What is aquaculture

Aquaculture is the farming of fish and seafood in fresh or saltwater. Aquaculture has been identified, both internationally and within Canada, as a key agri-food sector that will be important in supporting the world’s growing demand for animal protein, and contributing to food security and human health in a low-carbon production manner. Aquaculture in Canada occurs in all provinces and Yukon and employs thousands of Canadians, including many in rural, coastal, and Indigenous communities. According to 2018 data from Statistics Canada, the sector generated 3,500 direct jobs and produced over 190 thousand tonnes of cultured product, which directly contributed over $2 billion (plus associated economic activity) to Canada’s gross domestic product.

Aquaculture Regulation in Canada

In Canada, aquaculture has been regulated since the 1980s through existing federal-provincial/territorial legislation and regulations that apply to specific aquaculture activities. Over time, incremental changes to these multiple laws, regulations, and associated policies have created a complicated regulatory system with different requirements across the country. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is the lead federal regulator and manages aquaculture under the Fisheries Act—legislation which was designed for wild capture fisheries and does not reflect the distinct context and requirements associated with aquaculture management. However, aquaculture activities are regulated by multiple federal organizations and several different pieces of federal legislation.

There are currently three distinct regulatory approaches to aquaculture across Canada:

  1. In British Columbia, DFO issues aquaculture licences under the Fisheries Act’s Pacific Aquaculture Regulations and is directly responsible for environmental regulation of the sector. The Province is responsible for land management and issues leases to grant exclusive use of submerged provincial land for the purpose of culturing aquatic organisms.
  2. In Prince Edward Island, DFO issues aquaculture leases (with conditions on the lease agreements) to help ensure appropriate environmental performance of the sector through cooperative action with the Province.
  3. Elsewhere in Canada, DFO is also responsible for environmental regulation of the sector. Provincial and territorial authorities license aquaculture production operations (i.e., all activities related to the growing of finfish and shellfish), and authorize the allocation of space to carry out aquaculture operations. Many provincial/territorial jurisdictions also regulate for potential environmental impacts, animal welfare, fish health, and/or pest control product sale and use.

Overlaying these three approaches, the federal government plays a national, cross-cutting, coordination role in aquaculture governance.

What is the objective of the new legislation?

The proposed Act is based on the 2018 agreement between federal, provincial, and territorial ministers, as well as feedback provided by stakeholders and Indigenous partners during previous rounds of engagement. The new federal legislation is intended to:

  • foster national consistency, while respecting federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdiction;
  • improve clarity and certainty for the industry;
  • enhance environmental protection; and
  • help sustainably grow the industry for the benefit of Indigenous and rural communities.

The Aquaculture Act may adopt relevant elements from sections of the Fisheries Act that concern aquaculture and adapt them to the sector’s context, while some may be purpose-built for the proposed Act, providing an opportunity to improve aquaculture management in Canada. 

All elements are proposed for input and the proposed act is expected to draw much from, and be consistent with, the Fisheries Act, but the engagement process will allow for important public policy discussions that will help further refine the legislative proposals.

How will the Act support reconciliation?

The Act would respect Canadian laws, including section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 and any other legislation, existing or to be developed, that would define and/or protect Indigenous rights. The Act would also contain provisions equivalent to the ones introduced in the Fisheries Act as part of the 2019 amendments to support the recognition of Indigenous peoples’ rights.

How can we be kept informed?

The Department’s web page will be updated when appropriate while the bill is being developed. Once the bill is introduced in the House of Commons, updates will be available on the House of Commons’ website.

What happens after public engagement is closed?

Once public engagement is closed, the Government will finalize the proposed legislation. Once the bill is introduced in  Parliament, input received by DFO can no longer be incorporated into the proposed legislation. However, input can still be provided through the parliamentary process.

Qu'est-ce que l'aquaculture?

L’aquaculture est l’élevage de poissons et de fruits de mer en eau douce ou salée. L’aquaculture a été désignée, tant à l’échelle internationale qu’au Canada, comme un secteur agroalimentaire clé qui jouera un rôle important en vue de répondre à la demande croissante de protéines animales dans le monde et qui contribuera à la sécurité alimentaire et à la santé humaine grâce à ses méthodes de production à faibles émissions de carbone. Au Canada, l’aquaculture est présente dans toutes les provinces et le territoire du Yukon et emploie des milliers de Canadiens, dont bon nombre dans les communautés rurales, côtières et autochtones. Selon les données de 2018 de Statistique Canada, le secteur a généré 3 500 emplois directs et produit plus de 190 000 tonnes de produits d’élevage, ce qui représente une contribution directe de plus de deux milliards de dollars (sans compter les activités économiques connexes) au produit intérieur brut du Canada.

Réglementation de l’aquaculture au Canada

Au Canada, l’aquaculture est réglementée depuis les années 1980 par des lois et des règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux qui s’appliquent à certaines activités d’aquaculture. Au fil du temps, des changements progressifs apportés à ces multiples lois, régulations et politiques ont créé un système de réglementation compliqué assorti des exigences différentes à l’échelle du pays. Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) est le principal organisme de réglementation fédéral et gère l’aquaculture en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, une loi conçue pour la pêche d’espèces sauvages et qui ne tient pas compte le contexte distinct et les exigences associées à la gestion de l'aquaculture. Toutefois, les activités de l’aquaculture sont réglementées par de multiples organismes fédéraux et sont régies par plusieurs différentes lois fédérales.

Il existe actuellement trois approches réglementaires distinctes en matière d’aquaculture au Canada :

  1. En Colombie-Britannique, le MPO délivre des permis d’aquaculture en vertu du Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture pris en application de la Loi sur les pêches et est directement responsable de la réglementation environnementale du secteur. La province est responsable de la gestion des terres et délivre des baux pour accorder l’utilisation exclusive des terres submergées de la province pour la culture d’organismes aquatiques.
  2. À l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le MPO délivre des baux d’aquaculture (assortis de conditions dans la convention de bail) en vue d’assurer une performance environnementale adéquate du secteur grâce à des mesures concertées avec la province.
  3. Ailleurs au Canada, le MPO est également responsable de la réglementation environnementale du secteur. Les autorités provinciales et territoriales délivrent des permis pour les activités de production aquacole (c.-à-d. toutes les activités liées à l’élevage de poissons et de mollusques et crustacés) et autorisent l’attribution de l’espace destiné aux activités d’aquaculture. De nombreuses administrations provinciales et territoriales possèdent également des règlements régissant les impacts environnementaux potentiels, le bien-être des animaux, la santé des poissons et la vente ou l’utilisation de produits antiparasitaires.

Au-delà de ces trois approches, le gouvernement fédéral joue un rôle national, transversal et de coordination dans la gouvernance de l’aquaculture.

Quel est l’objectif de la nouvelle loi?

Le projet de loi est fondé sur l’accord que les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont conclu en 2018, ainsi que sur les commentaires formulés par les intervenants et les partenaires autochtones lors des précédents exercices de consultation. La nouvelle loi fédérale vise à :

La loi sur l’aquaculture proposée pourrait retenir des éléments pertinents des articles de la Loi sur les pêches qui concernent l’aquaculture et les adapter au contexte du secteur, tandis que certains éléments pourraient être conçus spécialement pour le projet de loi, ce qui offre la possibilité d’améliorer la gestion de l’aquaculture au Canada.

Tous les éléments sont ouverts aux commentaires et le projet de loi devrait s’inspirer largement de la Loi sur les pêches et être cohérente avec elle, mais le processus de consultation donnera lieu à d’importantes discussions de politique publique qui aideront à affiner les propositions législatives.

Comment la loi favorisera-t-elle la réconciliation?

La loi respectera les lois canadiennes, notamment l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 et tout autre texte réglementaire, existant ou à venir, qui définirait ou protégerait les droits des Autochtones. Elle renfermerait aussi des dispositions équivalentes à celles incorporées dans la Loi sur les pêches dans le cadre des modifications de 2019 visant à soutenir la reconnaissance des droits des peuples autochtones.

Comment pouvons-nous être tenus informés?

La page Web du Ministère sera mise à jour au besoin pendant l’élaboration du projet de loi. Une fois le projet déposé à la Chambre des communes, les mises à jour seront disponibles sur le site Web de la Chambre des communes.

Que se passe-t-il une fois que la consultation publique est terminée?

Une fois la consultation publique terminée, le gouvernement mettra la touche finale au projet de loi. Lorsque le projet de loi aura été présenté au Parlement, les commentaires reçus par le MPO ne pourront plus y être incorporés. Toutefois, des commentaires pourront encore être formulés dans le cadre du processus parlementaire.