Research Document 2020/009

Preliminary results from the ecosystemic survey in August 2019 in the Estuary and northern Gulf of St. Lawrence

By Bourdages, H., Brassard, C., Desgagnés, M., Galbraith, P., Gauthier, J., Nozères, C., Scallon-Chouinard, P.-M. and Senay, C.

Abstract

Fisheries and Oceans Canada conducts an annual multidisciplinary survey in the Estuary and northern Gulf of St. Lawrence. The objectives of this survey are varied; assess the biodiversity of species found near the bottom; estimate the abundance of groundfish and invertebrates; assess physical and biological (phytoplankton and zooplankton) oceanographic conditions; monitor the pelagic ecosystem; conduct an inventory of marine mammals, and collect samples for various research projects. In 2019, the survey was conducted between August 13 and September 4 on board the CCGS Teleost. The survey successfully carried out 128 trawl tows as well as 65 CTD water column casts, and 54 zooplankton samples.

This report presents the results from catches from the 128 tows. In total, 79 fish taxa and 208 invertebrate taxa were identified during the mission. Historical perspectives (catch rates, spatial distribution and length frequency) are presented for 25 taxa. These commercial fishery-independent data will be used in several stock assessments including cod (Gadus morhua), redfish (Sebastes spp.), Greenland halibut (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides), Atlantic halibut (Hippoglossus hippoglossus), witch flounder (Glyptocephalus cynoglossus) and northern shrimp (Pandalus borealis).

A preliminary analysis of water temperature data collected in 2019 shows that conditions have warmed at 150 m and deeper, reaching new records since 1915 at 250 and 300 m. The surface water and cold intermediate layer temperatures were near normal in August.

The ecosystem of the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence is currently undergoing major changes in the composition of the demersal species that are present there. The Atlantic redfish (Sebastes mentella) is making a strong comeback in channels of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, alone, it constituted more than 85% of the catches made during the survey. In addition, species that are found more frequently outside the Gulf of St. Lawrence and associated with warmer waters, were also caught frequently in this summer survey such as silver hake (Merluccius bilinearis), Atlantic argentine (Argentina silus) and northern shortfin squid (Illex illecebrosus). On the other hand, species associated with cold waters, such as northern shrimp and Greenland halibut, have been declining for more than a decade.

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Date modified:

Document de recherche 2020/009

Résultats préliminaires du relevé écosystémique d'août 2019 dans l'estuaire et le nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent

Par Bourdages, H., Brassard, C., Desgagnés, M., Galbraith, P., Gauthier, J., Nozères, C., Scallon-Chouinard, P.-M. et Senay, C.

Résumé

Le ministère des Pêches et Océans Canada réalise annuellement un relevé multidisciplinaire dans l'estuaire et le nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Les objectifs de ce relevé sont multiples : évaluer la biodiversité des espèces présentes près du fond; estimer l'abondance des poissons de fond et des invertébrés; évaluer les conditions océanographiques physiques et biologiques (phytoplancton et zooplancton); monitorer l'écosystème pélagique; inventorier les mammifères marins; et récolter des échantillons pour divers projets de recherche. En 2019, le relevé s'est déroulé du 13 août au 4 septembre, à bord du NGCC Teleost. Lors de cette mission, 128 traits de chalut ont été réussis, 65 profils verticaux de la colonne d'eau ont été effectués afin de caractériser les conditions océanographies et 54 échantillons de zooplancton ont également été récoltés.

Ce rapport présente les résultats des captures des 128 traits de chalut. Au total, 79 taxons de poissons et 208 taxons d'invertébrés ont été identifiés lors de cette mission. Les perspectives historiques (taux de capture, répartition spatiale, fréquence de longueur) sont présentées pour 25 taxons. Ces données indépendantes de la pêche commerciale serviront à plusieurs évaluations de stocks, dont la morue (Gadus morhua), les sébastes (Sebastes spp.), le flétan du Groenland (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides), le flétan atlantique (Hippoglossus hippoglossus), la plie grise (Glyptocephalus cynoglossus) et la crevette nordique (Pandalus borealis).

L'analyse préliminaire des données de température de l'eau mesurée en 2019 montre des conditions qui se sont réchauffées à 150 m et plus, atteignant de nouveaux records depuis 1915 à 250 et 300 m. Les températures de l'eau de surface en août et de la couche intermédiaire froide étaient près des normales.

L'écosystème du nord du golfe Saint-Laurent subit présentement des changements majeurs dans la composition des espèces démersales qui y sont présentes. Le sébaste atlantique (Sebastes mentella) fait un retour en force dans les chenaux du golfe du Saint-Laurent, à lui seul, il constituait plus de 85 % des captures faites lors du relevé. De plus, des espèces retrouvées plus fréquemment à l'extérieur du golfe du Saint-Laurent et associées à des eaux plus chaudes, sont aussi capturées de manière fréquente dans ce relevé estival, comme par exemple le merlu argenté (Merluccius bilinearis), la grande argentine (Argentina silus) et l'encornet nordique (Illex illecebrosus). Alors que des espèces associées à des eaux froides, comme la crevette nordique et le flétan du Groenland, sont en diminution depuis plus d'une dizaine d'année.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Date de modification :