Language selection

Search

Value Added

Aquaculture in Canada emerged in the 1970's in response to increasing global demand for fish and seafood. In the last 30 years, the sector has grown into an important commercial activity for Canada. In this section you will find annual estimates produced by Statistics Canada on the value added of the aquaculture, for the period 1997-2020. The information is grouped into four main categories – namely, outputs, product inputs, gross value added, and other primary (labor) inputs.

Between 2010 and 2020, total gross output increased by 14% from $1.0 billion to $1.2 billion. However, total input costs increased from $650 million to $1.0 billion, or 55%, over the same period. The more rapid growth in input costs relative to total output has reduced industry profitability, resulting in a decline in gross value added from $381.1 million in 2010 to $164.0 million in 2020.

Regionally, British Columbia accounts for the largest share of Canadian aquaculture activity. At $680 million, the province accounted for 64 per cent of the national total in 2020. New Brunswick accounted for the second largest share of sales ($141 million), followed by Nova Scotia ($94.5 million), and Newfoundland and Labrador ($58.8 million). All provinces except for Nova Scotia recorded a decrease in aquaculture sales in 2020.

Value Added Account:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Compte de valeur ajoutée

Au Canada, l’aquaculture est née dans les années 1970 en réaction à la demande mondiale croissante de poisson et fruits de mer. Au cours des 30 dernières années, le secteur est devenu une activité commerciale importante pour le Canada. Vous trouverez dans cette section les estimations annuelles produites par Statistique Canada sur la valeur ajoutée de l’aquaculture de 1997 à 2020. L’information s’y trouve regroupée en quatre catégories principales, à savoir les produits, les intrants de produits, la valeur ajoutée brute et les autres intrants primaires (travail).

Entre 2010 et 2020, la production brute totale est passée de 1 milliard de dollars à 1,2 milliard de dollars, ce qui représente une augmentation de 14 %. Cependant, le coût total des intrants est passé de 650 millions de dollars à 1 milliard de dollars, ce qui constitue une augmentation de 55 % au cours de la même période. L’augmentation plus rapide du coût des intrants par rapport à la production totale a réduit la rentabilité de l’industrie, entraînant une diminution de la valeur brute ajoutée de 381,1 millions de dollars en 2010 à 164 millions de dollars en 2020.

À l’échelle régionale, la Colombie Britannique représente la plus grande part de l’activité aquacole canadienne. Avec 680 millions de dollars, la province représentait 64 % du total national en 2020. Le Nouveau-Brunswick s’est classé au deuxième rang (141 millions de dollars), suivi de la Nouvelle-Écosse (94,5 millions de dollars) et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (58,8 millions de dollars). Toutes les provinces, à l’exception de la Nouvelle-Écosse, ont enregistré une baisse des ventes de produits aquacoles en 2020.

Compte de valeur ajoutée :

Date de modification :