Eastern Shore Islands: Area of Interest

Note:

The maps, diagrams and coordinates on this website are provided for general information and are not to be used for fishing, navigation and other purposes. Please contact your regional DFO office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Map: Eastern Shore Islands AOI

Location

The Eastern Shore Islands AOI includes the nearshore waters surrounding the dense archipelago on the eastern shore of Nova Scotia. The site stretches from Clam Bay near Jeddore Harbour to Barren Island near Liscomb Point and extends approximately 25 km from mainland in the Scotian Shelf bioregion.

Approximate Size (km2)

2,000 km2

Approximate % of Canada’s ocean territory

0.03%

Date identified

February, 2018

Proposed Overarching Goal

To conserve and protect the ecological integrity of the area, including biodiversity, productivity, ecosystem components, and special natural features.

Environmental Context

This highly natural area includes rich beds of eelgrass, kelp, and salt marsh that provide important habitat for many marine species, including commercial species that use these habitats as juveniles. Estuaries associated with several rivers that drain into this site are considered important habitat for endangered Atlantic salmon. The dense archipelago of hundreds of islands has been identified as an Ecologically and Biologically Significant Area (EBSA) that provides important nesting and foraging ground for many colonial seabirds and shorebirds. Many of the islands are protected through provincial and private conservation efforts, including current efforts by the Nova Scotia Nature Trust’s “100 Wild Islands Legacy Campaign.”

Ecological Importance

Ecological Importance

Eastern Shore Islands is a highly natural area encompassing a dense archipelago of hundreds of islands that is regionally unique in size and density. The area includes rich beds of eelgrass, kelp, and salt marsh that provide important habitat for many marine species. Estuaries associated with several rivers that drain into this site are considered important habitat for Atlantic salmon. The archipelago also provides important nesting and foraging ground for many colonial seabirds and shorebirds.

Key ecological features include:

  • Regionally unique island archipelago
  • Highly natural area
  • Significant eelgrass and kelp beds
  • Juvenile/nursery area for Atlantic cod (Endangered – COSEWIC), white hake, and pollock
  • Important habitat for Atlantic salmon (Endangered – COSEWIC)
  • Complex mosaic of bottom habitat
  • Spawning area for Atlantic herring
  • Important foraging area for various birds including Harlequin duck (Special Concern – SARA)], Roseate tern (Endangered – SARA)], and shorebirds such as the purple sandpiper
Key Objectives and Approach

Key Objectives and Approach

A proposed overarching goal for the Eastern Shore Islands is to conserve and protect the ecological integrity of the area, including the biodiversity, productivity, ecosystem components, and special natural features of the Area.

Proposed conservation priorities for the Eastern Shore Islands are:

  • High naturalness
  • Unique coastal and marine habitat associated with the regionally unique island archipelago
  • Significant concentrations of kelp beds and eelgrass
  • Areas used by juvenile Atlantic cod (Endangered – COSEWIC), white hake, and pollock
  • Spawning area for Atlantic herring
  • Important habitat for Atlantic salmon (Southern Uplands population; Endangered – COSEWIC)
  • Significant foraging area for a variety of sea- and shorebirds, including Harlequin duck (Special Concern – SARA), purple sandpiper, and Roseate tern (Endangered – SARA)]

The selection of an Area of Interest marks the beginning of the Marine Protected Area establishment process, led by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. An important first step in designating a Marine Protected Area is to initiate consultation mechanisms, including the establishment of an advisory committee, to help capture input from First Nations and Indigenous groups, other government partners, and stakeholders including industry and the local community. The process also includes the collection and analysis of available ecological and socio-economic data and the completion of a risk assessment. The information gathered through consultation, data collection and analysis will inform the Area’s conservation objectives, along with its boundary and zones, and will help determine the management measures and associated regulations required for the future Marine Protected Area.

For more information about the Eastern Shore Islands MPA establishment process, please contact:

Oceans and Coastal Management Division
Fisheries and Oceans Canada (Maritimes Region)
Bedford Institute of Oceanography
P.O. Box 1006
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
B2Y 4A2
Tel:  (902) 426-9919
Fax:  (902) 426-2331
Email:  MaritimesMPAs@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Resources

Resources

Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

Has DFO already decided what a future Eastern Shore Islands MPA will look like and what activities will be restricted?

Answer:

Every MPA is different. Size, shape, and allowable activities are determined through a process that starts after the Area of Interest (AOI) has been identified. During the MPA site design process, all Oceans Act MPAs undergo an ecological risk assessment to determine which activities that occur within the AOI may pose risks to the natural features that make the site special. The risk assessment, in combination with information gathered through consultation, serves as the basis for discussions regarding allowable activities, zones and boundaries for the future MPA. Recommendations for a final MPA design are developed at the multi-sector Advisory Committee table.

Will the MPA shut down fisheries on the Eastern Shore?

Answer:

DFO is working closely with the local fishing industry to ensure livelihoods are not impacted by a future Eastern Shore Islands MPA. All activities are subject to the ecological risk assessment, but based on experience with similar MPAs, DFO is confident that lobster and other traditional fixed-gear fishing (herring gillnet, groundfish longline), dive fisheries, recreational fisheries, and Food, Social and Ceremonial (FSC) fisheries will be allowed to continue within a future Eastern Shore Islands MPA.

What benefits can an MPA offer to the local community?

Answer:

Human activity is putting increasing pressure on Canada’s oceans and MPAs help maintain healthy marine environments for present and future generations. Protection of marine species and their habitats, including spawning grounds, nursery habitat, and feeding areas can enhance diversity and productivity, and can increase resilience to climate change. An MPA provides a focus for scientific research, and presents opportunities for collaborations with First Nations, the fishing industry, academia, and others on projects of interest to the users of the area. There is growing evidence that MPAs can offer economic benefits too, such as improvements to the health of fishery resources, and enhanced opportunities for tourism and recreation.

Will there be a “no take zone”?

Answer:

A high protection zone (a.k.a “no take zone”) is a specific area within an MPA that prohibits all commercial extraction activities. Although many MPAs have these zones, they are not mandatory for Oceans Act MPAs. A high protection zone was introduced during the early stages of consultation for the Eastern Shore Islands AOI and considerable concerns were raised but based on the results of the lobster risk assessment, and the low-impact nature of other traditional fixed-gear fisheries in this area, DFO is confident that a future Eastern Shore Islands MPA can still be effective without a high protection zone. Therefore, in consultations with First Nations, the Province of Nova Scotia, and the Advisory Committee, the Department has removed the zone of high protection from further consideration in the design of a future Eastern Shore Islands MPA.

However, as risk assessment results are finalized and we’ve had further consultation, there may be a requirement to restrict other activities within certain areas. These activities would not include lobster fishing, but could include other types of commercial fishing and industrial activities.

Will the MPA restrict hunting, clamming and rockweed harvesting? Will other land-based activities be impacted?

Answer:

No. Oceans Act MPAs only extend to the low tide line so land-based and intertidal (between low tide and high tide lines) activities like hunting, clamming and rockweed harvesting would occur outside of the MPA boundary. Likewise, an MPA would not impact property ownership, or maintenance activities such as private wharf repairs. Many of the Islands are protected by the Province of Nova Scotia (Eastern Shore Islands Wilderness Area) or the Nova Scotia Nature Trust (“100 Wild Islands”); follow the links to find out more about these initiatives, including information on access or activity restrictions.

How can I have a say in the design of the Eastern Shore Islands MPA?

Answer:

DFO is using multiple approaches to fully involve First Nations, Indigenous peoples, the community, industries, and other governments in the MPA establishment process, such as:

  • An Advisory Committee has been created and will be a key platform for multi-sector discussion and to provide advice on the MPA design prior to designation.
  • A working group, consisting of the membership of the Eastern Shore Fishermen’s Protective Association (ESFPA) has been established to ensure that the fishing industry has a strong voice in this process.
  • Community events will be held to provide opportunities for DFO to share information, answer your questions, and hear your views. Please watch this website for upcoming events.
  • All Canadians have an opportunity to provide their input into the MPA design during the public comment period once the draft regulations are developed and posted on the Canada Gazette.
  • You can also join the conversation by contacting us at:
Can an MPA be changed once the Regulations are finalized?

Answer: Yes.

The design of an MPA is determined collaboratively through a process that involves information gathering, assessment, and extensive consultations. Once the MPA design is ready, the boundaries, zones and allowable activities are described in draft regulations. The draft regulations are then posted in Canada Gazette for all Canadians to review for a 30-day public comment period. These comments are then considered in developing the final Regulations.

Once an MPA is designated, the Advisory Committee continues to provide input into the on-going management of the site. Management plans are reviewed regularly, new science is considered, and the overall MPA effectiveness is looked at to determine whether changes are required.

Changes to MPA Regulations are infrequent. However, in the event that a major change is required (for example a zoning change or new allowable activity), consultations with First Nations, Indigenous groups, other governments, industry stakeholders and the community would take place to help inform the changes. As with the establishment of the MPA, such changes to the Regulations would also require a public review and comment period through Canada Gazette (described above).

Will finfish aquaculture be allowed within a future Eastern Shore Islands MPA?

Answer:

To date this activity has not been evaluated or allowed in an Oceans Act MPA in Canada. The risk assessment for aquaculture is currently underway and this will provide more certainty on whether or not this activity would be compatible within this potential MPA. We understand that this is a matter of great interest for the local communities and we are working with DFO Science, the Province of Nova Scotia, industry, other experts, and the Advisory Committee to complete this risk assessment as soon as possible.

What does an Oceans Act MPA provide when there are already existing rules in place under laws like the Fisheries Act?

Answer:

Oceans Act MPAs are part of an overall strategy by the Government of Canada to manage and reduce the impacts of human activities on its oceans. They are meant to complement, not replace, what we do now to manage fisheries and other marine uses. For example, fisheries active within MPAs are still managed using measures under the Fisheries Act.

MPAs are long term management tools used to protect and conserve marine and coastal ecosystems while also ensuring communities can continue to sustainably use and enjoy the area. Based on experiences across the country, Oceans Act MPAs can help:

  • Proactively manage human activities, so that low impact activities are allowed to continue, and higher impact activities are restricted
  • Promote new economic opportunities and support stewardship initiatives, such as responsible nature-based tourism, scientific research, and education and outreach
  • Increase and sustain collaborations between industry, community, academia and government on topics of common interest, such as monitoring the health of coastal waters
How much community support is needed before an MPA can be established?

Answer:

Once a clear, well-defined MPA proposal has been developed, there are a number of factors for the Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard to consider when deciding whether a proposed MPA will be designated. This includes a full evaluation of its costs, benefits, and level of community support. All Canadians will also have an opportunity to voice their support or opposition to the proposed MPA during a public comment period once draft regulations are posted on the Canada Gazette.

We know from experience that community collaboration and buy-in is a very important factor in the success of any MPA. We look forward to talking with all interests on the Eastern Shore to build a proposal that is the best fit for Eastern Shore communities.

Is the Whale Sanctuary Project related to a potential Eastern Shore Islands MPA?

Answer:

No. DFO is aware of this initiative but has no direct involvement at this time. It is important to note that this proposal is not connected to any of DFO’s marine conservation initiatives, including the Eastern Shore Islands AOI.

Consultation

Consultation

DFO is using multiple approaches to fully involve First Nations, Indigenous peoples, other governments, the community, and relevant industries in the design of the proposed Eastern Shore Islands MPA. Follow the link below for more information about consultation and engagement activities.

Photos

Photos

Date modified:

Îles de la côte Est : Site d'intérêt (SI)

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre d'information seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional du MPO pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En bref

En bref

Carte : Le SI des îles de la côte Est

Emplacement

Le SI des îles de la côte Est comprend les eaux côtières entourant l'archipel dense sur la côte Est de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le SI va de la baie Clam, près de Jeddore Harbour, jusqu’à l'île Barren, près de Liscomb Point, et s'étend à environ 25 km du continent, dans la biorégion de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise.

Superficie approximative (km2)

2 000 km2

Pourcentage approximatif du territoire océanique du Canada

0,03 %

Date d’identification

Février 2018

Objectif général proposé

Conserver et protéger l'intégrité écologique de la zone, y compris la biodiversité, la productivité, les composantes de l'écosystème et les caractéristiques naturelles spéciales.

Contexte environnemental

Cette zone très naturelle renferme aussi de riches herbiers de zostère et de varech et des marais salés qui sont des habitats importants de bien des espèces marines, notamment des espèces commerciales qui fréquentent ces habitats en tant que juvéniles. Les estuaires de plusieurs fleuves qui se jettent dans cette zone sont considérés comme des habitats importants du saumon de l'Atlantique, en voie de disparition. L'archipel dense comprenant des centaines d'îles a été identifié en tant que zone d'importance écologique et biologique (ZIEB) offrant d'importants lieux de nidification et d'alimentation aux nombreux oiseaux de mer et aux oiseaux de rivage. Bon nombre des îles sont protégées grâce aux efforts de conservation des gouvernements provinciaux et du secteur privé, y compris grâce aux efforts actuellement déployés par la « 100 Wild Islands Legacy Campaign » du Nova Scotia Nature Trust. »

Importance écologique

Importance écologique

Les îles de la côte Est constituent une zone très naturelle comprenant un archipel dense de centaines d'îles qui sont uniques en taille et en densité dans la région. La zone renferme de riches herbiers de zostère et de varech et des marais salés qui sont des habitats importants de bien des espèces marines. Les estuaires de plusieurs fleuves qui se jettent dans cette zone sont considérés comme des habitats importants du saumon de l'Atlantique. L'archipel offre d'importants lieux de nidification et d'alimentation aux nombreux oiseaux de mer et oiseaux de rivage qui vivent en colonie.

Principales caractéristiques écologiques :

  • Archipel unique dans la région
  • Zone très naturelle
  • Grandes concentrations de zostères marines et de bancs de varech
  • Aire de juvéniles et de croissance de la morue franche (espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC), de la merluche blanche, et de la goberge
  • Habitat important pour le saumon de l'Atlantique (espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC)
  • Mosaïque complexe d’habitat de fond
  • Frayère du hareng de l'Atlantique
  • Zone d'alimentation importante pour divers oiseaux, notamment le canard arlequin [espèce préoccupante - LEP], la sterne de Dougall [espèce en voie de disparition - LEP]), et les oiseaux de rivage tels que le bécasseau violet.
Principaux objectifs et approche

Principaux objectifs et approche

L'objectif général proposé pour les îles de la côte Est de conserver et protéger l'intégrité écologique de la zone, y compris la biodiversité, la productivité, les composantes de l'écosystème et les caractéristiques naturelles spéciales de la zone.

Les priorités de conservation proposées pour les îles de la côte Est sont les suivantes :

  • Caractère très naturel
  • Habitat côtier et marin unique associé à un archipel d'îles unique dans la région
  • Concentrations élevées d'herbiers de zostère et de bancs de varech
  • Aires utilisées par les juvéniles de la morue franche (espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC), de la merluche blanche, et de la goberge
  • Frayère du hareng de l'Atlantique
  • Habitat important pour le saumon de l'Atlantique (population des hautes terres du sud, espèce en voie de disparition - COSEPAC)
  • Zone d'alimentation pour une variété d'oiseaux de mer et de rivage, y compris les canards arlequins (espèce préoccupante - COSEPAC), les bécasseaux violets, et les sternes de Dougall [espèce en voie de disparition - LEP])

La sélection d'un SI marque le début du processus de désignation de la zone de protection marine, mené par Pêches et Océans Canada. La première étape de la désignation d'une zone de protection maritime consiste à mettre en place des mécanismes de consultation, notamment un comité consultatif pour aider à recueillir les commentaires des Premières Nations et des groupes autochtones, d'autres partenaires du gouvernement, et des intervenants, y compris de l'industrie et de la collectivité locale. Le processus comprend également la collecte et l'analyse des données écologiques et socio-économiques disponibles et la réalisation d'une évaluation des risques. Les renseignements recueillis au moyen des consultations ainsi que de la collecte et de l'analyse des données permettront d'éclairer les objectifs de conservation de la zone, ainsi que ses limites et les zones, et aideront à déterminer les mesures de gestion et les règlements associés requis pour la future zone de protection marine.

Si vous voulez obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'établissement de zones de protection marine pour les îles de la côte Est, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la gestion côtière et des océans
Pêches et Océans Canada, région des Maritimes
Institut océanographique de Bedford
C.P. 1006
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B2Y 4A2
Tél. : 902-426-9919
Télécopieur : 902-426-2331
Courriel : MaritimesMPAs@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Ressources

Ressources

Foire aux questions

Foire aux questions

Le MPO a-t-il déjà décidé à quoi ressemblera la future ZPM des Îles de la côte Est et quelles seront les activités restreintes?

Réponse :

Chaque ZPM est différente. La superficie, la forme et les activités autorisées sont déterminées au moyen d’un processus qui commence une fois que le site d’intérêt (SI) a été désigné. Pendant le processus de conception du site de la ZPM, toutes les ZPM de la Loi sur les océans font l’objet d’une évaluation du risque écologique qui vise à déterminer, parmi les activités qui sont pratiquées sur le SI, celles qui pourraient poser des risques pour les caractéristiques naturelles qui font l’intérêt du site. L’évaluation du risque, conjuguée aux renseignements recueillis pendant les consultations, sert de fondement aux discussions sur les activités autorisées, les zones et les limites de la future ZPM. Les recommandations sur la conception finale de la ZPM sont élaborées à la table du Comité consultatif multisectoriel.

La ZPM entraînera-t-elle la fermeture des pêches sur la côte Est?

Réponse :

Le MPO collabore étroitement avec l’industrie locale de la pêche pour s’assurer que les moyens d’existence ne sont pas compromis par une future ZPM dans les îles de la côte Est. Toutes les activités sont examinées dans le cadre de l’évaluation du risque écologique, mais compte tenu de son expérience avec des ZPM semblables, le MPO est convaincu que la pêche au homard et les autres pêches traditionnelles à engin fixe (hareng au filet maillant, poisson de fond à la palangre), les pêches en plongée, les pêches récréatives et les pêches à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles seront autorisées dans une future ZPM des îles de la côte Est.

Quels avantages une ZPM peut-elle offrir à la collectivité locale?

Réponse :

L’activité humaine exerce des pressions croissantes sur les océans qui bordent le Canada et les ZPM nous aident à maintenir des milieux marins en santé pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. La protection des espèces marines et de leurs habitats, notamment les frayères, les habitats de croissance et les zones d’alimentation, peut renforcer la diversité et la productivité et améliorer la résilience aux changements climatiques. Une ZPM offre un point d’intérêt à la recherche scientifique et des possibilités de collaboration avec les Premières Nations, l’industrie de la pêche, le milieu universitaire et d’autres intervenants pour réaliser des projets qui intéressent les utilisateurs de la zone. Les preuves se multiplient des avantages économiques que les ZPM peuvent présenter, comme une meilleure santé des ressources halieutiques et davantage d’occasions pour le tourisme et les loisirs.

Y aura-t-il une « zone d’interdiction de prise »?

Réponse :

Une zone de haute protection (aussi appelée « zone d’interdiction de prise ») est une zone spécifique à l’intérieur d’une ZPM qui interdit toute activité commerciale d’extraction. Bien que de nombreuses ZPM comportent ces zones, elles ne sont pas obligatoires pour les ZPM visées par la Loi sur les océans. L’idée d’une zone de haute protection a fait l’objet de discussions au cours des premières étapes de la consultation pour les sites d’intérêt des îles de la côte Est, et des préoccupations considérables ont été soulevées. Toutefois, d’après les résultats de l’évaluation des risques liés au homard et la nature à faible incidence d’autres pêches traditionnelles à engins fixes dans cette zone, Pêches et Océans Canada est convaincu qu’une future ZPM des îles de la côte Est peut encore être efficace sans une zone de haute protection. Par conséquent, en consultation avec les Premières nations, la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse et le Comité consultatif, le Ministère a retiré la zone de haute protection de la conception d’une future ZPM des îles de la côte Est.

Toutefois, comme nous avons mis la dernière main aux résultats de l’évaluation des risques et que nous avons mené d’autres consultations, il pourrait être nécessaire de restreindre d’autres activités dans certains secteurs. Ces activités ne comprendraient pas la pêche au homard, mais pourraient inclure d’autres types de pêche commerciale et d’activités industrielles.

La ZPM limitera-t-elle la chasse, la pêche à la praire et la récolte de fucus? D’autres activités sur terre seront-elles touchées?

Réponse :

Non. Les ZPM désignées en vertu de la Loi sur les océans s’étendent seulement jusqu’à la laisse de marée basse, ce qui fait que les activités pratiquées sur la terre et dans la zone intertidale (entre la laisse de marée basse et la laisse de marée haute) comme la chasse, la pêche à la praire et la récolte de fucus auraient lieu hors des limites de la ZPM. De même, une ZPM n’aurait pas d’incidence sur les droits de propriété ou les activités d’entretien telles que les réparations de quai privé. Bon nombre des îles sont protégées par la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse (aire de nature sauvage des îles de la côte Est) ou le Nova Scotia Nature Trust (« 100 Wild Islands »); suivez les liens pour en savoir plus sur ces initiatives et obtenir des renseignements sur les restrictions de l’accès ou des activités.

Comment puis-je donner mon avis sur la conception de la ZPM des îles de la côte Est?

Réponse :

Le MPO utilise plusieurs méthodes pour inclure pleinement les Premières Nations, les peuples autochtones, la collectivité, les industries et les autres gouvernements dans le processus d’établissement de la ZPM, en particulier :

  • Un Comité consultatif a été formé et constituera une plateforme clé pour les discussions multisectorielles et pour donner des conseils sur la conception de la ZPM avant sa désignation.
  • Un groupe de travail, composé de membres de l’Eastern Shore Fisherman’s Protective Association (ESFPA) a été créé pour s’assurer de donner du poids à l’industrie de la pêche dans ce processus.
  • Des événements communautaires seront organisés pour permettre au MPO de partager de l’information, de répondre à vos questions et d’écouter vos points de vue. Veuillez consulter le présent site Web pour savoir quand auront lieu les prochains événements.
  • Tous les Canadiens ont l’occasion de donner leur avis sur la conception de la ZPM pendant la période de commentaires publics une fois que le projet de règlement a été rédigé et publié dans la Gazette du Canada.
  • Vous pouvez également participer à la conversation en communiquant avec nous à l’adresse suivante :
Est-il possible de modifier une ZPM une fois que le règlement est achevé?

Réponse : Oui.

La conception d’une ZPM est déterminée en collaboration au moyen d’un processus qui comprend des activités de collecte de renseignements, des activités d’évaluation et de vastes consultations. Une fois que la conception de la ZPM est prête, les limites, les zones et les activités autorisées sont décrites dans un projet de règlement. Le projet de règlement est alors publié dans la Gazette du Canada pendant une période de commentaires publics de 30 jours. Ces commentaires seront pris en compte lors de l’élaboration du règlement définitif.

Une fois qu’une ZPM est conçue, le Comité consultatif continue de fournir des commentaires sur la gestion en cours du site. Les plans de gestion sont revus régulièrement, de nouvelles données scientifiques sont prises en compte, et l’efficacité générale de la ZPM est évaluée afin de déterminer la nécessité d’apporter des modifications.

Les modifications du règlement de la ZPM ne sont pas fréquentes. Toutefois, en cas de nécessité d’apporter une modification (par exemple, une modification du zonage ou une nouvelle activité autorisée), des consultations avec les Premières Nations, les groupes autochtones, les autres gouvernements, les intervenants de l’industrie et la collectivité auraient lieu afin d’éclairer ces modifications. Tout comme pour l’établissement de la ZPM, de telles modifications du règlement nécessiteraient également un examen public et une période de commentaires au moyen de la Gazette du Canada (décrit ci-dessus).

La pisciculture sera-t-elle autorisée dans une future ZPM des Îles de la côte Est?

Réponse :

À ce jour, cette activité n’a pas été évaluée ni autorisée dans une ZPM en vertu de la Loi sur les océans au Canada. L’évaluation des risques pour l’aquaculture est actuellement en cours, ce qui permettra de savoir avec plus de certitude si cette activité serait compatible ou non dans cette ZPM potentielle. Nous comprenons qu’il s’agit d’une question d’un grand intérêt pour les collectivités locales et nous travaillons avec le secteur des Sciences de Pêches et Océans Canada, la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse, l’industrie, d’autres experts et le Comité consultatif pour terminer cette évaluation des risques dès que possible.

Que prévoit une ZPM visée par la Loi sur les océans alors qu’il existe déjà des règles en vertu de lois comme la Loi sur les pêches?

Réponse :

Les ZPM visées par la Loi sur les océans font partie d’une stratégie globale du gouvernement du Canada destinée à gérer et à réduire les répercussions des activités humaines sur ses océans. Elles visent à appuyer, et non à remplacer, ce que nous faisons maintenant pour gérer les pêches et les autres utilisations marines. Par exemple, les pêches actives dans les ZPM sont toujours gérées au moyen de mesures prévues par la Loi sur les pêches.

Les ZPM sont des outils de gestion à long terme utilisés pour protéger et conserver les écosystèmes marins et côtiers tout en veillant à ce que les collectivités puissent continuer à utiliser la zone de façon durable et à en profiter. Compte tenu de l’expérience dans l’ensemble du pays, les ZPM visées par la Loi sur les océans peuvent s’avérer utiles pour :

  • Gérer de façon proactive les activités humaines, de sorte que les activités à faible incidence puissent se poursuivre et que les activités à incidence plus élevé soient limitées
  • Promouvoir de nouvelles possibilités économiques et appuyer les initiatives d’intendance, comme le tourisme responsable axé sur la nature, la recherche scientifique, l’éducation et la sensibilisation
  • Accroître et soutenir la collaboration entre l’industrie, la collectivité, le milieu universitaire et le gouvernement sur des sujets d’intérêt commun, comme la surveillance de la santé des eaux côtières
Quel est le niveau de soutien communautaire nécessaire avant qu’une ZPM puisse être établie?

Réponse :

Une fois qu’une proposition de ZPM claire et bien définie a été élaborée, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans et la Garde côtière canadienne doivent tenir compte d’un certain nombre de facteurs avant de décider si une ZPM proposée sera désignée. Cela comprend une évaluation complète des coûts, des avantages et du niveau de soutien de la collectivité. Tous les Canadiens auront également l’occasion d’exprimer leur appui ou leur opposition à la ZPM proposée au cours d’une période de consultation publique une fois que le projet de règlement sera publié dans la Gazette du Canada.

Nous savons par expérience que la collaboration et l’adhésion de la collectivité constituent un facteur très important dans le succès de toute ZPM. Nous sommes impatients de discuter avec tous les intervenants de la côte Est afin d’élaborer une proposition qui conviendra le mieux aux collectivités de la côte Est.

Le projet de réserve naturelle de baleines est-il lié à une ZPM potentielle des îles de la côte Est?

Réponse :

Non. Pêches et Océans Canada est au courant de cette initiative, mais n’y participe pas directement pour le moment. Il est important de noter que cette proposition n’est liée à aucune des initiatives de conservation marine de Pêches et Océans Canada, y compris le site d’intérêt des îles de la côte Est.

Consultation

Consultation

Le MPO utilise plusieurs méthodes pour inclure pleinement les Premières Nations, les peuples autochtones, d’autres gouvernements, la collectivité, et les industries compétentes dans le processus d’établissement de la ZPM proposée pour les îles de la côte Est. Suivez le lien ci-dessous pour plus d'informations sur les activités de consultation et d'engagement.

Photos

Photos

Date de modification :