Language selection

Search

Insurance conditions

Dated: April 14, 2011

On this page

Except as otherwise directed by Amendment to the Tender Documents, the Contractor shall, at the Contractor's expense, maintain all insurance required of these Insurance Conditions.

Insurance conditions
(PDF, 0.1 Mb)

1 Indemnification

The insurance coverage required by the provisions of these Insurance Conditions shall in no way limit the Contractor's obligations under the General Conditions of the contract. Any additional coverage the Contractor may deem necessary to fulfill the Contractor's obligations under the aforesaid General Conditions shall be at the Contractor's own discretion and expense.

2 Insured

The insurance policy shall insure the Contractor, and shall include, Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, as an additional Insured, with respect to liability arising out of the operations of the contractor with regard to the work.

3 Period of insurance

Unless otherwise directed in writing by the DFO Representative, or otherwise stipulated elsewhere herein, the policies required hereunder shall be in force and be maintained from the date of contract award and until the day of issue of the DFO Representative's Final Certificate of Completion – FP 5136 except that the coverage for Completed Operations Liability shall, in any event, be maintained for a period of at least six (6) years beyond the date of Certificate of Substantial Performance.

4 Proof of insurance

  1. Before commencement of the Work, and within thirty (30) calendar days after acceptance of the Contractor's tender, the Contractor is required to deposit with the DFO Representative an Insurer's Certificate of Insurance Form (FP-5140-E) (PDF, 36 KB) pursuant to the requirements of these Insurance Conditions.
  2. The Certificate of Insurance noted in 4.1 shall disclose all warranties, endorsements or exclusions that alter the standard IBC 2100 and IBC 4042 forms.
  3. Upon request by the DFO Representative, the Contractor shall provide originals or certified true copies of all contracts of insurance maintained by the Contractor pursuant to the provisions contained herein.

The Insurer’s Certificate of Insurance must be completed by the Insurer, not the Broker.

5 Notification

Each insurance policy shall contain a provision that within thirty (30) calendar days prior written notice shall be given by the Insurer to Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, as additional insured, in the event of any material change in, cancellation of, expiration of coverage, or amendment restricting coverage specific to this contract.

6 Payment of deductible

The payment of monies up to the deductible amount made in satisfaction of a claim shall be borne by the Contractor.

7 Commercial general liability

Scope of Policy

  1. The insurance coverage provided shall not be less than that provided by IBC 2100, as amended from time to time, and shall have:
    1. a) an Each Occurrence Limit of not less than $5,000,000
    2. b) products/Completed Operations Aggregate Limit of not less than $5,000,000
    3. c) general Aggregate Limit of not less than $10,000,000 per policy year, if the policy is subject to such a limit
  2. The policy shall include but not necessarily be limited to the following coverages:
    1. all premises, property and operations necessary or incidental to the performance of this contract
    2. personal Injury
    3. Bodily Injury and Property Damage on an "occurrence" basis
    4. "Broad Form" Property Damage including the loss of use of property
    5. removal or weakening of support of any property, building or land whether such support is natural or otherwise
    6. elevator liability, including escalators, hoists, and similar devices
    7. Contingent Employer's Liability
    8. Owner's and Contractor's Protective Liabilities
    9. Blanket Contractual Liability
    10. Completed Operations and Products Liability
    11. Cross Liability – The insurance as is afforded by this policy shall apply in respect to any claim or action brought against any one Insured by any other Insured. The coverage shall apply in the same manner and to the same extent as though a separate policy had been issued to each Insured. The inclusion herein of more than one Insured shall not operate to increase the limit of the Insurer's Liability.
  3. The policy shall either include or be endorsed to include coverage for the following exposures or hazards if the Work is subject thereto:
    1. blasting
    2. pile driving and caisson work
    3. underpinning
    4. removal or weakening of support of any building or land whether such support be natural or otherwise if the work is performed by the insured contractor
    5. demolition
    6. marine risks including piers, wharves and docks
    7. radioactive contamination resulting from the use of commercial isotopes

8 Builders risk/installation floater

Scope of Policy

  1. The insurance coverage provided by a Builder's Risk policy or an Installation Floater policy shall not be less than that provided by IBC 4042 and 4047, as amended from time to time.
  2. The policy shall permit use and occupancy of the project, or any part thereof, where such use and occupancy is for the purposes for which the project is intended upon completion.
  3. The policy may exclude or be endorsed to exclude coverage for loss or damage caused by any of the following:
    1. asbestos
    2. fungi or spores
    3. cyber
    4. terrorism
  4. The amount of insurance shall not be less than the sum of the contract value plus the declared value (if any) set forth in the contract documents of all material and equipment supplied by Canada at the site of the project to be incorporated into and to form part of the finished Work. If the value of the Work is changed, the policy shall be changed to reflect the revised contract value.
  5. The policy shall insure the Contractor and shall include, as an additional Insured, Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.
  6. Unless otherwise directed in writing by the DFO Departmental Representative, or, stipulated elsewhere herein, the policy required herein shall be in force and be maintained from prior to the commencement of work until the day of issue of the Certificate of Substantial Performance.
  7. The policy shall provide that the proceeds thereof are payable to Her Majesty, in accordance with GC10.2, Insurance Proceeds. The Contractor shall, without delay, do such things and execute such documents as are necessary to effect payment of the proceeds.
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Conditions d'assurances

Date: Le 14 avril 2011

Sur cette page

Sauf dans le cas d'instructions contraires contenues dans une modification aux documents constituant la soumission, l'Entrepreneur doit souscrire et maintenir en vigueur à ses frais toutes les assurances exigées par les présentes Conditions d'assurances.

Conditions d'assurances
(PDF, 0.1 Mo)

1 Indemnisation

La garantie d'assurance requise par les dispositions des présentes Conditions d'assurance ne doit d'aucune façon limiter la responsabilité de l'Entrepreneur en vertu des Conditions générales du marché. L'Entrepreneur est libre, à condition d'en assumer le coût, d'ajouter toute garantie complémentaire qu'il peut juger nécessaire pour remplir ses obligations conformément aux Conditions générales du marché.

2 Assurés

Le contrat d'assurance doit assurer l'entrepreneur et doit inclure à titre d'assuré additionnel, Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de Pêches et Océans, à l'égard de la responsabilité découlant des activités de l'entrepreneur ayant trait aux travaux.

3 Période de l'assurance

À moins d'avis contraire par écrit du représentant du MPO, ou d'indication contraire ailleurs dans les présentes, le contrat d'assurance exigé dans les présentes doit prendre effet à partir de la date de l'adjudication du marché et demeurer en vigueur jusqu'au jour de délivrance du Certificat d'achèvement – FP-5136 du représentant du MPO, mis à part le fait que la garantie pour les travaux complétés doit, quoi qu'il en soit, être maintenue pour un délai minimum de (6) six ans suivant la date du Certificat d'achèvement substantiel.

4 Preuve de contrat d'assurance

  1. Avant le début des travaux, et dans un délai de trente (30) jours civils après l'acceptation de sa soumission, l'entrepreneur doit remettre au représentant du MPO une Attestation d'assurance (FP-5140-F) (PDF, 45 Ko), aux exigences des présentes conditions d'assurance.
  2. Le certificat d'assurance dont il est question au paragraphe 4.1 doit préciser l'ensemble des garanties, avenants ou exclusions modifiant les formulaires standards BAC 2100 et BAC 4042.
  3. À la demande du représentant du MPO, l'entrepreneur doit fournir les originaux ou les copies certifiées de tous les contrats d'assurance auxquels l'entrepreneur a souscrit conformément aux exigences des garanties d'assurance décrites aux présentes.

Prendre note que l'attestation d'assurance doit être rempli par l'assureur et non pas par un agent ou courtier.

5 Notification

Chaque contrat d'assurance doit renfermer une disposition selon laquelle trente (30) jours civils avant de procéder à toute modification importante visant la garantie d'assurance, à l'annulation ou à l'expiration de ladite garantie d'assurance ou à la modification limitant la garantie d'assurance spécifique à ce projet, un avis par écrit doit être envoyé par l'assureur à Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada, représenté par le Ministre de Pêches et Océans.

6 Paiement de la franchise

L'entrepreneur doit assumer le paiement de toute sommes d'argent en règlement d'un sinistre, jusqu'à  concurrence de la franchise.

7 Assurance de la responsabilité civile des entreprises

Portée de l'assurance

  1. La garantie d'assurance fournie ne doit pas être inférieure à la garantie fournie par le BAC 2100 avec toutes ses modifications successives et doit avoir :
    1. a) un « Plafond par sinistre » d'au mois 5 000 000$
    2. b) un « Plafond pour risque produits/après travaux » d'au moins 5 000 000$
    3. c) un « Plafond global général » d'au moins 10 000 000$ par année d'assurance, si le contrat d'assurance est assujetti à une telle limite
  2. Le contrat d'assurance doit inclure les garanties suivantes sans toutefois nécessairement s'y limiter :
    1. tous lieux, biens et activités nécessaires ou connexes à l'exécution du présent marché
    2. les dommages de préjudices personnels
    3. les dommages corporels et matériels sur une base d' «  événement »
    4. l'extension de la garantie « Dommages matériels et/ou privation de jouissance »
    5. l'enlèvement ou l'affaiblissement d'un support soutenant des biens, bâtiments ou terrains, que ce support soit naturel ou non
    6. responsabilité civile relative aux ascenseurs, incluant les appareils de levage, les monte-charge et autres appareils similaires
    7. la responsabilité patronale éventuelle
    8. la responsabilité civile indirecte des propriétaires et des Entrepreneurs
    9. la responsabilité contractuelle globale
    10. la responsabilité civile découlant des risques après travaux et des produits
    11. responsabilité réciproque – L'assurance telle que garantie par la présente police s'applique à toute demande d'indemnité faite ou à toute action intentée contre n'importe quel assuré par n'importe quel autre assuré. La garantie d'assurance s'applique de la même façon et dans la même mesure que si une police distincte avait été établie pour chaque assuré. L'inclusion à la présente police de plus d'un assuré ne doit pas augmenter le montant de garantie de l'assureur.
  3. Le contrat d'assurance doit inclure ou avoir un avenant pour l'inclusion d'une garantie pour les risques et dangers suivants si les travaux y sont assujettis:
    1. dynamitage
    2. battage de pieux et travaux par caisson
    3. reprise en sous-œuvre
    4. enlèvement ou affaiblissement d'un support soutenant des bâtiments ou terrains, que ce support soit naturel ou non, si le travail est exécuté par l'entrepreneur assuré
    5. démolition
    6. risques maritime comprenant jetées, quais et appontements
    7. contamination radioactive résultant de l'usage d'isotopes commerciaux

8 Risques des constructeurs / assurance flottante d'installation

Portée de l'assurance

  1. La garantie d'assurance fournie par un contrat d'Assurance des chantiers ou un contrat de Risques d'installation ne doit pas être inférieure à la garantie fournie par les formulaires BAC 4042 et BAC 4047, avec toutes leurs modification successives.
  2. Le contrat doit permettre la mise en service et l'occupation du projet, en totalité ou en partie, pour les fins auxquelles le projet est destiné à son achèvement.
  3. Le contrat d'assurance peut exclure ou avoir un avenant pour l'exclusion d'une garantie pour les pertes et dommages occasionnés par n'importe quel des risques suivants :
    1. amiante
    2. champignons et spores
    3. cyber
    4. terrorisme
  4. Le montant de l'assurance doit égaler au moins la somme de la valeur du marché plus la valeur déclarée (s'il y a lieu) dans les documents du marché de tout le matériel et équipement fourni par le Canada sur le chantier pour être incorporé aux travaux achevée et en faire partie. Si la valeur des travaux est modifiée, le contrat d'assurance doit être modifié pour refléter la valeur révisée du marché.
  5. Le contrat d'assurance doit assurer l'entrepreneur et doit inclure à titre d'assuré additionnel, Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada représentée par le Ministre de Pêches et Océans.
  6. À moins d'avis contraire par écrit du représentant du MPO ou d'indication contraire ailleurs dans les présentes, le contrat d'assurance exigé dans les présentes doit prendre effet avant le début des travaux et demeurer en vigueur jusqu'au jour de délivrance du Certificat d'achèvement substantiel.
  7. Le contrat d'assurance doit stipuler que toute indemnité en vertu d'icelle doit être payée à sa Majesté ou selon les directives du Canada conformément à la CG10.2, « Indemnité d'assurance ». L'entrepreneur doit faire sans délai toutes choses et exécuter tous documents requis pour le paiement de l'indemnité d'assurance.
Date de modification :