Research Document - 2011/118

Biological Sampling Of BC Herring: Analysis Of Sampling Requirements For Characterizing Age Structure And Other Biological Characteristics Of Fisheries And Spawning Populations

By V. Haist

Abstract

Data collected through the herring biological sampling program is one of the major inputs to the stock assessment models, but a comprehensive review of the program and data collected through the program has not been completed.  The work presented here, a continuation from an initial review of the biological sampling program presented to CSAP in September 2010, focuses on analyses of samples from the roe and test fisheries collected since 1972. Specific questions addressed in the report are:

  • Is there evidence for spatial or temporal structure (sub-stocks) within herring stock assessment regions?
  • Do Sn-roe and test fisheries sample different populations?
  • Are there sex-related differences in biological characteristics that should be captured in the stock assessment?
  • Can gonadosomatic indices be used to associate herring samples with spawning events?
  • Is the assumption that test fishery samples are representative of spawning populations (in some years) reasonable?
  • Is there an objective basis for weighting roe fishery and test fishery samples in developing age-compositions for stock assessments?
  • Has the precision of age compositions changed over time?
  • How would a decrease in sampling effect the precision (and accuracy) of age-compositions?

Cluster analysis of seine-caught age compositions indicates that samples taken within each stock assessment region are unlikely to come from a single homogeneous population. There is a high degree of consistency in the age composition of samples taken with most sections, and consistency among samples decreases with increased geographical separation. On average, the mean age of samples taken from seine roe fisheries tend to be slightly higher than those taken in the test fishery, and the mean age of samples taken early in the spawning season tend to be slightly higher than the mean age of samples taken later in the spawning season.

Gillnet roe fisheries are highly selective for female fish at younger ages (to age 6 or 7), while sex ratios in seine-caught samples indicate a higher proportion of males (than females) for ages 2 and 3. Sex-specific differences in length-at-age are trivial.

Gonadosomatic indices (ratio of ovary weight to body weight) show promise for predicting when sampled herring would reach full maturity, and hence potentially associating samples with spawning events. Further work is required to develop a methodology.

There are no indications that the precision of age compositions (seine and gillnet roe fisheries and test fisheries) have decreased in recent years. Age composition estimates from the seine and gillnet roe fisheries are generally quite precise, and a reduction in the number of samples collected from these fisheries would not likely compromise the integrity of the data for stock assessments. Collection of 6 to 12 samples from each fishery would result in “effective” sample sizes of approximately 300 fish, resulting in reasonable c.v.s for proportions-at-age that are not small (c.v.s  ≤ 0.25 for proportions ≥0.05). For the test fishery, a reduction in sampling effort (simulated by 14 day sampling periods) would potentially decrease the precision and accuracy of age composition estimates substantially.

 Complete PDF document
(89 pages; 916K)

Accessibility Notice:

This document is available in PDF format. If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact the Secretariat to obtain another appropriate format, such as regular print, large print, Braille or audio version.

Active offer to produce in both official languages:

This report uses scientific and technical terms and is published in the official language of the working group or scientific expert that produced the document. If this document is not accessible to you in the official language of your choice, please contact the Secretariat.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Document de recherche 2011/118

Échantillonnage biologique du hareng dans les eaux de la C.-B. – analyse des exigences en matière d’échantillonnage pour la caractérisation de la structure des âges et des autres caractéristiques biologiques des pêches et des populations reproductrices

Par V. Haist

Résumé

Les données recueillies dans le cadre du programme d’échantillonnage biologique du hareng sont les principaux intrants des modèles d’évaluation des stocks, mais un examen approfondi du programme n’a pas été mené et la collecte de données dans le cadre du programme n’est pas terminée. Le travail présenté ici, la continuité d’un examen initial du programme d’échantillonnage biologique présenté au Centre des avis scientifiques du Pacifique (CASP) en septembre 2010, porte sur les analyses d’échantillons d’œufs de hareng et pêches expérimentale recueillis depuis 1972. Le rapport contient les questions particulières suivantes :

L’analyse des regroupements des compositions par âge capturées par senneurs indique que les échantillons prélevés dans chaque région d’évaluation des stocks ne proviennent probablement pas d’une population homogène unique. La composition par âge des échantillons prélevés dans la plupart des sections est très uniforme, et l’uniformité parmi les échantillons diminue avec l’augmentation de la séparation géographique. En moyenne, l’âge moyen des échantillons prélevés à partir des pêches du hareng rogué pratiquées au senneur a tendance à être légèrement plus élevé que celui des échantillons prélevés dans la pêche expérimentale, et l’âge moyen des échantillons prélevés au début de l’époque du frai a tendance à être légèrement plus élevé que l’âge moyen des échantillons prélevés plus tard dans l’époque du frai.

Les pêches du hareng rogué pratiquées au filet maillant sont très sélectives pour les jeunes femelles (jusqu’à 6 ou 7 ans), tandis que les proportions mâles-femelles dans les échantillons attrapés au senneur indiquent une proportion plus élevée de mâles (que de femelles) chez les poissons de 2 et de 3 ans. Les différences entre les sexes dans la longueur selon l’âge sont insignifiantes.

Les indices gonadosomatiques (proportion du poids des ovaires par rapport au poids corporel) permettraient de prédire à quel moment les harengs échantillonnés atteindraient leur pleine maturité et par le fait même, peut-être associer des échantillons à des événements de ponte. D’autres travaux sont nécessaires pour élaborer une méthodologie.

Rien n’indique que la précision des compositions par âge (pêches du hareng rogué pratiquées par senneur et filet maillant et pêches expérimentale) a diminué au cours des dernières années. Les estimations de la composition par âge des pêches du hareng rogué pratiquées au senneur et au filet maillant sont généralement assez précises, et une réduction du nombre d’échantillons prélevés dans ces pêches ne serait pas susceptible de compromettre l’intégrité des données des évaluations de stocks. Le prélèvement de six à douze échantillons de chaque pêche produirait des tailles d’échantillons « efficaces » d’environ 300 poissons, produisant des coefficients de variation raisonnables dans des proportions selon l’âge qui ne sont pas petits (coefficient de variation ≤ 0,25 pour des proportions de ≥ 0.05). Pour la pêche expérimentale, une réduction de l’effort d’échantillonnage (simulé par des périodes d’échantillonnage de 14 jours) pourrait considérablement diminuer la précision et l’exactitude des estimations des compositions par âge.

Avis d’accessibilité :

Ce document est disponible en format PDF. Si le document suivant ne vous est pas accessible, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour l’obtenir sous une autre forme (par exemple un imprimé ordinaire, en gros caractères, en braille ou un document audio).

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :