Medical and General Suitability Standards

General

Each Fishery Officer must be capable of monitoring fishing operations and performing enforcement activities in two different environments. Some individuals are primarily land-based and other individuals are primarily sea-based but each employee in this group must be able to perform in either environment.

Fishery Officers must be capable of prolonged periods of activity with no significant outside resources.

Fishery Officers must be able to observe at a distance and identify individuals in order to testify concerning a case and therefore must have good vision, colour vision and hearing.

Vision and Hearing are also important from safety and security perspectives.

Land-Based Portion

Land-based Fishery Officers are tasked with monitoring and reporting on fishing activities using a variety of surveillance techniques, including aerial surveillance and on-site observation.

Officers travel by and operate all-terrain vehicles, snowmobiles, motor vehicles and small boats. For many operations, walking significant distances (up to one (1) mile) over rough terrain is required. Direct observation is often conducted from cover in rough terrain over prolonged periods and at all hours of the day and night. These employees wear soft body armour (weighing some 7-10 lbs.) and carry 12-14 lbs. of equipment. Additional dry clothes may be carried on some operations. Employees may be exposed to harsh weather conditions for many hours.

Their duties require good vision in a variety of lighting conditions; night vision apparatus may be used. Good peripheral vision is required for safety and operational reasons. These employees also require good hearing which include directional sense.

Suspects often flee and the Fishery Officer pursue them on foot, restraining and subduing them, potentially with the use of pepper spray and small arms.

After an arrest, it may be necessary to carry "the evidence" for significant distances over rough ground and up steep slopes.

Sea-Based Portion

In the sea-based portion of their duties, Fishery Officers may operate small vessels or accompany seamen on larger vessels for periods of up to 28 days continuously. They operate lightweight inflatable boats, potentially in high winds and rough seas during boarding operations.

A typical boarding virtually involves climbing a rope ladder onto a pitching vessel which can be expected to have slippery decks. These boardings may be resisted. It is important that the Fishery Officers be able to move about rapidly on the boarded vessel in order to ensure that evidence is not destroyed. Vessel inspections at sea have on occasion lasted u to several days.

Fishery Officers wear survival suits in case they fall into the water during boarding. They may be armed with submachine guns and even operate heavy machine guns on some vessels.

Land and Sea-Based

Physical strength, co-ordination and agility are therefore requirements of these positions.

Land and sea-based employees are required to participate in a limited physical fitness assessment program which tests cardiovascular fitness for the significant physical demands of the job (significant METS) as well as upper body strength and agility.

Occupational Requirements

Vision

  • Must be capable of identifying objects/persons at a distance and detecting signal lights/navigation lights
  • Must have good peripheral Vision and depth perception. Must have good night vision.

Hearing

  • Must understand voice communication by speaking, shouting or radio, often with background noise.

Colour Vision

  • Must be able to discriminate colours.

Neuromuscular

  • Must have normal strength, co-ordination and balance.
  • Must have good manual dexterity in order to use pepper spray, baton, firearms and handcuffs.
  • Must be able to lift and carry heavy loads (20 kg unassisted) over rough ground and uphill.

Cardiovascular

  • Must have an adequate cardiovascular reserve for dealing with high degrees of physical activity in adverse weather conditions and/or during stressful operations.

Psychological

  • Must not have significant mental health problems which would preclude being issued a firearm and/or which would preclude safely carrying out enforcement duties.
  • Must not have a mental health condition which results in aggressive response in a stressful situation.

General

  • Must not suffer from a condition which could result in sudden incapacitation.
  • Must not have a medical condition which is likely to require emergency medical care.

Advisory Requirements

Should not have peripheral vascular disease including Raynaud's Disease or Berger's Disease as these workers are often called upon to work for prolonged periods in harsh weather conditions.

Examination Guidelines

Examination Preplacement Periodic
Medical Examination Category(*1) III III, every 3 years up to age 39
Every 2 years age 40-54, one year thereafter
Mental Health Assessment(*2) Yes Yes
Visual Acuity(*3)(*4) Class 0 Class 0
Colour Vision(*4) Class 2 Class 2
Hearing(*5) HINT HINT
Mantoux Skin Test Yes No
Assessment of Exposed Skin for UV related changes Yes Yes
*1 Assessment to include questionnaire related to risk for cardiovascular disease.
*2 To be carried out by examiner who should refer to a psychiatrist as required.
*3 Glasses and hard or soft contact lenses are acceptable provided the person meets the uncorrected standard.
*4 Refer to Vision Standards - An Overview.
*5 HINT (Hearing in noise test). Refer to Frequently Asked Questions - Hearing Test for the Fishery Officer Position.

Immunization Recommended

  • Hepatitis B
  • Td

VISION STANDARDS – AN OVERVIEW

1. Acuity

Adequate vision is necessary for a wide variety of jobs in the public service. Vision is relied upon more heavily than any of the other senses, and there is a strong correlation between visual acuity and labour efficiency. Decreased acuity is usually first detected by the affected individual who would then seek help. The likelihood of finding unrecognized changes in visual acuity is dependent on the age of the worker, the presence of refractive errors, family history of eye disease, or other ocular pathology.

Class 0
Corrected Vision 6/9* in Better Eye, 6/15 in Other Eye, Uncorrected Vision at least 6/60 in Each Eye

Class 1
Corrected Vision 6/9 in Better Eye, 6/15 in Other Eye (exception permitted for other Eye in those situations outlined in No.2 “Substandard Vision in One Eye.”) Where an exception clause has been used, it must be documented.

Class 2
Corrected Vision 6/9 in One Eye (i.e., monocular vision).

2. Substandard Vision in one Eye - Exception

Where a worker has congenital substandard vision in one eye (corrected vision in Better Eye is 6/9 but in other eye is less than 6/15 but is at least 6/60), the worker will be considered as meeting the requirements including those for safety sensitive jobs (e.g., operating vehicles, use of a firearm, etc.) where the worker meets the following conditions:

  1. The employee has undertaken an eye examination by an ophthalmologist or optometrist whose report indicates that the visual acuity in the better eye meets Class I and corrected vision in Other Eye is at least 6/60;
  2. Visual fields meet standard of 120°;
  3. The ophthalmologist’s or optometrist’s opinion includes a statement to the effect that visual defect is unlikely to interfere with safe performance of duties considering pathogenesis of the condition, visual fields, stereopsis, depth perception, etc.;
  4. An ophthalmologist’s or optometrist’s report will be required annually if the condition causing the reduced vision is not stable.

*6/9 is metric. This can be expressed as 20/30 in feet. 6/15 is equivalent to 20/50.

3. Visual Fields

  1. The Encyclopedia of Occupational Health and Safety states that one-eyed people have very good monocular space perceptions and may be employed in nearly all occupations, if all other visual qualities are normal, and if they have been one-eyed for more than two years (2).
  2. A limited number of occupations require full visual fields in both eyes, e.g., 120°.
  3. Visual fields at a minimum should be tested using Confrontation screening method by examiner and where a defect is noted either a Goldman Test and/or a referral to an eye specialist.

4. Colour Vision

  1. The ability to discriminate colours results from the proper interaction of the red, green and blue retinal systems. Normal colour vision is described as trichromatic. When one of the systems is missing, vision is called dichromatic. Complete colour blindness-black-white vision - is monochromatic. Dichromacy can involve red, green or blue defects referred to as protanopia, deuteranopia and tritanopia respectively.
  2. Colour vision defects are inherited by approximately 8% of men. The most commonly detected problem, anomalous trichromacy, causes varying degrees of loss of colour vision ranging from almost none to complete dichromacy of one of the primary colours. Inherited green defects are the most prevalent; blue defects are extremely rare.
  3. Colour discrimination is age dependent, peaking at about age 20, declining slightly after age 35, and markedly after age 55. Blue-green vision is most affected by age as the yellowing of the aging crystalline lens absorbs blue light. Eye diseases such as diabetes or glaucoma can also decrease colour vision, as can numerous drugs in common use. Repeat testing in those jobs requiring precise colour vision may thus be necessary. Testing every 6 (six) years from age 40 has been suggested as a way to identify acquired colour vision defects. However, a congenital colour vision defect doesn’t change with time and an acquired colour vision defect is usually asymmetric and proceeded by a change in visual acuity (secondary to optic nerve and retinal disease). Therefore, colour vision only changes when visual acuity changes and there is no need for periodic testing of colour vision unless vision screening shows changes in best corrected visual acuity of at least two lines, e.g., 6/9 to 6/15.
  4. Colour vision testing is only appropriate for those occupations where a defect would result in an injury to the worker, or to others or would severely limit work performance. In almost every job one can envision situations where colour discrimination would be an asset. Colour blind people however can perform some colour-related tasks by using visual clues similar to recognizing traffic lights by position. A detailed assessment of colour vision and colour vision requirements for various jobs has been performed.
  5. Colour vision is tested using the Standard Ishihara Test (detects a colour vision deficit). Where a worker fails the Ishihara Test, they are to be tested using the Farnsworth D-15 Test (detects the specific type of colour blindness.) A worker who passes the Farnsworth D-15 Test is considered to meet standards for all tasks, work or jobs with colour vision requirements including safety sensitive transportation occupations. In all transportation occupations, a worker who fails both the Ishihara Test and the Farnsworth D-15 is considered to meet the medical requirements if they can successfully complete the Holmes-Wright Colour Lantern Test. Note: The Fishery Officer position is not considered a transportation occupation.

5. Colour Vision Standards

Class 1
Colour Vision Normal (CVN); passes Ishihara test

Class 2
Colour Vision Acceptable (CVA); fails Class 1 but passes Farnsworth D-15 Colour Vision Test. For transportation occupations, if a worker fails Farnsworth D-15 Test a pass on the Holmes-Wright Lantern Test (practical test) will be accepted.

6. Colour Vision Frequency of Testing

Should be done pre-placement. There is no need for periodic testing of colour vision unless there is a significant change in visual acuity (e.g., person “needs new glasses” or there is a change in best corrected visual acuity of 2 lines or more e.g. from 6/9 to 6/15).

What is the standard for hearing?
The hearing standard measures whether a person has the set of hearing abilities to enable them to perform their normal daily work activities that require hearing – focusing on those activities for which hearing is critical.

How is the hearing standard measured?
Ability to meet the hearing standard is assessed using two tests, the Hearing in Noise Test (HINT), and the Sound Azimuth in Noise Test (SAINT).

What is the HINT?
The Hearing in Noise Test – commonly referred to as HINT, measures an individual’s ability to understand speech in noise, at various levels. In the test, short simple sentences are presented at various levels with and without background noise and participants are instructed to repeat what they hear.

What is the SAINT?
The Sound Azimuth in Noise Test – commonly referred to as SAINT, measures an individual’s ability to detect and localize sound. During the test, individuals are asked to indicate when they hear a pistol shot and the direction from which the shot originated.

How are the HINT and SAINT tests administered?
Both the HINT and SAINT tests are administered by a Health Canada physician or nurse as part of the candidate’s Health Canada medical.

The participants are required to wear earphones for both tests. For the HINT, the participants must repeat to the administrator, the simple sentences that they hear through the earphones. For the SAINT, the participants must indicate to the administrator from which direction they hear a pistol shot.

How long are the HINT and SAINT tests?
The HINT and SAINT tests, on average, take approximately thirty minutes to complete.

Where are the HINT and SAINT tests administered?
The HINT and SAINT tests are currently administered by Health Canada in major centers across Canada.

How can I prepare myself for the tests?
There is no studying required to be successful with the HINT and SAINT. It is important to note that, in some instances, participants loose their concentration during the test therefore it is imperative to remain focused throughout the entire test.

It is essential that, during the HINT test, the participants repeat exactly what is said, word-for-word.

It is recommended that the participants not be subjected to loud and noisy environments between 12 and 24 hours prior to the administration of the HINT and SAINT tests.

Exigences médicales et psychologiques

Généralités

Chaque agent des pêches doit être capable de surveiller les activités de pêche et d'exécuter des activités d'application de la loi dans deux milieux différents. Certains agents travaillent surtout à terre et d'autres surtout en mer, mais tous doivent être aptes à travailler dans ces deux milieux.

Les agents des pêches sont appelés à travailler pendant de longues périodes sans ressources externes importantes.

Les agents des pêches doivent être aptes à surveiller à distance et à identifier des personnes, afin de pouvoir témoigner dans des affaires judiciaires. Ils doivent donc avoir une bonne vue, une bonne perception des couleurs et une bonne ouïe.

La vue et l'ouïe sont également importantes pour des raisons de sécurité.

Travail à terre

Les agents des pêches qui travaillent à terre sont chargés de surveiller les activités de pêche et d'en rendre compte. Ils doivent à cette fin utiliser diverses techniques de surveillance, dont la surveillance aérienne et l'observation sur place.

Les agents conduisent des véhicules tout terrain, des motoneiges, des automobiles et de petites embarcations, qu'ils utilisent pour se déplacer. Dans de nombreuses situations, il leur faut parcourir à pied des distances importantes (jusqu'à 1 mille) sur des terrains accidentés. L'observation directe est souvent effectuée depuis des caches situées en terrain accidenté et pendant de longues périodes, à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit. Les agents des pêches portent des vêtements pare-balles souples (pesant de 7 à 10 lb) et portent de 12 à 14 lb de matériel. Dans certaines opérations, il leur faut aussi transporter des vêtements secs supplémentaires. Ces employés peuvent être exposés à des conditions météorologiques pénibles pendant de nombreuses heures.

Les fonctions d'agent des pêches exigent une bonne vue dans différentes conditions d'éclairage. Les agents peuvent être appelés à utiliser des appareils de vision nocturne. Pour des raisons de sécurité, il est nécessaire de posséder une bonne vision périphérique. II faut aussi avoir une bonne ouïe, notamment une bonne perception directionnelle. II est fréquent que les suspects fuient et que les agents des pêches aient à les poursuivre à pied, à les immobiliser et à les subjuguer, au besoin à l'aide de gaz poivré et d'armes à feu.

Après une arrestation, il peut être nécessaire de transporter les « preuves » sur un terrain accidenté et à forte pente.

Travail en mer

Dans l'exécution de leurs tâches en mer, les agents des pêches peuvent être appelés à conduire de petites embarcations ou à accompagner les marins de plus gros navires pendant des périodes allant jusqu'à 28 jours d'affilée. II peuvent aussi avoir à conduire des canots pneumatiques légers, par vents forts et mer agitée, lors d'opérations d'arraisonnement.

En général, une opération d'arraisonnement exige de grimper à une échelle de corde pour monter à bord d'un navire qui tangue et dont les ponts sont vraisemblablement glissants. L'arraisonnement peut susciter une résistance. II importe que les agents des pêches soient capables de se déplacer rapidement à bord du navire pour éviter la destruction de preuves. II est arrivé que des inspections de navire en mer durent plusieurs jours.

Les agents des pêches portent des combinaisons de survie pour le cas où ils tomberaient à l'eau pendant un arraisonnement. Ils peuvent être armés de pistolets mitrailleurs et même être appelés à utiliser des mitrailleuses lourdes à bord de certains navires.

Travail à terre et en mer

La force physique, la coordination et l'agilité sont donc des exigences du poste.

Les employés qui travaillent à terre ou en mer doivent participer à un programme limité d'évaluation de la condition physique servant a établir leur condition cardio-vasculaire par rapport aux exigences physiques importantes du poste (METS) ainsi que la force et l'agilité de la partie supérieure du corps.

Exigences professionnelles

Vision

  • Être capable d'identifier des objets et des personnes et de détecter des signaux lumineux et des feux de navigation. Posséder une bonne vision périphérique et une bonne perception du relief. Posséder également une bonne vision nocturne.

Ouïe

  • Comprendre les communications orales, qu'il s'agisse de conversation normale, d'éclats de voix ou d'échanges radio, cela malgré les bruits de fond fréquents.

Perception des couleurs

  • Être capable de distinguer les couleurs.

Capacités neuromusculaires

  • Posséder une force, une coordination et un équilibre normaux.
  • Posséder une bonne dextérité manuelle pour pouvoir utiliser du gaz poivré, une matraque, des armes à feu et des menottes.
  • Être capable de soulever et transporter des charges lourdes (20 kg sans aide) sur un terrain accidenté et en pente.

Capacités cardio-vasculaires

  • Posséder une bonne réserve cardio-vasculaire pour pouvoir faire face à divers degrés d'activités physiques dans des conditions météorologiques défavorables lors d'opérations stressantes.

Qualités psychologiques

  • Ne pas présenter de problèmes mentaux importants qui pourraient rendre l'intéressé inapte à recevoir une arme à feu ou à exécuter en toute sécurité ses tâches d'application de la loi. Ne pas présenter de troubles mentaux qui occasionneraient une réaction agressive à une situation stressante.

Généralités

  • Ne pas présenter de troubles qui pourraient se traduire par une incapacité soudaine.
  • Ne pas présenter d'état pathologique susceptible de nécessiter des soins médicaux d'urgence.

Exigences recommandées

Ne pas souffrir d'acrosyndrome vasomoteur, dont la maladie de Raynaud et la néphropathie de Berger, en raison de la nécessité fréquente de travailler pendant de longues périodes dans des conditions météorologiques pénibles.

Lignes directrices sur les examens

Examen Avant l'affectation Périodique
Catégorie d'examen
Médical *1
III tous les trois ans jusqu'à l'âge de 39 ans,
tous les deux ans de 40 à 54 ans et tous les ans par la suite
Évaluation de la santé mentale *2 Oui Oui
Acuité visuelle *3*4 Classe O Classe O
Perception des couleurs *4 Classe 2 Classe 2
Acuité auditive *5 HINT HINT
Intradermoréaction de Mantoux Oui Non
Évaluation de la peau à découvert, aux fins de détection de changements dus aux rayons U.V. Oui Oui
*1 L'évaluation doit comprendre un questionnaire sur les risques de maladie cardio-vasculaire.
*2 Doit être effectuée par un médecin-examinateur qui en référera à un psychiatre au besoin.
*3 Lunettes et lentilles, dures ou souples, sont autorisées, pourvu que l'intéressé satisfasse aux normes d'acuité non corrigée.
*4 Consulter Normes d'acuité visuelle - Un aperçu.
*5 HINT (Test d’audition dans le bruit). Consulter Foire aux questions - Test d'acuité auditive pour le poste d'agent des pêches.

Vaccins recommandés

  • Hépatite B.
  • Vaccin antidiphtérique tétanique

Normes d'acuité visuelle - Un aperçu

1. Acuité

Il est nécessaire d’avoir une bonne vue pour accomplir diverses tâches dans la fonction publique. La vision est en effet beaucoup plus sollicitée que tous les autres sens et on note une forte corrélation entre l’acuité visuelle et l’efficacité au travail. En général, c’est le sujet concerné qui se rend compte le premier d’une diminution de son acuité visuelle et qui cherche à se faire soigner. La probabilité que l’on découvre des changements non reconnus dans l’acuité visuelle augmente avec l’âge du travailleur, la présence d’erreurs de réfraction, les antécédents familiaux de maladies des yeux ou d’autres pathologies oculaires.

Classe 0
Acuité visuelle corrigée de 6/9* dans le meilleur oeil et de 6/15 dans l’autre oeil, acuité non corrigée d’au moins 6/60 dans les deux yeux.

Classe 1
Acuité visuelle corrigée de 6/9 dans le meilleur oeil et de 6/15 dans l’autre oeil (exception permise pour l’autre oeil dans les cas décrit au no 2 «vision insuffisante dans un oeil »). Lorsqu’on invoque une clause dérogatoire, il faut la documenter.

Classe 2
Acuité visuelle corrigée de 6/9 dans un oeil (c.-à-d., vision monoculaire).

2. Acuité visuelle insuffisante dans un oeil - Exception

Un travailleur présentant une acuité visuelle insuffisante congénitale dans un oeil (acuité visuelle corrigée de 6/9 dans le meilleur oeil et inférieure à 6/15, mais d’au moins 6/60 dans l’autre oeil) est considéré comme satisfaisant aux exigences, y compris à celles régissant les postes critiques pour la sécurité (p. ex. la conduite de véhicules, l’utilisation d’armes à feu ,etc.) à condition de remplir les conditions suivantes :

  1. avoir subi un examen de la vue effectué par un ophtalmologiste ou un optométriste dont le rapport indique que l’acuité visuelle de son meilleur oeil répond aux critères de la Classe 1 et que l’acuité visuelle corrigée de son autre oeil est d’au moins 6/60;
  2. avoir un champ visuel répondant au critère de 120° ;
  3. dans son avis, l’ophtalmologiste ou l’optométriste déclare que le défaut de la vue ne risque guère de nuire à l’exécution sécuritaire des tâches par son client compte tenu de la pathogenèse de l’affection, du champ visuel, de la stéréopsie, de la perception de la profondeur, etc.
  4. soumettre chaque année un rapport de l’ophtalmologiste ou l’optométriste si l’affection causant le défaut de la vue est instable.

* La mesure 6/9 est métrique. Elle peut s’exprimer par 20/30 en pieds. 6/15 équivaut à 20/50.

3. Champ visuel

  1. Selon l’Encyclopédie of Occupational Health and Safety, les sujets borgnes ont une très bonne perception de l’espace monoculaire et peuvent occuper presque tous les emplois pourvu que tous leurs autres paramètres visuels soient normaux et qu’ils soient borgnes depuis plus de deux ans.
  2. Peu d’emplois exigent un champ visuel complet dans les deux yeux, p. ex. 120°.
  3. Au minimum, le champ visuel doit être évalué au moyen d’un examen par confrontation administré par un examinateur qualifié; lorsqu’un défaut est relevé, le sujet doit subir un test de Goldman ou être référé à un spécialiste de la vue.

4. Perception des couleurs

  1. La capacité de distinguer les couleurs résulte de la bonne interaction des systèmes rétiniens pour la perception du rouge, du vert et du bleu. La perception normale des couleurs est dite trichromatique. Lorsqu’un de ces systèmes manque, on parle de perception dichromatique. Le daltonisme complet - vision en noir et blanc - est dit monochromatique. Le dichromatisme peut mettre en cause des anomalies du rouge, du vert ou du bleu, que l’on nomme respectivement protanopie, deutéranopie et tritanopie.
  2. Les défauts de la vision des couleurs sont héréditaires chez environ 8 % des hommes. Le problème le plus souvent détecté, le trichromatisme anormal, cause divers degrés de perte de la perception des couleurs allant de la perte totale à un dichromatisme complet impliquant l’une des couleurs primaires. La cécité héréditaire au vert est la plus courante; la cécité au bleu est extrêmement rare.
  3. La discrimination des couleurs dépend de l’âge et atteint son sommet à l’âge de 20 ans environ, pour décliner légèrement après l’âge de 35 ans et plus rapidement passé 55 ans. C’est la vision du bleu-vert qui est le plus touchée par le vieillissement, le jaunissement du cristallin absorbant la lumière bleue. Les maladies de l’oeil, comme le diabète ou le glaucome, peuvent également affecter la perception des couleurs, tout comme de nombreux médicaments d’usage courant. Il peut donc être nécessaire de répéter les examens pour les titulaires de postes qui exigent une vision précise des couleurs. On a suggéré un examen aux six (6) mois à compter de l’âge de 40 ans pour déceler les défauts de la vision des couleurs. Un défaut congénital ne varie cependant pas avec le temps et le défaut acquis est habituellement asymétrique et précédé d’un changement dans l’acuité visuelle (suivant une maladie du nerf optique et de la rétine). Par conséquent, comme la vision des couleurs n’est modifiée que si l’acuité visuelle change, il n’est pas nécessaire de passer des examens périodiques pour en déceler les troubles à moins que les examens de la vue ne révèlent des changements d’au moins deux lignes dans l’acuité visuelle corrigée du meilleur des deux yeux (p. ex. 6/9 à 6/15).
  4. Les épreuves de la perception des couleurs ne s’imposent que pour les titulaires de postes où un défaut à cet égard risquerait d’entraîner des lésions chez eux ou chez leurs collègues, ou de limiter sévèrement leur rendement au travail. Dans presque tous les postes, on peut envisager des situations où la discrimination des couleurs est un atout. Les daltoniens peuvent quand même accomplir certaines tâches faisant appel aux couleurs en se servant d’indices visuels, comme ils le font pour reconnaître les feux de circulation. Une évaluation détaillée de la perception des couleurs et des exigences en la matière pour différents postes a été effectuée.
  5. Pour évaluer la perception des couleurs, on se sert du test d’Ishihara (qui décèle les  anomalies de la perception des couleurs). Un travailleur qui échoue à ce test doit subir un examen à l’aide du test 15 D de Farnsworth (qui révèle le type spécifique de daltonisme). Le travailleur qui réussi ce dernier test est considéré comme satisfaisant aux normes pour toutes les tâches, fonctions ou emplois assortis d’exigences relatives à la perception des couleurs, y compris les emplois critiques pour la sécurité dans le secteur des transports. Dans tous les postes de ce secteur, les travailleurs qui échouent aux deux tests sont considérés comme satisfaisant aux exigences médicales s’ils peuvent passer avec succès le test de la lanterne de Holmes-Wright. Note: Le poste d’agent des pêches n’est pas considéré un emploi dans le secteur des transports.

5. Normes de perception des couleurs

Classe 1
Perception normale des couleurs; succès au test d’Ishihara

Classe 2
Perception acceptable des couleurs; échec à la classe 1, mais succès au test D 15 de Farnsworth. Pour les emplois dans le secteur du transport, lorsqu’un travailleur échoue au test D 15 de Farnsworth, on acceptera un test de la lanterne de Holmes-Wright (test pratique) réussi.

6. Fréquence des épreuves de perception des couleurs

Le titulaire doit subir une épreuve avant son affectation. Les examens périodiques pour la vision des couleurs sont inutiles, à moins qu’il n’y ait un changement considérable dans l’acuité visuelle du sujet (p. ex. la personne a « besoin de nouvelles lunettes » ou on note un changement de 2 lignes ou plus dans l’acuité visuelle corrigée du meilleur de ses deux yeux, p. ex. de 6/9 à 6/15).

En quoi la norme d’acuité auditive consiste-t-elle?
La norme d’acuité auditive mesure si une personne possède l’ensemble des capacités auditives dont elle a besoin pour s’acquitter normalement de ses activités professionnelles faisant appel à l’ouïe; la norme est axée sur les activités pour lesquelles l’audition est essentielle

Comment détermine-t-on si la norme d’acuité auditive est atteinte?
On procède à deux tests, soit le « Hearing in Noise Test » (HINT) et le « Source Azimuth Identification in Noise Test » (SAINT).

Qu’est-ce que le test HINT?
Le Hearing in Noise Test, couramment appelé « test HINT », mesure la capacité d’une personne à comprendre ce qu’on lui dit dans un environnement bruyant. Des phrases simples et courtes sont prononcées à des intensités sonores diverses, avec ou sans bruit ambiant, et les participants doivent répéter ce qu’ils ont entendu.

Qu’est-ce que le test SAINT?
Le Source Azimuth Identification in Noise Test, couramment appelé « test SAINT », mesure la capacité d’une personne à déceler et à localiser les sons. Durant le test, on émet des bruits de coup de fusil et les participants doivent déceler les coups de fusil ainsi que la direction d’où ils proviennent.

Comment les tests HINT et SAINT sont-ils administrés?
Les deux tests sont administrés par un médecin ou un infirmier/une infirmière de Santé Canada, dans le cadre de l’examen médical de Santé Canada.

Les deux tests se font au moyen d’un casque d’écoute. Pour le test HINT, les participants doivent répéter au responsable les phrases simples qu’ils entendent dans les écouteurs. Pour le test SAINT, les participants doivent indiquer au responsable la direction d’où proviennent les coups de fusil qu’ils entendent.

Combien de temps les tests HINT et SAINT durent-ils?
Les tests HINT et SAINT durent une trentaine de minutes en moyenne.

Où les tests HINT et SAINT sont-ils administrés?
Les tests HINT et SAINT sont actuellement administrés par Santé Canada, dans les grands centres un peu partout au pays.

Comment puis-je me préparer pour ces tests?
Il n’est pas nécessaire d’étudier pour réussir les tests HINT et SAINT. Il est important de noter que dans certains cas, des participants perdent leur concentration durant le test. Il est essentiel de demeurer concentré tout au long du test.

Pendant le test HINT, les participants doivent répéter exactement (mot pour mot) ce qui a été dit.

On recommande aux participants de ne pas s’exposer à des environnements bruyants de 12 à 24 heures avant de subir les tests HINT et SAINT.