Language selection

Search

Fisheries and Oceans Canada Science Funding Opportunities: Project Application Guide

1. Purpose of this Application

1.1. As part of its commitment to the advancement of scientific inquiry in ocean and freshwater science, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) makes available a suite of programs that encourage scientific research and related scientific activities and dissemination of scientific knowledge in areas that are relevant to the mandate of the Department.

1.2. The specific objectives and scientific priorities of each particular priority area under a call for project proposals will vary, and each call process may involve the solicitation of applications from multiple different priority areas. Applicants are responsible for clearly identifying the priority area to which their application is directed on their application document in section 2.1. Detailed information for each funding program seeking proposals as part of an upcoming open call process is available on Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s website.

1.3. The number of individual priority areas accepting applications in the course of each open call process will vary. Applicants are responsible for ensuring that their proposals are clearly directed at priority areas that are open during the relevant call process. Applications that are not clearly directed to an open priority area will not be considered.

2. Principles of Government of Canada financial contributions

2.1. A Government of Canada financial contribution to an organization is premised on a request for financial contribution by that organization to support a project aligned with government objectives. Financial contributions are provided at arm’s length, and the Government of Canada neither expects to receive nor shall it receive any benefits as a result of financial contributions or rely on financial contributions to meet internal requirements. Therefore:

  1. If a proposal indicates that it will deliver any products or services to DFO or that the proposed project will generate any scientific information needed by DFO the proposal will not be accepted.
  2. If a proposal is premised on collaboration with DFO and any employee of the Department is identified as a member of the project team, the proposal will not be accepted.

2.2. DFO's involvement in a funded project is restricted to providing scientific knowledge unique to DFO, if needed by the organization to meet the objectives of the project; DFO may not manage or direct the activities related to a funded project.

3. Starting date of the proposed project

DFO financial contributions may never be used by a funded organization to pay or cover costs incurred before a project has officially begun. In general, a project begins and is permitted to incur expenses once a contribution agreement has been signed by both DFO and the funded organization.

Since it will take some time (~12 weeks) for DFO to both complete its review of a proposed project and negotiate the terms of a contribution agreement with your organization, the starting date of the proposed project (section 4.2 of the application) must take that into account the timing of activities that would be undertaken if the proposed project was approved for funding. This also means that the budget of the proposed project must only include costs that would be incurred no less than at least 12 weeks from the date the application is submitted to DFO for consideration.

4. Project Eligibility

To be considered for funding, proposals must:

  • be submitted and led by an eligible recipient organization (see below);
  • include project activities eligible for program funding (see Section 5); and,
  • align with the objectives of the specific priority area from which funding is being sought.

Eligible recipient organizations include:

  1. Canadian post-secondary academic institutions;
  2. Canadian non-governmental organizations;
  3. Indigenous organizations or groups;
  4. Canadian provincial, territorial and municipal governments;
  5. Businesses and industry, including business and industry associations;
  6. Community Groups;
  7. Canadian not-for-profit organizations;
  8. Foreign governments and international non-governmental organizations;
  9. Foreign Academic Institutions; and,
  10. Port Authorities.

Applicants must ensure that their proposal clearly identifies the registered corporate name of the recipient organization.

5. Eligible Activities

Eligible project activities include scientific research and related science activities, such as data collection, integration, monitoring and communication, including communication via conferences and symposia.

Additionally, building scientific capacity is an eligible activity for Indigenous organizations or groups only.

6. Completing the Budget Document: Elements that must be provided

6.1. The budget corresponding to a proposed project must reflect all cost items of the project including:

  1. Costs an organization will incur for the project using financial resources other than DFO financial resources. This would include its own financial resources as well as financial resources received from third parties other than DFO in support of the project. Those costs correspond to the organization's contribution in support of the project;
  2. Costs an organization will incur and for which the organization is requesting financial assistance from DFO; and
  3. Cost items corresponding to DFO in-kind contribution in support of the project.

6.2. Cost items must be entered in the budget template (section 4 of the proposal template) as follows:

  1. all cost items from (a), (b) & (c) in section 6.1 above must be entered in Part A of the budget;
  2. all cost items from (a) in section 6.1 above must be entered in Part B of the budget; and
  3. all cost items from (b) in section 6.1 above must be entered in Part C of the budget.

6.3. If any cost items are partially supported by DFO, the portion supported by DFO must be entered in Part C of the budget template and the remaining portion in Part B of the budget template.

6.4. Applicants should ensure that budget documents are clear with regard to the distribution of costs between DFO and non-DFO sources of funds. The total of all proposed project expenses in Part A of the budget should be equal to the sum of all DFO (Part C of the budget) plus all non-DFO supported expenses (Part B of the budget). Note that the figure utilized for DFO supported project expenses should be prior to the inclusion of any funding amounts for administrative expenses, as these will be exclusive to Part C of the budget document. Note that the budget document includes a simple tool to assist you in verifying the above at the bottom of the table.

7. Completing the Budget Document: Guidelines for Budget Expense Items

7.1. Applicants should ensure, when entering budget line items, that enough information is provided to enable DFO to make a determination that:

  1. The proposed expense item is necessary to the successful achievement of the objectives of the project;
  2. The proposed expense item is reasonable and represents good value-for-money to the project and the Crown; and,
  3. The proposed expense item is eligible for funding under one of DFO’s eligible cost categories (see Section 11 below).

7.2. Please ensure that budget expense line item titles do not consist solely of references to implicated project activities (e.g. oceanographic model development), but instead clearly demonstrate that the expense falls into one of the eligible cost categories laid out in Section 11 below (e.g. professional service contract for oceanographic model development).

7.3. For costs pertaining to salaries, stipends, scholarships and similar payments, please make clear in the budget line item the number of positions implicated (e.g. two students at a rate of $x/month). If possible, include a reference to the annualized or hourly compensation of the position, whichever is most appropriate. Note that DFO may not provide funding support for costs attributable to an applicant’s existing, permanent employees (see Section 9.1 below). If you have further questions as to whether your compensation expense may be eligible, please reach out to DFO to discuss the matter (OPC-BPC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca).

7.4. Please ensure that professional service contracts are labelled as such in the budget document.

7.5. For purchases of equipment & instruments, please provide a per unit cost where possible. If you have received a formal quote, you may choose to include this documentation as part of your application package.

7.6. For rental or lease arrangements, including vessel charters, please include a reference to the contractual cost per day/week/month, as appropriate to the specific expense.

7.7. When entering travel expenses, please include the costing of the underlying components of the request where possible (i.e. airfare, accommodation, per diems etc.). If daily estimates for items such as accommodations and per diems are available, please provide them.

7.8. The budget document includes a row in Part C (Amount Requested from DFO) specifically to request support for administrative expenses as a percentage of DFO’s total project contribution. Administrative or other overhead expenses should not appear elsewhere in the document, as they do not otherwise represent eligible project costs. In all cases, administrative expenses will not be accepted as part of a non-DFO contribution to a project.

7.9. Please ensure that Tab b of the budget document (Source of Funds) has been completed, listing the source of funding support for all non-DFO contributions to the proposed project.

8. Completing the Budget Document: Requirements of DFO Financial contributions

8.1. DFO's financial contribution may only be used for eligible costs (see section 10 below).

8.2. The total DFO contribution to an organization for a project may not exceed 75% of the total cost of the project, THOUGH THERE ARE SEVERAL EXCEPTIONS (see section 8.3 below - EXCEPTIONS). This means that the total of:

  • DFO financial contribution PLUS
  • DFO in-kind contribution PLUS
  • DFO financial contribution for admin support

shall not exceed 75% of the total cost of the project (see section 8.3 below - EXCEPTIONS). A project proposal that does not include at least 25% of expenses funded from non-DFO sources, and which does not fall under one of the exceptions listed in section 8.3 will not be accepted.

8.3. EXCEPTIONS

If an organization is a business or an industry recipient, including business and industry associations, the total DFO contribution shall not exceed 50% of the total cost of the project.

If the organization is an Indigenous organization or group, the total DFO contribution shall not exceed 100% of the eligible costs of the project.

If the organization is a Canadian not-for-profit organization or community group possessing four or fewer permanent employees (including zero employees), the total DFO contribution shall not exceed 100% of the eligible costs of the project.

For all other organizations not falling under the exceptions listed above, the total DFO contribution shall not exceed 75% of the eligible costs of the project.

9. Completing the Budget Document: Project costs (Part A of the budget template)

9.1. Project costs may only include actual costs that an organization incurs for a project while a contribution agreement is in effect. As a general rule project costs are costs that are deemed essential for the project AND that an organization would not incur if the project was not undertaken (those costs shall be referred to as incremental costs). The exceptions are the actual salary costs of an organization, which may be counted as non-DFO project contributions, but for which DFO funding support may not be sought (see sections 9.2 & 9.3 below). Therefore:

  • Assets and resources that are used for a project and which an organization had acquired independently from the project do not entail actual incurred costs for the project and are not therefore allowed as project costs. For example costs attributed to equipment, laboratories facilities, platforms (such as ships), databases, software, etc. that an organization may have acquired prior to the effective date of a contribution agreement are not allowable project costs. If however the use of these assets for a project involves incremental costs (such as maintenance costs and operational costs), the incremental costs are allowed as project costs.

9.2. Salaries of an organization's employees who spend time on a project are considered in-kind contribution by the organization to the project. These may be included as non-DFO project contributions.

9.3. Projects costs may not include any amount for overhead or administration. However, DFO allows an amount for administration support calculated based on DFO’s financial contribution only (see section 10 and section 11(n)) provided that the total DFO contribution not exceed the maximum allowed contribution (see section 8.2 and section 8.3 above).

10. Completing the Budget Document: DFO Financial contributions (Part C of the budget template)

As a general rule DFO's financial contributions to a project may only be used towards incremental costs, i.e. costs that are deemed essential for the project AND that an organization would not incur if the project was not undertaken, however DFO will allow an amount for administration support costs based on DFO’s financial contribution.

11. Eligible Costs

  1. Salaries, stipends, scholarships and similar payments;
  2. Fees paid for third party services;
  3. Rental and/or purchase costs of motorized vehicles (cars, trucks, ATVs, snowmobiles, outboard motors), boats and boat trailers ("Motorized vehicles "). Note that any request to purchase motor vehicles must clearly demonstrate both project need, as well as value-for-money for the Crown, when compared to a comparable rental arrangement;
  4. Purchase costs of laboratory and field equipment and instruments, including hydrophones and similar monitoring equipment but excluding Motorized vehicles;
  5. Costs of laboratory materials and supplies;
  6. Rental and maintenance costs of laboratory and field equipment and instruments;
  7. Rental cost of space such as laboratory, rooms, office space and facilities;
  8. Travel and related costs (consistent with the National Joint Council’s Travel Directive);
  9. Conference and symposia costs, including registration costs;
  10. Publishing costs
  11. Communication costs
  12. Data management costs; and,
  13. Other costs that clearly directly support scientific research and related scientific activities, pre approved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, up to a maximum of 10% of total eligible costs
  14. Additionally, DFO may reimburse administrative support costs up to 15% of the total amount of all eligible costs reimbursed by DFO. For example, if DFO is contributing $80k towards the eligible costs of the project (before overhead costs); the maximum that DFO will reimburse for overhead is $12k (15% of $80k) and
  15. Additional costs eligible only to Indigenous organizations or groups:
    1. Honoraria, ceremonial items, gifts and/or feasts

12. Payments

In general, DFO contributions are paid in arrears on receipt of satisfactory project and financial reporting. In exceptional cases, DFO may provide payment of a portion of contributions in advance where such payments are deemed crucial to the successful advancement of project priorities. Advance payments are based on the cash flow requirements of the project, and are provided at the discretion of DFO.

Applicants requesting advance payments will need to satisfactorily demonstrate that:

  • The project’s cash flow requirements are substantial AND
  • The applicant lacks the financial resources to manage these requirements pending DFO reimbursement

After notification by the Department that a project proposal has been successful, Applicants wishing to request an advance payment should submit:

  • a written request justifying the need for an advance payment and identifying the potential impacts of not providing the advance should your application be successful; and
  • a completed project statement of cash flows illustrating quarterly planned budget expenses by federal fiscal year (April 1 to March 31). The project cash flow template will be provided to applicants upon their request.

Projects receiving an initial advance payment will need to submit all required project scientific and financial reporting before qualifying to receive any following advance.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Possibilités de financement de la recherche scientifique de Pêches et Océans Canada – Guide de demande de financement dans le cadre d’un projet

1. Objet de la présente demande

1.1. Dans le cadre de son engagement visant à faire progresser la recherche scientifique dans le domaine des sciences marines et des eaux douces, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) offre une série de programmes qui soutiennent la recherche et les activités scientifiques connexes ainsi que la diffusion de connaissances scientifiques dans les domaines qui relèvent de son mandat.

1.2. Les objectifs précis et les priorités scientifiques de chaque domaine prioritaire dans le cadre d’un appel de propositions varieront, et chaque processus d’appel de propositions pourra comprendre la sollicitation de demandes dans de multiples domaines prioritaires différents. Il incombe aux candidats de définir clairement le domaine prioritaire auquel s’adresse leur demande sur leur document de candidature à la section 2.1. Des informations détaillées sur le contexte, les objectifs, les domaines de recherche prioritaires et d’autres considérations pour chaque programme de financement sollicitant des propositions dans le cadre d’un prochain appel ouvert sont disponibles sur le site Web du Ministère.

1.3. Le nombre de domaines prioritaires pour lesquels des candidatures sont acceptées au cours de chaque processus d’appel ouvert variera. Les candidats doivent s’assurer que leurs propositions sont clairement orientées vers les domaines prioritaires ouverts lors du processus d’appel correspondant. Les demandes qui ne sont pas clairement orientées vers un domaine prioritaire ouvert ne seront pas prises en considération.

2. Principes régissant les contributions financières du gouvernement du Canada

2.1. Une contribution financière du gouvernement du Canada à une organisation commence par une demande d’appui financier présentée par l’organisation pour entreprendre un projet pertinent à des objectifs du gouvernement. L’appui financier est fourni sans lien de dépendance et le gouvernement du Canada ne s’attend pas à en profiter et ne doit pas en profiter pour combler un besoin quelconque dans ses programmes. Par conséquent :

  1. Si une proposition indique qu’un produit ou un service sera livré au MPO, ou que le projet proposé aboutira à des connaissances dont le MPO a besoin pour ses programmes, la proposition ne sera pas acceptée.
  2. Si une proposition repose sur une collaboration avec le MPO et qu’un employé du Ministère est nommé comme membre de l’équipe de projet, la proposition ne sera pas acceptée.

2.2. Le MPO ainsi qu’un autre ministère fédéral ou une agence fédérale pourrait contribuer à un projet appuyé financièrement par le MPO, mais seulement pour fournir à l’organisation de l’expertise qui lui permettrait de mieux orienter ou diriger ses activités dans le cadre du projet financé.

3. Date de début du projet proposé

Une organisation ne doit jamais utiliser les contributions financières du MPO pour payer ou couvrir des coûts encourus avant le début officiel d’un projet. En général, un projet commence et est autorisé à engager des dépenses une fois qu’un accord de contribution a été signé par le MPO et l’organisation financée.

Comme il faudra un certain temps (~12 semaines) au MPO pour terminer l’examen d’un projet proposé et négocier les modalités d’un accord de contribution avec une organisation, la date de début du projet proposé (section 4.2 de la demande) doit tenir compte du calendrier des activités qui seraient entreprises si le projet proposé était approuvé pour un financement. Cela signifie également que le budget du projet ne doit inclure que des coûts qui seraient engagés au moins 12 semaines après la date d’envoi du formulaire de demande au MPO.

4. Admissibilité des projets

Pour recevoir du financement, les propositions doivent :

  • être soumises et dirigées par un organisme bénéficiaire admissible (voir ci-dessous);
  • inclure des activités de projet admissibles au financement du programme (voir Section 5);
  • s’harmoniser avec les objectifs des domaines prioritaires précis dans lesquels un financement est recherché.

Les organisations bénéficiaires admissibles comprennent :

  1. les établissements canadiens d’enseignement postsecondaire;
  2. les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) canadiennes;
  3. les organisations et les groupes autochtones;
  4. les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que les administrations municipales;
  5. les entreprises et industries, y compris les associations commerciales et industrielles;
  6. les groupes communautaires;
  7. les organisations canadiennes à but non lucratif;
  8. les gouvernements étrangers et organisations internationales non gouvernementales;
  9. les établissements d’enseignement étrangers;
  10. les administrations portuaires.

Les candidats doivent s’assurer que leur proposition indique clairement le nom de société enregistré de l’organisme bénéficiaire.

5. Activités admissibles

Les activités de projet admissibles comprennent la recherche scientifique et les activités scientifiques connexes, comme la collecte, l’intégration, la surveillance et la communication de données, y compris la communication dans le cadre de conférences et de symposiums.

Le renforcement des capacités scientifiques est une activité admissible uniquement pour les organisations ou groupes autochtones.

6. Remplir le document budgétaire : éléments à fournir

6.1. Le budget correspondant à un projet proposé doit refléter tous les éléments de coût du projet, y compris :

  1. les coûts qu’une organisation devra assumer pour le projet en utilisant des ressources financières autres que celles du MPO. Cela comprendrait ses propres ressources financières ainsi que les ressources financières reçues de tiers autres que le MPO pour soutenir le projet. Ces coûts correspondent à la contribution de l’organisation au soutien du projet;
  2. les coûts qu’une organisation devra assumer et pour lesquels elle demande une aide financière au MPO;
  3. les éléments de coût correspondant à la contribution en nature du MPO à l’appui du projet;

6.2. les éléments de coût doivent être saisis dans le formulaire de budget (section 4 du formulaire de demande) comme suit :

  1. tous les éléments de coûts figurant dans a), b) et c) de la section 6.1 ci-dessus doivent être inscrits à la partie A du budget;
  2. tous les éléments de coûts figurant dans a) de la section 6.1 ci-dessus doivent être inscrits à la partie B du budget;
  3. tous les éléments de coût figurant dans b) de la section 6.1 ci-dessus doivent être inscrits à la partie C du budget.

6.3. Si des éléments de coûts sont partiellement pris en charge par le MPO, la partie prise en charge par le MPO doit être inscrite à la partie C du budget et la partie prise en charge par l’organisation à la partie B du budget.

6.4. Les demandeurs doivent s’assurer que les documents budgétaires précisent clairement la répartition des coûts entre les sources de financement du MPO et celles qui ne le sont pas. Le total de toutes les dépenses du projet proposé dans la partie A du budget doit être égal à la somme de toutes les dépenses du MPO (partie C du budget) plus toutes les dépenses non soutenues par le MPO (partie B du budget). Notez que le chiffre utilisé pour les dépenses des projets soutenus par le MPO doit être antérieur à l’inclusion de tout montant de financement pour les dépenses administratives, car celles-ci seront exclusives à la partie C du document budgétaire. Notez également que le document budgétaire comprend un outil simple pour vous aider à vérifier ce qui précède au bas du tableau.

7. Remplir le document budgétaire : lignes directrices pour les postes de dépenses du budget

7.1. Les demandeurs doivent s’assurer, lors de la saisie des postes budgétaires, que suffisamment d’informations sont fournies pour permettre au MPO de déterminer que :

  1. le poste de dépense proposé est nécessaire à la bonne réalisation des objectifs du projet;
  2. le poste de dépense proposé est raisonnable et représente un bon rapport qualité-prix pour le projet et l’État;
  3. le poste de dépense proposé est admissible à un financement dans le cadre d’une des catégories de coûts admissibles du MPO (voir section 11 ci-dessous).

7.2. Assurez-vous que les titres des postes de dépenses budgétaires ne consistent pas uniquement en des références aux activités du projet concerné (par exemple, l’élaboration de modèles océanographiques), mais qu’ils démontrent clairement que la dépense entre dans l’une des catégories de coûts admissibles exposées à la Section 11 ci-dessous (p. ex., contrat de services professionnels pour l’élaboration de modèles océanographiques).

7.3. Pour les coûts relatifs aux salaires, allocations, bourses et autres paiements similaires, veuillez indiquer clairement dans le poste budgétaire le nombre de postes concernés (par exemple, deux étudiants à un taux de x $/mois). Si possible, inclure une référence à la rémunération annualisée ou horaire du poste, selon ce qui est le plus approprié. Notez que le MPO ne peut pas fournir de soutien financier pour les coûts attribuables aux employés permanents existants d’un demandeur (voir la Section 9.1 ci-dessous). Si vous avez d’autres questions pour savoir si vos dépenses de rémunération peuvent être admissibles, veuillez contacter le MPO pour en discuter (OPC-BPC@dfo-mpo.gc.ca).

7.4. Assurez-vous que les contrats de services professionnels sont désignés comme tels dans le document budgétaire.

7.5. Pour les achats d’équipements et d’instruments, veuillez indiquer un coût unitaire dans la mesure du possible. Si vous avez reçu une estimation officielle, vous pouvez choisir d’inclure cette documentation dans votre dossier de candidature.

7.6. Pour les ententes de location ou de crédit-bail, y compris l’affrètement de navires, veuillez inclure une référence au coût contractuel par jour/semaine/mois, en fonction de la dépense précise.

7.7. Lorsque vous saisissez les frais de voyage, veuillez inclure le coût des éléments sous-jacents de la demande, dans la mesure du possible (c’est-à-dire le billet d’avion, le logement, les indemnités journalières, etc.).

7.8. Le document budgétaire comprend une ligne dans la partie C (montant demandé au MPO) pour demander expressément un soutien pour les dépenses administratives en pourcentage de la contribution totale du MPO. Les frais administratifs ou autres frais généraux ne doivent pas figurer ailleurs dans le document, car ils ne constituent pas des coûts admissibles du projet. Dans tous les cas, les frais administratifs ne seront pas acceptés dans le cadre d’une contribution à un projet ne provenant pas du MPO.

7.9. Assurez-vous que l’onglet B du document budgétaire (source de financement) a été rempli, en indiquant la source de financement pour toutes les contributions au projet proposé ne provenant pas du MPO.

8. Remplir le document budgétaire : exigences relatives aux contributions financières du MPO

8.1. La contribution financière du MPO ne peut être utilisée que pour des coûts admissibles (voir la section 10 ci-dessous).

8.2. La contribution totale du MPO à une organisation pour un projet ne peut dépasser 75 % du coût total du projet, mais il y a plusieurs exceptions (voir la section 8.3 – Exceptions, ci-dessous). Donc, le total de :

  • la contribution financière du MPO PLUS
  • la contribution en nature du MPO PLUS
  • la contribution du MPO pour frais administratifs

ne peut dépasser 75 % du coût total du projet (voir la section 8.3 – Exceptions ci-dessous). Une proposition de projet qui ne comprend pas au moins 25 % de dépenses financées par des sources autres que le MPO et qui ne relève pas d’une des exceptions énumérées au point 8.3 ne sera pas acceptée.

8.3. EXCEPTIONS

Si l’organisation bénéficiaire est une entreprise, une industrie, une association commerciale ou une association industrielle, la contribution totale du MPO ne peut pas dépasser 50 % du coût total du projet.

Si l’organisation est un groupe ou une organisation autochtone, la contribution totale du MPO ne peut pas dépasser 100 % des coûts admissibles du projet.

Si l’organisation est une organisation sans but lucratif ou un groupe communautaire canadien comptant quatre employés permanents ou moins (y compris aucun employé), la contribution totale du MPO ne peut pas dépasser 100 % des coûts admissibles du projet.

Pour toutes les autres organisations ne relevant pas des exceptions énumérées ci-dessus, la contribution totale du MPO ne doit pas dépasser 75 % des coûts admissibles du projet.

9. Remplir le document budgétaire : coûts du projet (partie A du modèle de budget)

9.1. Les coûts de projet ne peuvent inclure que les coûts réels qu’une organisation engage pour un projet pendant qu’une entente de contribution est en vigueur. Comme règle générale, les coûts de projet sont des coûts jugés essentiels pour le projet ET qui ne seraient pas entraînés si le projet n’était pas entrepris (ces coûts seront appelés « coûts différentiels »). Les exceptions sont les coûts salariaux réels d’une organisation, qui peuvent être comptés comme des contributions à des projets ne relevant pas du MPO, mais pour lesquels le soutien financier du MPO ne peut être demandé (voir les sections 9.2 et 9.3 ci-dessous). Par conséquent :

  • Les actifs et ressources utilisés pour un projet et qu’une organisation a acquis indépendamment du projet n’entraînent pas de coûts réellement encourus pour le projet et ne sont donc pas autorisés comme coûts du projet. Par exemple, les coûts attribués à l’équipement, aux laboratoires, aux plateformes (comme les navires), aux bases de données, aux logiciels, etc. qu’un organisme aurait acquis avant la date d’entrée en vigueur d’un accord de contribution ne sont pas admissibles. Si toutefois l’utilisation de ces actifs pour un projet implique des coûts différentiels (tels que des coûts d’entretien ou de fonctionnement), les coûts différentiels sont autorisés comme coûts du projet.

9.2. Le montant des salaires des employés d’une organisation qui consacrent du temps sur un projet est considéré comme étant une contribution en nature de l’organisation. Elles peuvent être incluses dans les contributions au projet non financées par le MPO.

9.3. Les coûts de projet ne doivent inclure aucun montant pour frais généraux ou administratifs. Cependant, le MPO accepte de rembourser un montant pour les frais administratifs associés à la contribution financière du MPO (voir la section 10 et la section 11[n]), pourvu que le total de la contribution du MPO ne dépasse pas le montant maximal que le MPO peut verser (voir les sections 8.2 et 8.3 ci-dessus).

10. Remplir le document budgétaire : contributions financières du MPO (partie C du modèle de budget)

En général, les contributions financières du MPO à un projet ne peuvent être utilisées que pour des coûts différentiels, c.-à-d. des coûts qui sont jugés essentiels pour le projet ET qui ne seraient pas entraînés si le projet n’était pas entrepris.

11. Coûts admissibles

  1. Les bourses d’études et les paiements similaires;
  2. Les honoraires professionnels pour obtenir des services de tierces parties;
  3. Les coûts de location de véhicules motorisés (voitures, camions, VTT, motoneiges, moteurs hors-bord), de bateaux et de remorques pour bateaux (« véhicules motorisés »). Notez que pour toute demande d’achat de véhicules automobiles, il faut clairement démontrer la nécessité du projet, ainsi que l’optimisation des ressources de l’État, lorsqu’on les compare à une entente comparable de location ou de crédit-bail;
  4. Les frais d’achat d’équipements et d’instruments de laboratoire et de terrain, y compris les hydrophones et les équipements de surveillance similaires, mais à l’exclusion des véhicules motorisés;
  5. Les coûts de matériaux et fournitures de laboratoire;
  6. Les frais de location et d’entretien d’équipements et d’instruments de laboratoire et de terrain;
  7. Les frais de location de locaux tels des laboratoires, des salles, des bureaux et des installations;
  8. Les frais de déplacement et les frais connexes (conformément à la Directive sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte);
  9. Les frais de conférence et de symposium, y compris les frais d’inscription;
  10. Les coûts de publication;
  11. Les coûts de communication;
  12. Les coûts de gestion des données;
  13. Les autres coûts qui appuient clairement et directement la recherche scientifique et les activités scientifiques connexes, approuvés au préalable par Pêches et Océans Canada jusqu’à concurrence de 10 % du total des coûts admissibles;
  14. Le MPO pourrait également rembourser les frais administratifs, jusqu’à un montant représentant 15 % du montant total des coûts admissibles remboursés par le MPO. Par exemple, si le MPO verse 80 000 $ pour les coûts admissibles du projet (avant les frais généraux), le montant maximal remboursé par le MPO pour les frais généraux sera de 12 000 $ (15 % de 80 000 $).
  15. Autres coûts seulement admissibles pour les organisations ou les groupes autochtones :
    1. honoraires et articles, cadeaux ou festins cérémoniels.

12. Paiements

En général, les contributions du MPO sont payées en arrérages à la réception de rapports de projet et de rapports financiers satisfaisants. Dans des cas exceptionnels, le MPO peut verser une partie de la contribution à l’avance, si ces paiements sont jugés indispensables à l’avancement des priorités du projet. Les paiements anticipés sont basés sur les besoins de trésorerie du projet, et sont fournis à la discrétion du MPO.

Les demandeurs qui souhaitent recevoir des paiements anticipés devront fournir des preuves satisfaisantes de ce qui suit :

  • Les besoins de trésorerie du projet sont importants ET
  • Le demandeur ne dispose pas des ressources financières nécessaires pour gérer ces besoins en attendant le remboursement du MPO.

Après avoir été informés par le Ministère qu’une proposition de projet a été retenue, les demandeurs qui souhaitent demander un paiement anticipé doivent présenter :

  • une demande écrite justifiant la nécessité d’un paiement anticipé et décrivant les conséquences potentielles du refus de ce paiement anticipé si leur demande est acceptée;
  • un état exhaustif des flux de trésorerie du projet illustrant les dépenses budgétaires trimestrielles prévues par année financière fédérale (1er avril au 31 mars). Le modèle de flux de trésorerie du projet sera fourni sur demande aux demandeurs.

Pour les projets recevant un premier paiement anticipé, tous les rapports scientifiques et financiers requis devront être présentés avant que d’autres paiements anticipés puissent être versés.

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :