Scientific Research on Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice Video

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA)

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Video

Featured Publication

Aquaculture in Canada: Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA)

Scientists are looking at innovative ways to improve the productivity and environmental sustainability of marine aquaculture practices.  Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA) is a concept for culturing multiple species on one aquaculture site that has the potential to provide economic and environmental benefits. Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) researchers are working with partners to explore this potential and to provide a sound scientific foundation for future responsible development and expansion of IMTA in Canada.

IMTA Research in Atlantic Canada

Between 2001 and 2006, a team of scientists in New Brunswick ran an industrial-scale pilot IMTA system by co-cultivating salmon, kelp, and blue mussel at several aquaculture sites in the Bay of Fundy. After five years of research, findings support the establishment of IMTA systems for environmental sustainability (bioremediation), economic diversification (from fish filets to bioactive compounds), and social acceptability (better management practices). With the proper monitoring and depuration management, researchers found mussels and seaweeds from the IMTA operations could be safely harvested for human consumption.


Researchers evaluated the feasibility of using polychaete worms grown in cages on salmon IMTA sites with first and second year fish. The lab study showed that the worms could be grown successfully on a diet composed of salmon food/faeces; but field trials indicated that production was lower than expected.


Newfoundland researchers investigated the feasibility of culturing mussels as a component in a cod IMTA system. Experiments were undertaken over a 10-week timeframe to measure changes in the biochemical composition of mussels fed cod effluent compared to starved mussels, and mussels fed algae. Preliminary results revealed that the bulk of effluent leaving cod tanks was too large for mussels to ingest.


Researchers characterized the effect of various diets on the biophysical properties of mussel faeces in order to inform modeling nutrient dynamics of IMTA systems. Results indicated that, regardless of diet, small mussels produced biodeposits that dispersed over larger areas than those produced by larger mussels as a function of sinking velocity.


In order to successfully implement mussels as a full commercial crop in IMTA system, a consistent collection source for mussel spat must be identified. An IMTA group thus examined the potential for reusing old salmon nets previously treated with cuprous oxide for mussel spat collection in the Bay of Fundy.


To better understand the pathways of effects within IMTA farms in New Brunswick, researchers studied the flow of nutrients from salmon farms and their effects on the growth and reproductive physiology of various filter-feeding molluscs within the localized farm ecosystem.


Researchers investigated the feasibility of incorporating the Green Sea Urchin in an IMTA system because of its relatively high economic value and ability to ingest larger organic particles descending from finfish cages. In addition, this urchin is often found around salmon aquaculture sites. The project was part of a larger initiative looking at the degree to which aquaculture sites impact the relative growth rates of organisms away from the site.


IMTA Research in British Columbia

Between 2007 and 2009, researchers at Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd investigated the feasibility of a full-scale Sablefish, sea cucumber, sea urchin, shellfish, and kelp operation. The study was focused on three main areas: determining whether sea cucumbers effectively used the settled waste below net pens; whether modification could be made to steel cages to accommodate more range of depth for shellfish than is possible with traditional wooden rafts; and whether kelp seed could be set throughout the year to ensure consistent, adequate interception of dissolved nutrients and continuous, commercially viable production. Preliminary results strongly indicated that sea cucumbers would utilize waste deposits below fish pens as a food source and did not appear to accumulate heavy metals or other trace contaminants. Sea cage modifications developed during the study also facilitated simultaneous culture of more than one type of shellfish, such as mussels near the surface and scallops at depths of up to 15 meters. Timing of kelp seedling development could also be controlled to allow year-round seeding and harvest. This is the first IMTA site to be approved in British Columbia.


Results from a 12-month study suggest the feasibility of a commercial-scale polyculture system of Pacific Oysters and sea cucumbers in reducing the amount of organic deposition underneath the British Columbia oyster farm while producing a secondary cash crop.


Researchers set out to determine the effectiveness of a pilot wasabi grass system in reducing total phosphorus and nitrogen levels in effluent water from a freshwater salmon farm. The study also investigated food safety issues regarding effluent and commercial hydroponic crops.


CIMTAN – Canadian Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Network

CIMTAN

IMTA Research Projects in the Canadian Aquaculture R&D Review 2013

The Canadian Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Network is furthering the development of IMTA systems through multi-disciplinary studies in four main areas: ecological design, ecosystem interactions, and biomitigative efficiency; system innovation and engineering; economic viability and societal acceptance; and regulatory science. CIMTAN is a strategic network of 26 scientists from eight universities, six DFO laboratories, and one provincial laboratory.


Animal Health

Emerging studies suggest mussels may have the ability to destroy the infectious salmon anemia (ISA) virus. IMTA researchers are determining the ability of mussels to affect the occurrence and titer levels of various fish pathogens in their environment. The results from an experiment conducted in 2007-08 suggest that mussels are effective at depleting ISA and infectious pancreatic necrosis viral types. However, they are not as effective on Nodavirus; nor do mussels seem to deplete bacteria kidney disease or furunculosis bacteria in the water column in the same fashion as viruses.


Related information:

Recherche scientifique sur l'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée

Nouvelles méthodes de contrôle pour gérer le pou du poisson

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice Video

Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) - organismes limivores

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture Video

Publication du jour

L’Aquaculture au Canada : Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI)

Des scientifiques étudient des méthodes innovatrices d'améliorer la productivité et la durabilité environnementale des pratiques aquacoles marines. L'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) est un concept utilisé pour la culture de multiples espèces sur un site aquacole qui a le potentiel de fournir des avantages économiques et environnementaux. Des chercheurs de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) travaillent actuellement avec des partenaires pour explorer ce potentiel et pour fournir une solide base scientifique pour le développement responsable et l'expansion de l'AMTI au Canada.

Recherche sur l'AMTI dans le Canada atlantique

Entre 2001 et 2006, une équipe de scientifiques au Nouveau-Brunswick a lancé un système pilote de l'AMTI à l'échelle de l'industrie en cultivant en collaboration le saumon, le varech et la moule bleue sur plusieurs sites aquacoles dans la baie de Fundy. Après cinq ans de recherche, les résultats appuient l'établissement de systèmes d'AMTI pour la durabilité environnementale (biorestauration), la diversification économique (des filets de poisson aux composés bioactifs) et l'acceptabilité sociale (meilleures pratiques de gestion). À l'aide d'une surveillance et une gestion de la dépuration appropriées, les chercheurs ont découvert que les moules et les algues marines utilisées dans les opérations de l'AMTI pouvaient être consommées par les humains en toute sécurité.


Des chercheurs ont évalué la possibilité d'utiliser des vers polychètes élevés en cages sur des sites d'AMTI du saumon avec des poissons d'un ou deux ans. L'étude en laboratoire a démontré que les vers pouvaient être élevés avec succès avec un régime alimentaire composé d'aliments et de selles de saumon, mais les essais sur le terrain ont indiqué que le taux de production est plus bas que prévu.


Des chercheurs de Terre-Neuve ont étudié la faisabilité de la mytiliculture en tant que composante d'un système d'AMTI de la morue. Des expériences ont été effectuées sur une période de dix semaines pour mesurer les changements dans la composition biochimique des moules nourries par l'effluent de morue comparativement à des moules affamées et à des moules nourries par des algues. Des résultats préliminaires ont révélé que l'ensemble des effluents quittant les réservoirs de morue était trop grand pour être ingéré par les moules.


Des chercheurs ont caractérisé l'effet de divers régimes alimentaires sur les propriétés biophysiques des selles de moules afin de fournir des renseignements sur la modélisation de la dynamique des nutriments des systèmes d'AMTI. Les résultats indiquent que peu importe le régime alimentaire, les petites moules produisent des biodépôts qui se dispersent dans une étendue plus vaste que ceux produits par les moules de plus grande taille comme fonction de vélocité de chute.


Afin de bien intégrer les moules en tant que culture entièrement commerciale dans le système d'AMTI, une source de collecte constante de naissains de moules doit être déterminée. Une AMTI a donc examiné la possibilité de réutiliser d'anciens filets à saumon déjà traités à l'oxyde de cuivre pour la collecte de naissains de moules dans la baie de Fundy.


Afin de mieux comprendre les séquences des effets au sein des exploitations d'AMTI du Nouveau-Brunswick, des chercheurs ont étudié le flux de nutriments des élevages de saumon et son effet sur la croissance et la physiologie de reproduction de mollusques filtreurs à l'intérieur de l'écosystème d'élevage visé.


Des chercheurs ont étudié la faisabilité d'incorporer l'oursin vert à un système d'AMTI en raison de sa valeur économique relativement importante et de sa capacité d'ingérer de plus grandes particules organiques descendant de cages à poissons à nageoires. De plus, on trouve souvent l'oursin autour des sites de salmoniculture. Ce projet faisait partie d'une plus grande initiative étudiant le degré d’incidence des sites d'aquaculture sur les taux de croissance relatifs d'organismes à l'extérieur du site.


Recherche sur l'AMTI en Colombie-Britannique

Entre 2007 et 2009, des chercheurs de Kyuquot SEAfoods Ltd ont étudié la faisabilité d'une exploitation à grande échelle de morues charbonnières, d'holothuries, d'oursins, de mollusques et de varech. Les intérêts de l'étude se concentraient sur trois aspects principaux : déterminer si les holothuries utilisent efficacement les déchets sous les cages à filet; si des modifications peuvent être apportées aux cages d'acier de sorte à offrir aux mollusques une gamme de profondeur plus grande que ne l'offrent les radeaux en bois classiques et; s'il est possible d'introduire des semences d'algues tout au long de l'année pour assurer l'interception uniforme et adéquate des nutriments dissous, ainsi qu'une production continue et viable sur le plan commercial. Les résultats préliminaires ont fortement démontré que les holothuries utiliseraient les dépôts de déchets sous les filets des cages comme source de nourriture et ne semblaient pas accumuler des métaux lourds ou tout autre contaminant trace. Les modifications aux cages en mer effectuées au cours de l'étude ont aussi facilité la culture simultanée de plus d'un type de mollusque, comme la culture de moules à proximité de la surface et de pétoncles à des profondeurs allant jusqu'à 15 mètres. Le développement de plantules de varech pourrait aussi être contrôlé afin de permettre sa plantation et sa collecte à longueur d'année. Il s'agit du premier site d'AMTI approuvé en Colombie-Britannique.


Les résultats d'une étude réalisée sur douze mois suggèrent qu'il est possible qu'un système de polyculture d'huîtres du Pacifique et d'holothuries à l'échelle commerciale réduise la quantité de dépôts organiques sous la ferme d'huîtres de la Colombie-Britannique tout en produisant une seconde culture commerciale.


Des chercheurs ont entrepris de déterminer l'efficacité d'un système pilote d'herbe de wasabi à réduire les niveaux totaux de phosphore et d'azote dans les eaux des effluents d'une salmoniculture d'eau douce. L'étude portait aussi sur des problèmes de salubrité des aliments quant aux effluents et aux cultures hydroponiques à l'échelle commerciale.


RCAMTI – Réseau canadien d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée

CIMTAN

Projets de recherche AMTI dans le R&D en aquaculture au Canada 2013

Le Réseau canadien d'aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (site Web en anglais seulement) perpétue le développement des systèmes d'AMTI à l'aide d'études multidisciplinaires sur quatre aspects : la conception écologique, l'interaction des écosystèmes et l'efficacité de la bioatténuation; l'innovation et l'ingénierie des systèmes; la viabilité économique et l'assentiment collectif et; la régulation des sciences. Le RCAMTI est un réseau stratégique de 26 scientifiques provenant de huit universités, six laboratoires du MPO et un laboratoire provincial.


Santé animale

De nouvelles études indiquent que les moules pourraient avoir la capacité de détruire le virus de l'anémie infectieuse du saumon (AIS). Les chercheurs en AMTI déterminent la capacité des moules à influer sur la présence et les niveaux de titre de divers pathogènes de poisson dans leur environnement. Les résultats de cette expérience menée en 2007-2008 suggèrent que les moules sont efficaces pour la déplétion des types de virus AIS et la nécrose pancréatique infectieuse. Toutefois, ils ne sont pas aussi efficaces sur le nodavirus et ils ne sont pas utiles à la déplétion de la maladie rénale bactérienne ou de bactéries de furonculose dans la colonne d'eau de la même façon qu’avec les virus.


Information connexe :