Language selection

Search

Sustainable Fisheries Solutions & Retrieval Support Contribution Program (SFSRSCP, or Ghost Gear Fund)

On this page

Update

The Sustainable Fisheries Solutions and Retrieval Support Contribution Program (SFSRSCP or Ghost Gear Fund) second call for proposals is now closed.

Information on the program parameters, application process, and eligibility is available below.

Priority areas

Following the success of year one of the Ghost Gear Fund, there are several areas where we would like to focus attention to ensure a well-rounded, robust ghost gear program. As with the first call for proposals in 2020, all applications reflecting the four program pillars are welcome. However, the program would like to highlight several areas of priority for funding new projects. These areas of focus include:

Expanding responsible disposal capacity

Year one of the Ghost Gear Fund saw the removal of abandoned, lost or otherwise discarded fishing gear (ALDFG) from Canadian waters, reducing the threat to fish stocks, marine mammals, ecosystems and navigation. With this increase in retrieved gear comes a greater need for responsible disposal opportunities on land.  Applicants are encouraged to propose projects that would examine methods of improving disposal and recycling of ALDFG and end-of-life fishing gear. This could involve (but is not limited to):

  • A study to determine the balance between the fishing gear produced (and/or purchased for use in Atlantic Canada) and of that disposed of annually in Atlantic Canada
  • Potential areas for responsible disposal capacity expansion across the country (the expansion of established recycling networks on Canada’s Pacific Coast, or preliminary feasibility studies of similar networks on Canada’s Atlantic Coast)
  • Identification of knowledge gaps in responsible disposal and recycling capacity
  • Outreach and education on best-practices or frameworks to target areas where there is limited responsible disposal opportunities
  • Regional end-of-life disposal initiatives (e.g. targeted, temporary take-it-back programs for end-of-life fishing gear (traps, pots, netting, rope, etc.)) with a focus on reducing stockpiles of gear and ensuring responsible disposal

Increased retrieval efforts in the Gulf of St. Lawrence

The Ghost Gear Fund had many successful ALDFG retrieval projects funded through the first call for proposals of the program. We would like to continue to support such endeavors, and specifically would like to focus retrieval efforts in the Gulf of St. Lawrence through this call for proposals. In recent years, the Gulf of St. Lawrence has seen a marked increase in the occurrence of North Atlantic right whales in the spring, summer and autumn months. The Ghost Gear Fund is seeking proposals for coordinated and targeted ALDFG retrieval and responsible disposal outside of active fishing seasons within this region.

Of specific focus is:

  • The retrieval of ALDFG from known areas of high gear loss
  • The retrieval of ALDFG from higher risk areas for interactions between North Atlantic right whales and fishing gear
  • Projects led by fisheries associations and/or a coordinated approach by fish harvesters with experience and knowledge of the retrieval area

The Fraser River

The Fraser River in British Columbia is an important habitat for at-risk fish species, including salmon. Efforts have been made to address the occurrence of abandoned gillnets, which have been observed along the Fraser River in recent years. These nets are considered as one of the highest risk for ghost fishing and pose a great risk to salmon, along with other species in the River. The program is seeking proposed projects that focus on gear identification and retrieval efforts in the Fraser River to support the protection of iconic salmon and other important Pacific fish stocks.

Program overview

The Sustainable Fisheries Solutions and Retrieval Support Contribution Program (SFSRSCP or Ghost Gear Fund) is a federally funded program led by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, which is intended to support Canada’s commitment to preventing and mitigating the risk of ghost fishing and encouraging the development of sustainable fishing practices, particularly as it applies to abandoned, lost or otherwise discarded fishing gear (ALDFG) domestically and abroad. This work is being carried out as part of the Government of Canada’s broader commitments to support national and international efforts to reduce plastics in our oceans and the use of plastics in government operations, and to reduce the occurrence and effects of ghost gear around the world.

The initial round of funding saw $8.3 million in funding over 2 years (2020-2022) distributed to support 26 projects, which fall under four themes, or pillars of activities.

Purpose of the Contribution Program

The purpose of the Ghost Gear Fund is to encourage the sustainable management of Canada’s fisheries, Indigenous fisheries programs, aquaculture activities, and support commercial fishing harbours to take concrete actions to support ALDFG prevention, retrieval and responsible disposal. The Ghost Gear Fund will also support fish harvesters to acquire new gear technologies to reduce the occurrence of gear loss.

Program pillars

Approved projects will be funded based on activities under the following four pillars:

  • Abandoned, lost or otherwise discarded fishing gear (ALDFG) retrieval*
  • Responsible disposal
  • Acquisition and piloting of currently available innovative technologies
  • International leadership

*ALDFG retrieval programs are required to take place outside of active fishing seasons.

Eligibility

Eligible recipients must fall under one of the following categories where they contribute to research, development, management, conservation, harvesting, protection or promotion of fisheries and oceans resources;

  • Not-for-profit and charitable organizations, Canadian or International
  • Companies, businesses, organizations, associations, Canadian or International
  • Recognized research, academic, and educational institutions
  • Other levels of government and their agencies or Crown corporations
  • Canadian individuals

Timelines

Funding will be made available for projects from July 2021-March 31, 2022.

Related links

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme de contributions pour soutenir des solutions durables en matière de pêche et la récupération des engins de pêche (ou Fonds pour les engins fantômes)

Sur cette page

Mise à jour

Le deuxième appel de propositions en prévision de l’obtention de financement supplémentaire dans le cadre du Programme de contributions pour soutenir des solutions durables en matière de pêche et la récupération des engins de pêche (le Fonds pour les engins fantômes) est maintenant fermé.

Les renseignements sur les paramètres du programme, le processus de présentation d’une demande et les critères d’admissibilité sont indiqués ci-dessous.

Domaines prioritaires

En raison du succès de la première année du Fonds pour les engins fantômes, nous aimerions mettre l’accent sur certains domaines pour veiller à ce que le programme connexe soit robuste et bien équilibré. Comme lors du premier appel de propositions lancé en 2020, toutes les demandes reflétant les quatre piliers du programme sont les bienvenues. Toutefois, le programme sera axé sur plusieurs domaines prioritaires pour le financement de nouveaux projets. Ces domaines sont décrits ci-dessous.

Augmenter la capacité en matière d’élimination responsable

Pendant la première année, le Fonds pour les engins fantômes a permis l’élimination d’engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés dans les eaux canadiennes, réduisant ainsi la menace pesant sur les stocks de poissons, les mammifères marins, les écosystèmes et la navigation. En raison de la hausse des engins récupérés, il existe un besoin accru en matière de possibilités d’élimination responsable des engins sur terre. Les demandeurs sont invités à proposer des projets portant sur des méthodes d’amélioration de l’élimination et du recyclage des engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés et en fin de vie. Les propositions peuvent comprendre ce qui suit :

  • une étude visant à trouver un équilibre entre la production d’engins de pêche (ou l’achat d’engins pour une utilisation au Canada atlantique) et l’élimination annuelle des engins au Canada atlantique;
  • les domaines possibles concernant l’augmentation de la capacité d’élimination responsable au pays (développement des réseaux de recyclage établis sur la côte canadienne du Pacifique ou réalisation d’études de faisabilité préliminaires sur la création de réseaux semblables sur la côte canadienne de l’Atlantique);
  • la détermination des lacunes dans les connaissances sur la capacité d’élimination responsable et de recyclage;
  • la sensibilisation et l’éducation sur les pratiques exemplaires ou les cadres de travail visant à cibler les régions où les possibilités d’élimination responsable sont limitées;
  • des initiatives régionales sur l’élimination des engins en fin de vie (p. ex., des programmes temporaires et ciblés visant la récupération des engins de pêche en fin de vie [casiers, cages, filets, cordes, etc.]) axées sur la réduction des stocks d’engins et leur élimination responsable.

Augmentation des activités de récupération d’engins dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent

Le Fonds pour les engins fantômes a permis de mener à bien plusieurs projets de récupération d’engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés dans le cadre du premier appel de propositions du programme. Grâce à ce nouvel appel de propositions, nous aimerions continuer à soutenir de telles initiatives et surtout mettre l’accent sur les activités de récupération dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Au cours des dernières années, la présence de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent a augmenté considérablement au printemps, en été et à l’automne. Dans le cadre du Fonds pour les engins fantômes, on recherche des propositions de projets coordonnés et ciblés sur la récupération et l’élimination responsable d’engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés en dehors des saisons de pêche actives dans cette région.

Voici les domaines d’intérêt cernés :

  • la récupération d’engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés dans des zones où la perte d’engins est importante;
  • la récupération d’engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés dans des zones caractérisées par un risque élevé d’interactions entre les baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord et les engins de pêche;
  • les projets menés par des associations de pêche ou une approche coordonnée par des pêcheurs ayant de l’expérience dans la zone de récupération.

Le fleuve Fraser

Le fleuve Fraser, situé en Colombie-Britannique, est un habitat important pour des espèces en péril, y compris les saumons. On a déployé des efforts pour régler le problème des filets maillants abandonnés qui ont été observés en grande quantité dans l’ensemble du fleuve Fraser au cours des dernières années. Ces filets sont considérés comme l’un des risques de pêche fantôme les plus élevés et représentent une véritable menace pour les saumons, ainsi que pour d’autres espèces présentes dans le Fraser. Dans le cadre du programme, on recherche des propositions de projets ciblant le repérage des engins de pêche et les activités de récupération connexes dans le fleuve Fraser en vue de contribuer à la protection des saumons, et d’autres stocks de poissons importants du Pacifique.

Aperçu du programme

Le Programme de contributions pour soutenir des solutions durables en matière de pêche et la récupération des engins de pêche (ou Fonds pour les engins fantômes) est un programme financé par le gouvernement fédéral et dirigé par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO). Il vise à soutenir l’engagement du Canada à prévenir et à atténuer le risque de pêche fantôme, ainsi qu’à encourager le développement de pratiques de pêche durables, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés (engins fantômes) au pays et à l’étranger. Ce travail est réalisé dans le cadre des engagements plus larges du gouvernement du Canada visant à soutenir les efforts nationaux et internationaux en matière de réduction des plastiques dans nos océans et d’utilisation de plastiques dans les opérations gouvernementales, et à réduire les engins fantômes dans le monde et leurs effets.

Le premier cycle de financement a permis d’octroyer 8,3 M$ sur deux ans (2020-2022) pour soutenir 26 projets qui s’inscrivent dans quatre thèmes ou piliers d’activités.

Objectif du Programme de contributions

L’objectif du Fonds pour les engins fantômes est de soutenir la gestion durable des pêches du Canada, des programmes de pêche autochtones et des activités d’aquaculture, ainsi que d’encourager les ports de pêche commerciaux à prendre des mesures concrètes pour contribuer aux efforts de prévention, de récupération et d’élimination responsable des engins fantômes. Le Fonds aidera également les pêcheurs à acquérir de nouvelles technologies d’engins de pêche dans le but de réduire les pertes.

Piliers du programme

Les projets approuvés seront financés sur la base des activités relevant des quatre piliers suivants :

  • récupération d’engins de pêche abandonnés, perdus ou rejetés (engins fantômes)*
  • élimination responsable
  • acquisition et mise à l’essai de technologies novatrices actuellement disponibles
  • leadership international

*La récupération des engins fantômes doit se faire en dehors des saisons de pêche actives.

Admissibilité

Les bénéficiaires admissibles doivent appartenir à l’une des catégories suivantes et contribuer à la recherche, au développement, à la gestion, à la conservation, à l’exploitation, à la protection ou à la promotion des ressources halieutiques et océaniques :

  • les organismes de bienfaisance ou les organismes à but non lucratif (canadiens ou internationaux)
  • les compagnies, entreprises, organisations et associations canadiennes ou internationales
  • les établissements de recherche, établissements universitaires et établissements d’enseignement nationaux
  • d’autres ordres de gouvernement, organismes ou sociétés d’État;
  • les personnes canadiennes

Échéancier

Le financement sera mis à la disposition des projets à partir du juillet 2021 jusqu’à 31 mars 2022.

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :
Date de modification :