Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2009

Additional project summaries

Identification of ISAV-resistant salmon broodstock families

Quarantine lab and tanks for challenge of salmon families with ISA (Photo: DFO)

It is now well established that many distinct Infectious salmon anaemia virus (ISAV) isolates exist in the Bay of Fundy. These isolates vary in their virulence and disease progression, but due to strict fish health management practices resulting in rapid depopulation, the true virulence and risk to the industry of the different isolates is not known.

In an attempt to better understand and characterize the virulence of ISAV isolates in the Bay of Fundy, several groups have performed in vivo challenges with different ISAV isolates. This work has corroborated many of the anecdotal field reports of varying virulence for the different isolates, and has shed some light on the dynamics of ISAV infection in vivo. It has also supported field observations that some fish become infected with ISAV (and test positive with routine diagnostics) but do not succumb to disease. This finding, once further characterized, may lead to identification of families of fish which are ISAV resistant, and can withstand the effects of ISAV infection in the field. Working closely with the industry, this study will provide information on the genetic susceptibility of different families to ISAV and will further our understanding of the virulence of different ISAV isolates. The ultimate goal of this project is to compare the response of different family groups to ISAV isolates of differing virulence, and compare the utility of diagnostic techniques to detect the different ISAV variants in clinical and sub-clinical fish.

Duration: Jan ‘08 – Oct ‘08
Funded by: DFO-ACRDP 
Project team: Brian Glebe (DFO) 
For information contact: Brian Glebe ( Brian.Glebe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

The effect of rearing density on stress and welfare of farm reared Atlantic Salmon (Salmo slar) over an entire production cycle

To remain competitive in the global market salmon producers must continually strive to reduce the cost of production. Fish rearing densities are critical in determining cost of production due to the capital cost of cages, feeding equipment and staff. However, there is always a potential conflict between maximizing stocking density thus reducing the cost of production while still maintaining optimal animal health and welfare.

Despite the need to establish limits on stocking densities that are based on sound scientific data, this has not been possible for two reasons. First, the type of stress associated with the gradual increase in stocking density as fish increase in size is chronic and as such, difficult to measure. Second, in the past, commercial aquaculture companies have been unwilling to stock fish at different densities necessary to carry out a controlled experiment capable of assessing the effect of stocking densities on fish stress. Marine Harvest Canada has made an unprecedented commitment to this project allowing fish to be reared at three different stocking densities over an entire production cycle. This project represents a multi-disciplinary approach, including molecular genetics, functional immunology and fish welfare, for identifying measures of chronic stress.

Duration: Apr ‘07 – Mar ’09. 
Funded by: DFO-ACRDP. Co-funded by: Marine Harvest Canada. 
Project team: Kristi Miller (DFO), Marine Harvest Canada
For information contact: Kristi Miller ( MillerK@pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Development of integrated management methods for soft-shell clam harvesting, seeding and culture activities at a clam culture site located in the St. Lawrence Estuary

Pre-harvest, June 2008 (Photo: DFO)

Development of integrated management methods for soft-shell clam harvesting, seeding and culture activities at a clam culture site located in the St. Lawrence Estuary

Various spat supply approaches have been explored in recent years to meet clam producers’ requirements. Studies on spat collection (benthic and pelagic) have provided concrete results in various maritime regions. The results obtained demonstrate that it is possible to collect young clams for farming purposes. However, the experimental seedings carried out in the Magdalen Islands, on the Gaspé Peninsula and on the North Shore show that the dispersal rate is often high for small clams.

One potential method that can be used by clam culture operations to counter the negative effects of dispersal is to implement an integrated management strategy for the clam culture site. This strategy would involve installing collection, seeding and culture facilities in order to promote spat settlement as well as the retention of natural and seeded clams. It is proposed that research be conducted aimed at gaining a better understanding of clam recruitment and dispersal mechanisms. Management strategies will be tested in order to more effectively control these variables. This request involves five projects, namely: 1) to develop integrated harvesting, collection and culture strategies (literature review and consultation); 2) to inventory the available biomass and recruitment; 3) to carry out harvesting and sell the harvest; 4) to carry out seedings and estimate clam dispersal by size; and 5) to estimate collection success.

Duration: Apr ‘07 –Mar ‘10
Funded by: DFO-ACRDP Co-funded by: SODIM, DFO-Fisheries Science Collaborative Program, Coopérative de solidarité des produits de la Côte
Project team: Sylvie Brulotte (DFO), Michel Giguère (DFO), Jean-Marie Belisle, Isable Calderón (DFO), Marie-France Dréan, Bernard Tramblay 
For information contact: Sylvie Brulotte ( Sylvie.Brulotte@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Collection and retention facilities, June 2008

Follow-up, October 2008 (Photo: DFO)

Synthesis and analysis of environmental performance data for salmon farming industry in southwestern New Brunswick

The NB salmon farming industry has been operating in the Bay of Fundy since the late 1970’s. A stringent environmental monitoring program was established to quantify the impacts of individual farms on the surrounding environment. This program was developed with the expertise of scientists, and has been revised as newer information becomes available.

Since 2002, the salmon farming industry in New Brunswick has been striving to implement an environmental performance based standards (PBS) system for the management and regulation of marine cage-based salmon aquaculture in southwest NB. This program is based on maintenance of environmental quality with operational flexibility, application of a risk-based and science-supported environmental management and regulatory process, multi-jurisdictional inter-government and government-industry cooperation, and public accountability and transparency.

The proposed work will help address the needs of the SWNB industry to demonstrate its environmental responsibility to regulators and the public and will help improve the PBS framework. It will also provide an initial foray into the development of an ongoing regular review of the industries environmental performance and the knowledge gained will be useful in considerations of mitigation and remediation.

Duration: July ‘08 – Apr ‘10
Funded by: DFO-ACRDP Co-funded by: New Brunswick Salmon Growers Association, Cooke Aquaculture Inc., AquaFish Farms 
Project team: Fred Page (DFO), Blythe Chang (DFO), Randy Losier (DFO), Paul McCurdy (DFO), John Reid (DFO), Andrew Cooper (DFO), Caroline Graham (NBSGA), Jamie Smith (working in conjunction with provincial and federal regulatory colleagues)
For information contact: Fred Page ( Fred.Page@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Tracking the food source of mussels from Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) sites using stable isotopes

Divers coming out of the water from collecting mussel samples to look for stable isotope changes around aquaculture sites. (Photo: DFO)

Typically, the utilization of food sources by mussels has been evaluated via direct gut content analysis. Alternatively, we have been using stable isotope analyses as a tracer mechanism to reveal dietary sources in mussel tissue, based on the assumption that autochthonous and allochthonous organic particles taken up by the mussel will exhibit different isotopic ratios, which can be reflected in the mussels themselves.

Our studies indicate that fish feed and algae exhibit completely different 13C/12C and 15N/14N ratio signatures. Furthermore, isotopic signatures of mussel body tissue fed solely on either food source will change to closely resemble that of the source within weeks, whereas mussels fed a mixed diet of algae and salmon food exhibited intermediate C and N ratios over the same time period. This has proven that mussels can assimilate both in situ organic matter (algae) as well as salmon food as a given proportion of their biomass, proving their potential as recyclers within the fish farm. We have now expanded the use of food tracing techniques in order to test the relative importance of available food sources to the mussels both in field based settings and over seasonal cycles.

Duration: Dec ‘06 – Mar ‘09
Funded by: DFO-ACRDP Co-funded by: Cooke Aquaculture Inc., ACOA-AIF 
Project team: Terralynn Lander (DFO), Shawn Robinson (DFO), Tammy Blair (DFO), Gregor Reid (DFO), Jim Martin (DFO), Fernando Salazar 
For information contact: Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Utility of continuous light and triploidy to control sexual maturation of Atlantic cod in the Bay of Fundy

Early maturation in pre-market Atlantic Cod affects almost 100% of fish in sea cages, and this problem is not isolated to the Bay of Fundy. Preliminary results from 24 h light treatment (six 400 W submerged lights) in a 70 m polar circle cage holding 2004 year-class cod support the hypothesis that continuous light delays onset of sexual maturity, in this case by about 4-5 months, with females subsequently retaining the state of ripeness for another 4 months.
The current project will explore two approaches to impede sexual maturation: (i) continued experimentation with light level and wavelength and (ii) induction of sterility by triploidy.
This study has a number of objectives:

  1. To further evaluate on-going light treatments and test the use of new light technology to inhibit sexual maturation of Atlantic cod.
  2. To examine the degree of suppression of maturation in both sexes in 0+ group, pre-market and market fish exposed to 24 h light.
  3. To develop protocols for the pressure-induced production and early identification of triploid cod.
  4. To monitor seasonal sex-specific growth of immature and mature cod (derived from light treatments and triploidy) as well as incidence of deformities and mortality.

Duration: May ‘07 – Apr ‘10
Funded by: DFO-ACRDP 
Project team: Edward Trippel (DFO) 
For information contact: Edward Trippel ( Edward.Trippel@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Data collection in support of zone of impact modeling for Lake Huron cage farms

The project will begin, but not complete, the collection of data required to initiate waste deposition modeling and zone of impact delineation at commercial cage sites in Lake Huron. Fine-scale bathymetric data as well as current speed and direction data will be collected at three of nine commercial fish farm sites in Lake Huron. This data is required for DEPOMOD, which is a deposition modelling tool developed for and in use in the marine environment. Central & Arctic wishes to test if this tool provides accurate prediction of deposition in the freshwater environment and to modify or seek a new tool if it does not. Such a tool would permit applicants and regulators to assess the potential production capacity of a site within the assimilative capacity if the local environment.

Duration: Sept ‘08 – Mar ‘09
Funded by: DFO-PARR 
Project team: Cheryl Podemski (DFO), Doug Geiling (DFO), David Ross (DFO) 
For information contact: Cheryl Podemski ( Cheryl.Podemski@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) or Doug Geiling ( Doug.Geiling@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Carrying capacity modelling for bivalve aquaculture: Biodeposition

Constructed mussel sock with Ciona intestinalis inside large sediment trap to measure biodeposition production in St Mary’s Bay, PEI (Photo: M. Huot)

Numerical modelling provides an effective means to evaluate the interactions between aquaculture activities and the ecosystem. Our work with the particle dispersion model DEPOMOD to predict carbon loading resulting from increased biodeposition from suspended bivalve culture has shown that we can predict benthic community changes in some cases. Failures with the model may result from not including biodeposition from the fouling organisms associated with mussels in culture. These may represent a considerable biomass and, in the case of tunicates, may have a biomass several times that of the mussels they are attached to.

To improve our models, we are measuring biodeposit (faeces) production and sinking speeds for the dominant fouling communities, invasive tunicates. We thus constructed small mussel socks with and without 2 species of tunicates. We compared biodeposit production from these to that from similar control socks (mussels only, tunicates only, inert controls). Biodeposition production was evaluated over a 2 week period in September/October. Faecal pellet sinking rates were measured concurrently. These data will be used to refine the existing DEPOMOD model. This will ultimately allow for better predictions for aquaculture management within an ecosystem-based management framework for sustainable aquaculture.

Duration: Sept ‘08 – Mar ‘09
Funded by: DFO-PARR Co-funded by: CIAS, CAISN, DFO (Quebec)
Project team: Chris McKindsey (DFO), Andrea Weise (DFO), Mathieu Huot (DFO), Mayi Lecuona (DFO) 
For information contact: Chris McKindsey ( Chris.McKindsey@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Evaluation of ecosystem-level effects of intertidal bivalve culture: Gaspé

Early cold morning start to sample benthic communities below and around mussel farms in baie de Gaspé, QC (Photo: C. McKindsey)

A regional priority in Québec is to better understand the functional relationship between increased organic sedimentation due to suspended bivalve aquaculture and benthic responses to better predict the benthic ecological carrying capacity of sites for suspended bivalve aquaculture. One of the main culture sites is baie de Gaspé. However, there is currently no information available on the impact of bivalve farming in the bay.

This project constitutes a scoping study in the baie de Gaspé to evaluate the impact of current aquaculture practices on the benthic environment. As a first step in a larger future research programme, this work is limited to infaunal and sediment samples to evaluate if patterns relating to mussel farming exist. We thus sampled the benthic communities within the bay at different spatial scales with multiple sites sampled within and outside of the farms, both directly below and between longlines. Thus, this work will specifically address the habitat management considerations for site evaluations. This research will also contribute globally towards addressing the knowledge gap of the impact of bivalve aquaculture on benthic diversity and productivity and allow us to better plan for future work to be done in the area on carrying capacity.

Duration: Sept ‘08 – Mar ‘09
Funded by: DFO-PARR Co-funded by: DFO (Quebec) 
Project team: Chris McKindsey (DFO), Nathalie Simard (DFO) 
For information contact: Chris McKindsey ( Chris.McKindsey@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Investigating efficiencies of open water Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA)

Mussels acting as a biofilter and feeding on particulates in the water column on an IMTA site. (Photo: DFO)

The IMTA concept involves the re-cycling of energy from fed components of an aquaculture site through a series of extractive organisms (both plants and animals), known as biofilters. A variety of co-culture species are projected to be grown adjacent to Atlantic Salmon cages to foster augmented growth and nutrient recovery. Measures of efficiency; accessing, consuming, absorbing/digesting and retaining nutrients loaded from the fed trophic level (i.e., Atlantic Salmon) in IMTA systems, is necessary for management and measures of sustainability. Models and metrics are presently being developed to quantify these efficiencies and identify knowledge gaps where they exist. The information generated from these models is being used to guide further IMTA research and to proactively develop new management models with regulators for the constantly evolving aquaculture industry in Canada.

Duration: Jun ‘06 – Dec ‘14
Funded by: ACOA-AIF Co-funded by: Cooke Aquaculture Inc., Acadian Seaplants Limited 
Project team: Gregor K. Reid (DFO), Shawn Robinson (DFO), Thierry Chopin (USNBJ), Bruce MacDonald (DFO), Fred Page (DFO), Les Burridge (DFO)
For information contact: Gregor K. Reid ( Gregor.Reid@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

R et D en aquaculture au Canada de 2009

Résumé de projets supplémentaires

Identification de familles de reproducteurs de saumons résistantes au vAIS

Laboratoire de quarantaine et bassins de provocation de familles de saumons au vAIS. (Photo : MPO)

Il est maintenant bien établi qu’il existe de nombreux isolats du vAIS distincts dans la baie de Fundy. Ces isolats varient au plan de leur virulence et de la progression de la maladie, mais en raison des pratiques de gestion rigoureuses de la santé du poisson exigeant l’abattage intégral rapide des saumons atteints, la virulence réelle des divers isolats et le risque qu’ils posent pour l’industrie sont inconnus.

Afin de mieux comprendre et de caractériser la virulence des isolats du vAIS dans la baie de Fundy, plusieurs groupes ont effectué des tests de provocation in vivo avec différents isolats du vAIS. Les résultats de ces travaux ont corroboré nombre des rapports locaux empiriques de virulence variable et ont quelque peu éclairé la dynamique de l’infection au vAIS in vivo. Ils ont également étayé les observations de terrain à l’effet que certains poissons sont infectés par le vAIS (et testent positifs au dépistage de routine) mais ne meurent pas de la maladie. Cette découverte, lorsqu’elle sera mieux caractérisée, pourrait mener à l’identification de familles de saumons résistantes au vAIS et à ses effets en mer. Menée en étroite collaboration avec l’industrie, cette étude nous permettra de recueillir de l’information sur la réceptivité génétique de différentes familles au vAIS et de mieux comprendre la virulence de différents isolats du vAIS. Le projet a pour but ultime la comparaison de la réponse de différentes familles à des isolats du vAIS de virulence différente et de l’utilité des techniques de diagnostic pour ce qui est de déceler les différentes variantes du vAIS chez des poissons montrant des symptômes cliniques et subcliniques.

Durée : janvier 2008 – octobre 2008
Financement : PCRDA – MPO
Recherche : Brian Glebe (MPO)
Information : Brian Glebe ( Brian.Glebe@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Effet de la densité d'occupation sur le niveau de stress et de bien-être du saumon atlantique (Salmo salar) d'élevage pendant un cycle de production complet

Pour demeurer concurrentielle sur le marché mondial, les salmoniculteurs doivent continuellement essayer de réduire les coûts de production. Les densités d'occupation constituent l'élément déterminant des coûts de production imputables aux coûts d'infrastructure pour les cages, l'équipement de nourrissage et le personnel. Toutefois, il existe toujours une possibilité de conflit entre la maximisation de la densité d'occupation afin de réduire les coûts de production et le maintien d'un état optimal de santé et de bien-être des poissons.

Des limites de densité d'occupation reposant sur des données scientifiques solides doivent être établies, mais cela a été impossible jusqu'à maintenant pour deux raisons. En premier lieu, le stress associé à l'augmentation graduelle de la densité d'occupation à mesure que la taille des poissons augmente est chronique et donc difficile à mesurer. En deuxième lieu, par le passé, les entreprises d'aquaculture ont refusé de charger leurs installations aux diverses densités requises pour mener une expérience de contrôle permettant d'évaluer l'effet des densités d'occupation sur le stress des poissons. La société Marine Harvest Canada a pris un engagement sans précédent dans ce projet en élevant du poisson à trois différentes densités d'occupation pendant un cycle de production complet. Ce projet repose sur une approche multidisciplinaire, notamment la génétique moléculaire, l'immunologie fonctionnelle et le bien être des poissons, dans le but d'établir des mesures du stress chronique.

Durée: avril 2007 – mars 2009
Financement: PCRDA-MPO. Cofinancement: Marine Harvest Canada
Équipe du projet: Kristi Miller-Saunders (MPO) et Marine Harvest Canada
Information: Kristi Miller-Saunders ( Kristi.Miller@ dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

Mise au point de techniques de gestion intégrée des activités de récolte, d’ensemencement et d’élevage de la mye commune à un site mytilicole localisé dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Pré-récolte, juin 2008 (Photo : MPO)

Différentes approches d’approvisionnement en semis ont été explorées au cours des dernières années afin de combler les besoins des mytiliculteurs. Les travaux traitant du captage de naissain ont privilégié différents dispositifs benthiques et pélagiques. Plusieurs de ces dispositifs ont donné occasionnellement des résultats concrets dans les différentes régions maritimes : le succès de captage atteignant souvent quelques dizaines de milliers de jeunes myes. Toutefois, les ensemencements expérimentaux réalisés aux îles de la Madeleine, en Gaspésie et en Côte-Nord montrent que le taux de dispersion est souvent élevé pour les myes de petites tailles.

Une façon de contrer les effets négatifs de la dispersion pour une entreprise mytilicole consisterait à mettre en place une stratégie de gestion intégrée du site maricole. Celle-ci consisterait à installer les dispositifs de captage, d’ensemencement et d’élevage de manière à favoriser l’installation du naissain ainsi que la rétention de myes naturelles et ensemencées. Il est proposé de réaliser des activités visant à comprendre les mécanismes de recrutement du naissain et de dispersion des semis. Des stratégies de gestion des sites mytilicoles seront testées afin de mieux contrôler ces variables. Cette demande regroupe cinq projets soit : 1) développer des stratégies de récolte, de captage et d’élevage intégrées (revue de littérature et consultation, 2) inventorier la biomasse et le recrutement disponibles, 3) effectuer la récolte et sa mise en marché, 4) procéder à des ensemencements et estimer l’ampleur de la dispersion des semis selon leur taille et 5) estimer le succès de captage.

Durée : avril 2007 – mars 2010
Financement : PCRDA – MPO
Cofinancement : SODIM, Programme de recherche conjointe en sciences halieutiques – MPO, Coopérative de solidarité des produits de la Côte
Recherche : Sylvie Brulotte (MPO), Michel Giguère (MPO), Jean-Marie Bélisle, Isable Calderón (MPO), Marie-France Dréan, Bernard Tramblay 
Information : Sylvie Brulotte ( Sylvie.Brulotte@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Installations de captage et de rétention, juin 2008

Suivi, octobre 2008 (Photo : MPO)

Synthèse et analyse des données sur la performance environnementale de l’industrie de la salmoniculture du sud-ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick

L’industrie néo-brunswickoise de la salmoniculture est établie dans la baie de Fundy depuis la fin des années 1970. Un programme rigoureux de surveillance environnementale a été élaboré pour quantifier les impacts de chaque ferme sur le milieu ambiant. Ce programme a été établi par des scientifiques, et est mis à jour à mesure que de nouvelles données sont disponibles.

Depuis 2002, l’industrie néo-brunswickoise de la salmoniculture tente de mettre en place un système de normes axées sur la performance environnementale (NAPE) pour la gestion et la réglementation de la salmoniculture marine en cages dans le sud ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ce programme repose sur les principes suivants : conserver la qualité environnementale avec une flexibilité opérationnelle; appliquer une gestion basée sur le risque et faisant appel à la science et aux méthodes de réglementation; une collaboration entre plusieurs juridictions, entre plusieurs gouvernements et entre le gouvernement et l’industrie; et une responsabilité et une transparence envers le pub.

Le projet vise à répondre aux besoins de l’industrie du SONB de démontrer sa responsabilité environnementale aux chargés de la réglementation et au public, et contribuera à l’amélioration du cadre des NAPE. Il constituera également une première incursion dans la mise en place d’un examen régulier de la performance environnementale de l’industrie, et les connaissances recueillies serviront à l’atténuation et au remédiement des effets.

Durée : juillet 2008 – avril 2010
Financement : PCRDA – MPO
Cofinancement : New Brunswick Salmon Growers Association, Cooke Aquaculture Inc., AquaFish Farms
Recherche : Fred Page (MPO), Blythe Chang (MPO), Randy Losier (MPO), Paul McCurdy (MPO), John Reid (MPO), Andrew Cooper (MPO), Caroline Graham (NBSGA), Jamie Smith (en coopération avec des collègues provinciaux et fédéraux chargés de la réglementation)
Information : Fred Page ( Fred.Page@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Pistage des sources de nourriture des moules depuis des sites d’aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) à l’aide d’isotopes stables

Des plongeurs sortent de l’eau après avoir prélevé des échantillons de moules dans le but d’établir les changements dans les isotopes stables à des sites d’aquaculture. (Photo : MPO)

L’alimentation des moules est typiquement été établie par analyse directe des contenus stomacaux. Comme alternative, nous utilisons des analyses des isotopes stables comme moyen de dépistage dans les tissus de moule des sources de nourriture, en nous fondant sur l’hypothèse à l’effet que les rapports isotopiques des particules organiques autochtones et allochtones captées par une moule seront différents.

Nos études révèlent que les aliments pour poissons et les algues montrent des rapports isotopiques 13C/12C et 15N/14N complètement différents. En outre, les signatures isotopiques des tissus de moules nourries uniquement de l’un ou l’autre aliment changent de sorte à ressembler étroitement à la source en déca de quelques semaines, alors que les moules nourries d’un mélange d’algues et d’aliments pour saumons montrent des rapports isotopiques C et N intermédiaires pour la même période. Cela prouve que les moules peuvent assimiler de la matière organique in situ (algues) ainsi que des aliments pour saumons dans une proportion donnée de leur biomasse, ce qui démontre leur potentiel comme recycleurs dans une ferme piscicole. Nous avons étendu l’utilisation des techniques de pistage de la nourriture afin d’établir l’importance relative des sources de nourriture disponibles pour les moules sur le terrain et en saison.

Durée : décembre 2006 – mars 2009
Financement : PCRDA – MPO
Cofinancement : Cooke Aquaculture Inc., FIA – APECA
Recherche : Terralynn Lander (MPO), Shawn Robinson (MPO), Tammy Blair (MPO), Gregor Reid (MPO), Jim Martin (MPO), Fernando Salazar 
Information : Shawn Robinson ( Shawn.Robinson@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Utilité de l’illumination en continu et de la triploïdie pour inhiber la maturation sexuelle chez la morue franche élevée dans la baie de Fundy

Presque toutes les morues de taille pré-commerciale élevées en cages connaissent une maturation précoce. Ce problème n’est pas unique à la baie de Fundy. Les résultats préliminaires d’un essai de traitement lumineux, pendant 24 h (six lumières immergées de 400 W chacune), d’une cage de 70 m de diamètre contenant des morues de la classe d’âge 2004 étayent l’hypothèse à l’effet que l’illumination en continu retarde le déclenchement de la maturation sexuelle des sujets, dans le présent cas par environ 4 à 5 mois. Les morues femelles sont également restées pleines pendant quatre autres mois.

Nous proposons deux approches pour inhiber la maturation sexuelle : (i) d’autres essais de variation de l’intensité lumineuse et de la longueur d’onde et (ii) l’induction de la stérilité par triploïdie.

Le projet vise les quatre objectifs suivants :

  1. continuer à évaluer les traitements lumineux et mettre à l’essai une nouvelle technologie d’illumination pour inhiber la maturation sexuelle chez la morue franche;
  2. déterminer le niveau de suppression de la maturation chez des morues des deux sexes d’âge 0+, de taille commerciale et pré-commerciale, exposées à un traitement lumineux pendant 24 h;
  3. élaborer des protocoles pour la production par choc induit par la pression de morues triploïdes et l’identification rapide des individus triploïdes;
  4. contrôler le taux de croissance saisonnière des juvéniles et des adultes de chaque sexe (traitements lumineux et triploïdie) ainsi que la présence d’individus difformes et la mortalité incidente.

Durée : mai 2007 – avril 10
Financement : PCRDA – MPO
Recherche : Edward Trippel (MPO)
Information : Edward Trippel ( Edward.Trippel@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Collecte de données en appui de la modélisation de la zone d’impact dans les fermes d’élevage en cages du lac Huron

Le projet vise à commencer la collecte des données requises pour débuter la modélisation de la déposition des déchets et la délimitation de la zone d’impact à des sites d’élevage commercial de poissons en cages dans le lac Huron. Des données bathymétriques à petite échelle, ainsi que des données sur la vitesse et la direction des courants, seront recueillies à trois des neuf sites d’élevage commercial de poissons dans ce bassin. Ces données sont requises pour DEPOMOD, un outil de modélisation des dépôts bâti aux fins d’application au milieu marin. La région Centre et Arctique veut établir si cet outil permet d’obtenir des prévisions précises de la déposition des déchets en eau douce et, si cela n’est pas le cas, de le modifier ou de chercher un nouvel outil. Un tel outil permettrait aux demandeurs de permis et aux chargés de la réglementation d’évaluer la capacité potentielle de production d’un site en fonction de la capacité d’assimilation du milieu local.

Durée : septembre 2008 – mars 2009
Financement : PRRA – MPO
Recherche : Cheryl Podemski (MPO), Doug Geiling (MPO), David Ross (MPO) 
Information : Cheryl Podemski ( Cheryl.Podemski@MPO-mpo.gc.ca) ou Doug Geiling ( Doug.Geiling@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Modélisation de la capacité de charge pour la culture de bivalves : biodéposition

Boudin de moules infesté de Ciona intestinalis mis à l’intérieur d’une grande trappe à sédiments dans le but de mesurer la production de dépôts organiques dans la baie St Mary’s, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. (Photo : M. Huot)

La modélisation numérique constitue un moyen efficace d’évaluer les interactions entre les activités aquacoles et l’écosystème. Les travaux que nous avons menés à l’aide du modèle de dispersion des particules DEPOMOD en vue de prédire la charge en carbone résultant de l’augmentation de la biodéposition attribuable à la culture de bivalves en suspension ont révélé que nous pouvons prédire, dans certains cas, les changements dans la communauté benthique. Les échecs du modèle peuvent résulter du fait que les dépôts organiques provenant des salissures des moules mises en culture n’y sont pas inclus. Ces dépôts organiques peuvent représenter une biomasse considérable et, dans le cas des tuniciers, peuvent constituer une biomasse équivalente à plusieurs fois la biomasse des moules parasitées.

Pour améliorer nos modèles, nous avons mesuré la production et la vitesse d’enfoncement des dépôts organiques (matières fécales) pour les communautés dominantes de salissures, les tuniciers envahissants. À cette fin, nous avons construit de petits boudins de moules contenant ou non deux espèces de tuniciers. Nous avons ensuite comparé la production de dépôts organiques provenant de ces boudins à des boudins témoins semblables (boudins constitués uniquement de moules, boudins constitués uniquement de tuniciers, boudins témoins vides). Nous avons quantifié la production de dépôts organiques sur une période de deux semaines en septembre et octobre et nous avons mesuré la vitesse d’enfoncement des boulettes fécales en parallèle. Nous utiliserons ces données pour peaufiner le modèle DEPOMOD existant, ce qui permettra de faire de meilleures prévisions aux fins de gestion de l’aquaculture selon un cadre de gestion écosystémique pour l’aquaculture durable.

Durée : septembre 2008 – mars 2009
Financement : PRRA – MPO
Cofinancement : CSIA, CAISN, MPO (Québec)
Recherche : Andrea Weise (MPO), Mathieu Huot (MPO), Mayi Lecuona (MPO)
Information : Nom ( Chris.McKindsey@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Évaluation des effets écosystémiques de la culture de bivalves en zone intertidale : Gaspé

Mise en branle, tôt par un matin froid, de l’échantillonnage des communautés benthiques en-dessous et alentour de fermes mytilicoles dans la baie de Gaspé, au Québec. (Photo : C. McKindsey)

Une meilleure compréhension de la relation fonctionnelle entre la sédimentation organique accrue attribuable à la culture de bivalves en suspension et les réactions benthiques afin d’être mieux en mesure de prédire la capacité de charge du milieu benthique à des sites de culture de bivalves en suspension est une priorité régionale au Québec. La baie de Gaspé est l’un des principaux sites de culture de bivalves. Mais aucun renseignement n’a toutefois été recueilli sur l’impact de la culture de bivalves dans cette baie.

Ce projet est une étude de la portée des incidences des pratiques aquacoles actuelles sur le milieu benthique de la baie de Gaspé. Ces travaux, qui constituent la première étape d’un programme futur de recherche de plus grande portée, se limitent au prélèvement d’échantillons de l’endofaune et de sédiments en vue d’établir s’il se dessine des tendances par rapport à la mytiliculture. Nous avons échantillonné les communautés benthiques de la baie à différentes échelles spatiales et à des sites multiples à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des fermes, directement sous et entre les filières. Ces travaux viseront en particulier les considérations de gestion de l’habitat pour l’évaluation des sites. Ces recherches contribueront également à combler les lacunes dans les connaissances sur l’impact de la culture de bivalves sur la diversité et la productivité benthiques et nous permettrons de mieux planifier les travaux à entreprendre sur la capacité de charge dans la région à l’avenir.

Durée : septembre 2008 – mars 2009
Financement : PRRA – MPO
Cofinancement : MPO (Québec)
Recherche : Chris McKindsey (MPO), Nathalie Simard (MPO)
Information : Chris McKindsey ( Chris.McKindsey@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Mesure des gains en efficience de l’aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) en pleine mer

Les moules agissent comme biofiltreurs en s’alimentant de matières particulaires présentes dans la colonne d’eau à un site d’AMTI. (Photo : MPO)

Le concept AMTI repose sur le recyclage de l’énergie des composantes nourries d’un site aquacole par le biais d’une série d’organismes filtreurs (plantes et animaux), appelés biofiltreurs. Nous prévoyons mettre en culture une gamme d’espèces à proximité de cages d’élevage du saumon atlantique pour favoriser une meilleure croissance du poisson et la récupération des substances nutritives. Il est nécessaire d’obtenir des mesures des gains en efficience [accès, consommation, absorption, digestion et conservation des substances nutritives provenant du niveau trophique nourri (saumon atlantique)] des systèmes AMTI aux fins de leur gestion et de la mesure de leur durabilité. Des modèles et des mesures sont en voie d’être développés pour quantifier ces gains en efficience et cerner les lacunes dans les connaissances. Les renseignements issus de ces modèles serviront à orienter les nouvelles recherches en AMTI et à bâtir de facon proactive, avec les chargés de la réglementation, de nouveaux modèles de gestion pour l’industrie de l’aquaculture en évolution constante au Canada.

Durée : juin 2006 – décembre 2014
Financement : FIA – APECA
Cofinancement : Cooke Aquaculture Inc., Les Algues acadiennes Ltée
Recherche : Gregor K. Reid (MPO), Shawn Robinson (MPO), Thierry Chopin (UNBSJ), Bruce MacDonald (MPO), Fred Page (MPO), Les Burridge (MPO)
Information : Gregor K. Reid ( Gregor.Reid@MPO-mpo.gc.ca)

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :