North Atlantic right whale monitoring and surveillance activities

COVID-19 Update: Surveillance and monitoring of North Atlantic right whales is considered a critical service and will continue in a way that adheres to guidance provided by public health authorities.

North Atlantic right whales

We monitor North Atlantic right whales to better understand where they go and what they do while in our waters. This information informs the measures we take to protect this endangered species. We do this work in collaboration with other government departments and non-governmental organizations.

For the most up-to-date information on North Atlantic right whale sightings and detections, visit WhaleMap. It is an interactive map that integrates and displays whale sightings and acoustic detections data from multiple sources in Atlantic Canada and Quebec onto a single online platform.

On this page

Our monitoring and surveillance activities

In some areas of the Northwest Atlantic Ocean, North Atlantic right whales have been shown to spend over 80% of their time underwater, and can be highly mobile. They are known to travel up to 50 kilometres in one day in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. This can make it difficult to observe the whales from the air or on the water. Our ability to visually detect them depends on their:

Similarly, our ability to acoustically detect right whales depends on:

We monitor and detect right whales using:

Confirmed visual or acoustic detections of right whales trigger the 2020 North Atlantic right whales management measures.

Aerial surveillance

Aerial surveillance is our primary means for detecting right whales in Atlantic Canada and Quebec. In the aircraft, our marine mammal observers look for whales that are at the surface of the water. If right whales are observed, the marine mammal observer:

The location and time of each sighting are uploaded to WhaleMap and the sighting triggers the management measures.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has multiple aircraft that fly multiple times a week, weather permitting, over Atlantic Canadian waters, including over the Gulf of St. Lawrence in search of North Atlantic right whales.

The objectives of the flights are to:

Aircraft from Transport Canada’s National Aerial Surveillance Program monitor designated shipping zones and certain areas of the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

At-sea surveillance

At-sea surveillance is observing right whales from a vessel. Our marine mammal observers may be aboard Canadian Coast Guard vessels. When they are, they visually scan the water in a predetermined way to look for whales that are at the surface of the water. They confirm the species of whales and number of individuals with binoculars as necessary. They follow the same steps as during aerial surveillance.

Acoustic technology

Hydrophones are underwater microphones that can be used to detect whale calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Acoustic recorders equipped with hydrophones can be attached to the sea floor, mounted onto surface buoys, deployed from a vessel or mounted onto mobile gliders.

Depending on ocean conditions, hydrophones can detect the presence of whales that are tens of kilometers away. Currently, they cannot provide the exact location, number of whales or differentiate one whale call from another. They can only tell us that there is at least one whale calling within the detection range of the hydrophone.

We use both archival and near real-time acoustic recorders equipped with hydrophones to detect right whales. Archival recorders listen and record whale calls for several months before being retrieved and analyzed. This helps us to better understand their distribution throughout the year in Canadian waters. Near-real time recorders transmit right whale detections over satellite or cellular tower system to marine mammal experts for validation in near real-time.

Near real-time acoustic technology: Viking buoys

Viking buoys are scientific buoys equipped with sensors that collect information on ocean and weather conditions. This information helps to validate and interpret data from satellites and enables us to follow oceanographic conditions in near real-time.

Our researchers have incorporated hydrophones onto six Viking buoys in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. These hydrophones are now transmitting right whale calls in near real-time to a team of marine mammal acoustic experts for validation. Detections are displayed on the St. Lawrence Global Observatory Viking Buoy Detection Portal and WhaleMap. This is the first year near real-time acoustic detections are triggering North Atlantic right whale management measures.

Near real-time acoustic technology: Gliders

Gliders are autonomous, underwater vehicles equipped with sensors to monitor and collect information on ocean conditions. They can travel long periods of time and into less accessible areas of the ocean.

The Department and Transport Canada have partnered with the University of New Brunswick and Dalhousie University to help fund the deployment of gliders equipped with hydrophones in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Laurentian Channel, Bay of Fundy and Roseway Basin to detect right whales. As with Viking buoys, this is the first year that glider detections will trigger the North Atlantic right whale management measures.

Our research activities

We survey and monitor right whales to better understand their distribution, movements, behaviours and environmental stressors that are affecting them. All this research informs how we protect them with fisheries and shipping management measures and the strategies we implement to help their recovery as an endangered species. Scientific work on identification, counting of individual right whales, as well as necropsies, are done by our partners.

We provide science advice on North Atlantic right whale issues, such as timing of presence and their distribution in Canadian waters. This helps inform our fishery management measures, species recovery measures, and mitigation strategies for environmental stressors.

Science advice and research

Latest right whale observations

Environmental stressors

Fishery management measures

Species information and recovery measures

Review for recovery potential and effectiveness

Identifying and counting North Atlantic right whales

When a North Atlantic right whale is sighted in Canadian waters by one of our marine mammal observers, whether by air or at sea, they take photos of its features and markings whenever possible. The photos are sent for identification to the New England Aquarium, as it maintains the North Atlantic right whale catalogue.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration personnel fly over our waters to identify as many different individual whales as possible, to estimate the total number of animals that have visited Canada in a season. This information informs the North Atlantic right whale database managed by the North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium.

Necropsies

When a North Atlantic right whale death is reported, steps are taken to determine if a necropsy is warranted and if the carcass can be towed to shore for analysis. Tagging the carcass helps to track where the carcass is drifting and informs where to find it later for towing or sampling purposes. Decisions to tag a carcass or conduct a necropsy depend on factors such as:

We work closely with marine mammal response partners and veterinarians from the University of Prince Edward Island and the Université de Montréal (in French only) to conduct necropsies and/or other sampling methods. Marine mammal necropsies are the primary method for researchers to inspect the carcass and collect samples to analyze and determine how and why the whale died. The information contributes to our overall understanding of the species and the threats affecting it. This helps to informs how we can protect them.

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Activités de suivi et de surveillance de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord

Mise à jour sur la COVID-19 : La surveillance et le suivi des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord sont considérés comme un service essentiel et se poursuivront dans le respect des orientations fournies par les autorités de santé publique.

Baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord

Nous surveillons les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord pour mieux comprendre où elles vont et ce qu’elles font lorsqu’elles sont dans nos eaux. Ces renseignements aident à orienter les mesures que nous prenons pour protéger cette espèce en voie de disparition. Nous effectuons ce travail en collaboration avec d’autres ministères et des organismes non gouvernementaux.

Pour obtenir les derniers renseignements sur les observations et les détections de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, consultez WhaleMap. Cette carte interactive intègre et affiche sur une seule plateforme en ligne les observations et les détections acoustiques des baleines; ces données sont transmises par différentes sources au Canada atlantique et au Québec.

Sur cette page

Nos activités de suivi et de surveillance

On sait que dans certaines zones de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord passent plus de 80 % de leur temps en plongée et peuvent être très mobiles. Elles peuvent parcourir jusqu’à 50 kilomètres en une journée dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Il peut ainsi être difficile d’observer les baleines depuis les airs ou sur l’eau. Notre capacité à les détecter visuellement dépend des éléments suivants :

De même, notre capacité à détecter acoustiquement les baleines noires dépend :

Nous recourons à plusieurs moyens pour surveiller et détecter les baleines noires :

Toute détection visuelle ou acoustique en temps quasi réel confirmée de baleines noires provenant de sources fiables déclenchera les mesures de gestion de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord proposées pour 2021 dans la zone dynamique.

Surveillance aérienne

La surveillance aérienne est notre principal moyen de détection des baleines noires au Canada atlantique et au Québec. À bord de l’aéronef, nos observateurs de mammifères marins cherchent les baleines qui se trouvent à la surface de l’eau. S’il observe des baleines noires, l’observateur de mammifères marins :

Le lieu et l’heure de chaque observation sont téléchargés sur WhaleMap, et l’observation peut déclencher les mesures de gestion mises en place pour protéger l’espèce.

Pêches et Océans Canada dispose de plusieurs aéronefs qui survolent les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique, y compris le golfe du Saint-Laurent, à la recherche de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord plusieurs fois par semaine, si les conditions météorologiques le permettent.

Les vols visent les objectifs suivants :

Les aéronefs du Programme national de surveillance aérienne de Transports Canada surveillent les zones de navigation désignées et certaines parties du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Surveillance en mer

La surveillance en mer consiste à observer les baleines noires à partir d’un navire. Nos observateurs de mammifères marins peuvent se trouver à bord des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne. Dans ce cas, ils scrutent visuellement l’eau d’une manière prédéterminée pour repérer les baleines qui se trouvent à la surface de l’eau. Ils confirment l’espèce de baleine et le nombre d’individus avec des jumelles, si nécessaire, en plus de prendre des photos, de noter l’état des individus et de consigner l’heure, les conditions océaniques, ainsi que la latitude et la longitude du lieu d’observation.

Technologie acoustique

Les hydrophones sont des microphones sous-marins qui permettent de détecter les vocalisations des baleines 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Des enregistreurs acoustiques équipés d’hydrophones peuvent être fixés au fond de la mer, montés sur des bouées de surface, déployés à partir d’un navire ou montés sur des planeurs mobiles.

En fonction des conditions océaniques, les hydrophones peuvent détecter la présence de baleines à des dizaines de kilomètres de distance. Actuellement, ils ne peuvent pas fournir l’emplacement exact ou le nombre de baleines présentes, ni faire la distinction entre les vocalisations des différentes baleines. Ils ne peuvent que nous indiquer qu’au moins une baleine vocalise dans leur zone de détection.

Nous utilisons des enregistreurs acoustiques d’archives et en temps quasi réel, équipés d’hydrophones, pour détecter les baleines noires. Les enregistreurs d’archives écoutent et enregistrent les vocalisations des baleines pendant plusieurs mois avant d’être récupérés et analysés. Cela nous aide à mieux comprendre la répartition des baleines noires tout au long de l’année dans les eaux canadiennes. Les enregistreurs en temps quasi réel transmettent les détections par satellite ou par tour cellulaire aux experts en mammifères marins, qui les valident en temps quasi réel.

Technologie acoustique en temps quasi réel : Bouées Viking

Les bouées Viking sont des bouées scientifiques équipées de capteurs qui recueillent des renseignements sur les conditions océaniques et météorologiques. Ces renseignements sont utiles pour valider et interpréter les données des satellites et nous permettent de faire le suivi des conditions océanographiques en temps quasi réel.

Nos chercheurs ont installé des hydrophones sur au moins six bouées Viking dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Ces hydrophones transmettent les vocalisations des baleines noires en temps quasi réel à une équipe d’experts en acoustique des mammifères marins pour validation. Les détections sont affichées sur le portail des détections des bouées Viking de l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent et sur WhaleMap. Il s’agit de la deuxième année où des détections acoustiques en temps quasi réel déclenchent des mesures de gestion des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord.

Technologie acoustique en temps quasi réel : Planeurs

Les planeurs sont des véhicules sous-marins autonomes équipés de capteurs pour surveiller et recueillir des renseignements sur les conditions océaniques. Ils peuvent voyager pendant longtemps et dans des régions moins accessibles de l’océan.

Le ministère et Transports Canada se sont associés à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (en anglais seulement) et à l’Université Dalhousie (en anglais seulement) pour aider à financer le déploiement de planeurs équipés d’hydrophones visant à détecter les baleines noires dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, y compris dans des zones comme le chenal Laurentien et le détroit de Cabot. Comme pour les bouées Viking, il s’agit de la deuxième année où les détections par les planeurs déclencheront les mesures de gestion des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord.

Nos activités de recherche

Nous étudions et surveillons les baleines noires pour mieux comprendre leur répartition, leurs déplacements, leurs comportements et les agents de stress environnementaux qui les influencent. Toutes ces recherches guident la façon dont nous protégeons les baleines noires grâce à des mesures de gestion des pêches et du transport maritime, en plus de guider les stratégies que nous mettons en œuvre pour contribuer au rétablissement des baleines noires en tant qu’espèce en voie de disparition. Les travaux scientifiques sur l’identification et le dénombrement des baleines noires, ainsi que les nécropsies, sont effectués en collaboration avec nos partenaires.

Nous fournissons des avis scientifiques sur les enjeux concernant les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, comme le moment de leur arrivée et leur répartition dans les eaux canadiennes. Ces avis permettent d’orienter nos mesures de gestion des pêches, les mesures de rétablissement de l’espèce et les stratégies d’atténuation des agents de stress environnementaux.

Repérer et compter les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord

Lorsqu’un de nos observateurs de mammifères marins aperçoit une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes, depuis un aéronef ou un navire, il prend des photos de ses caractéristiques et de ses marques chaque fois que cela est possible. Les photos sont envoyées pour identification au New England Aquarium, qui tient à jour le catalogue des baleines franches de l’Atlantique Nord (en anglais seulement).

Le personnel de la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration survole nos eaux pour identifier le plus grand nombre possible de baleines, afin d’estimer le nombre total d’animaux qui ont visité le Canada au cours d’une saison. Ces renseignements alimentent la base de données sur les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord gérée par le North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium (en anglais seulement).

Nécropsies

Lorsqu’une baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord morte est signalée, des mesures sont prises pour déterminer si une nécropsie est justifiée et si la carcasse peut être remorquée jusqu’à la côte pour être analysée. Le marquage de la carcasse permet de suivre sa dérive et de la trouver plus tard à des fins de remorquage ou d’échantillonnage. La décision de marquer une carcasse ou de procéder à une nécropsie dépend de plusieurs facteurs, notamment :

Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec nos partenaires d’intervention auprès des mammifères marins et des vétérinaires de l’University of Prince Edward Island (en anglais seulement) et de l’Université de Montréal pour effectuer des nécropsies ou d’autres méthodes d’échantillonnage. Les nécropsies de mammifères marins sont la principale méthode utilisée par les chercheurs pour inspecter la carcasse et prélever des échantillons afin d’analyser et de déterminer comment et pourquoi la baleine est morte. Ces renseignements contribuent à notre compréhension globale de l’espèce et des menaces qui pèsent sur elle. Cela nous aide à déterminer les mesures à prendre pour protéger les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord.

Avis et recherche scientifiques

Dernières détections de baleines noires

Autres recherches

Mesures de gestion des pêches

Information sur l’espèce et les mesures de rétablissement

Examen du potentiel de rétablissement et de l’efficacité des mesures

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :