Redfish Unit 1 (2021)

Species and area

The redfish fishery in Unit 1 consists of  two redfish species that occur in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel areas, Deepwater redfish (Sebastes mentella) and Acadian redfish (Sebastes fasciatus).

Unit 1 consists of Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO) Divisions 4RST and 3Pn + 4Vn (January 1- May 31).

Dates of season (subject to change)

The management cycle for Unit 1 is May 15 until May 14 of the following year.

Specific dates for openings and closings will be maintained as per existing conservation harvest plans (CHPs) and any modifications will be determined in consultation with the various fleets through the advisory process.

Total allowable catch (TAC) and sharing arrangements

For the 2021-22 season, 4,500t of redfish quota will be available in Unit 1 annually under two separate programs; a 2,000 index fishery program and an experimental redfish quota of 2,500t.

The 2,000t index fishery quota and allocation scheme for Unit 1 will remain as per the index fishery program. The 2,500t experimental quota will be accessible to existing Gulf groundfish mobile gear licence holders and Gulf based Indigenous groups with a groundfish licence via an online application process. Further details on the experimental redfish plan are available at the link below.

Management measures

Existing management measures will be maintained for the 2,000t index fishery and the 2,500t experimental fishery.

Links to other information

Date modified: