Language selection

Search

Marine spatial planning

Canada’s diverse ocean economy has room to grow, however our oceans are facing significant threats from climate change, pollution, and competing demands on marine resources. Marine spatial planning is a practical, internationally recognized process that will enable the Government of Canada to plan and coordinate ocean activities in collaboration with provincial, territorial, and Indigenous governments. This will allow us to grow our oceans economy to create jobs and opportunities for coastal communities while advancing conservation objectives.

Similar in some ways to how urban planning is used to help us organize the ongoing development of cities—for example, setting aside green spaces while also allowing for housing developments or other uses—marine spatial planning provides a forward-looking approach to ensuring effective use of our ocean spaces.

Marine spatial planning considers the range of human activities planned for a given marine area over time (such as fishing, cultural uses, conservation areas, energy development, etc.) to keep our oceans healthy and productive for generations to come.

Strategic oceans management

Managing our oceans collaboratively is not a new concept for Canada. We have been doing this for years, including initiatives focused on:

Building on these initiatives, marine spatial planning will bring federal, provincial, territorial, and Indigenous partners together to develop open and transparent plans for the sustainable use of our oceans. Our preceding work serves as a strong starting point from which to build. Existing integrated management plans, for example, will provide high-level direction in outlining principles and goals for the management of human activities in key areas.

Marine spatial planning across Canada

Work has already begun towards laying the foundations for marine spatial planning across Canada. In British Columbia we are engaging with Indigenous governments and the Province to advance marine spatial planning in the waters off Canada’s Pacific North Coast. In Eastern Canada discussions have commenced between federal, provincial, and Indigenous governments to inform the development of spatial plans in three bioregions: the Newfoundland and Labrador shelves; the Scotian Shelf-Bay of Fundy; and the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Moving forward, additional information will become available as new initiatives related to marine spatial planning in Canada are announced.

Additional resources

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Planification spatiale marine

L’économie océanique diversifiée du Canada ne manque pas de possibilités de croissance, mais nos océans subissent des perturbations importantes découlant des changements climatiques, de la pollution et des demandes concurrentes en matière de ressources marines. La planification spatiale marine est un processus pratique reconnu à l’échelle internationale qui permettra au gouvernement du Canada de planifier et de coordonner des activités en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones. Elle favorise également la croissance économique liée aux océans en créant des emplois et des possibilités pour les collectivités côtières, et cela, tout en faisant progresser les objectifs de conservation marine.

Tout comme la planification de l’utilisation des terres en milieu urbain aide à organiser le développement des villes – par exemple, en conservant des espaces verts tout en autorisant la construction d’ensembles résidentiels ou d’établissements en vue d’autres usages – la planification spatiale marine offre une approche prospective pour assurer une utilisation efficace de nos espaces océaniques.

Pour garder nos océans en santé et productifs pour les génération à venir, il faut tenir compte de l’éventail des activités humaines prévues dans une aire marine au fil du temps (par exemple, la pêche, les usages culturels, les aires de conservation, le développement énergétique, etc.). La planification spatiale marine est le processus qui nous permettra d'atteindre ces objectifs.

Gestion stratégique des océans

La gestion conjointe de nos océans n’est pas un nouveau concept pour le Canada. Nous le faisons depuis des années, y compris des initiatives axées sur :

En s’appuyant sur ces initiatives, la planification spatiale marine favorise le rassemblement des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones en vue d’élaborer des plans ouverts et transparents pour l’utilisation durable de nos océans. Nos travaux précédents constituent un point de départ solide sur lequel nous pouvons nous appuyer. Les plans de gestion intégrée existants, par exemple, fourniront une direction de haut niveau, en soulignant les principes et les objectifs de la gestion des activités humaines dans les zones marines importantes.

Planification spatiale marine à travers le Canada

Des travaux ont été entrepris pour jeter les bases de la planification spatiale marine au Canada. En Colombie-Britannique, les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et autochtones se sont mobilisés pour faire progresser la planification spatiale marine dans les eaux au large de la côte nord du Pacifique du Canada. Dans l'est du Canada , les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et autochtones ont mené des discussions afin d'éclairer l'élaboration de plans spatiaux dans trois biorégions : les plates-formes de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador; la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise; et l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

D’autres renseignements seront disponibles à mesure que seront annoncées de nouvelles initiatives liées à la planification spatiale marine au Canada.

Ressources clés

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :