Summary of 2015 Survey Results

Section 1

Implementation of the Fishery Decision-Making Framework Incorporating the Precautionary Approach (called the Precautionary Approach Policy)

The results show that elements of the Precautionary Approach Policy – reference points and harvest control rules - have been put in place for many of the 159 stocks but not for all of these stocks.  The following are a few highlights:

Some of the questions in this section are used to report on indicators in the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicators report.

Section 2

The Status of Fishery Management Plans

The results show that fisheries on most of the 159 stocks are managed using an Integrated Fisheries Management Plan (IFMP). In some cases, IFMPs need to be updated. In the absence of an IFMP, some of the stocks are managed using other types of fishery management plans.

Implementation of the Policy for Managing Bycatch

The results show that elements of the Policy for Managing Bycatch have been implemented in the fisheries on the 159 stocks but that the Policy has not been fully implemented. The following are a few highlights:

Policy on New Fisheries on Forage Species

Thirty of the 159 fish stocks are forage species. The results show that the management measures in the fisheries on these 30 stocks, partially meet the objectives of the policy.

Management of Lost Gear

The results show that the likelihood of losing gear is negligible in fisheries on 38% (60 of 159) of the 159 stocks. The results also show that measures to mitigate the risks of lost gear to marine ecosystems are in place for 43% (43 of 99) of the stocks where there is a likelihood of losing gear. The risks of lost gear have not been evaluated for 51% (50 of 99) of these stocks.

Species at Risk

The results show that the fisheries on 70% of the 159 stocks interact with aquatic species listed under the Species at Risk Act. Where interactions do occur, fishery management measures to mitigate the risks to these species are in place in fisheries on 97% these stocks.

Sommaire des résultats du sondage de 2015

Section 1

Mise en œuvre du cadre décisionnel pour les pêches intégrant l'approche de précaution (c.-à-d. la Politique sur l'approche de précaution)

D'après les résultats, les composantes de la Politique sur l'approche de précaution — les points de référence et les règles de contrôle des prises — ont été mises en place pour un bon nombre des159  stocks, mais pas pour tous.  Voici quelques points saillants à cet égard :

Certaines des questions de la présente section sont utilisées pour rendre compte des indicateurs figurant dans le Rapport des indicateurs canadiens sur la durabilité environnementale.

Section 2

État des plans de gestion des pêches

D'après les résultats, les pêches liées à la plupart des  159 stocks sont gérées au moyen d'un Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches (PGIP). Dans certains cas, les PGIP ont besoin d'une mise à jour. Parmi les stocks n'ayant pas de PGIP, certains sont gérés au moyen d'autres types de plans de gestion des pêches.

Mise en œuvre de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires

D'après les résultats, certaines composantes de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires ont été mises en œuvre pour les pêches liées aux 159 stocks, mais pas toutes. Voici quelques points saillants à cet égard :

Mise en œuvre de la Politique sur les nouvelles pêches des espèces fourragères

Trente des 159 stocks de poissons sont des espèces fourragères. Les résultats démontrent que les mesures de gestion mises en place dans les pêches visant ces 30 stocks permettent d'atteindre partiellement les objectifs de la politique.

Gestion des engins perdus

D’après les résultats, la probabilité de perdre un engin est négligeable pour 38 % (60/159) des pêches liées aux 159 stocks. Les résultats démontrent également que des mesures d’atténuation des risques de perdre un engin pouvant nuire aux écosystèmes marins sont en place pour 43 % (43/99) des stocks pour lesquels il y a un risque de perdre un engin. Les risques de perdre un engin n’ont pas été évalués pour 51 % (50/99) de ces stocks.

Espèces en péril

D'après les résultats, 70 % des pêches liées aux 159 stocks ont des interactions avec des espèces aquatiques inscrites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Lorsque de telles interactions se produisent, des mesures de gestion des pêches visant à atténuer les risques pour ces espèces sont mises en place dans les pêches sur 97% de ces stocks.