Research Document 2020/070

Assessment of Pacific Cod (Gadus macrocephalus) for Hecate Strait and Queen Charlotte Sound (Area 5ABCD), and West Coast Vancouver Island (Area 3CD) in 2018

By Forrest, R.E., Anderson, S.C., Grandin, C.J., and Starr, P.J.

Abstract

The status of two stocks of Pacific Cod (Gadus macrocephalus) in Hecate Strait/Queen Charlotte Sound (Area 5ABCD) and West Coast Vancouver Island (Area 3CD) was assessed using Bayesian delay-difference models. The models were fit to fishery-independent indices of abundance and new standardized commercial catch-per-unit-effort (CPUE) indices that were developed using Tweedie generalized linear mixed effect models (GLMMs). New analyses of growth and maturity were also done and incorporated into the models.

Model estimates of biomass and stock status in both management areas were sensitive to prior assumptions about natural mortality and survey scaling parameters, variance in the mean weight data, and the goodness of fit to the indices of abundance, particularly the commercial CPUE data. Harvest advice was produced in the form of decision tables that summarized the probability of breaching reference points in 2019 over a range of fixed 2018 catch levels. Due to model sensitivity to a number of assumptions, these stocks were assessed using a model-averaging approach which combined the posterior distributions from seven alternative model confgurations for each stock.The resulting distributions were used to assess the historical biomass trajectories, current stock status and decision tables based on catch projections appropriate to each stock.

Reference points based on historical reconstruction of long-term average biomass and fishing mortality were accepted in 2013 for the Area 5CD Pacific Cod stock. “Historical” reference points were recommended because uncertainty in estimates of productivity parameters implied large uncertainty in reference points based on maximum sustainable yield (MSY). On the basis of the previous acceptance of historical reference points for Area 5CD Pacific Cod, the current assessment applies the same approach for the Areas 5ABCD and 3CD stocks. For both stocks, an upper stock reference point (USR) is defned as estimated average biomass during the period 1956-2004. A limit reference point (LRP) is defined as the lowest estimated biomass agreed to be an undesirable state to avoid (occurred in year 2000 in Area 5ABCD, and in 1986 in Area 3CD). For both stocks, a limit removal rate (LRR) is defned as estimated average fishing mortality during the period 1956–2004.

Biomass in Area 5ABCD is estimated to have been on a declining trajectory since 2011, following declining trends in abundance indices, despite low estimated fishing mortality rates over the same period. Median posterior estimates of biomass are estimated to be between the median LRP and median USR for Area 5ABCD. Recruitment is estimated to have been below average for the past two decades.

Biomass in Area 3CD is estimated to have been on a declining trajectory since 2015 after following an increasing trend from a historical low level of biomass between 1998 and 2014. These trends are consistent with the available biomass indices, including a recent downturn in the WCVI synoptic survey and the CPUE series. Median posterior estimates of biomass are estimated to be above the median LRP but below the USR for Area 3CD. Recruitment is estimated to have been below average for most years in the past two decades, with above average peaks in 2009, 2013 and 2014.

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Document de recherche 2020/070

Évaluation de la morue du Pacifique (Gadus macrocephalus) pour le détroit d’Hécate et le bassin de la Reine-Charlotte (zone 5ABCD), ainsi que pour la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver (zone 3CD) en 2018

Par Forrest, R.E., Anderson, S.C., Grandin, C.J., et Starr, P.J.

Résumé

L’état de deux stocks de morue du Pacifique (Gadus macrocephalus), dans le détroit d’Hécate/bassin de la Reine-Charlotte (zone 5ABCD) et sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver (zone 3CD), a été évalué à l’aide de modèles bayésiens de type différence-délai. Les modèles ont été ajustés aux indices de l’abondance indépendants de la pêche et aux nouveaux indices normalisés des captures commerciales par unité d’effort (CPUE) qui ont été élaborés à l’aide de modèles linéaires généralisés à effet mixte (GLGM) de Tweedie. De nouvelles analyses de la croissance et de la maturité ont également été réalisées et intégrées aux modèles.

Les estimations modélisées de la biomasse et de l’état des stocks dans les deux zones de gestion étaient sensibles aux hypothèses a priori sur les paramètres de mise à l’échelle de la mortalité naturelle et des relevés, la variance des données sur le poids moyen et la qualité de l’ajustement aux indices de l’abondance, en particulier les données sur les CPUE commerciales. Les avis de récolte ont été produits sous la forme de tableaux de décision qui résumaient la probabilité de dépasser les points de référence en 2019 pour une gamme de niveaux de prises fxes pour 2018. En raison de la sensibilité du modèle à un certain nombre d’hypothèses, ces stocks ont été évalués à l’aide d’une approche de calcul de la moyenne des modèles qui combine les distributions a posteriori à partir de sept confgurations de rechange du modèle pour chaque stock. Les distributions qui en ont résulté ont servi à évaluer les trajectoires historiques de la biomasse, l’état actuel des stocks et les tableaux de décision fondés sur les projections des prises appropriées à chaque stock.

Des points de référence fondés sur la reconstitution historique de la biomasse moyenne à long terme et de la mortalité par pêche ont été acceptés en 2013 pour le stock de morue du Pacifque de la zone 5CD. Les points de référence « historiques » ont été recommandés parce que l’incertitude dans les estimations des paramètres de productivité entraînait une grande incertitude dans les points de référence fondés sur le rendement maximal soutenu (RMS). Sur la base de l’acceptation antérieure des points de référence historiques pour la morue du Pacifque de la zone 5CD, la présente évaluation applique la même approche pour les stocks des zones 5ABCD et 3CD. Pour les deux stocks, un point de référence supérieur du stock (RSS) est défni comme la biomasse moyenne estimée pendant la période 1956-2004. Un point de référence limite (PLR) est défni comme étant la biomasse estimée la plus faible reconnue comme constituant un état indésirable à éviter (situation survenue en 2000 dans la zone 5ABCD et en 1986 dans la zone 3CD). Pour les deux stocks, un taux d’exploitation limite (TEL) est défni comme une estimation de la mortalité par pêche moyenne au cours de la période 1956-2004.

On estime que la biomasse dans la zone 5ABCD suit une trajectoire à la baisse depuis 2011, après des tendances à la baisse des indices de l’abondance, malgré de faibles taux de mortalité par pêche estimés durant la même période. La médiane des estimations a posteriori de la biomasse se situe entre la médiane du PRL et celle du RSS pour la zone 5ABCD. On estime que le recrutement est inférieur à la moyenne depuis les deux dernières décennies.

On estime que la biomasse dans la zone 3CD suit une trajectoire à la baisse depuis 2015, après une tendance à la hausse par rapport à un creux historique de la biomasse entre 1998 et 2014. Ces tendances concordent avec les indices de la biomasse disponibles, y compris le déclin récent dans le relevé synoptique sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver et la série des CPUE. La médiane des estimations a posteriori de la biomasse se situe au-dessus de la médiane du PRL, mais en dessous de celle du RSS pour la zone 3CD. On estime que le recrutement a été inférieur à la moyenne la plupart des années des deux dernières décennies, avec des pics audessus de la moyenne en 2009, 2013 et 2014.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :