Summary of 2016 survey results

Section 1

Implementation of the Fishery Decision-Making Framework Incorporating the Precautionary Approach (called the Precautionary Approach Policy)

The results show that elements of the Precautionary Approach Policy – reference points and harvest control rules - have been put in place for many of the 170 stocks, but not yet for all of the stocks. The following are a few highlights:

Some of the questions in this section are used to report on indicators in the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators report.

Section 2

The Status of Integrated Fishery Management Plans

The results show that 72% (122 of 170) of the 170 stocks are part of an Integrated Fisheries Management Plan (IFMP) and the fisheries on these stocks are managed using the IFMP. Currently, there are 59 IFMPs covering 122 stocks. In some cases, IFMPs need to be updated. In the absence of an IFMP, some of the stocks are managed using other types of fishery management plans, such as a Conservation Harvesting Plan.

Implementation of the Policy for Managing Bycatch

The results show that elements of the Policy for Managing Bycatch have been implemented in some of the fisheries on the 170 stocks but that this policy has not been fully implemented. The following are a few highlights:

Retained Bycatch

Non-retained Bycatch

Species at Risk

The results show that fisheries on 63% (106 of 170) of the stocks interact with aquatic species listed under the Species at Risk Act. Where interactions do occur, fishery management measures to mitigate the risks to these species are in place in fisheries on 95% (101 of 106) of these stocks.

Sommaire des résultats du sondage de 2016

Section 1

Mise en œuvre du cadre décisionnel pour les pêches intégrant l'approche de précaution (c.-à-d. la Politique sur l'approche de précaution)

D’après les résultats, les composantes de la Politique sur l’approche de précaution — les points de référence et les règles de contrôle des prises — ont été mises en place pour bon nombre des 170 stocks, mais pas encore pour tous. Voici quelques points saillants à cet égard :

Certaines des questions de la présente section sont utilisées pour rendre compte des indicateurs figurant dans le rapport des indicateurs canadiens sur la durabilité environnementale.

Section 2

État des Plans de gestion intégrée des pêches

Selon les résultats, 72 % (122/170) des 170 stocks sont visés par un Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches (PGIP) et les pêches de ces stocks sont gérées selon leur PGIP. On compte actuellement 59 PGIP couvrant 122 stocks. Dans certains cas, les PGIP ont besoin d’une mise à jour. Parmi les stocks n’ayant pas de PGIP, certains sont gérés au moyen d’autres types de plans de gestion des pêches, comme un Plan de pêche axé sur la conservation.

Mise en œuvre de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires

D’après les résultats, certaines composantes de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires ont été mises en œuvre pour les pêches liées aux 170 stocks, mais pas toutes. Voici quelques points saillants à cet égard :

Prises accessoires conservées

Prises accessoires non conservées

Espèces en péril

D’après les résultats, les pêches visant 63 % (106/170) des stocks ont des interactions avec des espèces aquatiques inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Lorsque de telles interactions se produisent, des mesures de gestion des pêches visant à atténuer les risques pour ces espèces sont mises en place dans les pêches de 95 % (101/106) de ces stocks.