The Grand Banks of Newfoundland: Atlas of Human Activities

The Grand Banks of Newfoundland: Atlas of Human Activities

The Grand Banks of Newfoundland: Atlas of Human Activities (PDF, 115 MB)

Oceans Division
Oceans and Habitat Management Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada (Newfoundland and Labrador Region)

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2007

All rights reserved. No part of this information (publication or product) may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, or stored in a retrieval system, without prior written permission of the Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada, 2007, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0S5 or at Copyright.Droitdauteur@communication.gc.ca.

Cat. No.
Fs114-7/2007
Fs114-7/2007E-PDF
Fs114-7/2007F-PDF
ISBN
978-0-662-49898-8
978-0-662-45273-7 (English PDF)
978-0-662-73641-7 (French PDF)
URL
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

DFO/2007-1238

Published by:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Newfoundland and Labrador Region
Communications Branch and
Oceans Division, Oceans and Habitat Management Branch
PO Box 5667
St. John’s, NL A1C 5X1

Printed on recycled paper

Acknowledgements

This atlas was co-edited by Jason Simms, Charlene Coates, Geoff Coughlan and Dawn Mercer. Maps were created by Charlene Coates and writing was completed by Geoff Coughlan and Charlene Coates.

Authors would like to sincerely thank the following individuals who kindly shared their knowledge or provided data on various aspects of the Atlas of Human Activities, as well as those that took part in the review process: Susan Gover, Dave Hawkins and Lewis Manual from the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board; Neil Peet and Brian Stone from the Canadian Coast Guard, Newfoundland and Labrador Region; Kirk Regular from Digeos; Scott Lewis and Rick Wadman from Environment Canada; LCdr R. G. Thwaites and Lt (N) Jay Warwick from National Defence; and Louis Armstrong from Transport Canada.

Authors would also like to thank the following staff of Fisheries and Oceans Canada who shared data and advice as well as took part in the review process: Chris Annand, Heather Bishop, Tony Bowdring, Rick Boyce, Heather Breeze, Bill Brodie, Noel Cadigan, Eugene Colbourne, Keith Clarke, Brian Dempson, Glen Herbert, Sean Hinds, Tracey Horseman, Leonard Knight, Morley Knight, Dave Kulka, Roger Menard, Dave Millar, Neil Ollerhead, Mike O’Connell, Richard Palmer, Ann-Marie Russell, Sandra Savory, Murray Scotney, Andrew Smith, Gary Smith, Blair Thorne, Elaine Walker, Ben Whelan and Larry Yetman.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction

This atlas was prepared by the Oceans Division of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), Newfoundland and Labrador Region, to provide oceans planners, managers and users with a visual interpretation on the location and extent of major human activities that occur within the Grand Banks study area (see map entitled, Atlas of Human Activities Study Area). It will serve as a useful tool in the initial planning stages of the offshore component of the Placentia Bay/Grand Banks Large Ocean Management Area (PB/GB LOMA).

Oceans Division began collecting information in fall 2004 on human activities (i.e. fisheries, oil and gas, commercial shipping, etc.), management zones (i.e. NAFO Areas), and ecological features (i.e. bathymetry). In spring 2006 a draft Atlas of Human Activities was prepared, in which various individuals (i.e. individuals that contributed information or have knowledge on a particular activity) had an opportunity to review and comment on the atlas and the data displayed on the maps. This atlas will be a valuable resource for participants in the PB/GB LOMA (i.e. representatives of government departments and agencies, industry groups, non-governmental organizations, municipal governments, etc.), other oceans managers and planners. A similar atlas was published in 2005 entitled, The Scotian Shelf: An Atlas of Human Activities, by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Maritimes Region.

This atlas was developed to display maps of recent activities, such as fisheries, oil and gas and commercial shipping within the study area on the Grand Banks. The geographic scope of the project is NAFO Divisions 3LNOP, beginning at the 12 nautical mile territorial sea extending beyond the outer limit of the continental shelf; the southern boundary is defined by 42º N latitude. The study area encompasses an area of 533,300 km2. The scale of the maps in this atlas is 1:4,250,000 and the projection is Latitude/Longitude North American Datum (NAD) 1983.

As the purpose of this atlas is to display recent activities, the Oceans Division collected information available since 2000. It is not the intent of this atlas to compare or portray relationships between recent and historical activities; therefore, minimal historical content is involved. When the data was collected, it was examined to determine which time periods had the most accurate and useful data to use in the project. Much of the information, fisheries for example, is taken from 2000 to 2003 because the data sets are recent and complete. Information on resources such as oil and gas is taken from 2000 up to and including August 2005; with the exception of commercial seismic activity which is taken from 1995 – 1999 because it has passed its privileged date. Other information, such as commercial shipping traffic density and vessel surveillance, only uses data pertaining to one representative year (2000 and 2002 respectively) as this gives an overall snapshot of the activities that occur within the study area. As a caution to atlas users, please note the date printed in the legend as this indicates the date or period in which the data was taken.

The information presented in this atlas is intended to provide users with a visual interpretation on the location and extent of major human activities within the study area. Attempts have been made to verify the information; however, none of the information presented in this atlas should be used for navigational or legal purposes.

Oceans and Coastal Management Division. The Scotian Shelf: An Atlas of Human Activities. DFO/2005-816. ISBN 0-662-69160-1

Date modified:

Les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve : Atlas des activités humaines

Les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve : Atlas des activités humaines

Les Grands Bancs de Terre-Neuve : Atlas des activités humaines (PDF, 115 Mo)

Division des océans
Direction des océans et de la gestion de l’habitat
Pêches et Océans Canada (Région de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador)

© Sa Majesté la Reine, chef du Canada, 2007

Tous droits réservés. Il est interdit de reproduire ou de transmettre l’information (ou le contenu de la publication ou du produit), sous quelque forme ou par quelque moyen que ce soit, reproduction électronique ou mécanique, photocopie, enregistrement magnétique ou autre, ou de la verser dans un système de recherche documentaire, sans l’autorisation écrite préalable du ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0S5, ou de Copyright.Droitdauteur@communication.gc.ca.

No de cat.
Fs114-7/2007
Fs114-7/2007E-PDF
Fs114-7/2007F-PDF
ISBN
978-0-662-49898-8
978-0-662-45273-7 (PDF anglais)
978-0-662-73641-7 (PDF français)
URL
Région de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador

DFO/2007-1238

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador
Direction des communications et
Division des océans, Direction des océans et de la gestion de l’habitat
C. P. 5667
St. John’s (Terre-Neuve) A1C 5X1

Imprimé sur du papier recyclé

Remerciements

Jason Simms, Charlene Coates, Geoff Coughlan et Dawn Mercer ont participé à la rédaction du présent atlas. Les cartes ont été créées par Charlene Coates, qui a aussi participé à la rédaction des textes qui les accompagnent, en compagnie de Geoff Coughlan.

Les auteurs désirent remercier sincèrement les personnes suivantes qui ont bien voulu partager leurs connaissances ou qui ont fourni des données sur divers aspects de l’Atlas sur les activités humaines, en plus de collaborer au processus d’examen des textes : Susan Gover, Dave Hawkins et Lewis Manual de l’Office Canada/Terre-Neuve des hydrocarbures extracôtiers; Neil Peet et Brian Stone de la Garde côtière canadienne, région de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador; Kirk Regular de Digeos; Scott Lewis et Rick Wadman d’Environnement Canada; le capitaine de corvette R. G. Thwaites et le lieutenant de vaisseau Jay Warwick de la Défense nationale et Louis Armstrong de Transports Canada.

Les auteurs désirent aussi remercier les membres du personnel suivants de Pêches et Océans Canada qui leur ont transmis des données et prodigué des conseils, en plus de participer au processus d’examen des textes : Chris Annand, Heather Bishop, Tony Bowdring, Rick Boyce, Heather Breeze, Bill Brodie, Noel Cadigan, Eugene Colbourne, Keith Clarke, Brian Dempson, Glen Herbert, Sean Hinds, Tracey Horseman, Leonard Knight, Morley Knight, Dave Kulka, Roger Menard, Dave Millar, Neil Ollerhead, Mike O’Connell, Richard Palmer, Ann-Marie Russell, Sandra Savory, Murray Scotney, Andrew Smith, Gary Smith, Blair Thorne, Elaine Walker, Ben Whelan et Larry Yetman.

Table des Matières

Introduction

Le présent atlas a été réalisé par la Division des océans du ministère de Pêches et des Océans Canada (MPO), région de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador dans le but de fournir aux planificateurs du milieu marin, aux gestionnaires et aux usagers une interprétation visuelle de l’emplacement et de l’étendue des activités humaines d’importance dans la zone d’étude des Grands Bancs (consultez la carte intitulée : Atlas des activités humaines – Zone d’étude). Il sera un outil utile lors des premières étapes de planification de la composante extracôtière de la zone étendue de gestion des océans de la baie Placentia et des Grands Bancs (ZEGO BP/GB).

C’est à l’automne 2004 que la Division des océans a commencé à recueillir des données sur les activités humaines (pêches, activités pétrolières et gazières, navigation commerciale, etc.), les zones de gestion (zone de l’OPANO) et les caractéristiques écologiques (bathymétrie). À l’automne 2006, une ébauche de l’Atlas des activités humaines a été préparée et les diverses personnes qui ont soumis des données ou qui ont des connaissances dans un domaine particulier  ont eu l’occasion d’examiner l’atlas et de formuler de commentaires sur ce dernier de même que sur les données contenues dans les cartes. Le présent atlas sera une ressource importante pour tous les participants à la ZEGO BP/GB) (les représentants des ministères et des organismes gouvernementaux, des organismes non-gouvernementaux, des gouvernements municipaux, etc.), ainsi que pour les gestionnaires et les planificateurs du milieu marins. Un atlas semblable intitulé : La plate-forme néo-écossaise : atlas des activités humaines a été publié en 2005 par Pêches et Océans Canada, région des Maritimes.

L’objectif de cet atlas est de présenter des cartes d’activités récentes, par exemple, dans le domaine des pêches, du pétrole et du gaz, et de la navigation commerciale, au sein de la zone d’étude des Grands Bancs. Du point de vue géographique, le projet se déroule dans les divisions 3LNOP de l’OPANO qui commence à la limite territoriale des 12 milles marins et s’étend jusqu’à la limite extérieure du plateau continental. La limite sud se trouve à 42º de latitude nord. La zone d’étude représente 533 300 km2. L’échelle des cartes est de 1 : 4 250 000 et la projection latitude/longitude du Système de référence nord-américain de 1983 est utilisée.

Étant donné que l’objectif de l’atlas est de présenter les activités récentes, la Division des océans a recueilli les données disponibles depuis 2000. Son but n’est pas de comparer ou de décrire les liens entre les activités récentes et passées. Par conséquent, il contient très peu de renseignements historiques. Au moment de recueillir les données, seules les plus précises et les plus utiles au projet concernant les périodes couvrant l’étude ont été retenues. La majorité de l’information, par exemple, en ce qui concerne les pêches, provient des années 2000 à 2003, car les ensembles de données sont récents et complets. L’information portant sur le pétrole et le gaz datent de 2000 à août 2005 inclusivement, à l’exception de celle qui concerne les relevés sismiques commerciaux de 1995 à 1999,  car c’est cette période qui offre les meilleures données. Les renseignements relatifs à la densité du trafic maritime commercial et les bateaux observés utilisent uniquement les données concernant une année représentative (2000 et 2002 respectivement) afin d’avoir un aperçu général des activités au sein de la zone d’étude. Veuillez prendre note que la date imprimée dans la légende indique la date ou la période à laquelle les données ont été relevées.

L’information contenue dans le présent atlas sert à fournir une interprétation visuelle sur l’emplacement et l’étendue des activités humaines d’importance dans la zone d’étude. Des efforts ont été déployés pour vérifier l’information contenue dans cet atlas. Cependant, elle ne doit pas servir à la navigation ou à des fins juridiques.

Division de la gestion côtière et des océans. La plate-forme néo-écossaise : Atlas des activités humaines. DFO/2005-816. ISBN 0-662-69160-1

Date de modification :