Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program: Frequently asked questions

  1. Why is the Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program being put in place?

    The objective of the Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program is to reduce the number of existing abandoned and/or wrecked vessels located in federally owned small craft harbours that pose a risk to the environment, the health and safety of harbour workers and users, and the efficient and effective operation of the harbour.

    In order to address these issues, contribution funding in the amount of $1.3 million over the next 5 years will be available to harbour authorities and other eligible recipients to undertake the removal and disposal of abandoned and wrecked vessels in harbours owned by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO).

    In addition to financial support, DFO's Small Craft Harbours Program will also be offering guidance to harbour authorities andother organizations responsible for managing federally-owned harbours to help them better manage situations in the future to prevent vessel abandonment.

    Benefits will include enhanced environmental protection, reduced threats to human health and safety, and enhanced economic opportunities (e.g., tourism and fishing activities).

  2. How will this initiative benefit Canada's coastal communities?

    This new initiative will support DFO's mandate of operating and maintaining a national network of safe and accessible harbours that meets the principal and evolving needs of the commercial fishing industry and the broader economic interest of coastal communities. Communities, particularly those which are small and remote, often do not have the resources to cover the costs of vessel removal and disposal. The SCH Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program is designed to address these needs within Small Craft Harbours.

    Ultimately, the number of abandoned and wrecked vessels in small craft harbours will be reduced, thereby supporting the preservation and restoration of Canada's marine ecosystems.

  3. Who can apply to the program?

    This program is primarily geared towards funding the removal of vessels from commercial fishing harbours, in line with Small Craft Harbours' primary mandate of operating and maintaining harbours that are critical to the commercial fishing industry. However, applications for other harbours will be reviewed and considered on a case-by-case basis provided that they meet all of the eligibility criteria.

    Eligible recipients will be:


    To be eligible for funding, the applicant must be removing a vessel that is located in a DFO small craft harbour listed in Schedule I of the Fishing and Recreational Harbours Regulations.

  4. What activities are eligible?

    The Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program supports activities leading to the final disposal of abandoned and wrecked vessels located in SCH commercial fishing harbours as listed in Schedule I of the Fishing and Recreational Harbours Regulations, specifically:

    • activities associated with gaining legal possession of a vessel;
    • activities associated with assessing the risk and cost of removal and disposal of a vessel; and
    • activities to undertake the removal and final disposal of a vessel.

  5. What costs are eligible under the program?

    Eligible expenses under the SCH Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program include:

    • salaries and wages (e.g., Harbour Manager's salary (incremental); hours toward managing the project);
    • travel (e.g., accommodations, vehicle rental and kilometric rates; allowances for meals and incidentals directly related to the project; travel and per diem expenses cannot be more than the rates and allowances determined in the Travel Directive of the National Joint Council);
    • communications services (e.g., newspaper advertisements);
    • insurance;
    • professional services (e.g., assessment of environmental effects, heritage significance, or removal hazards; surveys; legal fees; labour/contract for removal and/or disposal);
    • rental of space and equipment (e.g., vessel storage fees; rental of towing equipment not covered in contractor's costs); and
    • GST/HST.

    All costs must directly support eligible activities.

  6. Will applicants be expected to pay a share of the removal/disposal cost?

    DFO will reimburse up to 100% of the eligible costs associated with gaining legal possession of a vessel and costs associated with assessing the cost of removal and disposal of a vessel, to a maximum of $5,000 per vessel.

    Up to 75% of the eligible costs associated with the removal and disposal of a vessel may be reimbursed by the DFO, to a maximum of $50,000 per vessel. The remaining 25% may be obtained from the applicant and/or other sources through cash or in-kind support.

  7. What kinds of activities constitute in-kind support?

    In-kind contributions involve non-cash goods or services that are provided by interested parties such as the recipients themselves, non-government organizations or other levels of government, in support of a project or initiative. This may include volunteer services, professional services, donation of supplies, equipment, or storage facilities, etc. In-kind contributions are given a monetary value, but are not reimbursable, and may account toward an applicant's share of eligible costs.

  8. Are multi-year projects eligible?

    Yes, the program will fund projects taking place over multiple years. However, all projects must be completed by March 31, 2022.

  9. Is there a maximum number of vessels that can be included in my funding application?

    No, there is no maximum limit for the removal and disposal of abandoned and wrecked vessels from a SCH harbour. However, there is a maximum limit to the amount that is reimbursable per vessel.

  10. Why do I need to be authorized to remove a vessel, and how do I obtain information to do so?

    Legal possession must be obtained prior to taking action. The applicant must be authorized to assess and remove the vessel(s) and provide supporting documentation to ensure that the vessel owner's rights have been respected. Depending on where the vessel is located (water or land), the process to obtain legal possession varies. See the section entitled How do I Remove a Vessel?

  11. What is legal possession and how does it differ from ownership?

    Legal possession is not ownership. Legal possession gives the applicant legal authority to undertake activities related to assessment, removal and disposal of the vessel. The owner will continue to retain liability for the vessel in all circumstances until disposal.

  12. Are surveys mandatory for every vessel? Can I apply for a removal without a survey?

    A survey is not mandatory but highly recommended. A survey will determine estimated removal and disposal costs, special requirements as necessary, and – more importantly – highlight risks posed by the removal, such as environmental impacts. It is in the applicant's best interest to understand the risks and take measures to prevent incidents from occurring during the removal, for which the applicant or the contractor may be held liable. This is why it is also important that the individual(s) responsible for removing or disposing of the vessel are appropriately insured against liabilities.

  13. Where should I send my application?

    Complete applications for funding under the SCH Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program can be sent to one of the following DFO regional offices:

    Pacific Region (British Columbia and Yukon)
    Small Craft Harbours
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada
    200-401 Burrard St
    Vancouver BC
    V6C 3S4

    Central and Arctic Region (Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Northwest Territories and Nunavut)
    Small Craft Harbours
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada
    501 University Cr
    Winnipeg MB
    R3T 2N6

    Quebec Region:
    Small Craft Harbours
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada
    104 Dalhousie St
    Québec QC
    G1K 7Y7

    Maritimes and Gulf Region (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island)
    Small Craft Harbours
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada
    343 Université
    P.O. Box 5030
    Moncton NB
    E1C 9B6

    Newfoundland and Labrador Region:
    Small Craft Harbours
    Fisheries and Oceans Canada
    John Cabot Building
    10 Barters Hill
    St. John's NL
    A1C 5X1

  14. What is the application deadline?

    The deadline for applications for projects to be completed in the 2017-18 fiscal year (April 1, 2017, to March 31, 2018) is October 2, 2017.

    The deadline for applications for projects to be completed in the 2018-19 fiscal year (April 1, 2018, to March 31, 2019) is March 15, 2018.

    The deadline for applications for projects to be completed in the 2019-2020 fiscal year (April 1, 2019, to March 31, 2020) is March 15, 2019.

  15. I don't know who owns the abandoned vessel(s) in my harbour. What do I do?

    In an effort to identify the vessel owner, there are a number of searches that can be performed.

    See the section on the website entitled How do I Remove a Vessel?

  16. The owner of the abandoned/wrecked vessel in my harbour does not want to take responsibility for disposing of it. What do I do?

    If the owner is not willing to take responsibility for the removal and disposal of the vessel, it is recommended that you contact your local DFO regional office to discuss next steps. It is possible that you may need to seek legal counsel in order to proceed. If applying to the program for legal possession, the project plan/timeline will need to account for the extra steps needed to obtain this legal possession (such as a civil court process).

  17. The owner wants to transfer legal possession to a Harbour Authority. What steps are required to do that?

    The owner must sign a consent form in order to transfer legal possession to a Harbour Authority for the purpose of removal and disposal. The form used depends on whether the vessel is in the water or on land. See the section on the website entitled How do I Remove a Vessel? to determine the appropriate form to use.

  18. What is the difference between DFO's Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program and Transport Canada's Abandoned Boats Program?

    The Transport Canada and the DFO funding programs share the objective of removing and disposing of abandoned and wrecked vessels from Canadian waters in order to reduce threats to human health and safety, and the environment, and to enhance economic opportunities such as tourism and fishing activities.

    The key difference between the 2 programs is with respect to the intended applicants: the DFO Abandoned and Wrecked Vessels Removal Program is intended to fund the removal and disposal of abandoned and/or wrecked vessels in scheduled small craft harbours, whereas the Transport Canada program would apply in all other Canadian waters outside the boundaries of the Small Craft Harbours Program.

  19. How many vessels does DFO expect to see removed from its harbours?

    It is difficult to predict how many vessels will be removed over the next 5 years, as it depends on the number of applications received. However, DFO's program will accommodate the removal of multiple vessels from a harbour, which may be less costly than individual removals, with the expectation that more vessels can be addressed. The final number of vessels will depend on the cost and complexity of the removal, as well as the initiative of the Harbour Authorities to ensure the vessels in their harbours are addressed.

  20. What other steps are being taken to address abandoned and wrecked vessels?

    The key to reducing the number of abandoned and wrecked vessels is to put measures in place to prevent their occurrence in the first place. In addition to the funding program, the SCH Program staff will work with Harbour Authorities to encourage them to implement measures to minimize future risks, and will work with both Transport Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard to ensure that the overall SCH Program contributes to developing long-term solutions for vessels of concern.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme d’élimination des épaves et des navires abandonnés de Ports pour petits bateaux

Foire aux questions

  1. Pourquoi met-on en place le Programme d'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés?

    L'objectif du Programme d'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés consiste à réduire le nombre de navires abandonnés ou naufragés qui se trouvent dans des ports pour petits bateaux appartenant au gouvernement fédéral et qui présentent des risques pour l'environnement, pour la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs et des utilisateurs portuaires, ainsi que pour l'exploitation efficace et efficiente des ports concernés.

    Pour mener à bien cette tâche, les administrations portuaires et d'autres bénéficiaires admissibles auront accès à un financement sous forme de contribution d'un montant total de 1,3 million de dollars au cours des 5 prochaines années pour entreprendre l'enlèvement et l'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés dans les ports appartenant à Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO).

    En plus d'offrir une contribution financière, Pêches et Océans Canada fournira des conseils aux administrations portuaires et autres organisations responsables de la gestion des ports de pêche commerciale appartenant au gouvernement fédéral, afin de les aider à mieux gérer les situations menant à l'abandon de navires.

    Les avantages comprennent une protection accrue de l'environnement, la réduction des risques pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes, et l'amélioration des occasions d'affaires (par exemple, le tourisme et les activités de pêche).

  2. Comment ce programme profitera-t-il aux collectivités côtières?

    Ce nouveau programme permettra de soutenir le mandat du MPO, qui consiste à exploiter et à maintenir un réseau national de ports sûrs et accessibles qui respecte les besoins fondamentaux et changeants de l'industrie de la pêche commerciale et les intérêts économiques généraux des collectivités côtières. Les collectivités, en particulier celles qui sont petites et éloignées, n'ont souvent pas les ressources nécessaires pour absorber les coûts liés à l'enlèvement et à l'élimination des navires. Le Programme d'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés de PPB est conçu pour répondre à ces besoins dans les ports pour petits bateaux.

    Pour terminer, le nombre de navires abandonnés ou naufragés dans les ports pour petits bateaux sera réduit, ce qui favorisera la conservation et la restauration des écosystèmes marins du Canada.

  3. Qui peut s'inscrire au programme?

    Ce programme est principalement axé sur le financement de l'élimination des navires dans des ports de pêche commerciale, conformément au mandat principal de Ports pour petits bateaux, qui est d'assurer l'exploitation et l'entretien des ports qui sont essentiels à l'industrie de la pêche commerciale. Toutefois, les demandes pour d'autres ports seront examinées et considérées au cas par cas, pour autant qu'elles respectent tous les critères d'admissibilité.

    Les bénéficiaires admissibles seront :

    1. une province ou un organisme d'une province, conformément à ce qui est défini à 'article 2 de la loi sur les ports de pêche et de plaisance (LPPP);
    2. un organisme sans but lucratif;
    3. un groupe autochtone;
    4. toute personne, telle qu'elle est définie au paragraphe 5(3) de la LPPP;
    5. une combinaison des critères ci-dessus.

    Pour être admissible à un financement, le demandeur doit éliminer un navire qui se trouve dans un port pour petits bateaux du MPO inscrit à l'annexe I du Règlement sur les ports de pêche et de plaisance.

  4. Quelles activités sont admissibles?

    Le Programme d'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés soutient les activités visant l'élimination définitive des navires abandonnés ou naufragés se trouvant dans des ports de pêche commerciale de PPB, comme il est indiqué à l'annexe I du Règlement sur les ports de pêche et de plaisance, plus précisément les :

    • activités associées à la prise de possession légale d'un navire;
    • activités associées à l'évaluation du risque et du coût d'enlèvement et d'élimination d'un navire;
    • activités nécessaires à l'enlèvement et à l'élimination définitive d'un navire.

  5. Quels sont les coûts admissibles en vertu du programme?

    Les dépenses admissibles en vertu du Programme d'élimination des épaves et des navires abandonnés de PPB comprennent :

    • les salaires et les traitements (par exemple, le salaire versé à un gestionnaire de port (différentiel); les heures consacrées à la gestion du projet);
    • les déplacements (par exemple, l'hébergement, la location de voiture et les taux par kilomètre; les indemnités pour les repas et frais accessoires directement liés au projet; les frais de déplacement et les indemnités journalières ne peuvent excéder les taux et les indemnités déterminés dans la Directive sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte);
    • les services de communication (par exemple, les annonces dans les journaux);
    • les assurances;
    • les services professionnels (par exemple, l'évaluation des effets sur l'environnement, la valeur patrimoniale ou les dangers liés à l'élimination; relevés; frais juridiques; contrat et main-d'œuvre pour l'enlèvement ou l'élimination);
    • la location de locaux et d'équipement (par exemple, frais d'entreposage de navires; la location d'équipement de remorquage non incluse dans les coûts de l'entrepreneur);
    • TPS/TVH.

    Tous les coûts doivent soutenir directement les activités admissibles.

  6. Les demandeurs devront-ils payer une partie du coût d'enlèvement et d'élimination?

    Le MPO remboursera jusqu'à 100 % des coûts associés à l'obtention de la possession légale d'un navire et des coûts associés à l'évaluation du coût d'enlèvement et d'élimination d'un navire, jusqu'à concurrence de 5 000 $ par navire.

    Jusqu'à 75 % des coûts admissibles associés à l'enlèvement et à l'élimination d'un navire peuvent être remboursés par le MPO, jusqu'à concurrence de 50 000 $ par navire. Les 25 % restants doivent être fournis par le demandeur ou peuvent provenir d'autres sources, sous forme d'un soutien financier ou non financier.

  7. Quels types d'activités constituent un soutien non financier?

    Les contributions non financières comprennent les biens ou les services fournis par des parties intéressées telles que les bénéficiaires eux-mêmes, les organisations non gouvernementales ou d'autres ordres de gouvernement, à l'appui d'un projet ou d'une initiative. Il peut s'agir de services bénévoles, de services professionnels, de dons de fournitures, d'équipement ou d'installations d'entreposage, etc. Les contributions non financières se voient attribuer une valeur monétaire, sans toutefois être remboursables, et peuvent être comptabilisées dans la part des coûts admissibles d'un demandeur.

  8. Les projets pluriannuels sont-ils admissibles?

    Oui, le programme financera les projets étalés sur plusieurs années. Tous les projets doivent cependant être terminés d'ici le 31 mars 2022.

  9. Y a-t-il un nombre maximal de navires pouvant être inclus dans ma demande de financement?

    Non, il n'y a pas de limite maximale au nombre de navires abandonnés ou naufragés à enlever et à éliminer d'un port des port. Une limite est toutefois imposée quant au montant remboursable par navire.

  10. Pourquoi dois-je être autorisé à enlever un navire et comment puis-je obtenir cette autorisation?

    Il faut obtenir la possession légale avant de prendre quelque mesure que ce soit. Le demandeur doit être autorisé à évaluer et à enlever le ou les navires et doit fournir des documents à l'appui pour garantir le respect des droits des propriétaires des navires. Selon l'endroit où se trouve le navire (à l'eau ou sur terre), le processus de prise de possession légale varie. Voir la partie Comment éliminer un navire?

  11. Qu'est-ce qu'une possession légale et en quoi diffère-t-elle de la propriété?

    La possession légale diffère de la propriété. La possession légale confère au demandeur l'autorisation légale d'entreprendre des activités liées à l'évaluation, à l'enlèvement et à l'élimination du navire. Le propriétaire demeure responsable du navire dans toutes circonstances jusqu'à son élimination.

  12. Des inspections sont-elles obligatoires pour tous les navires? Puis-je m'inscrire au programme pour procéder à un enlèvement sans inspection?

    L'inspection n'est pas obligatoire, mais est fortement recommandée. Une inspection permettra de déterminer les coûts estimatifs de l'enlèvement et de l'élimination du navire, les exigences particulières (s'il y a lieu) et, surtout, mettra en évidence les risques posés par l'enlèvement du navire, comme les impacts environnementaux. Il est dans l'intérêt du demandeur de comprendre les risques et de prendre des mesures afin de prévenir tout incident pendant l'enlèvement du navire, qui pourrait engager la responsabilité du demandeur ou de l'entrepreneur. C'est pourquoi il est également important que la personne chargée d'enlever ou d'éliminer le navire soit assurée de manière adéquate contre les risques.

  13. Où dois-je envoyer ma demande?

    Une fois remplis, les formulaires de demande de financement dans le cadre du Programme d'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés de PPB peuvent être envoyés à l'un des bureaux régionaux du MPO suivants :

    Région du Pacifique (Colombie-Britannique et Yukon)
    Ports pour petits bateaux
    Pêches et Océans Canada
    401, rue Burrard, bureau 200
    Vancouver BC
    V6C 3S4

    Région du Centre et de l'Arctique (Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Nunavut)
    Ports pour petits bateaux
    Pêches et Océans Canada
    501, University Crescent
    Winnipeg MB
    R3T 2N6

    Région du Québec :
    Ports pour petits bateaux
    Pêches et Océans Canada
    104, rue Dalhousie
    Québec QC
    G1K 7Y7

    Région des Maritimes et du Golfe (Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse et Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
    Ports pour petits bateaux
    Pêches et Océans Canada
    343, avenue Université
    C.P. 5030
    Moncton NB
    E1C 9B6

    Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador :
    Ports pour petits bateaux
    Pêches et Océans Canada
    Édifice John Cabot
    10, Barter's Hill
    St. John's NL
    A1C 5X1

  14. Quelle est la date limite pour présenter une demande?

    La date limite pour les demandes de projets à réaliser au cours de l'exercice 2021-2022 (du 1er avril 2021 au 31 mars 2022) est le 31 mars 2021

  15. Je ne sais pas qui est propriétaire du navire abandonné dans mon port. Que dois-je faire?

    Plusieurs recherches peuvent être effectuées pour trouver le propriétaire d'un navire. Voir la partie sur le site Web intitulée Comment éliminer un navire?

  16. Le propriétaire du navire abandonné ou naufragé dans mon port ne veut pas assumer la responsabilité de son élimination. Que dois-je faire?

    Si le propriétaire n'est pas prêt à assumer la responsabilité de l'enlèvement et de l'élimination du navire, il est recommandé que vous communiquiez avec votre bureau régional local du MPO afin de discuter des prochaines étapes. Il se peut que vous deviez demander des conseils juridiques pour procéder. En cas de demande au programme en vue d'obtenir la possession légale, le plan de projet ou l'échéancier devra tenir compte des mesures supplémentaires à prendre pour obtenir cette possession légale (par exemple, un recours devant un tribunal civil).

  17. Le propriétaire souhaite transférer la possession légale à l'administration portuaire. Quelles sont les étapes à suivre?

    Le propriétaire doit signer un formulaire de consentement afin de transférer la possession légale à l'administration portuaire à des fins d'enlèvement et d'élimination du navire. Le formulaire employé dépend de l'emplacement du navire (dans l'eau ou à terre). Voir la partie sur le site Web intitulée Comment éliminer un navire? pour déterminer le formulaire approprié à utiliser.

  18. Quelle est la différence entre le Programme d'élimination des navires abandonnés ou naufragés du MPO et le Programme de bateaux abandonnés de Transports Canada?

    Les programmes de financement de Transports Canada et du MPO visent tous deux à retirer et à éliminer les navires abandonnés ou naufragés des eaux canadiennes afin de réduire les risques pour la santé et la sécurité des personnes, et pour l’environnement, et d'améliorer les occasions d'affaires liées au tourisme et aux activités de pêche.

    La grande différence entre les 2 programmes concerne les demandeurs visés : le Programme d'élimination des épaves et des navires abandonnés du MPO est conçu pour financer l'enlèvement et l'élimination d'une épave ou d'un navire abandonnés dans un port pour petits bateaux inscrit, tandis que le programme de Transports Canada s'appliquerait à toutes les eaux canadiennes situées à l'extérieur des limites du Programme des PPB.

  19. Combien de navires Pêches et Océans Canada s'attend-il à ce que l'on retire de ses ports?

    Il est difficile de prévoir le nombre de navires qui seront enlevés au cours des 5 prochaines années, comme ce nombre dépendra de la quantité de demandes reçues. Cependant, le programme du MPO permettra l'enlèvement de plusieurs navires d'un même port, ce qui peut être moins coûteux que l'enlèvement du même nombre de navires dans différents ports. Cette mesure devrait permettre l'élimination d'un plus grand nombre de navires. Au bout du compte, le nombre de navires dépendra du coût et de la complexité de l'enlèvement, ainsi que de la volonté des administrations portuaires à assurer l'élimination des navires dans leurs ports.

  20. Quelles autres mesures sont prises afin de traiter les dossiers de navires abandonnés et d'épaves?

    Le facteur essentiel pour réduire le nombre d'épaves et de navires abandonnés est la mise en place de mesures qui empêcheront du coup de tels incidents. Outre le programme de financement, le personnel du Programme des PPB travaillera avec les administrations portuaires afin de les inciter à instaurer des mesures visant à réduire les risques futurs, et collaborera avec Transports Canada et la Garde côtière canadienne afin de veiller à ce que le programme de PPB dans son ensemble contribue à l'élaboration de solutions à long terme pour les navires préoccupants.

Date de modification :