Fish Harvester Benefit and Grant Program

Current status: Closed

The application period ran from August 24, 2020, to October 19, 2020 (6 p.m. Eastern Time).

On this page

Overview

On May 14, 2020, the Prime Minister announced the creation of measures to support Canada’s fish harvesters who are feeling the economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. These measures are the Fish Harvester Benefit and Fish Harvester Grant. Information on this program, who can apply, and what information is required is provided below.

Successful applicants will receive immediate notification of their payment(s) amount and their first payment will be deposited in their bank accounts within 5 business days following their application. Payments by cheques will also be issued within 5 business days with delivery of cheques subject to regular mail delivery timelines.

Fish Harvester Benefit

The Fish Harvester Benefit offers income support to self-employed fish harvesters and sharepersons. The benefit covers up to 75% of income losses beyond a 25% threshold for the 2020 tax year when compared to 2018 or 2019. The maximum benefit is $10,164.

Who is eligible?

The following are eligible for the Fish Harvester Benefit:

Who is not eligible?

The following are not eligible for the Fish Harvester Benefit:

Please refer to the COVID-19: Information for industry, Indigenous peoples, and other partners to learn about other supports that may apply to you.

What information will I need to provide?

Individuals applying for the Fish Harvester Benefit need to ensure that they have the following information available :

Fish Harvester Grant

The Fish Harvester Grant is a non-repayable grant to self-employed fish harvesters with a valid commercial fishing licence in 2020 (issued by DFO or their Province or Territory for freshwater commercial harvesters). The Grant provides a maximum non-repayable support of up to $10,000, dependent on the level of the fish harvesters’ historic fishing revenue in 2018 or 2019.

Who is eligible?

The following are eligible for the Fish Harvester Grant:

Additional criteria for the Fish Harvester Grant:

Who is not eligible?

The following are not eligible for the Fish Harvester Grant:

Please refer to the COVID-19: Information for industry, Indigenous peoples, and other partners to learn about other supports that may apply to you.

What information will I need to provide?

Individuals applying for the Fish Harvester Grant need to ensure that they have the following information available:

Contact us for help

We recommend that fish harvesters consult the Frequently Asked Questions before contacting Service Canada’s call centre.

Individuals who submitted an application before the closing of the application period on October 19, 2020, and that have pending issues, Service Canada continues to process these applications. If you have not heard from or received a payment by October 30, 2020, Service Canada’s call centre is available to assist:

Date modified:

Programme de Prestation et Subvention aux pêcheurs

État actuel : Fermé

La période de soumission de demandes s’est déroulée du 24 août au 19 octobre 2020 (18 h 00 heure de l'Est).

Sur cette page

Aperçu

Le 14 mai 2020, le premier ministre a annoncé la création de mesures de soutien pour aider les pêcheurs canadiens qui ressentent les effets économiques de la pandémie de COVID-19. Il s’agit du programme de Prestation et de Subvention aux pêcheurs. Vous trouverez ci-dessous de l’information sur ce programme, sur les personnes qui peuvent s’en prévaloir et sur les renseignements requis pour ce faire.

Les demandeurs acceptés recevront un avis immédiat du montant de leur(s) paiement(s) et leur premier paiement sera déposé sur leur compte bancaire dans les cinq jours ouvrables suivant leur demande. Les paiements par chèque seront également émis dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables, la livraison des chèques étant soumise aux délais de livraison du courrier standard.

Prestation aux pêcheurs

La Prestation aux pêcheurs offre de l’aide au revenu aux pêcheurs indépendants et aux pêcheurs à la part. Elle couvre jusqu’à 75 % des pertes de revenus au-delà d’un seuil de 25 % de baisse des revenus pour l’année d’imposition 2020 par rapport à 2018 ou à 2019. La prestation maximale est de 10 164 $.

Qui est admissible?

Les personnes suivantes sont admissibles à la Prestation aux pêcheurs :

Qui n’est pas admissible?

Les personnes suivantes ne sont pas admissibles à la Prestation aux pêcheurs :

Veuillez consulter la page COVID-19 – Information pour l’industrie, les Autochtones et les autres partenaires pour vous informer au sujet des autres mesures de soutien auxquelles vous pourriez être admissible.

Quels renseignements devrai-je fournir?

Les personnes qui demandent la Prestation aux pêcheurs doivent fournir les renseignements suivants :

Subvention aux pêcheurs

La Subvention pour les pêcheurs est une subvention non remboursable aux pêcheurs indépendants titulaires d'un permis de pêche commerciale valide en 2020 (délivré par le MPO ou leur province ou territoire pour les pêcheurs commerciaux en eau douce). La Subvention fournit une aide non remboursable maximale pouvant atteindre 10 000 $, selon le niveau des revenus de pêche historiques des pêcheurs en 2018 ou en 2019.

Qui est admissible?

Les personnes suivantes sont admissibles à la Subvention aux pêcheurs :

Critères supplémentaires pour la Subvention aux pêcheurs

Qui n’est pas admissible?

Les personnes suivantes ne sont pas admissibles à la Subvention aux pêcheurs :

Veuillez consulter la page COVID-19 – Information pour l’industrie, les Autochtones et les autres partenaires pour vous informer au sujet des autres mesures de soutien auxquelles vous pourriez être admissible.

Quels renseignements devrai-je fournir?

Les personnes qui demandent la Subvention aux pêcheurs doivent fournir les renseignements suivants :

Foire aux questions

Nous recommandons aux pêcheurs de consulter la Foire aux questions avant de contacter le centre d’appels de Service Canada.

Date de modification :