Piscine Orthoreovirus (PRV) and Heart and Skeletal Muscle Inflammation (HSMI)

Preface

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) has received a number of inquiries regarding the presence of PRV (also known as Piscine Reovirus) and HSMI on the Pacific Coast.

The Government of Canada has an internationally recognized National Aquatic Animal Health Program (NAAHP) that is co-delivered by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) and DFO under the authority of CFIA's Health of Animals Act and Health of Animals Regulations. Under NAAHP, DFO's laboratory system provides the diagnostic testing, research and scientific advice regarding reportable pathogens of finfish, molluscs, and crustaceans.

In addition to the NAAHP, DFO's Pacific Aquaculture Management Division has a role in fish health management through its audit program that conducts fish health audits at up to 30 active farm sites per calendar quarter. As the primary regulator for aquaculture in BC, DFO works closely with the CFIA, the aquaculture industry and other partners to identify and manage potential risks to the health of wild and farmed salmon.

DFO also engages in research associated with other microbes that may impact salmonids but are not listed in acts and regulations. As a science-based department, DFO draws on existing scientific knowledge, conducts its own research and collaborates with others. Some of this research is being conducted under the Program for Aquaculture Regulatory Research (PARR), a DFO program that supports research on aquatic animal diseases. Additionally, the Strategic Salmon Health Initiative (SSHI), co-funded by DFO, Pacific Salmon Foundation and Genome BC, is an international consortium of scientists conducting research on microbes potentially impacting BC's wild, enhanced and farmed salmon. Both the PARR and the SSHI are also providing scientific data and information pertinent to PRV and HSMI in BC salmon.

Lay Summary:

PRV

Distribution and susceptible species

PRV is known to be present in Norway, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Chile, the United States and Canada (Biering and Garseth 2012; Kibenge et al. 2013; Siah et al. 2015). In Canada, testing of archived fish tissues indicated the presence of PRV in wild and farmed Pacific salmon since 1987 and possibly as early as 1977. Additional survey work through various labs and agencies in Canada and the United States has expanded the known host range of PRV in the North Pacific Ocean to include: Cutthroat Trout (Oncorhynchus clarkii), Chinook Salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha), Sockeye Salmon (Oncorhynchus nerka), Steelhead Trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss), Coho Salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch), Chum Salmon (Oncorhynchus keta) Pink Salmon (Oncorhynchus gorbusca) and farmed Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar) (DFO 2015).  Detections have been made from both farmed and wild fish populations which have extended from the state of Washington north through BC to Alaska (DFO 2015; Marty et al. 2015; Siah et al. 2015, Miller et al. 2017, Morton et al. 2017, Purcell et al. 2017 ).

In North Atlantic waters PRV has been detected in both salmonid and non-salmonid fish which includes farmed and wild Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar), wild Sea-Trout (Salmo trutta), Great Silver Smelt (Argentina silus), Atlantic Horse Mackerel (Trachurus trachurus), Atlantic Herring (Clupea harengus) and Capelin (Mallotus villosus) (Wiik-Nielson et al. 2012; Garseth et al. 2013). 

Genomic variability

Genomic sequencing of PRV from BC has revealed some genetic differences when compared to PRV from other regions (Kibenge et al. 2013; Siah et al. 2015). Based on an analysis of genetic differences,  Kibenge et al. 2013 proposed that PRV first arrived in BC from Norway sometime around 2007. However, recent testing of archived samples held by DFO has revealed that PRV has been present in salmonids on the Pacific coast of North America salmon since 1987 and possibly as early as 1977 (Marty et al. 2015; Siah et al. 2015).

HSMI

The disease HSMI was first reported in farmed Atlantic Salmon in Norway in 1999 (Kongtorp et al. 2004a) resulting in farm production losses.  Since then, the number of cases in Norway has steadily increased to a peak of 181 farm outbreaks reported in 2014.  HSMI continues to cause reduced survival of farmed fish in Norway (Marine Harvest 2015).  Similar or HSMI-like disease has also been reported in farmed Atlantic Salmon in Scotland (Ferguson et al. 2005) and Chile (Godoy et al. 2016). 

HSMI is characterized by mortality that ranges from negligible up to 20%, and morbidity (defined as the percentage of fish with indications of disease) that can be as high as 100% within affected populations (Kongtorp et al. 2004a). HSMI often occurs 5 to 9 months after transfer to seawater, occasionally in freshwater, and can last for several months (Kongtorp at el., 2009; Johansen at el., 2016).

In addition to morbidity, clinical signs may include accumulation of fluids in the body cavity (ascites), pale heart and liver, enlarged spleen and diffused, pinpoint hemorrhages in the internal organs (visceral petechiae). However, fish with HSMI do not necessarily all have the same clinical signs and during the early stages of the disease fish can appear healthy despite the presence of internal lesions. In Norway, the diagnosis of HSMI often occurs after fish have experienced a stressful event (Lovoll et al. 2012), as is true of many diseases.

Although field observations have suggested that surviving fish in affected sea cages may recover (unpublished field observations; Kongtorp et al., 2004a), non-lethal outbreaks are still considered a significant problem in Norwegian Atlantic salmon farming due to poor growth and general performance of fish following infection.

The disease HSMI is diagnosed by the occurrence of histopathologic lesions in the heart and skeletal muscle; moderate to severe panmyocarditis (inflammation in the compact and spongy layers of the myocardium); and myocardial degeneration and necrosis (Biering and Garseth 2012). The skeletal muscle also shows moderate to severe myodegeneration and necrosis of the red muscle fibres, as well as inflammation (Kongtorp et al. 2004a). Lesions in the skeletal muscle tend to occur mostly during the peak of the outbreak and, to a lesser extent, in the recovery phase (Kongtorp et al. 2006). Histopathological lesions in other organs include liver necrosis and congestion / hemorrhages in liver, kidney, spleen and gills (Kongtorp et al. 2004a).

PRV and association with disease

PRV was first identified through sequencing of heart tissue obtained from Atlantic Salmon (Salmo salar) farmed in Norway that displayed signs of HSMI and Cardiomyopathy Syndrome (Lovoll et al. 2010; Palacios et al. 2010).  PRV has consistently been observed concurrently with HSMI outbreaks on farms in Norway (Lovoll et al. 2012; Wiik-Nielsen et al. 2016)and injection of Norwegian Atlantic Salmon with PRV positive tissue homogenates from fish diagnosed with HSMI has, across multiple studies (Kongtorp et al. 2004a; Watanabe et al. 2006; Alne et al. 2009; Kongtorp and Taksdal 2009; Yousaf et al. 2014, Saddique 2014; Johansen et al. 2015; Johansen et al. 2016), resulted in the formation of heart and skeletal muscle lesions diagnostic of HSMI. 

Recently, PRV-like sequences were also found concurrently with three (HSMI-like) diseases in farmed salmonids: in Rainbow Trout in Norway, the disease grossly described as circulatory failure with haemorrhages and anaemia pathologically included liver necrosis and HSMI lesions (Olsen et al. 2015); in Coho Salmon in Chile, the disease grossly described as jaundice and anemia pathologically includes liver necrosis and HSMI-like lesions (Godoy et al. 2016) and; in farmed Coho Salmon in Japan with a condition noted as erythrocytic inclusion body syndrome (Takano et al. 2016).

Studies exposing Norwegian Atlantic salmon to purified PRV showed that exposed fish replicated virus and developed histophathological lesions diagnostic of HSMI, establishing PRV as the causative agent (Wessel et al 2017). Wessel et al. 2017 provides evidence that PRV infection can directly cause HSMI in Atlantic salmon yet acknowledges that it remains unclear as to why in many instances infections do not lead to disease.  In developing the ability to purify PRV, the authors have also made it possible for the research community to characterize potential PRV strain differences, host differences, and environmental factors required for disease development.

Investigations into infectivity and disease causing potential of PRV

For Norwegian PRV strains the causality of HSMI has been conclusively demonstrated, but the disease causing potential of the North America strains in native species is uncertain.   To date, surveys conducted in North America have revealed that the presence of PRV genetic material in wild and cultured Chinook, coho and pink salmon and steelhead trout from Washington State, BC and Alaska where years of surveillance have reported no presence of HSMI (Marty et al. 2015; Siah et al. 2015, Purcell et al. 2017 ). Further, although HSMI has been repeatedly transmitted to naïve fish in Norway via injection of PRV-infected material obtained from fish with HSMI (Finstad et al. 2012; Mikalsen et al. 2012; Finstad et al. 2014), similar transmission studies on the BC variant of PRV conducted at DFO have failed to generate disease in Atlantic, sockeye, or chinook salmon (Garver et al. 2016a; Garver et al. 2016b). The exposed Sockeye, Chinook, and Atlantic Salmon became infected and supported high levels in the blood similar to observations from Norwegian challenge studies. However, unlike in Norway, as yet, all experimental exposures of the BC strain of PRV to Pacific and Atlantic salmon in BC have failed to induce disease or mortality. This suggests PRV in BC has a low ability to cause disease (low virulence) for these species (Garver et al. 2016a; Garver et al. 2016b).

In a collaborative study led by researchers at the DFO Pacific Biological Station, it was revealed that sockeye salmon infected with PRV exhibit a lack of response to the virus at 2 and 3 weeks after infection even though substantial viral amplification occurred during this period (Polinski et al. 2016). In contrast, when sockeye salmon were infected with infectious hematopoietic necrosis virus (IHNV), a highly pathogenic rhabdovirus enzootic to the west coast of North America, substantial changes in host immune pathways were observed including antiviral and inflammatory responses. Moreover, when sockeye salmon infected with PRV were subsequently exposed to IHNV, the PRV infection had no significant effect on the sockeye's response to the superinfecting IHNV. Consequently, concurrent infections of PRV and IHNV do not appear to significantly influence the infectivity or severity of IHNV-associated disease in sockeye although timing of virus exposures may prove to be an important factor for determining inter-viral relationships (Polinski et al. 2016).

DFO scientists, along with provincial and international colleagues, are conducting investigations to better understand the biology of PRV and HSMI in wild and farmed salmon on the west coast of North America. Examples include studies assessing the association between PRV infections and spawning success of sockeye salmon in the Fraser River (Miller et al. 2014), the potential association of PRV with disease in Pacific salmon, and the assessment of infectious agents and histological evidence of disease in farmed, wild, and enhancement salmon. Studies are also investigating whether infection with PRV in the absence of HSMI would affect how a fish may respond when exposed to other naturally occurring viruses.

Di Cicco et al. 2017 documented the first farm-level diagnosis of HSMI in BC. The study showed inflammatory lesions in heart and skeletal muscle tissue diagnostic of this disease in a longitudinal study from one Atlantic Salmon farm in BC. At an individual level, not all fish carried lesions in both heart and skeletal muscle at any given point in time, but at the farm level, both were present and diagnostic of the disease. There was no associated elevation in mortalities reported at the farm level. While this study was not designed to prove or disprove a cause and effect relationship between PRV and HSMI, PRV was found to be correlated with the development of lesions diagnostic of HSMI and spatially located within the affected tissue, consistent with HSMI etiology from other countries. The finding of inflammatory (myocarditis) heart lesions in this study is consistent with heart lesions of suspected viral origin that have been reported through the DFO audit program since 2008, and from industry fish possibly as early as 2002, but never diagnosed to a specific disease.

This webpage will be updated with the results of significant new studies periodically.


References

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Orthoréovirus pisciaire et inflammation des muscles squelettiques et cardiaques (IMSC)

Préface

Pêche et Océans Canada (MPO) a reçu un grand nombre de demandes de renseignements concernant la présence de l'orthoréovirus pisciaire (également appelé réovirus pisciaire) et de l'IMSC sur la côte du Pacifique.

Le gouvernement du Canada possède un Programme national sur la santé des animaux aquatiques (PNSAA) reconnu à l'échelle internationale qui est exécuté par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) en collaboration avec le MPO en vertu de la Loi sur la santé des animaux de l'ACIA et du Règlement sur la santé des animaux. Dans le cadre du PNSAA, le système de laboratoire du MPO assure la réalisation de diagnostics et la recherche et fournit des avis scientifiques sur les pathogènes de poissons, de mollusques et de crustacés qui doivent être déclarés.

En plus du PNSAA, la Division de la gestion de l'aquaculture du Pacifique du MPO intervient dans la gestion de la santé des poissons par l'intermédiaire de son programme de vérification qui mène des vérifications de la santé des poissons dans une trentaine d'exploitations actives par trimestre. À titre de principal organisme de réglementation de l'aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique, le MPO travaille étroitement avec l'ACIA, l'industrie aquacole et d'autres partenaires afin de déterminer et de gérer les risques potentiels pour la santé des saumons sauvages et d'élevage.

Le MPO participe également à la recherche associée aux autres microbes qui peuvent toucher les salmonidés, mais qui ne sont pas mentionnés dans les lois et règlements. À titre de ministère à vocation scientifique, le MPO s'appuie sur les connaissances scientifiques existantes, mène ses propres recherches et collabore avec d'autres organismes. Certaines de ces recherches sont menées dans le cadre du Programme de recherche sur la réglementation de l'aquaculture (PRRA), un programme du MPO qui appuie la recherche sur les maladies des animaux aquatiques. Par ailleurs, l'initiative stratégique visant la santé du saumon (ISSS), cofinancée par le MPO, la Fondation du saumon du Pacifique et Genome BC, est un consortium international de scientifiques qui mènent des recherches sur les microbes pouvant toucher les saumons sauvages, mis en valeur et d'élevage de la Colombie-Britannique. Le PRRA et l'ISSS fournissent également des données et des renseignements scientifiques relatifs à l'orthoréovirus pisciaire et à l'IMSC chez le saumon en Colombie-Britannique.

Résumé simplifié :

Orthoréovirus pisciaire

Répartition et espèces vulnérables

La présence de l'orthoréovirus pisciaire est connue en Norvège, au Royaume-Uni, en Irlande, au Chili, aux États-Unis et au Canada (Biering et Garseth 2012; Kibenge et al. 2013; Siah et al. 2015). Au Canada, les essais menés sur des échantillons archivés ont démontré la présence de l'orthoréovirus pisciaire chez le saumon sauvage ou d'élevage du Pacifique depuis 1987 et probablement dès 1977. Des études supplémentaires réalisées par divers laboratoires et organismes au Canada et aux États-Unis ont permis d'élargir l'éventail d'hôtes du réovirus pisciaire dans le Pacifique Nord pour y inclure les espèces suivantes : truite fardée (Oncorhynchus clarkii), saumon quinnat (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha), saumon rouge (Oncorhynchus nerka), truite arc-en-ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss), saumon coho sauvage (Oncorhynchus kisutch), saumon kéta (Oncorhynchus keta), saumon rose (Oncorhynchus gorbusca) et saumon de l'Atlantique d'élevage (Salmo salar) (MPO 2015). Les détections ont été effectuées dans des populations de poissons d'élevage et sauvages qui se sont étendues de l'État de Washington vers le nord jusqu'en Alaska en passant par la Colombie-Britannique (MPO 2015; Marty et al. 2015; Siah et al. 2015, Miller et al. 2017, Morton et al. 2017, Purcell et al. 2017).

Dans les eaux de l'Atlantique Nord, l'orthoréovirus pisciairea touche des salmonidés et des non-salmonidés, des espèces qui comprennent notamment le saumon de l'Atlantique sauvage et d'élevage (Salmo salar), la truite de mer sauvage (Salmo trutta), la grande argentine (Argentina silus), le chinchard (Trachurus trachurus), le hareng de l'Atlantique (Clupea harengus) et le capelan (Mallotus villosus) (Wiik-Nielson et al. 2012; Garseth et al. 2013).

Variabilité génomique

Le séquençage génomique du réovirus pisciaire en Colombie-Britannique a révélé quelques différences génétiques par rapport au réovirus pisciaire présent dans d'autres régions (Kibenge et al. 2013, Siah et al. 2015). Après analyse de ces différences génétiques, les auteurs Kibenge et al. 2013 ont supposé que le réovirus pisciaire était sans doute arrivé en Colombie-Britannique depuis la Norvège aux alentours de 2007. Cependant, des tests récents d'échantillons archivés détenus par le MPO ont révélé que le réovirus pisciaire était présent chez les salmonidés sur la côte du Pacifique de l'Amérique du Nord depuis bien 1987 et probablement dès1977 (Marty et al. 2015; Siah et al. 2015).

IMSC

La maladie IMSC a été signalée pour la première fois chez le saumon de l'Atlantique d'élevage en Norvège en 1999 (Kongtorp et al. 2004a) et a entraîné des pertes de production pour l'exploitation. Depuis, le nombre de cas en Norvège a augmenté régulièrement pour atteindre un pic de 181 foyers de maladie signalés dans les exploitations en 2014. L'IMSC continue d'entraîner une réduction de la survie des poissons en Norvège (Marine Harvest 2015). Une maladie semblable à l'IMSC a également été signalée chez le saumon d'élevage de l'Atlantique en Écosse (Ferguson et al. 2005) et au Chili (Godoy et al. 2016).

L'IMSC se caractérise par une mortalité qui va de négligeable à 20 % et une morbidité (définie comme le pourcentage de poissons présentant des signes de la maladie) qui peut atteindre 100 % dans les populations touchées (Kongtorp et al. 2004a). L'IMSC apparaît souvent cinq à neuf mois après le transfert dans l'eau de mer, à l'occasion dans l'eau douce, et peut durer plusieurs mois (Kongtorp et al. 2009; Johansen et al. 2016).

En plus de la morbidité, les signes cliniques peuvent inclure l'accumulation de liquides dans la cavité abdominale (ascite), un cœur et un foie pâles, une rate hypertrophiée et des hémorragies diffuses et localisées dans les organes internes (pétéchies viscérales). Cependant, tous les poissons atteints d'IMSC ne présentent pas forcément les mêmes signes cliniques et pendant les premiers stades de la maladie, les poissons peuvent sembler en bonne santé, malgré la présence de lésions internes. En Norvège, on diagnostique généralement le HSMI après un événement stressant pour les poissons (Løvoll et al. 2012), ce qui est vrai pour de nombreuses maladies.

Bien que des observations sur le terrain aient laissé penser que les poissons survivants dans les cages flottantes affectées pourraient se rétablir (observations sur le terrain non publiées; Kongtorp et al., 2004a), des éclosions de maladie non létales restent considérées comme un problème important dans l'élevage du saumon de l'Atlantique en Norvège en raison d'une faible croissance et d'un rendement général faible du poisson après l'infection.

L'IMSC est diagnostiquée par l'apparition de lésions histopathologiques dans le cœur et le muscle squelettique; une panmyocardite (inflammation dans les couches compactes et spongieuses du myocarde); et une dégénération et une nécrose du myocarde (Biering et Garseth 2012). Le muscle squelettique présente également une myodégénération modérée à sévère et une nécrose des fibres du muscle rouge, ainsi qu'une inflammation (Kongtorp et al. 2004a). Les lésions dans le muscle squelettique tendent à apparaître généralement pendant le pic de l'éclosion de la maladie et, dans une moindre mesure, dans la phase de rétablissement (Kongtorp et al. 2006). Parmi les lésions histopathologiques dans d'autres organes, on compte la nécrose et la congestion du foie / les hémorragies dans le foie, le rein, la rate et les branchies (Kongtorp et al. 2004a).

Le réovirus pisciaire et l'association avec la maladie

Le réovirus pisciaire a été identifié pour la première fois lors d'un séquençage de tissus cardiaques prélevés sur un saumon de l'Atlantique (Salmo salar) élevé en Norvège. L'échantillon de tissus présentait des signes de deux maladies cardiaques similaires, et indiquait une inflammation des muscles squelettiques et cardiaques (IMSC) et une cardiomyopathie (Palacios et al. 2010; Løvoll et al. 2010). Le réovirus pisciaire a systématiquement été observé en même temps que les éclosions d'IMSC dans les exploitations en Norvège (Lovoll et al. 2012; Wiik-Nielsen et al. 2016) et l'injection chez le saumon de l'Atlantique de Norvège d'homogénats tissulaires infectés par le réovirus pisciaire de poissons diagnostiqués comme ayant l'IMSC a, dans de nombreuses études (Kongtorp et al. 2004a; Watanabe et al. 2006; Alne et al. 2009; Kongtorp et Taksdal 2009; Yousaf et al. 2014, Saddique 2014; Johansen et al. 2015; Johansen et al. 2016), entraîné la formation de lésions du cœur et du muscle squelettique symptomatiques de l'IMSC.

Récemment, des séquences semblables au réovirus pisciaire ont également été découvertes en même temps que trois maladies (semblable à l'IMSC) chez des salmonidés d'élevage : chez la truite arc-en-ciel en Norvège, la maladie grossièrement décrite comme une défaillance du système circulatoire avec des hémorragies et une anémie, incluait, sur le plan pathologique, une nécrose du foie et des lésions dues à l'IMSC (Olsen et al. 2015); chez le saumon coho au Chili, la maladie grossièrement décrite comme un ictère et une anémie incluait, sur le plan pathologique, une nécrose du foie et des lésions semblables à l'IMSC (Godoy et al. 2016); chez les saumons coho d'élevage au Japon avec une maladie décrite comme le syndrome de corps d'inclusion érythrocytaire (Takano et al. 2016).

Des études exposant le saumon de l'Atlantique de Norvège au réovirus pisciaire purifié ont permis de démontrer que le poisson exposé avait reproduit le virus et développé des lésions histopathologies symptomatiques de l'IMSC, ce qui démontre que le réovirus pisciaire est l'agent responsable (Wessel et al. 2017). Wessel et al. 2017 fournit la preuve que l'infection par l'orthoréovirus pisciaire cause l'IMSC chez le saumon de l'Atlantique tout en reconnaissant qu'on ignore encore les raisons pour lesquelles dans de nombreux cas les infections n'entraînent pas la maladie. En développant la capacité de purifier le réovirus pisciaire, les auteurs ont permis à la communauté de chercheurs de caractériser les différentes souches possibles et les différences d'hôtes du virus, ainsi que les facteurs environnementaux nécessaires au développement de la maladie.

Études de l'infectiosité et de la maladie causant un risque de réovirus pisciaire

Pour les souches norvégiennes du réovirus pisciaire, la causalité avec l'IMSC a été démontrée de façon concluante, mais la maladie causant les souches nord-américaines possibles chez les espèces indigènes est mal connue. Les études menées jusqu'à ce jour en Amérique du Nord ont révélé que la présence d'un matériel génétique du réovirus pisciaire chez le saumon quinnat, le saumon coho, le saumon et la truite arc‑en-ciel de l'État de Washington, de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alaska, qui ont fait l'objet d'une surveillance de plusieurs années, n'a pas entraîné le développement de l'IMSC (Marty et al. 2015; Siah et al. 2015, Purcell et al. 2017). Par ailleurs, bien que l'IMSC ait été transmise de façon répétée à des poissons novices en Norvège par injection de matière infectée par le réovirus pisciaire obtenue auprès de poissons atteints de l'IMSC (Finstad et al. 2012; Mikalsen et al. 2012; Finstad et al. 2014), des études semblables de transmission sur la variante de Colombie-Britannique du réovirus pisciaire menées au MPO ont échoué à provoquer la maladie chez le saumon de l'Atlantique, rouge ou quinnat (Garver et al. 2016a; Garver et al. 2016b). Le saumon rouge, le saumon quinnat et le saumon de l'Atlantique exposés ont été infectés et ont supporté des niveaux élevés dans le sang semblables à celles provenant des études de provocation réalisées en Norvège. Cependant, contrairement à la Norvège, à ce jour, toutes les expositions expérimentales de saumons du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique en Colombie-Britannique à la souche du réovirus pisciaire de Colombie-Britannique ont échoué à produire la maladie ou la mortalité. Cela laisse penser que le réovirus pisciaire en Colombie-Britannique a une faible capacité à produire la maladie (faible virulence) pour ces espèces (Garver et al. 2016a; Garver et al. 2016b).

Dans une étude collaborative menée par des chercheurs à la Station biologique du Pacifique du MPO, il a été constaté que le saumon rouge infecté par le réovirus pisciaire présente une absence de réponse au virus deux et trois semaines après l'infection, même si une amplification virale substantielle s'est produite pendant cette période (Polinski et al. 2016). En revanche, lorsque le saumon rouge était infecté avec le virus de la nécrose hématopoïétique infectieuse (VNHI), un rhabdovirus hautement pathogène qui provoque des enzooties sur la côte Ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, des modifications considérables des voies immunitaires des hôtes ont été observées, y compris des réponses antivirales et inflammatoires. De plus, lorsque les saumons rouges infectés par le réovirus pisciaire étaient ensuite exposés au VNHI, l'infection au réovirus pisciaire n'avait pas d'effet considérable sur la réponse du saumon rouge au VNHI qui cause une surinfection. En conséquence, les infections simultanées de réovirus pisciaire et de VNHI ne semblent pas avoir d'incidence considérable sur l'infectiosité ou la sévérité de la maladie associée au VNHI chez le saumon rouge, bien que le moment des expositions au virus puisse se révéler un facteur important pour déterminer les relations entre les virus (Polinski et al. 2016).

Les scientifiques du MPO, ainsi que leurs collègues provinciaux et internationaux, mènent des études afin de mieux comprendre la biologie du réovirus pisciaire et de l'IMSC chez les saumons sauvages et les saumons d'élevage sur la côte Ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. Par exemple, les études qui évaluent l'association entre les infections au réovirus pisciaire et la réussite du frai du saumon rouge dans le fleuve Fraser (Miller et al. 2014), l'association potentielle du réovirus pisciaire avec la maladie chez le saumon du Pacifique, et l'évaluation des agents infectieux et des preuves histologiques de la maladie chez les saumons d'élevage, sauvages et mis en valeur. Les études cherchent également à déterminer si l'infection au réovirus pisciaire en l'absence de l'IMSC aurait une incidence sur la façon dont un poisson pourrait répondre une fois exposé à d'autres virus présents dans la nature.

Les auteurs Di Cicco et al. 2017 ont documenté le premier diagnostic de l'IMSC au niveau des exploitations en Colombie-Britannique. L'étude montrait des lésions inflammatoires dans le tissu cardiaque et le muscle squelettique, symptomatiques de cette maladie, dans une étude longitudinale provenant d'une exploitation de saumons de l'Atlantique en Colombie-Britannique. Au niveau individuel, tous les poissons n'étaient pas porteurs de lésions cardiaques et squelettiques à un moment quelconque, mais au niveau de l'exploitation, les deux types de lésions étaient présents et symptomatiques de la maladie. Aucune augmentation associée des mortalités n'a été signalée au niveau des exploitations. Même si cette étude ne visait pas à prouver ou à réfuter une relation de cause à effet entre le réovirus pisciaire et l'IMSC, il s'est avéré que le réovirus pisciaire est lié au développement de lésions symptomatiques de l'IMSC et situé dans les tissus touchés, ce qui est en adéquation avec l'étiologie de l'IMSC provenant d'autres pays. La découverte de lésions inflammatoires du cœur (myocardite) dans cette étude est cohérente avec les lésions cardiaques, dont l'origine suspectée est virale, qui ont été signalées dans le cadre du programme de vérification du MPO depuis 2008 et par l'industrie aquacole probablement dès 2002, mais qui n'ont jamais été diagnostiquées comme une maladie précise.

La présente page Web sera mise à jour régulièrement avec les résultats de nouvelles études importantes.


Références

Personne-ressource du programme :
Nathan Taylor, directeur de la Division des sciences, Région du Pacifique, 250-756-7395

Personnes-ressources aux Communications :
Michelle Rainer, Région du Pacifique, 604-775-5065
Natalie Seguin, conseillère en communications, Région de la capitale nationale, 613-990-5248

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :