Language selection

Search

Canada's Oceans Agenda: Protecting our oceans

banner

Our Oceans

Canada's oceans are home to some of the most diverse ecosystems on Earth.

What are MPAs?

Marine protected areas give our vital ecosystems a chance to survive and thrive.

Marine Refuges

It's not just about MPAs. Learn more about our other marine conservation measures.

Targets and Achievements

To date, Canada has conserved nearly 14% of its oceans!

Canada's oceans are rich and diverse. Our oceans are home to dynamic ecological features such as deep sea thermal vents, unique corals and seamounts, essential habitats for endangered species such as whales and other cetaceans, fish stocks that support productive and sustainable fisheries—the list goes on.

Canadians understand that to preserve and protect our oceans is to preserve and protect our communities. That's why the Government of Canada has committed to conserving 25 per cent of Canada's oceans, and 25 per cent of its land and freshwater, by 2025, working towards 30 per cent by 2030. Grounded in science, Indigenous knowledge and local perspectives, we're advancing collaborative approaches to work with provincial, territorial, and Indigenous governments—only by working together will we achieve our collective aims.

Healthy oceans support healthy communities, now and for generations to come.

Learn more:

Blue Economy Strategy

The World Bank defines a blue economy as one that ensures the sustainable use of ocean resources for economic growth, improved livelihoods and jobs, while preserving the health of ocean ecosystems.

Report on Canada’s MPAs

Effective Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) are key to supporting the health and sustainability of Canada’s marine environment. The Current – Managing Oceans Act MPAs Now, For the Future provides a national overview of how Fisheries and Oceans Canada is progressing toward the effective management of Oceans Act MPAs.

Marine spatial planning

Already being used in over 75 countries around the world, marine spatial planning will enable Canada to advance a diverse array of activities and ocean uses to meet ecological, economic, and social needs. Across the globe, almost 15 per cent of the world's exclusive economic zones are now covered by approved marine spatial plans, and we've already begun laying the foundations for marine spatial planning in Canada.

Stay Connected

Twitter Twitter

Follow us on Twitter:

National information

Regional information

facebook Facebook

Instagram Instagram

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Stratégie du Canada sur les océans : Protéger nos océans

banner

Nos océans

Les océans du Canada abritent certains des écosystèmes les plus diversifiés de la planète.

Que sont les ZPM?

Les zones de protection marine donnent à nos écosystèmes vitaux une chance de survivre et de prospérer.

Refuges marins

Il n'y a pas que les ZPM! Apprenez en davantage sur nos autres mesures de conservation marine.

Objectifs et réalisations

À ce jour, le Canada a conservé près de 14 % de ses océans!

Riches et diversifiés, les océans du Canada regorgent de caractéristiques écologiques dynamiques, notamment des évents thermiques sous-marins, des coraux et des monts sous-marins uniques, des habitats essentiels pour des espèces en voie de disparition, comme les baleines et d'autres cétacés, des stocks de poissons favorisant des pêches productives et durables, et la liste continue.

Les Canadiens sont bien conscients que le fait de préserver et de protéger nos océans, c'est aussi préserver et protéger nos communautés. C'est pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à conserver 25 % des océans du Canada et 25 % de son territoire terrestre et d'eau douce d'ici 2025, et vise à atteindre 30 % d'ici 2030. En nous appuyant sur la science, le savoir autochtone et les perspectives locales, nous mettons de l'avant des approches de collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux, et autochtones─Ce n'est qu'en travaillant ensemble que nous atteindrons nos objectifs collectifs.

Des océans en bonne santé soutiennent des communautés en bonne santé, maintenant et pour des générations.

Pour en savoir davantage :

Stratégie de l'économie bleue

La Banque mondiale définit l'économie bleue comme étant « l'utilisation durable des ressources océaniques pour stimuler la croissance économique, améliorer les moyens de subsistance et les emplois, tout en assurant la santé des écosystèmes marins ».

Rapport sur les ZPM du Canada

Des zones de protection marine (ZPM) efficaces sont essentielles pour soutenir la santé et la durabilité du milieu marin du Canada. Le Courant – Gérer  maintenant, pour l’avenir, les ZPM désignées en vertu de la Loi sur les océans donne un aperçu national de la façon dont Pêches et Océans Canada progresse vers la gestion efficace des ZPM en vertu de la Loi sur les océans.

Planification spatiale marine

Déjà utilisée dans plus de 75 pays dans le monde, la planification spatiale marine permettra au Canada de faire progresser un éventail diversifié d'activités et d'utilisations océaniques afin de répondre aux besoins écologiques, économiques et sociaux. Dans le monde entier, près de 15 % des zones économiques exclusives font désormais l'objet d'un plan spatial marin approuvé, et nous avons également commencé à jeter les bases de la planification spatiale marine au Canada.

Restez branchés

Twitter Twitter

facebook Facebook

Instagram Instagram

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :