparison with starved mussels and mussels fed algae over a ten week period. The growth of mussels fed cod effluent is also being measured over a six month period and compared to that of starved mussels and algae fed mussels. Some smaller experiments on individuals will be undertaken to determine the ability and extent to which M. edulis can filter cod effluent out of surrounding waters.

Some preliminary analyses are revealing that the bulk of the effluent leaving cod tanks (96%) is of a size larger then 500 µm which is too large for mussels to ingest, with a small portion (1.8%) being smaller then 70 µm and of a size suitable for mussel ingestion. Preliminary settlement rate experiments are showing that although the smaller particles comprise a small portion of the effluent they are the particles with the greatest capacity to spread over large areas.

Duration: Feb ‘08 – Feb ’10

Funded by: NSERC. Co-funded by: DFO

Project team: Chris Parrish (MUN), Adrianus Both (MUN), Randy Penney (DFO), Ray Thompson (MUN)

For information contact: Chris Parrish ( cparrish@mun.ca)

Research suggests new benefit of IMTA in pathogen depletion by mussels

One of the methods currently being considered in the evolution of aquaculture in Canada is a practice known as Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA). When different organisms are combined, either intentionally or unintentionally, the possibility exists for biological interactions to occur.

In commercial aquaculture situations, negative interactions could be expressed in the form of disease transfer or parasites and this has been the concern of several countries in adoption of IMTA principles.

However, studies are beginning to emerge that suggest mussels may have the ability to destroy the ISA virus. IMTA researchers are determining the ability of mussels to affect the occurrence and titre levels of various fish pathogens in their environment.

The results from this experiment suggest that mussels are effective at depleting the ISAV and the IPNV viral types. However, they are not as effective on Nodavirus suggesting different mechanisms are involved.

Mussels do not seem to deplete BKD or furunculosis bacteria in the water column in the same fashion as viruses. Although there are trace amounts of bacteria remaining, it is not clear whether these are able to be released back into the environment. More work is going to be done on these mechanisms.

Duration: Aug ‘07 – Mar ‘08

Funded by: DFO-ACRDP. Co-funded by: Cooke Aquaculture Inc., RPC

Project team: Shawn Robinson(DFO), Rachael Ritchie (RPC), Ben Forward (RPC), Brian Glebe (DFO), Terralynn Lander (DFO), Wilfred Young-Lai (DFO)

For information contact: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Titers of virus to be placed in the experimental tanks with mussels to determine the ability of the shellfish to remove virus from the water column

Mussels in white plastic bucket with viral titer added in the quarantine facility at the St. Andrews Biological Station

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

R et D en aquaculture au Canada de 2009

Polyculture

Systèmes d’aquaculture intégrée vérifiés à l’échelle commerciale sur un site de la Colombie-Britannique

Est-ce possible d’élever des quantités commerciales de plusieurs poissons et fruits de mer commercialisables grâce à des déchets de poissons et à la lumière du soleil dans une exploitation de poissons à grande échelle en cages? Si les « difficultés surgissent des menus détails », les travaux menés en Colombie-Britannique à l’heure actuelle répondent à quelques-unes des questions essentielles au sujet de l’élaboration à l’échelle commerciale de systèmes d’aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI), ou ce que le chef d’équipe, le Dr Steve Cross de Kyuquot SEAFoods Ltd., appelle l’aquaculture écologique durable.

Depuis les deux dernières années, une étude financée par le Programme coopératif de recherche-développement en aquaculture (PCRDA) du ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) porte sur la faisabilité d’exploitation à grande échelle de morue charbonnière/concombre de mer/oursin/mollusques et crustacés/algues, et tente de répondre à trois questions majeures : 1) Les concombres de mer peuvent-ils vraiment utiliser les déchets sous les cages à filet au moyen d’une infrastructure fonctionnellement indépendante de l’élevage de poissons? 2) Peut-on modifier les cages d’acier de sorte à offrir aux mollusques et crustacés une gamme de profondeur plus grande que ne l'offrent les radeaux en bois classiques? 3) Peut-on introduire des semences d’algues tout au long de l’année pour assurer l’interception uniforme et adéquate des nutriments dissous, ainsi qu’une production continue et viable au plan commercial? Selon Steve Cross, les réponses à cette étude en trois volets détermineront des détails essentiels de la conception et de l’exploitation du système et permettront aux systèmes d’aquaculture écologique durable d’être plus adaptables.

Grâce à une subvention du PCRDA-MPO et au cofinancement de Kyuquot Seafoods Ltd. de Courtney (Colombie-Britannique), le Dr Steve Cross, les Drs Chris Pearce et Lucy Hannah du MPO effectuent des études préliminaires sur les concombres de mer. Ils ont conçu et construit un prototype d'un système de tramways amovible qui servira aux cordages de culture suspendus dans les superstructures des cages et ont conçu et vérifié des plateaux submersibles pouvant être placés sous les cages en filet et manœuvrés sans perturber les cages.

Selon Dr Steve Cross, les résultats préliminaires indiquent assurément que les concombres de mer utiliseront les dépôts de déchets sous les cages à poissons comme source alimentaire et ne semblent pas accumuler de métaux lourds ou d’autres contaminants traces. Les modifications apportées aux cages de mer pendant l’étude faciliteront la culture simultanée de plus d’un type de mollusques et crustacés (p. ex., des mollusques près de la surface, des pétoncles à des profondeurs pouvant atteindre 15 m.). Le synchronisme du développement des plantules de varech (algues) peut être contrôlé afin de permettre l’ensemencement et la capture toute l’année.

Un site situé à Kyuquot Sound, sur la côte Ouest de l’île de Vancouver, sera le terrain d’essai tant de l’équipement que des protocoles de grossissement, fondé en partie sur les résultats de ces travaux, et servira de site d’essai continu pour la recherche et développement à venir. Il s’agit du premier site d’aquaculture écologique durable multitrophique approuvé en Colombie-Britannique. Il existe d’autres sites d’AMTI au Nouveau-Brunswick, sur la côte Est.

Durée: avril 2007 – juin 2009
Financement: PCRDA-MPO Cofinancement: Kyuquot SEAFoods Ltd.
Équipe du projet: Steven Cross (Kyuquot SEAFoods Ltd. et l’UVic), Chris Pearce (MPO), Lucy Hannah (UVic), Nathan Blasco (UVic)
Information: Steve Cross ( sfcross@office.geog.uvic.ca)

Un projet d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) visant à étudier l'ajout de vers polychètes en tant que biofiltre supplémentaire

Le ver de sable, Nereis virens, dans un plat blanc en plastique dans le laboratoire. L'espèce est observée à titre d'espèce de biofiltres organiques éventuels du type de détritivore de niveau trophique.

L'industrie canadienne de l'aquiculture cherche à devenir plus durable et sans danger pour l'environnement. Le principe sous-jacent du concept de l'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) consiste en le recyclage de nutriments pour une profitabilité et une durabilité accrues. Essentiellement, la pratique de l'AMTI combine, dans les proportions appropriées, la culture d'espèces d'aquiculture nécessitant un apport de nourriture (p. ex., poissons à nageoires) avec des espèces d'aquiculture absorbant des composés organiques (p. ex., poissons filtreurs, organismes limivores) et des espèces vivant de composés inorganiques (p. ex., algues).

Bien que les dernières recherches démontrent que les moules filtrent de façon efficace les matières organiques particulaires fines provenant du site de saumons, la majorité des charges organiques déposées au fond sont trop importantes pour être traitées physiquement par les moules. Pour cette raison, l'énergie résiduelle provenant des selles de saumon doit être recyclée au moyen de détritivores ou de décomposeurs avant qu'elle n'atteigne le fond marin; préférablement une énergie devrait avoir également une valeur commerciale. Un groupe d'organismes qui répondrait aux critères de détritivore pour l'aquiculture de poissons à nageoires est le polychète.

Cette étude a évalué la faisabilité de l'utilisation de vers polychètes (Nereis virens) dans une exploitation d'AMTI avec des saumons. Des études en laboratoire ont indiqué que les vers pourraient être élevés avec succès avec un régime alimentaire composé d'aliments/de selles de saumon. Cependant, les essais sur le terrain ont indiqué que le production a été plus faible que prévue. Des prototypes de contenant à culture ont été créés au cours du projet.

Durée: juillet 2007 – mars 2009
Financement:PCRDA-MPO Cofinancement: Cooke Aquaculture Inc.
Équipe du projet: Shawn Robinson (MPO), Rachel Shaw (MPO), Fernando Salazar (MPO), Craig Smith (MPO), Jim Martin (MPO), Terralynn Lander (MPO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.
Information: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Ingénieur en matières particulaires, Darren Cleaves, travaillant sur certaines des caractéristiques de flux des particules organiques dans le laboratoire et la façon dont elles pourraient être saisies au moyen d’une cage à vers polychètes.

Une étude sur l'AMTI conclut que les matières particulaires dérivées de l'élevage de saumon ont une incidence sur les propriétés biophysiques des selles de moules

Les moules élevées au moyen de techniques d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) sont alimentées par des impulsions de nutriments de matières particulaires d'élevage de saumon. L'effet de ces particules sur les propriétés biophysiques des dépôts biologiques des moules est inconnu et il s'agit d'information essentielle pour la modélisation de la dynamique des nutriments des systèmes d'AMTI.

Les chercheurs de ce projet caractérisent l'effet des divers régimes alimentaires (pâte d'algues mixte, pâte de diatomées,« fines » d'alimentation de saumon et selles de saumon) sur les propriétés biophysiques (morphométrie, contenu organique et densité des selles) des selles de moules produites.

Tous les régimes alimentaires dans les expériences ont été offerts aux trois catégories de taille de moule (petite : 30 à 35 mm, moyenne : 50 à 55 mm et grande 70 à 75 mm). L'équipe a conclu que les différences en caractéristiques de dépôt fécal sont minimes chez les moules de petite taille, mais deviennent plus importantes à mesure que la longueur de la moule augmente (50 mm à 75 mm). Les rendements d'absorption des algues mixtes, des diatomées, de la nourriture de saumon et des selles de saumon étaient de 87, 81, 90, et 86 % (toutes différentes de façon importante, p < 0,05) respectivement. Peu importe le régime alimentaire, les petites moules ont produit des dépôts biologiques qui se sont dispersés sur de plus grandes superficies que ceux produits par des moules plus grandes en tant que fonction de vélocité de chute : petite 0,18 cm sec-1, moyenne 0,29 cm sec-1 et grande 0,54 cm sec-1 (vélocité de chute de 50 % des particules).

Durée: octobre 2007 – février 2009
Financement: APECA-FIA Cofinancement: MPO
Équipe du projet: Matthew Liutkus (MPO), Shawn Robinson (MPO), Bruce MacDonald (MPO), Gregor Reid (MPO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.
Information: Matthew Liutkus ( Mathew.Liutkus@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Une étude pour éclaircir les effets de l'enrichissement organique au saumon dans les systèmes d'AMTI

Le flux de nutriments des élevages de saumon et son effet sur la croissance et la physiologie de reproduction d'espèces à l'intérieur de l'écosystème d'élevage visé ne sont pas clairement compris. Ce projet a pour but de mieux comprendre ces voies et effets à l'intérieur d'élevages d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) dans le sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Mytilus edulisStrongylocentrotus droebachiensis et Caprella mutica - représentant des mollusques filtreurs, échinodermes épurateurs et des crustacés opportunistes, respectivement - ont été sélectionnés pour étudier les contributions aux voies de communication des effets.

L'assimilation de déchets d'élevage de saumon par ces espèces est étudiée sur une période d'un an au moyen de traceurs à isotope stable et à acides gras. L'effet de ce régime alimentaire sur la croissance et la reproduction est ensuite mesuré en calculant les différences en croissance et en efficacité de la reproduction d'animaux présents à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du panache de nutriments de trois élevages de saumon.

Ces espèces, représentant différents groupes fonctionnels et niveaux trophiques à l'intérieur du créneau d'extraction organique de l'élevage d'AMTI, offrent une perspective des effets de l'enrichissement organique sur la production secondaire et les rendements de transfert d'énergie trophique. De telles recherches sont essentielles pour calculer le potentiel de récupération de nutriments d'espèces candidates à l'AMTI. En dernier ressort, ces recherches améliorent notre compréhension du flux et des effets de l'énergie à l'intérieur de sites d'AMTI et d'écosystèmes côtiers.

Durée: mai 2007 – mai 2010
Financement: APECA-FIA 
Équipe du projet: Jason Mullen (MPO), Shawn Robinson (MPO), Bruce MacDonald (MPO), Gregor Reid (MPO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.
Information: Jason Mullen ( Jason.Mullen@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Des chercheurs intègrent des oursins dans le système d'AMTI

L'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) s'avère un succès dans la baie de Fundy avec le saumon, les moules et le varech en tant que premières composantes d'extraction biologique. À l'heure actuelle, plusieurs espèces de détritivores sont prises en compte aux fins d'intégration dans le système d'AMTI afin d'améliorer davantage le niveau de recyclage de nutriments dans un environnement marin ouvert aux fins d'aquiculture de poissons à nageoires.

L'oursin vert semble être un candidat prometteur en raison de sa valeur économique relativement importante et de sa capacité d'ingérer de plus grandes particules organiques descendant de cages à poissons à nageoires. Ils sont souvent présents autour de sites d'aquiculture de saumon.

Ce projet évalue le rendement de croissance potentiel des oursins provenant de sites d'aquiculture comparativement aux zones de référence avoisinantes. Une relation entre le diamètre d'essai et la longueur des rotules dans la lanterne d'Aristote, l'organe de trituration de l'oursin, a été observée.

Au moyen des anneaux de croissance trouvés dans les rotules, les chercheurs comparent les animaux de différents sites pour évaluer l'hypothèse voulant que les oursins présents autour des sites d'aquiculture connaissent des taux de croissance plus élevés que leurs congénères dans les zones naturelles avoisinantes. Ce projet fait partie d'une plus grande initiative étudiant le degré d’incidence des sites d'aquiculture sur les taux de croissance relatifs d'organismes à l'extérieur du site.

Durée: décembre 2008 – mars 2009
Financement: MPO
Équipe du projet: Shawn Robinson (MPO), Andrew Cooper (MPO), Janelle Arsenault (MPO), Carissa Graydon (MPO), Jacquelyn Ferris (MPO), Jim Martin (MPO), Terralynn Lander (MPO), Craig Smith (MPO)
Information: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Un groupe d'AMTI examine le recyclage de filets d'aquiculture pour la collecte de naissains de moules

Moules juvéniles fixées à de vieux filets à saumon qui seront récoltées sous peu et insérées dans des boudins qui seront suspendus de radeaux à moules au site d’AMTI. (Photo : S. Robinson)

Afin de réussir à mettre en œuvre les moules en tant que culture entièrement commerciale dans le système d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI), une source de collecte constante de juvéniles (naissains) doit être déterminée. Les chercheurs examinent depuis un certain temps le potentiel de la réutilisation d'anciens filets à saumon déjà traités à l'oxyde de cuivre pour la collecte de naissains de moules dans la baie de Fundy.

La densité de dépôt et la longueur de coquille des moules bleues ont été mesurées sur des absorbeurs récemment traités, déjà traités et non traités, constitués à partir de filets à saumon commerciaux, pour évaluer la façon dont l'efficacité de la collecte de naissains a été touchée par le traitement commercial à l'oxyde de cuivre.

D'importantes différences ont été trouvées entre les traitements pour la densité de naissain moyenne après cinq mois. La réduction de dépôt sur les absorbeurs récemment traités et déjà traités a été attribuée aux effets inhibiteurs de l'oxyde de cuivre sur le dépôt de moules. Bien que les absorbeurs déjà traités aient recueilli moins de naissains que les absorbeurs non traités, les chiffres demeuraient appropriés pour la collecte commerciale de naissains. La longueur moyenne de coquille ne variait pas grandement parmi les traitements.

En fonction de ces résultats, l'équipe de recherche juge qu'il existe un potentiel pour le recyclage de filets à saumon usagés aux fins de collecte de moules, puisque les absorbeurs déjà traités continuaient de recueillir de grandes quantités de naissains de moules tout en inhibant les organismes salissants indésirables avec des propriétés d'agent antisalissures persistantes.

Durée: juin 2007 – décembre 2007
Financement: MPO
Équipe du projet: Shawn Robinson (MPO), Rachel Shaw (MPO), Terralynn Lander (MPO), Jim Martin (MPO), Cooke Aquaculture Inc.
Information: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Un projet de Terre-Neuve visant à étudier l’utilisation des moules pour atténuer certaines incidences de l'aquiculture de la morue

Des essais expérimentaux d’exposition à Memorial University of Newfoundland (Ocean Sciences Centre). (Photo : A. Both)

Des chercheurs de Terre-Neuve étudient la faisabilité de la mytiliculture, Mytilus edulis, en tant que composante d'un système d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI). Ils évaluent l'effluent quittant un site côtier d'aquiculture de morue de l'Atlantique en tant que source de nourriture pour les moules.

Des expériences sont en cours pour mesurer les changements dans la composition biochimique des moules nourries par l'effluent comparativement à des moules affamées et à des moules nourries par des algues sur une période de dix semaines. La croissance des moules nourries par l'effluent de morues est également mesurée sur une période de six mois et comparée à celle de moules affamées et de moules nourries par des algues. Certaines expériences à plus petite échelle sur des spécimens seront entreprises pour déterminer la capacité et le degré de filtrage d'effluent de morue des eaux environnantes parM. edulis.

Certaines analyses préliminaires révèlent que l'ensemble de l'effluent quittant les réservoirs de morue (96 %) est d'une taille de plus de 500 µm qui est trop grande pour l'ingestion par les moules, avec une petite portion (1,8 %) étant plus petite que 70 µm et de taille convenable à l'ingestion par les moules. Les expériences préliminaires sur les taux de sédimentation indiquent que malgré le fait que les plus petites particules composent une faible partie de l'effluent, elles représentent les particules avec la plus grande capacité d'être réparties sur une grande superficie.

Durée: février 2008 – février 2010
Financement: CRSNG Cofinancement: MPO
Équipe du projet: Chris Parrish (MUN), Adrianus Both (MUN), Randy Penney (MPO), Ray Thompson (MUN)
Information: Chris Parrish ( cparrish@mun.ca)

Les recherches suggèrent un nouvel avantage de l'AMTI dans la déplétion de pathogènes par les moules

Les titres de virus à placer dans les réservoirs expérimentaux avec des moulespour déterminer la capacité du mollusque à éliminer le virus de la colonne d'eau

Une des méthodes prises en compte à l'heure actuelle dans l'évolution de l'aquiculture au Canada consiste en une pratique connue sous le nom d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI). Lorsque différents organismes sont combinés, de façon intentionnelle ou non, la possibilité d'interactions biologiques existe.

Dans les situations d'aquiculture commerciale, les interactions négatives pourraient être exprimées sous la forme de transfert de maladie ou de parasites, et il s'agit là de la préoccupation de plusieurs pays dans l'adoption de principes d'AMTI. 
Cependant, des études commencent à émerger qui suggèrent que les moules pourraient avoir la capacité de détruire le virus de l'AIS. Les chercheurs en AMTI déterminent la capacité des moules à avoir une incidence sur la présence et les niveaux de titre de divers pathogènes de poisson dans leur environnement.

Les résultats de cette expérience suggèrent que les moules sont efficaces pour la déplétion des types de virus VAIS et VNHI. Cependant, elles ne le sont pas autant contre le nodavirus, suggérant que différents mécanismes sont concernés.

Les moules ne semblent pas assurer la déplétion de la maladie rénale bactérienne ou de bactéries de furonculose dans la colonne d'eau de la même façon qu’avec les virus. Bien qu'il y ait des quantités de traces de bactéries restantes, il n'est pas certain qu’elles puissent être libérées dans l'environnement. Plus de travail est en cours sur ces mécanismes.

Durée: août 2007 – mars 2008
Financement:PCRDA-MPO Cofinancement: Cooke Aquaculture Inc., RPC
Équipe du projet: Shawn Robinson (MPO), Rachael Ritchie (RPC), Ben Forward (RPC), Brian Glebe (MPO), Terralynn Lander (MPO), Wilfred Young-Lai (MPO)
Information: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Moules dans une chaudière blanche en plastique avec titre viral ajouté dans l'installation de quarantaine de la Station biologique St. Andrews

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :