Language selection


Step 4: Initial Site Classification

Suspect sites are classified using the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) National Classification System for Contaminated Sites (NCSCS) or the FCSAP Aquatic Sites Classification System (ASCS) to prioritize sites and determine eligibility for FCSAP funding. Completion of Step 4 is required to obtain FCSAP funding. If there is uncertainty as to whether or not a site poses a risk to human health or the environment, then further assess the site in Step 5. The ASCS should be used if the site is a water lot or meets the definition of an aquatic site.

How to prepare

What to do

How Fisheries and Oceans Canada Expert Support helps

Federal contaminated sites: Online resources

Date modified: