Fundian Channel-Browns Bank Area of Interest (AOI)

Note:

The maps, diagrams and coordinates on this website are provided for general information and are not to be used for fishing, navigation and other purposes. Please contact your regional DFO office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Fundian Channel-Browns Bank AOI

Fundian Channel-Browns Bank AOI

Location

South of Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, in the Scotian Shelf bioregion.

Note:

This Area of Interest includes two geographically separate components. The western section is centred on Georges Basin while the larger eastern section encompasses the Fundian Channel (also known as the Northeast Channel) and part of Browns Bank.

Approximate Size (km2)

7,200 km2

Approximate % of Canada’s ocean territory

0.12%

Date identified

February, 2018

Proposed Overarching Goal

To conserve and protect the ecological integrity of the area, including its biodiversity, productivity, ecosystem components, and special natural features.

Environmental Context

This Area of Interest includes important oceanographic processes, diverse benthic habitats, several depleted species (e.g., groundfish), and deep-sea coral and sponge habitats. The Northeast Channel portion of the Area contains the densest-known concentrations of large gorgonian corals in the Maritimes, and the Browns Bank portion contains significant concentrations of sponges. The channel is also the largest entrance to the Gulf of Maine from the open Atlantic Ocean and many species, including basking sharks, use it as a migration corridor.

Ecological Importance

Ecological Importance

The Fundian Channel-Browns Bank AOI encompasses important oceanographic processes and diverse sensitive benthic habitats that provide shelter, feeding and nursery areas for a variety of commercial and non-commercial species. Fundian Channel-Browns Bank is a migratory corridor and an area of high biodiversity, including important corals and sponges that provide habitat for many depleted groundfish species. Much of this area has been identified as an Ecologically and Biologically Significant Area (EBSA).

Key ecological features include:

  • Significant concentrations of gorgonian corals, e.g., bubblegum coral
  • Significant concentrations of sponges
  • Important foraging habitat for various seabird species
  • Areas of high diversity and productivity for fish and invertebrate species, including larvae
  • Distinctive oceanographic processes, such as upwelling that creates unique ecological conditions
  • Habitat for a variety of species of concern:
    • Atlantic cod (Endangered – COSEWIC)
    • Atlantic wolfish (Special Concern – SARA)
    • cusk (Endangered – COSEWIC)
    • spiny dogfish (Special Concern – COSEWIC)
    • smooth skate (Special Concern – COSEWIC)
    • thorny skate (Special Concern – COSEWIC)
    • white hake (Threatened – COSEWIC)
Key Objectives and Approach

Key Objectives and Approach

The interim objective for Fundian Channel-Browns Bank is to conserve and protect its ecological integrity, including the biodiversity, productivity, ecosystem components, and special natural features of the Area.

Proposed conservation priorities for Fundian Channel-Browns Bank are:

  • Significant concentrations of gorgonian corals
  • Significant concentration of sponges
  • Important habitat for depleted groundfish species
  • Migratory corridor to and from the Gulf of Maine
  • Areas of high diversity and productivity

The selection of an Area of Interest marks the beginning of the Marine Protected Area establishment process, led by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. An important first step in designating a Marine Protected Area is to initiate consultation mechanisms, including the establishment of an advisory committee, to help capture input from First Nations and Indigenous groups, other government partners, and stakeholders including industry and the local community. The process also includes the collection and analysis of available ecological and socio-economic data and the completion of a risk assessment. The information gathered through consultation, data collection and analysis will inform the Area’s conservation objectives, along with its boundary and zones, and will help determine the management measures and associated regulations required for the future Marine Protected Area.

Research and Publications

Research and Publications

  • Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat: Offshore Ecologically and Biologically Significant Areas in the Scotian Shelf Bioregion
Date modified:

Le Site d'intérêt (SI) du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre d'information seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional du MPO pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

Le SI du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns

Le SI du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns

Emplacement

Sud de Yarmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse, dans la biorégion de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise.

Note :

Ce site d'intérêt comprend deux composantes séparées sur le plan géographique. La section occidentale est centrée sur le bassin de Georges et la partie orientale, plus grande, englobe le chenal de Fundy (également connu sous le nom de chenal du Nord-Est) et une partie du banc de Browns.

Superficie approximative (km2)

7 200 km2

Pourcentage approximatif du territoire océanique du Canada

0,12 %

Date d’identification

Février 2018

Objectif général proposé

Conserver et protéger l'intégrité écologique de la zone, y compris la biodiversité, la productivité, les composantes de l'écosystème et les caractéristiques naturelles spéciales.

Contexte environnemental

Ce site d'intérêt comprend d'importants processus océanographiques, divers habitats benthiques, plusieurs espèces en déclin (p. ex. les poissons de fonds), et des habitats de coraux et d'éponges des grands fonds marins. Le chenal Nord-Est de la zone renferme les concentrations les plus denses connues de grandes gorgones dans les Maritimes et le banc de Browns, des concentrations importantes d'éponges. Le chenal est également la plus grande entrée dans le golfe du Maine depuis l'océan Atlantique et de nombreuses espèces, comme le pèlerin, l'utilisent comme couloir de migration.

Importance écologique

Importance écologique

Le site d'intérêt du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns comprend d'importants processus océanographiques et divers habitats benthiques sensibles qui fournissent des aires d'abri, d'alimentation et de reproduction à diverses espèces commerciales et non commerciales. Le site d'intérêt du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns est un couloir de migration et une zone de forte biodiversité comprenant des zones importantes de coraux et d'éponges qui fournissent un habitat à de nombreuses espèces de poissons de fonds en déclin. Une grande partie de cette zone a été désignée comme une zone d'importance écologique et biologique.

Principales caractéristiques écologiques :

  • Concentrations importantes de gorgones, p. ex. de corail arborescent
  • Concentrations importantes d'éponges
  • Habitat d'alimentation important de diverses espèces d'oiseaux de mer
  • Zones de diversité et de productivité élevées pour certaines espèces de poissons et d'invertébrés, comprenant des larves
  • Processus océanographiques distinctifs, tels que la remontée d'eau qui crée des conditions écologiques uniques
  • Habitat pour diverses espèces préoccupantes
    • Morue de l'Atlantique (espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC)
    • Loup atlantique (espèce préoccupante - LEP)
    • Brosme (espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC)
    • Aiguillat commun (espèce préoccupante - COSEPAC)
    • Raie à queue de velours (espèce préoccupante - COSEPAC)
    • Raie épineuse (espèce préoccupante - COSEPAC)
    • Merluche blanche (espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC)
Principaux objectifs et approche

Principaux objectifs et approche

L'objectif général proposé pour le site d'intérêt du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns est de conserver et protéger l'intégrité écologique, y compris la biodiversité, la productivité, les composantes de l'écosystème et les caractéristiques naturelles spéciales de la zone.

Les priorités de conservation proposées pour le site d'intérêt du chenal de Fundy et du banc de Browns sont les suivantes :

  • Concentrations importantes de gorgones
  • Concentrations importantes d'éponges
  • Habitat important pour des espèces de poissons de fond en déclin
  • Couloir de migration à destination et en provenant du golfe du Maine
  • Zones de biodiversité et de productivité élevées

La sélection d'un site d'intérêt marque le début du processus d'établissement de la zone de protection marine, mené par Pêches et Océans Canada. La première étape de la désignation d'une zone de protection maritime consiste à mettre en place des mécanismes de consultation, notamment un comité consultatif pour aider à recueillir les commentaires des Premières Nations et des groupes autochtones, d'autres partenaires du gouvernement, et des intervenants, y compris de l'industrie et de la collectivité locale. Le processus comprend également la collecte et l'analyse des données écologiques et socio-économiques disponibles et la réalisation d'une évaluation des risques. Les renseignements recueillis au moyen des consultations ainsi que de la collecte et de l'analyse des données permettront d'éclairer les objectifs de conservation de la zone, ainsi que ses limites et les zones, et aideront à déterminer les mesures de gestion et les règlements associés requis pour la future zone de protection marine.

Recherche et publications

Recherche et publications

  • Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat: Offshore Ecologically and Biologically Significant Areas in the Scotian Shelf Bioregion
Date de modification :