Marine sectors in Canada summary tables

Activities dependent on the ocean make a substantial contribution to the Canadian economy. Fisheries and naval installations provided the rationale for the first European settlement. Fish processing, shipbuilding and marine transportation followed, providing the basis for economic development and growth on all three of Canada's coasts. These ocean activities defined settlement patterns that continue to this day.

New marine economic activities emerged over the years including tourism, aquaculture, bio-technologies, specialized manufacturing and offshore oil and gas exploration and development. A wide range of service industries support these activities. Together, they create opportunities as well as challenges borne of increased and oftentimes competing uses of ocean space.

The tables presented here provide estimates of the economic contribution of marine sectors in Canada for the years 2014 to 2018. These estimates cover all major private sector activities with a direct dependence on the oceans (extractive and non-extractive uses) as well as activities of public sector organizations with responsibilities for safety, managing ocean activities and research.

Gross Domestic Product by industry, 2014-2018
Gross Domestic Product, by province, 2014-2018
Employment by industry and year, 2014-2018
Direct, indirect and induced Gross Domestic Product, 2018
Employment, by province, 2014-2018
Direct, indirect and induced employment, 2018

Marine sectors methodology

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Secteurs maritimes au Canada tableaux sommaires

Les activités du secteur océanique contribuent de façon considérable à l'économie canadienne. La première colonie européenne s'est installée ici en raison des pêches et des installations navales. La transformation du poisson, la construction de navires et le transport maritime ont suivi, fournissant les fondements du développement et de la croissance économiques sur les trois côtes du Canada. Ces activités du secteur océanique ont défini les modes de peuplement qui se poursuivent à ce jour.

De nouvelles activités économiques maritimes ont vu le jour au fil des ans, dont le tourisme, l'aquaculture, les biotechnologies, la fabrication spécialisée, ainsi que l'exploration et l'exploitation pétrolières et gazières en haute mer. Un large éventail d'industries de services soutiennent ces activités. Ensemble, elles génèrent des occasions de même que des défis résultant des utilisations accrues et souvent concurrentes de l'espace océanique.

Les tableaux présentés ici fournissent des estimations de la contribution économique des secteurs maritimes au Canada pour les années 2014 à 2018. Ces estimations concernent l'ensemble des activités principales du secteur privé qui dépendent directement des océans (activités extractives et non extractives) ainsi que les activités des organisations du secteur public responsables de la sécurité, de la gestion des activités océaniques et de la recherche.

Produit intérieur brut par industrie, 2014-2018
Produit intérieur brut, par province, 2014-2018
Emplois par industrie et par année, 2014-2018
Produit intérieur brut direct, indirect et induit, 2018
Emplois, par provinces, 2014-2018
Emplois directs, indirects et induits, 2014-2018

Secteurs maritimes au Canada méthodologie

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :