Language selection

Search

Oceans Management Funding Opportunities

Project application guide

The Government of Canada is committed to conserving 25% of Canada’s oceans by 2025, working towards 30% by 2030. We are working closely with provincial, territorial, and Indigenous governments, and consulting with marine stakeholders, to conserve and protect our oceans for generations to come, while enabling our coastal communities to thrive.

The Oceans Management Contribution Program provides funding opportunities to eligible applicants to support marine conservation initiatives in the community, with an emphasis on outreach, monitoring and stewardship, and capacity building initiatives.

On this page:

Please take your time and carefully read the following sections in this guide before completing your application:

Program information

1. Purpose

This guide is meant to help applicants complete and submit their applications to the Oceans Management Contribution Program by February 11, 2022.

2. Application period

The call for proposals is open from December 15, 2021 and closes on February 11, 2022 at 6 pm (EST).

3. Program objectives

The Government of Canada is taking concrete action to protect, conserve and manage Canada’s marine environment by investing in nature-based solutions, such as Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) and Other Effective area-based Conservation Measures (OECMs). In response to the growth of international scientific research about the measures needed to address biodiversity loss and global climate change, we are committed to increasing the conservation of Canada’s oceans to 25% by 2025, working towards 30% by 2030.

Under Budget 2021, the Government of Canada made an historic investment to protect the health of our oceans, including close to $1 billion in funding over 5 years to reach ambitious marine conservation targets.

The strategy for implementing the marine conservation targets initiative builds on lessons learned from meeting Canada’s original target of 10% protection of marine and coastal areas by 2020. Previous efforts have demonstrated that achieving marine conservation within Canada requires a multi-pronged approach that is based on best available information and provides opportunity for meaningful engagement of partners and stakeholders.

In order to achieve these new marine conservation targets, progress will be advanced in 5 key areas:

  1. effective management
    manage existing MPAs and OECMs to ensure they are effective in achieving their conservation objectives
  2. new site establishment
    establish new MPAs and OECMs to meet the 25% target by 2025
  3. collaboration
    continue to build upon and foster meaningful partnerships with provincial, territorial and Indigenous governments and local communities, to advance effective ocean planning and conservation activities
  4. marine spatial planning
    advance marine conservation within the broader context of marine spatial planning and Canada’s Blue Economy Strategy, which is still in development, to help enable ambitious marine conservation objectives while also allowing for sustainable growth in our ocean sectors as part of the development of a resilient blue economy
  5. international advocacy
    continue to take a leadership role along with like-minded countries to advocate for conserving 30% of the world’s oceans by 2030

In order to support the achievement of Canada’s Marine Conservation Targets, this funding program places priority on funding projects that fall under the following categories:

4. Eligible recipients

The following categories of recipients are eligible to apply:

5. Starting date of the proposed project

DFO financial contributions may never be used by a funded organization to pay or cover costs incurred before a project has officially begun. In general, a project begins and is permitted to incur expenses once a contribution agreement has been signed by both DFO and the funded organization.

It will take some time (about 12 weeks) for DFO to both complete its review of a proposed project and to negotiate the terms of a contribution agreement with your organization. The starting date of the proposed project must take into account the timing of activities that would be done if the proposed project was approved for funding. This also means that the budget of the proposed project must only include costs that would be incurred no less than at least 12 weeks from the date the application is submitted.

Multi-Year funding may be considered based on the project proposed.

6. Eligible project activities

Funding will be made available under the following categories (described under Program objectives):

7. Expected results

Your project must address the program's objective to:

8. Eligible expenditures

The following categories of eligible expenditures are acceptable:

9. Project selection and funding decisions

Fisheries and Oceans will review proposals as submitted and does not expect to contact applicants for further information. It is your responsibility to provide clear, comprehensive and accurate information.

Fisheries and Oceans will assess all applications received by the deadline. We will notify all applicants of the final decisions. Decisions are final; there is no appeal process.

How to apply

Eligible recipients interested in being considered for financial support are required to submit a proposal indicating to which funding stream they are applying using the provided application form.

For help with this form, refer to the project application guide, annex A to the Application form

Please submit your completed application to DFO.NCRAEMPCGrantsandContributionsProgram-Programmedesubven.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca. on or before the application deadline February 11, 2022 at 6PM (EST).

Additional funding opportunities will be posted to this website when available.

Contact us

For questions about these funding opportunities or more help with the form, contact:

Chantal Gregoire
(She/her | elle/la)
Manager, Grants & Contributions and Reporting/Gestionnaire des subventions et contributions et rapports
Marine Planning and Conservation Directorate/Direction de la Planification et de la conservation marines
Fisheries and Oceans Canada | Pêches et Océans Canada
200 Kent, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0E6
chantal.gregoire@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Possibilités de financement pour la gestion des océans

Guide de demande pour les projets

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à conserver 25 % des océans canadiens d’ici 2025, en vue d’atteindre un objectif de 30 % d’ici 2030. Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones, ainsi qu’avec les intervenants et l’industrie du secteur maritime, afin de conserver et de protéger nos océans pour les générations à venir, tout en permettant à nos collectivités côtières de prospérer.

Le Programme de contributions pour la gestion des océans offre des possibilités de financement aux demandeurs admissibles afin de soutenir les initiatives de conservation maritime dans les collectivités, en mettant l’accent sur les initiatives de sensibilisation, de surveillance et d’intendance et de renforcement des capacités.

Sur cette page :

Veuillez prendre votre temps et lire attentivement les sections suivantes de ce guide avant de remplir votre demande :

Information sur le programme

1. Objectif

Le présent guide vise à aider les demandeurs à préparer et à envoyer leur demande au Programme de contributions pour la gestion des océans d’ici au 11 février 2022.

2. Période de présentation des demandes

L’appel de propositions est ouvert du 15 décembre 2021 au 11 février 2022 à 18 h (HNE).

3. Objectifs du programme

Le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures concrètes pour protéger, conserver et gérer le milieu marin du Canada en investissant dans des solutions fondées sur la nature, comme les zones de protection marine (ZPM) et d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone (AMCEZ). En réponse à l’intensification des recherches scientifiques internationales sur les mesures nécessaires pour lutter contre la perte de biodiversité et les changements climatiques mondiaux, nous nous sommes engagés à renforcer la conservation des océans du Canada en la portant à 25 % d’ici 2025, en vue d’atteindre 30 % d’ici 2030.

Dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a prévu un investissement historique pour protéger la santé de nos océans, y compris un financement de près d’un milliard de dollars sur cinq ans pour atteindre des objectifs ambitieux de conservation marine.

La stratégie pour mettre en œuvre l’initiative des objectifs de conservation marine repose sur les leçons apprises pour atteindre l’objectif initial du Canada de 10 % d’ici 2020. Les efforts antérieurs ont démontré que l’atteinte des objectifs de conservation marine au Canada exige une approche concertée qui est basée sur les meilleures données disponibles et qui assure le soutien et la confiance des partenaires et des intervenants.

Afin d’atteindre ces nouvelles cibles, des progrès seront réalisés dans cinq grands domaines :

  1. gestion efficace
    gérer les ZPM et les AMCEZ existantes afin de s’assurer qu’elles peuvent atteindre leurs objectifs de conservation
  2. mise en place de nouveaux sites
    établir de nouvelles ZPM et AMCEZ pour atteindre l’objectif de 25 % d’ici 2025
  3. collaboration
    continuer de renforcer et d’encourager des partenariats constructifs avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones, ainsi qu’avec les collectivités locales, afin de faire progresser les activités efficaces de planification et de conservation des océans
  4. planification spatiale marine
    faire progresser la conservation marine dans le contexte général de la planification spatiale marine et de la Stratégie de l’économie bleue du Canada, qui est toujours en cours d’élaboration, afin d’aider à atteindre des objectifs ambitieux en matière de conservation marine tout en permettant une croissance durable de nos secteurs océaniques dans le cadre du développement d’une économie bleue résiliente
  5. promotion des droits internationaux
    continuer à jouer un rôle de premier plan, de concert avec des pays ayant des vues similaires, pour favoriser une conservation de 30 % des océans de la planète d’ici 2030

Afin d’encourager l’atteinte des objectifs de conservation marine du Canada, ce programme de financement accorde la priorité aux projets de financement qui tombent dans les catégories suivantes :

4. Bénéficiaires admissibles

Les catégories de bénéficiaires suivantes peuvent présenter une demande :

5. Date de début du projet proposé

Une organisation ne doit jamais utiliser les contributions financières du MPO pour payer ou couvrir des coûts engagés avant le début officiel d’un projet. En général, il est possible de commencer un projet et d’engager des dépenses connexes une fois qu’un accord de contribution a été signé par le MPO et par l’organisation financée.

Il faut compter un certain temps (environ 12 semaines) avant que le MPO termine l’examen d’un projet proposé et négocie les modalités d’un accord de contribution avec votre organisation. La date de démarrage du projet proposé doit tenir compte du calendrier des activités qui seraient effectuées si le financement du projet proposé était approuvé. Cela signifie également que le budget du projet ne doit inclure que des coûts qui seraient engagés au moins 12 semaines après la date d’envoi du formulaire de demande.

Un financement pluriannuel peut être envisagé selon le projet proposé.

6. Activités admissibles du projet

Le financement sera fourni dans les catégories suivantes (décrites sous les objectifs du programme) :

7. Résultats attendus

Votre projet doit répondre aux objectifs suivants du programme :

8. Dépenses admissibles

Les catégories de dépenses admissibles suivantes sont acceptables :

9. Sélection des projets et décisions de financement

Pêche et Océans Canada examinera les demandes telles qu’elles auront été soumises et ne prévoit pas de communiquer avec les demandeurs pour obtenir plus de renseignements. Il vous incombe donc de fournir des renseignements clairs, complets et précis.

Pêches et Océans Canada évaluera toutes les demandes reçues avant la date limite. Nous informerons tous les demandeurs des décisions finales. Les décisions sont définitives; il n’y a pas de processus d’appel.

Comment présenter une demande

Les bénéficiaires admissibles qui souhaitent être pris en considération pour un soutien financier doivent soumettre une proposition indiquant le volet dans lequel ils font une demande en utilisant les formulaires de demande fournis.

Pour obtenir de l’aide pour remplir ce formulaire, consultez le Guide de demande pour les projets, annexe A du formulaire de demande

Veuillez présenter votre demande dûment remplie à DFO.NCRAEMPCGrantsandContributionsProgram-Programmedesubven.MPO@dfo-mpo.gc.ca d’ici la date limite du 11 février 2022 à 18 h (HNE).

D’autres possibilités de financement seront publiées sur le présent site Web dès qu’elles seront disponibles.

Pour nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de ces possibilités de financement ou si vous avez besoin d’aide pour remplir le formulaire, communiquez avec :

Chantal Grégoire
(She/her | elle)
Manager, Grants & Contributions and Reporting/Gestionnaire des subventions et contributions et rapports
Marine Planning and Conservation Directorate/Direction de la Planification et de la conservation marines
Fisheries and Oceans Canada | Pêches et Océans Canada
200 Kent, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0E6
chantal.gregoire@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :