Language selection

Search

Lighthouses in Canada

With the world's longest coastline and more than half the area on earth that is covered in lakes, Canada is home to more than 750 lighthouses. The Government of Canada has identified some of these scenic landmarks as surplus lighthouses. Working with Parks Canada, we have transferred close to 100 lighthouses to individuals, community groups and municipalities. The new owners will conserve these important heritage sites for the benefit of all Canadians.

Learn about the different kinds of lighthouses all across Canada and their many roles.

On this page

Types of lighthouses

Lighthouses range greatly in size, structure and setting. Some unique examples of these icons of maritime history include:

Lighthouses are found in every province in Canada, except Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Roles of lighthouses

Lighthouses have many purposes. For example, they are used to:

Canada's lighthouse history

The first lighthouse in Canada was built in Louisbourg on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, in 1734. Over the years, the structure was damaged in battle, destroyed by fire and rebuilt several times. The lighthouse known today was built in 1923.

Canada's oldest surviving lighthouse was built in 1758 on Sambro Island, at the entrance to Halifax Harbour.

By the 1800s, growing trade between Canada and Europe led to an increasing number of shipwrecks along our shores. To prevent these disasters, lighthouses were built on:

The first two lighthouses on the West Coast opened at Race Rocks and Fisgard Island in 1860. After Confederation in 1867, Canada built a vast network of lighthouses to mark the sea routes essential to maritime safety and trade.

Changing role of lighthouses

Over the years, the number of lighthouses in use, including ones managed by lighthouse keepers, has decreased because of:

But traditional lighthouses are still a big part of Canada's identity, culture and landscape. The Government of Canada has designated many lighthouses under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act and transferred them to new owners all across Canada. This special status recognizes the beauty and historic importance of heritage lighthouses to Canadian communities.

We now work with provinces, communities and other partners to ensure that heritage lighthouses are conserved and protected for future generations. We also continue to operate modern aids to navigation on lighthouse properties.

Staffed lighthouses

The Government of Canada continues to operate 51 staffed lighthouses across the country, including:

The government manages and maintains most of these lighthouses for operational purposes. One exception is Machias Seal Island in the Gulf of Maine, where lightkeepers continue to staff the lighthouse for sovereignty reasons.

Surplus lighthouses

The Government of Canada has identified about 500 traditional lighthouses that are not in use. They can be transferred to new owners who wish to make the most of the heritage value and tourism potential of these sites. Interested acquirers of surplus lighthouses must complete DFO's business plan template. This outlines a set of eligibility criteria that groups must meet, such as a financial plan and organizational structure.

Contact us

For more information, contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada at info@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Related links

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Les phares au Canada

Avec le plus long littoral du monde et plus de la moitié de son territoire recouvert de lacs, le Canada compte plus de 750 phares. Le gouvernement du Canada a qualifié certains de ces sites pittoresques de phares excédentaires. En travaillant avec Parcs Canada, nous avons transféré près de 100 phares à des individus, à des groupes communautaires et à des municipalités. Les nouveaux propriétaires conserveront ces sites patrimoniaux importants au bénéfice de tous les Canadiens.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les différents types de phares dans tout le pays, et sur les nombreux rôles qu'ils jouent.

Sur cette page

Types de phares

La taille, la structure et le milieu environnant des phares varient fortement. Voici des exemples de ces icônes uniques de l'histoire maritime :

Chaque province du Canada abrite des phares, à l'exception de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan.

Rôles des phares

Les phares ont de nombreux usages. Par exemple, ils sont utilisés pour :

Histoire des phares du Canada

Le premier phare du Canada a été construit en 1734 à Louisbourg, sur l'île du Cap-Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Au fil des années, sa structure a été endommagée pendant des combats, détruite par un incendie, puis reconstruite à plusieurs reprises. Le phare tel qu'on le voit aujourd'hui a été construit en 1923.

Le phare canadien ayant survécu le plus longtemps a été construit en 1758 sur l'île Sambro, à l'entrée du port d'Halifax.

Dans les années 1800, la croissance du commerce entre le Canada et l'Europe a entraîné une augmentation du nombre de naufrages le long de nos côtes. Pour prévenir ces catastrophes, des phares ont été construits sur :

Les deux premiers phares de la côte Ouest se sont ouverts sur les rochers Race et sur l'île Fisgard en 1860. Après la Confédération de 1867, le Canada a construit un vaste réseau de phares afin de marquer les routes essentielles à la sécurité et au commerce maritimes.

Évolution du rôle des phares

Au fil des années, le nombre de phares utilisés, y compris ceux gérés par des gardiens, a diminué, en raison :

Mais les phares traditionnels occupent toujours une grande place dans l'identité, la culture et le paysage du Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada a désigné plusieurs phares, en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux, et les a transférés à de nouveaux propriétaires partout au Canada. Ce statut spécial permet de reconnaître la beauté et l'importance historique des phares patrimoniaux pour les collectivités du pays.

Nous travaillons maintenant de concert avec les provinces, les collectivités et d'autres partenaires pour veiller à ce que les phares patrimoniaux soient conservés et protégés pour les générations futures. Nous continuons également à y utiliser des aides modernes à la navigation.

Phares gardés

Le gouvernement du Canada continue à utiliser 51 phares gardés dans l'ensemble du pays, y compris :

Le gouvernement gère et entretient la plupart de ces phares à des fins opérationnelles. Le phare de l'île Machias Seal, situé dans le golfe du Maine, fait exception, car les gardiens l'occupent toujours, pour des raisons de souveraineté.

Phares excédentaires

Le gouvernement du Canada a désigné environ 500 phares traditionnels qui ne sont pas utilisés. Ils peuvent être transférés à de nouveaux propriétaires qui désirent tirer le meilleur parti de la valeur patrimoniale et du potentiel touristique de ces sites. Les groupes intéressés à acquérir un phare excédentaire doivent compléter le modèle du plan d'affaire du MPO. Le gabarit offre des critères d'admissibilité qu'on doit respecter dont le plan financier et la structure organisationnelle.

Pour nous joindre

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec Pêches et Océans Canada à l'adresse info@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :