Language selection

Search

Activity application for Musquash Estuary MPA

1. Overview

The Musquash Estuary Marine Protected Area (MPA) was established to protect the unique habitats and areas of high biological diversity and biological productivity found there. The conservation objectives were developed to ensure no unacceptable reduction or human-caused modification in the productivity, biodiversity, or habitat in the area. The Musquash MPA is complex with three zones and different activities allowed in each zone. Refer to the Regulations and Schedules for precise requirements and coordinates.

With certain exceptions, the Regulations prohibit any activity that disturbs, damages, destroys or removes any living marine organism or any part of its habitat or is likely to do so. Activities that may be allowed to occur in the Marine Protected Area are listed under the ‘exceptions’ section of the Marine Protected Area regulations and include:

  • Certain types of fishing (including manual harvesting of dulse), according to prescribed Regulations and zones;
  • Construction, maintenance, repair or removal of boat launches or wharfs, in zone 2A;
  • Vessel operation at particular speeds in zones 2 and 3; and
  • Activities carried out for public safety, national defence, national security, law enforcement, or in response to an emergency.

In addition, scientific, educational, archaeological, commercial tourism or habitat restoration activity may be allowed to occur within the MPA if a proponent submits an activity plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) for Ministerial approval. The conditions for approval are outlined in the MPA Regulations.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Demande d’autorisation d’activité pour la zone de protection marine (ZPM) de l’estuaire de la Musquash

1. Aperçu

L’estuaire de la Musquash a été désigné comme ZPM afin de protéger les habitats uniques et les zones de grande diversité biologique et de productivité biologique qui s’y trouvent. Les objectifs de conservation ont été établis afin d’empêcher toute réduction inacceptable ou modification d’origine humaine en matière de productivité, de biodiversité ou d’habitat dans la zone. La ZPM de l’estuaire de la Musquash est complexe et comprend trois zones et différentes activités autorisées dans chaque zone. Reportez-vous à la rubrique Règlement et annexes pour obtenir les exigences et les coordonnées précises.

Avec certaines exceptions, le règlement interdit toute activité qui perturbe, endommage, détruit ou retire un organisme marin vivant ou toute partie de son habitat, ou qui est susceptible de le faire. Les activités qui peuvent être autorisées dans la zone de protection marine sont énumérées à l’article « Exceptions » du règlement sur la zone de protection marine et comprennent notamment ce qui suit :

  • Certains types de pêche (notamment la récolte manuelle de la dulse), en fonction du règlement prescrit et des zones;
  • La construction, l’entretien, la réparation ou l’enlèvement de rampes de mise à l’eau ou de quais dans la zone 2A;
  • Conduite de navire à certaines vitesses dans les zones 2 et 3;
  • Toute activité visant à assurer la sécurité publique, la défense nationale, la sécurité nationale ou l’application de la loi, ou à répondre à une situation d’urgence.

En outre, des activités de recherche scientifique, de sensibilisation, d’archéologie, de tourisme commercial et de restauration de l’habitat peuvent être autorisées dans la ZPM si le promoteur soumet un plan d’activités au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) aux fins d’approbation par le ministre. Les conditions d’approbation sont énoncées dans le règlement sur la ZPM.

Date de modification :