Language selection

Search

Federal Aquaculture Act

Aquaculture is the farming of fish and seafood in fresh or saltwater. It is an established practice in many parts of the world. In Canada, aquaculture was first used thousands of years ago by Indigenous peoples who cultivated clam gardens. It now includes large-scale commercial industry sectors across the country, providing direct and indirect economic benefits to many local and regional economies, and has the potential to nearly double production by 2028.

As the aquaculture industry continues to grow, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is developing proposed legislation designed to reflect the distinct context and requirements associated with aquaculture management. Based on recommendations from the Standing Senate Committee on Fisheries and Oceans and the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers, work is underway to develop a federal Aquaculture Act that respects federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions, fosters national consistency, improves clarity for the sector, enables the sustainable management of aquaculture and helps sustainably grow the industry for the benefit of Indigenous and rural communities.

Thank you!

The Department published a discussion paper that outlines the proposal for new legislation for public comment between August 17 2020 to February 12, 2021. The Department thanks all those who submitted comments. As with all comments on the proposed Aquaculture Act, the Department will take the time to review and carefully consider the input.
Learn more about ongoing engagement with Indigenous partners to inform the development of a proposed legislation that reflects Indigenous perspectives

Find out more about the proposed Aquaculture Act

What is aquaculture?

Find out more about aquaculture and how it is regulated in Canada

How we got here

See our previous engagement and actions taken on the proposed Act

On the path to reconciliation

Learn more about how the proposed Act provides an opportunity for dialogue with Indigenous partners to advance reconciliation and ongoing Indigenous engagement

Considerations for a new Act

Explore the various proposed elements of the proposed Act

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La loi fédérale sur l’aquaculture

L’aquaculture est l’élevage de poissons et de fruits de mer en eau douce ou salée. Il s’agit d’une pratique établie dans de nombreuses régions du monde. Au Canada, l’aquaculture a d’abord servi à accroître les stocks naturels. Elle est maintenant devenue une industrie commerciale à grande échelle dans l’ensemble du pays, qui procure des avantages économiques directs et indirects à de nombreuses économies locales et régionales, et dont la production pourrait doubler d’ici 2028.

Le secteur de l’aquaculture poursuit son essor et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) rédige un avant-projet de loi qui tiendra compte du contexte et des exigences propres à la gestion de l’aquaculture. Sur la base des recommandations du Comité sénatorial permanent des pêches et des océans et du Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture, des travaux sont en cours pour élaborer une loi fédérale sur l’aquaculture qui respecte les compétences fédérales, provinciales et territoriales, favorise la cohérence nationale, améliore la clarté pour le secteur, permet la gestion durable de l'aquaculture et contribue à la croissance durable de l’industrie au profit des collectivités autochtones et rurales.

Merci!

Le ministère a publié un document de travail qui décrit la proposition pour une nouvelle loi afin de recevoir les commentaires du public du le 17 août 2020 au le 12 février 2021. Le Ministère remercie tous ceux qui ont soumis des commentaires.  Comme pour tous les commentaires reçus sur la proposition de loi sur l'aquaculture, le Ministère prendra le temps de les examiner soigneusement et attentivement.

Apprenez-en d'avantage sur la mobilisation en cours avec les partenaires Autochtones afin d'informer le développement d'une proposition de loi reflétant les perspectives des peuples autochtones.

 

Apprenez-en davantage sur la loi sur l’aquaculture proposée

Qu’est-ce que l’aquaculture?

Renseignez-vous sur l’aquaculture et sa réglementation au Canada

Notre cheminement

Renseignez-vous sur notre consultation précédente et les mesures prises à l’égard du projet de loi

Sur la voie de la réconciliation

Renseignez-vous sur la manière dont le projet de loi offre une occasion de dialoguer avec les partenaires autochtones pour faire progresser la réconciliation

Points à considérer pour une nouvelle loi

Passez en revue les différents éléments proposés du projet de loi

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :