Language selection

Search

Overview on the Policy on Managing Bycatch and its Implementation Guidelines

The aim of the Policy on Managing Bycatch is to further improve the management of bycatch in Canadian fisheries, where necessary, by building on the success of existing management practices. The Guidance on Implementation of the Policy on Managing Bycatch provides support to resource managers and aquaculture management coordinators for implementing the Policy, through their respective management planning processes. The Bycatch Policy is consistent with the Food and Agriculture (FAO) International Guidelines for Bycatch Management and Reduction of Discards adopted in early 2011.

Scope of the Policy on Managing Bycatch

This is a national policy that applies to all commercial, recreational, and Aboriginal fisheries managed under the Fisheries Act, including aquaculture activities, regulated by Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

As a general rule, the Policy applies to that portion of the retained catch for which the harvester was not licensed, but that he/she may or must retain. It also applies to all non-retained catch, including birds, marine mammals and sea turtles that become entangled in fishing gear. 

The Policy does not apply to:

Objectives of the new Policy on Managing Bycatch

The objectives of the Policy are:

Implementing the Policy

The Bycatch Policy is accompanied by a document that provides Guidance on Implementation of the Policy on Managing Bycatch. More specifically, the document includes guidance on the following: the categories of catch that are subject to the policy; strategies for achieving the policy objectives; steps for incorporating bycatch considerations into management plans; and a toolbox of measures for managing bycatch.

Depending on the circumstances, the actions necessary to achieve the overall objectives may include:

As with the other Sustainable Fisheries Framework policies, the implementation of the new Policy on Managing Bycatch will be phased in over time, according to priorities determined at the national, regional and fishery level. The Policy will be implemented through the existing Integrated Management Planning processes.

Experience has shown that the most durable and effective solutions to bycatch problems are developed with harvesters. Implementation of the new Policy will thus involve working with harvesters to tailor solutions to the specific problem, with the aim of managing the fishery so that the total catch, including retained and non-retained bycatch, is within conservation limits.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Aperçu de la politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires et directives pour sa mise en oeuvre

L'objectif de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires est d’améliorer la gestion des prises accessoires dans les pêches canadiennes, lorsque cela est nécessaire, en s’appuyant sur l’efficacité des pratiques de gestion existantes. Le document d'orientation sur la mise en oeuvre de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires aide les gestionnaires des ressources et les coordonnateurs de la gestion de l'aquaculture à mettre en oeuvre la Politique, par le biais de leurs processus respectifs de planification de la gestion. La Politique sur les prises accessoires concorde avec les directives internationales de la FAO sur la gestion des prises accessoires et la réduction des rejets en mer adoptées au début de 2011.

Portée de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires

Il s'agit d'une politique à portée nationale qui s'applique à l'ensemble des pêches commerciales, récréatives et autochtones gérées en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches, y compris les activités aquacoles, réglementées par Pêches et Océans Canada.

En règle générale, la Politique s'applique à la partie des prises conservées pour lesquelles le pêcheur ne détient pas de permis, mais qu'il peut ou doit conserver. Elle vise également toutes les prises rejetées, notamment les oiseaux, les mammifères marins et les tortues de mer qui se sont emmêlés dans les engins de pêche.

La Politique ne s'applique pas :

Objectifs de la nouvelle Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires

Les objectifs de la Politique sont les suivants :

Mise en oeuvre de la Politique

La Politique sur les prises accessoires s'accompagne d'un document d'orientation sur la mise en oeuvre de la Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires. Plus précisément, le document donne des orientations sur les aspects suivants : les catégories de prises visées par la présente politique; les stratégies pour atteindre les objectifs de la Politique; les étapes pour incorporer aux plans de gestion les aspects relatifs aux prises accessoires; un ensemble de mesures pour gérer les prises accessoires.

Selon les circonstances, les mesures nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs généraux peuvent comprendre :

Comme c'est le cas dans les autres politiques du Cadre pour la pêche durable, la mise en oeuvre de la nouvelle Politique sur la gestion des prises accessoires s'effectuera graduellement selon les priorités définies aux niveaux national et régional et au niveau des pêches. La Politique sera mise en oeuvre à l'aide des processus existants du Plan de gestion intégrée.

L'expérience a démontré que les solutions les plus durables et les plus efficaces aux problèmes de prises accessoires sont le fruit de la collaboration avec les pêcheurs. La mise en oeuvre de la Politique passera donc par la participation des pêcheurs afin d'adapter les solutions aux problèmes particuliers, dans le but d'assurer une gestion des pêches avec des prises totales, incluant les prises gardées et les prises rejetées, dans les limites définies pour garantir la conservation.