Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM) Report on Canada’s Network of Marine Protected Areas, June 2017

Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM) Report on Canada’s Network of Marine Protected Areas, June 2017

Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM) Report on Canada’s Network of Marine Protected Areas, June 2017 (PDF, 1.94 MB)

Table of Contents

Executive Summary

Yelloweye Rockfish.  Description follows.

Yelloweye Rockfish
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

In 2011, the National Framework for Canada’s Network of Marine Protected Areas was developed for the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM) to outline a strategic direction for the establishment of a national network of marine protected areas (MPAs). The vision articulated in the National Framework is for “an ecologically comprehensive, resilient, and representative national network of marine protected areas that protects the biological diversity and health of the marine environment for present and future generations.” To achieve this vision, the Government of Canada has committed to increasing marine and coastal protected areas to 5 percent in 2017 and to 10 percent in 2020.

In January 2016, CCFAM re-established the Oceans Task Group (OTG)Footnote 1 to provide guidance on the National Framework.

The purpose of this report is to provide an update on MPA network planning, focusing on progress in five priority bioregions.Footnote 2 The report also highlights the contribution of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) to other effective area-based conservation measures (OEABCM), to MPA networks, and to meeting the Government of Canada’s commitment to national and international marine conservation targets (MCTs).

In terms of advancing the national network of MPAs, this report highlights progress made on work in five priority bioregions: Pacific Northern Shelf, Western Arctic, Newfoundland and Labrador Shelves, Scotian Shelf, and the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence. Network planning and bioregional governance processes support the establishment of individual MPAs which make progress toward meeting the Government of Canada’s commitment. This planning also provides the long-term platform for identifying future marine areas of protection and will support improved collaborative management of Canada’s oceans.

The OTG recognizes that protecting Canada’s marine and coastal areas requires collective efforts and supports federal-provincial-territorial efforts to work together, in accordance with each government’s jurisdiction and priorities. The role of Indigenous groups as well as coastal communities, marine industry sectors, conservation groups, and the public is also important for advancing the conservation and sustainable use of Canada’s marine resources.

Date modified:

Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture Groupe de travail sur les océans Rapport sur le réseau d’aires marines protégées du Canada Juin 2017

Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture Groupe de travail sur les océans Rapport sur le réseau d’aires marines protégées du Canada Juin 2017

Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture Groupe de travail sur les océans Rapport sur le réseau d’aires marines protégées du Canada Juin 2017 (PDF, 1.95 Mo)

Table des matières

Sommaire

Sébaste aux yeux jaunes.  La description suit.

Sébaste aux yeux jaunes
Pêches et Océans Canada

En 2011, le Cadre national pour le réseau d’aires marines protégées du Canada a été élaboré afin que le Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l’aquaculture (CCMPA) fixe une orientation stratégique pour l’établissement d’un réseau national d’aires marines protégées (AMP). La vision définie dans le Cadre national est la suivante : « Un réseau national d’aires marines protégées exhaustif, résilient et représentatif d’un point de vue écologique, cherchant à assurer la protection de la diversité écologique et de la santé du milieu marin au profit des générations actuelles et futures ». Pour atteindre cette vision, le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à accroître la proportion d’aires marines et côtières protégées de façon qu’elle atteigne 5 % en 2017 et 10 % en 2020.

En janvier 2016, le CCMPA a remis sur pied le groupe de travail sur les océans (GTO)Note de bas de page 1 pour aider à piloter le cadre national.

Le présent rapport a pour objectif de faire le point sur la planification des réseaux d’AMP en mettant l’accent sur leur avancement dans les cinq biorégions prioritairesNote de bas de page 2. Le rapport souligne également la contribution de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) à d’autres mesures de conservation efficaces par zone (AMCEZ), aux réseaux d’AMP et au respect de l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada concernant les objectifs nationaux et internationaux de conservation marine.

En ce qui concerne l’avancement du réseau national d’AMP, le présent rapport met en valeur les progrès réalisés dans les cinq biorégions prioritaires : la plate-forme Nord du Pacifique, l’Arctique de l’Ouest, les plates-formes de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador, la plate-forme Scotian et l’estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Cette planification des réseaux et les processus de gouvernance biorégionaux connexes appuient la création de différentes AMP qui contribuent à la réalisation de l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada. Elle fournit également la plateforme à long terme pour la désignation de futures aires marines à protéger et permettra d’améliorer la gestion collaborative des océans du Canada.

Le GTO reconnaît que la protection des aires marines et côtières du Canada nécessite des efforts collectifs et il appuie les efforts du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux en vue de travailler ensemble, conformément à la compétence et aux priorités de chacun d’eux. Les groupes autochtones, les collectivités côtières, les secteurs de l’industrie marine, les groupes de conservation et le public jouent également un rôle important dans la conservation et l’utilisation durable des ressources marines du Canada.

Date de modification :