Tarium Niryutait Marine Protected Area (TN MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Location

Mackenzie River Delta and estuary in the Beaufort Sea; Western Arctic Bioregion.

Approximate Size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

1,750 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

0.03%

Date of designation

August, 2010

Conservation Objectives
  • To conserve and protect beluga whales and other marine species (anadromous fish, waterfowl and seabirds), their habitats and their supporting ecosystem.

Prohibitions

Tarium Niryutait (TN MPA) Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from these Areas, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat, unless listed as exceptions in the Regulations or approved by the Minister.

Environmental Context

TN MPA was Canada's first Arctic MPA and consists of three sub-regions: Niaqunnaq, Okeevik, and Kittigaryuit. The large freshwater influences from the Mackenzie River Estuary and marine influences from the Beaufort Sea make the TN MPA an important summer habitat for the Eastern Beaufort Sea beluga and a diverse range of fish species. The primary environmental factors that influence the TN MPA are the Mackenzie River and seasonal land-fast ice. Discharge from the Mackenzie River and resulting concentrations of nutrients, carbon, suspended mineral sediments and contaminants, as well as water temperatures, play vital roles in defining physical and biological conditions within the MPA.

The presence of grounded or land-fast ice, during the period from freeze-up to break-up, shapes this ecosystem. In summer and fall fish that migrate from the ocean to freshwater to spawn move out from the Mackenzie River and follow currents along the shore to feeding and rearing areas in the TN MPA. Least cisco and broad whitefish predominate July through September. During the period of ice cover, when waters are more saline, mostly marine species including Pacific herring are present.

Each summer thousands of beluga whales that belong to the Eastern Beaufort Sea population return to the shallow (<5 m) and warm Mackenzie River Estuary, including the TN MPA. Other aquatic mammals including polar bears, ringed seals and bowhead whales are also known to use the area in and around TN MPA.

Tarium Niryutait MPA

Tarium Niryutait MPA

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Beluga. © Emilie Couture.

Beluga. © Emilie Couture.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

Seine Net at Shallow Bay, YT. © Jasmine Brewster.

Seine Net at Shallow Bay, YT. © Jasmine Brewster.

The environmental factors that influence Tarium Niryutait Marine Protected Area (TN MPA) are the Mackenzie River and seasonal land-fast ice. Discharge from the Mackenzie River and resulting concentrations of nutrients, carbon, suspended mineral sediments and contaminants, as well as water temperatures, play vital roles in defining physical and biological conditions within the TNMPA.

The presence of bottomfast and floating ice within the landfast ice zone can cause seabed disturbance during spring freshet (i.e., freshwater flowing into the ocean during spring melt) and ice break-up. Disturbance from small irregulat depressions contribute to the seasonal changes in seabed morphology which can also impact this vulnerable ecosystem.

In the open-water seasons, the freshwater influences from the Mackenzie River Estuary and marine influences from the Beaufort Sea create a brackish environment for a diverse range of fish species to co-occur, including freshwater, coastal, and marine species. In the summer months, some of the important subsistence fish harvested by Inuvialuit include broad whitefish, Arctic cisco, and Dolly Varden char.

Each summer, groups of beluga whales belonging to the Eastern Beaufort Sea beluga population enter the TN MPA. The warm waters of the Mackenzie River Estuary that influence the sub-regions of the TN MPA are believed to attract these whales. The science behind beluga aggregation in the TN MPA has been heavily studied with theories ranging from moulting and calving to protection from predators. Other marine mammals known to use the TN MPA include polar bears, ringed seals, and bearded seals.

Management and Conservation

Management and Conservation

Arctic Cisco. © Jasmine Brewster.

Arctic Cisco. © Jasmine Brewster.

The Tarium Niryutait MPA was created through a collaborative effort by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Inuvialuit, private industry, local stakeholders and governments.

The key objectives of the Tarium Niryutait MPA are:

  • To conserve and protect beluga whales and other marine species (anadromous fish, waterfowl and seabirds), their habitats and their supporting ecosystem.
  • To ensure the long-term sustainable management of one of the world's largest summering stock of beluga whales and their habitat.
  • To preserve Inuvialuit harvesting traditions in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region.
  • To prohibit specific activities or classes of activities that could potentially negatively impact beluga or any part of the ecosystem in the areas upon which they depend.

Monitoring protocols and strategies for selected indicators in the Tarium Niryutait Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Monitoring Indicators for the Tarium Niryutait Marine Protected Area (TNMPA) (CSAS sar - 2010/059)

Tarium Niryutait Marine Protected Area regulations

Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement

Tarium Niryutait marine protected area: management plan

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) de Tarium Niryutait

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

La ZPM de Tarium Niryutait

Carte : Zone de protection marine de Tarium Niryutait

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Béluga. © Emilie Couture.

Béluga. © Emilie Couture.

Emplacement

Delta et estuaire du fleuve Mackenzie dans la mer de Beaufort, biorégion de l’ouest de l’Arctique.

Contribution approximative en taille (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

1 750 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

0,03 %

Date de désignation

Août 2010

Objectifs de conservation

  • Conserver et protéger les bélugas et d’autres espèces (poissons anadromes, sauvagine et oiseaux de mer), leurs habitats, ainsi que les écosystèmes dans lesquels ils vivent.

Interdictions

La réglementation relative à la zone de protection marine (ZPM) de Tarium Niryutait interdit les activités qui perturbent, détruisent ou déplacent un organisme marin vivant quelconque ou une partie quelconque de son habitat, à moins d’être inscrites sur la liste des exceptions dans la réglementation ou approuvées par le ministre.

Contexte environnemental

La zone de protection marine de Tarium Niryutait est la première ZPM dans l’Arctique canadien et elle comprend trois sous-régions : Niaqunnaq, Okeevik et Kittigaryuit. L’influence importante des eaux douces provenant de l’estuaire du fleuve Mackenzie et les influences marines de la mer de Beaufort font de la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait un important habitat estival pour le béluga de l’est de la mer de Beaufort et pour diverses espèces de poissons. Les facteurs environnementaux qui influent sur la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait sont le fleuve Mackenzie et la banquise côtière saisonnière. Le débit sortant du Mackenzie et les concentrations d’éléments nutritifs, de carbone, de sédiments minéraux en suspension et de contaminants qu’il transporte ainsi que les températures d’eau jouent des rôles essentiels dans les conditions physiques et biologiques régnant dans cette ZPM.

La présence de glaces ancrées sur le fond et de glaces fixées au littoral, pendant la période allant du gel à la débâcle, a une incidence sur cet écosystème. À l’été et à l’automne, les poissons qui migrent de l’océan jusqu’aux eaux douces pour se reproduire quittent le fleuve Mackenzie et suivent les courants le long de la côte pour gagner les aires d’alimentation et de croissance de la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait. Le cisco sardinelle et le corégone tschir prédominent de juillet à septembre. Pendant la période de couverture des glaces, lorsque la salinité des eaux est plus élevée, des espèces surtout marines, y compris le hareng du Pacifique, sont présentes.

Chaque été, des milliers de bélugas appartenant à la population de l’est de la mer de Beaufort retournent dans les eaux de l’estuaire du Mackenzie peu profondes (< 5 m) et chaudes, y compris dans la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait. D’autres mammifères aquatiques, y compris l’ours polaire, le phoque annelé et la baleine boréale, ont également été observés dans la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait.

Écosystème

Écosystème

Senne à Shallow Bay, Yukon. © Jasmine Brewster.

Senne à Shallow Bay, Yukon. © Jasmine Brewster.

Les facteurs environnementaux qui influent sur la zone de protection marine de Tarium Niryutait (ZPMTN) sont le fleuve Mackenzie et la banquise côtière saisonnière. Le débit sortant du Mackenzie et les concentrations d’éléments nutritifs, de carbone, de sédiments minéraux en suspension et de contaminants qu’il transporte ainsi que les températures d’eau jouent des rôles essentiels dans les conditions physiques et biologiques régnant dans la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait.

La présence de glaces de fond et de glace flottante dans la zone de la banquise côtière peut causer des perturbations du fond marin au moment de la crue printanière (c.-à-d. arrivée d’eau douce dans l’océan durant la fonte printanière) et de la débâcle. Des perturbations causées par de petites dépressions irrégulières contribuent aux changements saisonniers de la morphologie du fond marin, ce qui peut également entraîner des répercussions sur cet écosystème vulnérable.

Durant la saison des eaux libres, l’influence des eaux douces provenant de l’estuaire du fleuve Mackenzie et les influences marines de la mer de Beaufort créent un environnement saumâtre pour diverses espèces de poissons qui fréquentent les mêmes eaux, notamment des espèces d’eau douce, côtières et marines. Durant les mois d’été, le corégone tschir, le cisco arctique et la truite Dolly Varden font partie des poissons de subsistance pêchés par les Inuvialuit.

Chaque été, des groupes de bélugas appartenant à la population de l’est de la mer de Beaufort pénètrent dans la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait. On suppose que les eaux chaudes de l’estuaire du fleuve Mackenzie qui influencent les sous- régions de la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait attirent ces bélugas. Les faits scientifiques expliquant le regroupement des bélugas dans la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait ont fait l’objet d’études approfondies à l’aide de théories comme celles concernant la mue et le vêlage, ou celles concernant la protection contre les prédateurs. D’autres mammifères marins rencontrés dans la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait sont l’ours polaire, le phoque annelé et le phoque barbu.

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

Cisco arctique. © Jasmine Brewster.

Cisco arctique. © Jasmine Brewster.

La ZPM de Tarium Niryutait a été créée dans le cadre d'une collaboration réunissant Pêches et Océans Canada, inuvialuits, le secteur privé, des gouvernements et intervenants locaux.

Les principaux objectifs de la ZPM de Tarium Niryutait sont les suivants :

  • Conserver et protéger les bélugas et d'autres espèces (poissons anadromes, sauvagine et oiseaux de mer), leurs habitats ainsi que les écosystèmes dans lesquels ils vivent.
  • Assurer la gestion durable à long terme de l'un des plus grands stocks de bélugas estivants au monde et de son habitat.
  • Préserver les récoltes traditionnelles inuvialuits dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit.
  • Interdire des activités ou des catégories d’activités particulières qui pourraient avoir des effets négatifs sur les bélugas ou sur toute partie de l'écosystème ses zones dont ceux-ci dépendent.

Protocoles et stratégies de surveillance pour les indicateurs sélectionnés dans la zone de protection marine (ZPM) Tarium Niryutait

Indicateurs de surveillance pour la zone de protection marine Tarium Niryutait (ZPMTN) (SCCS as - 2010/059)

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine Tarium Niryutait

Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation

Tarium Niryutait marine protected area : management plan (en anglais seulement)

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Date de modification :