Basin Head Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Click image to enlarge.

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Location

Eastern tip of Prince Edward Island; Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence Bioregion.

Approximate size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

9 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

<0.01%

Date of Designation

September 2005

Conservation Objective
  • Maintain the quality of the marine environment and the physical structures of the ecosystem supporting the Chondrus crispus variety of Irish Moss.
  • Maintain the health (biomass and coverage) of the Basin Head Chondrus crispus.
  • Maintain the overall ecological integrity of the Basin Head lagoon and inner channel, including avoidance of excessive Ulva growth, maintenance of adequate oxygen levels, and diversity of indigenous flora and fauna.

Prohibitions

Basin Head MPA Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from this Area, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat, unless listed as exceptions in the Regulations or approved by the Minister.

Environmental Context

Basin Head is a unique coastal environment containing a type of Irish moss that may be endemic to this MPA. This variety of Irish moss does not attach to the bottom and is significantly larger than plants found elsewhere. As well, it has a higher concentration of carageenan, an important thickening agent used in everyday products such as ice cream and sunscreen.

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

Basin Head MPA. Photo Credit: Perry Williams

Basin Head MPA. Photo Credit: Perry Williams

Basin Head is a shallow coastal lagoon located on the eastern tip of Prince Edward Island, near the town of Souris. The lagoon is surrounded by both agricultural land and an extensive sand dune system. Approximately 5 kilometres long, Basin Head is a unique coastal environment that the community, conservation organizations, and both levels of government are working towards protecting for generations to come.

There are many different types of animal and plant life in the area. Most notable is a unique type of Irish moss (Chondrus crispus) that may only exist within the boundaries of Basin Head.

Irish moss is a commercially harvested marine plant throughout the Maritimes, although there has been no commercial harvest in the Basin Head MPA since 2000. The type in Basin Head is a unique ecotype because it does not attach to the bottom and is significantly larger than the normal plant found elsewhere. Although the moss does not attach to any substrate, it has a symbiotic relationship with blue mussels, the byssal threads of which anchor it. The Basin Head Irish moss has a higher concentration of carageenan, an important thickening agent in every-day products, such as ice cream and sunscreen.

Basin Head has attracted the attention of both government and non-government interests for a number of years. Adjacent to the lagoon is the Basin Head Fisheries Museum, which was established in 1973 and displays the rich cultural history of the nearby coastal communities. Based on extensive public and government input and interest, DFO announced the designation of the Basin Head Marine Protected Area (MPA) in October 2005.

To help foster co-operation, the Basin Head Marine Protected Area Advisory Board was created in 2005 to replace the Basin Head Lagoon Ecosystem Conservation Committee. The Advisory Board is comprised of representatives from various stakeholder groups and government including: DFO, provincial departments of Prince Edward Island (PEI), the PEI Museum and Heritage Foundation, Eastern Kings Community Council, environmental non-government organizations (ENGOs), conservation groups, academia, First Nations as well as fishing and agriculture industries.

This Advisory Board provides advice and recommendations to DFO on the management and monitoring of the Basin Head MPA including: the conservation and protection of Irish moss and the ecosystem that supports it, public awareness, education and research. An operational management plan was developed in 2009 and was updated in 2016 to identify the actions required by both government and the community to provide short and long-term protection for the area.

Management & Conservation

Management & Conservation

Basin Head MPA Management Plan serves as a guide to facilitate informed decisions in the management of the Basin Head ecosystem. Additionally, it addresses matters such as monitoring, enforcement and compliance, and provides the detail required to ensure that the rationale for management decisions, prohibitions, controls and approvals are clearly justified and understood.

Activity Application

Activity application for Basin Head MPA

Scientific and educational activities are allowed in the Basin Head MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) for Ministerial approval.

Begin Activity Application process

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) de Basin Head

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En Bref

En Bref

Cliquez pour agrandir l'image.

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

Emplacement

Extrémité est de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard; biorégion de l’estuaire du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

9 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

<0,01 %

Date de désignation

Septembre 2005

Objectifs de conservation
  • Préserver la qualité du milieu marin et les structures physiques de l’écosystème permettant de soutenir Chondrus crispus, une variété de mousse d’Irlande.
  • Préserver la santé (la biomasse et la couverture) de la mousse Chondrus crispus de Basin Head.
  • Préserver l’intégrité écologique globale du lagon de Basin Head et du chenal intérieur, y compris en faisant en sorte d’éviter la croissance excessive de la laitue de mer, en maintenant des concentrations en oxygène adéquates et en préservant la diversité de la flore et de la faune indigènes.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine (ZPM) de Basin Head interdit les activités qui perturbent, endommagent, détruisent ou enlèvent de cette zone des organismes marins vivants ou toute partie de leur habitat, à moins que ces activités ne soient visées par une exemption en vertu du Règlement ou, encore, soient approuvées par le ministre.

Contexte environnemental

Basin Head est un environnement côtier unique contenant une forme de mousse d’Irlande qui pourrait être endémique de cette ZPM. Cette variété de mousse d’Irlande ne s’attache pas au fond et est bien plus grosse que les variétés retrouvées ailleurs. Cette variété présente également une concentration plus élevée de carraghénane, un gélifiant grandement utilisé dans des produits d’usage courant, comme la crème glacée et l’écran solaire.

Écosystème

Écosystème

La ZPM de Basin Head. Credit photo : Perry Williams

La ZPM de Basin Head. Credit photo : Perry Williams

Basin Head est une lagune située à l’extrémité est de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, près de la ville de Souris. La lagune est entourée de terres agricoles et d’un vaste système dunaire. Longue de 5 kilomètres seulement, elle constitue un habitat côtier exceptionnel que les organisations de conservation et les deux paliers de gouvernement tentent de protéger au profit des générations à venir.

Cette zone abrite une faune et une flore très diversifiées. La caractéristique la plus notable est la présence d’une forme de mousse d’Irlande unique (Chondrus crispus) qui pourrait n’être présente qu’à l’intérieur des limites de Basin Head.

La mousse d’Irlande est une plante marine qui est récoltée à des fins commerciales dans toute la région des Maritimes, bien qu’il n’y ait pas eu d’activité commerciale dirigée dans la ZPM de Basin Head depuis l’an 2000. La forme de mousse qui se trouve dans la zone de Bain Head est un écotype unique parce qu’elle ne s’attache pas au fond marin et que sa taille est beaucoup plus grande que celle de la mousse d’Irlande communément trouvée ailleurs. Bien que la mousse ne s’attache à aucun substrat, elle présente une relation symbiotique avec la moule bleue, dont le byssus s’ancre sur elle. La mousse d’Irlande de Basin Head présente également une concentration plus élevée de carraghénane, un gélifiant important utilisé dans des produits d’usage courant comme la crème glacée et l’écran solaire.

Les organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales s’intéressent à Basin Head depuis déjà plusieurs années. À côté se trouve le Basin Head Fisheries Museum, établi depuis 1973 et qui raconte l’histoire culturelle captivante des villages côtiers de la région. Compte tenu de l’intérêt marqué et soutenu du public et du gouvernement, le MPO a désigné Basin Head comme zone de protection marine le 11 octobre 2005.

Pour favoriser la coopération, depuis 2005 le conseil consultatif de la zone de protection marine de Basin Head a été mis sur pied pour remplacer le Basin Head Lagoon Ecosystem Conservation Committee (Comité de conservation de l’écosystème de la lagune Basin Head). Le Conseil consultatif est composé de plusieurs représentants de parties intéressées et du gouvernement incluant : le MPO, les ministères provinciaux de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Î.-P.-É.), la fondation des musées et de l’héritage de l’I.-P.-É., le conseil municipal de la communauté de Eastern King, les organismes non-gouvernementaux de l’environnement (ONGE), les groupes de conservation, le milieu universitaire, les Premières Nations, ainsi que les industries des pêches et de l’agriculture.

Le Conseil consultatif donne des conseils et des recommandations au MPO concernant la gestion et la surveillance de la ZPM de Basin Head, entre autres sur la conservation et la protection de la mousse d’Irlande et l’écosystème qui l’abrite, la sensibilisation du public, l’éducation et la recherche. Un plan de gestion opérationnelle a été élaboré en 2009 et mis à jour en 2016 pour que l’on puisse relever les mesures requises par le gouvernement et par la collectivité en vue d’offrir une protection à court et à long terme de la zone.

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

Le Plan de gestion opérationnel (PGO) de la ZPM de Basin Head sert de guide qui permet de prendre des décisions éclairées sur la gestion de l’écosystème de Basin Head. De plus, il s’occupe des questions touchant le suivi ainsi que l’application et le respect des règlements. Il fournit aussi les détails requis pour garantir que la raison d’être des décisions de gestion, interdictions, contrôles et approbations des gestionnaires sont clairement justifiées et comprises.

Demande d’activités

Demande d’activités dans la ZPM de Basin Head

Certaines activités scientifiques et d’éducation peuvent être réalisées dans la ZPM de Basin Head si un promoteur soumet un plan d’activités au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) aux fins d’approbation ministérielle.

Lancer le processus de demande d'activités

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

Date de modification :