Snow Crab

Snow Crab
Latin Name

Chionoecetes opilio

Group Name

Invertebrates

Taxonomy details

Habitat

The Atlantic variety of snow crab occurs in the northeastern Atlantic, near the west coast of Greenland and south to the Gulf of Maine. Snow crabs prefer cold water temperatures and occur at a wide range of depths, from 20 to 2000 metres, most often on sandy or muddy bottoms.

Species Description

Snow crabs are spider-like in shape, with a flat, round carapace (shell) and long, slender legs. Their colour changes as they age. Soon after they moult, snow crabs will be reddish on top and white on the bottom. As they get older, this red will fade to a duller olive shade and their underside will become yellowish. Snow crabs can grow to a maximum carapace width of about 15 centimetres, with males growing more than twice as large as females (females are not harvested commercially for this reason). They have a maximum life span of 12-13 years.

Distribution

Snow crab (Chionoecetes opilio) is a subarctic species found in the northern hemisphere. They are found in the Sea of Japan to the Bering Sea (Alaska and British Columbia). They also extend from west Greenland down the Canadian Atlantic coast to Nova Scotia. Recently, they have been observed and/or introduced into the North and Barents Seas.

Habitat

Figure 1 - Snow crab (Chionoecetes opilio)

Snow crab (Chionoecetes opilio)

Habitat preferences are soft mud bottoms. Smaller crabs are found in more complex habitats with shelter. Larger crab are found at depths from 50 to 300 m and temperatures from -1 to 11 °C on the Scotian Shelf. Extended exposure to temperatures greater than 7 °C are thought to be detrimental to snow crab. Their primary food include: shrimp, fish (capelin and lumpfish), starfish, sea urchins, worms, detritus, large zooplankton, other crabs, ocean quahaug, molluscs, sea snails and sea anemones. Predators of snow crab are halibut, skates (especially thorny skate), cod, seals, American plaice, squids, and other crabs. Crab in the size range of 3 to 30 mm carapace width (CW) are particularly vulnerable to predation as are soft-shelled crab in the spring moulting season.

A female snow crab produces from 16,000 to 160,000 eggs in the spring which are brooded by the mothers for up to 2 years, depending upon ambient temperatures, food availability. Eggs are hatched from late spring to early summer when they become pelagic (zoea stages 1 and 2 and the intermediate megalopea stage) feeding upon plankton. After 3 to 5 months in the pelagic stage, they settle to the bottom in late autumn and winter. Bottom dwelling postlarval stages (instars) moult approximately twice a year until they reach instar 5 after which they generally moult once a year, up to a terminal moult which occurs somewhere between instars 9 to 14 for males, and 9 to 11 for females. Snow crab can become sexually mature by the 9th instar. Prior to the terminal moult, male crab may skip a moult in one year to moult in the next. Male snow crab reach legal size by the 12th instar, representing an age of approximately 9 years since settlement to the bottom. Some males of instar 11 will also be within legal size.

Figure 2 - Life Cycle

Life Cycle

Females begin to moult to maturity at an average size of approximately 55 mm CW and mate between winter/spring while the carapace is still soft. Complex behavioural patterns have been observed: the male helps the female remove her shell during her moult, protects her from other males and predators and even feeds her (indirectly). Pair formations (mating embrace where the male holds the female) have been seen to occur up to 3 weeks prior to mating. Upon larval release, males have been seen to wave the females about to help disperse the larvae. Females are selective in their mate choice and may die in the process of resisting mating attempts from unsolicited males. Males compete heavily for females and often injure themselves or the females (losing appendages) while contesting over a female. Once terminally moulted, snow crab can live up to 6 more years, under optimal conditions. This means that females can reproduce two or more times, depending upon environmental conditions. The carapace condition rapidly deteriorates in the last year of its life, a stage that is generally associated with a mossy and decalcified carapace.

Between molts, the crab builds more organic tissues and prepares a new shell under the old one. When this process is completed and the conditions are suitable, the body shell splits at the back and the crab molts by backing slowly out of the old shell. Large crabs may take up to 10 hours to emerge from the old shell. Immediately after molting, the wrinkled, soft crab takes up water and swells to its new size in a few hours. The soft shell, covering all the body and the legs, gradually hardens and again, more muscles and other tissues grow inside, replacing the water that was absorbed at molting. It may take two months or more depending upon temperatures and food availability for a large mature crab to lose its soft-shell condition before it is at its best for harvesting.

Maturity

Snow crab are sexually dimorphic with mature males having proportionally longer legs and larger claws than females. The abdomen, which is relatively small and folded under the body, is quadrilateral in males but circular in females. When sexually mature, the claws of males become proportionally larger than those of females or immature males. In mature females, the abdomen increases proportionally in size and the small appendages under the abdomen become large and branched with many fine hairs upon which the eggs are eventually deposited. Size at maturity for females is near 50 mm carapace width while males mature at a carapace width of 95 mm. At each molt, mature males grow about 20 percent in width and 60 percent in weight. Less is known of the growth rates of females.

Fishery

The snow crab fishery in eastern Canada began in 1960 with incidental by-catches by groundfish draggers near Gaspé, Quebec. Its development was slow until the 1980s when it began expanding rapidly to become one of the largest fisheries in Canada, in terms of landings and landed value. On the Scotian Shelf, the fishery has been in existence since the early 1970s with landings at levels of 1,000 t. By 1979, this rose to 1,500 t subsequent to which the fishery declined substantially in the mid-1980s. A large pulse of recruitment to the fishery was observed in 1986. Total landings increased to record-levels of approximately 10,000 t each year in the early 2000s. The spatial distribution of total landings has shifted from being mostly derived from inshore areas in the past (2000-2002) to mostly from the offshore areas. Females have no commercial value due to their smaller size. This serves to protect their reproductive capacity from harm from human exploitation.

Management

Figure 3 - Probability of observing Snow Crab (habitat space)

Probability of observing Snow Crab (habitat space)

On the Scotian Shelf, the snow crab fishery is managed as three main areas: N-ENS, S-ENS and CFA 4X. There is no biological basis for these spatial divisions. They represent ad-hoc divisions based upon political, social, economic and historical convenience. In 2005, many areas and subareas were merged, except for Crab Fishing Areas (CFAs) 23A, 23 and 24. Similarly, fishing seasons have evolved for economic, safety and conservation considerations: severe weather conditions; catch of soft-shell and white crab; disruption of mating periods; and overlap with other fisheries, especially lobster. In particular, the CFA 4X season was set to run from the beginning of November to the end of May, completely disjoint from the ENS fishing period of June to September. The rationale for this choice was that better quality snow crab were caught during this period for the commercial market with the least amount of overlap with the lobster season.

From 1982 to 1993, the management of the N- and S-ENS fisheries was based on effort controls (size, sex, shell-hardness, season, license, trap limits). Additional management measures were introduced from 1994 to 1999: individual boat quotas (IBQs), total allowable catches (TACs), 100% dockside monitoring, mandatory logbooks and at-sea monitoring by certified observers (currently, 5%, 10%, and 10% in N-ENS, S-ENS, and CFA 4X, respectively). Vessel monitoring systems (VMS) have been gradually implemented in this fishery. Voluntary management measures requested by fishermen were also introduced in some areas, such as a shortened fishing season and reduced numbers of traps. The designation of a temporary licence holder was dropped in 2005.

Figure 4 - Probability of observing snow crav vs. temperature

Probability of observing snow crav vs. temperature

In 2006, an updated soft shell protocol was adopted in S-ENS due to the expectation of an increased incidence of soft-shelled snow crab and the potential harm associated with handling mortality. The relative abundance of soft-shelled crab observed by at-sea-observers was relayed within 24 hours of landing to DFO, which was subsequently plotted on a 2-minute grid and broadcast to all members of industry. Fishers were requested to voluntarily avoid fishing within 1.5 nautical miles of the locations that had greater than 20% soft crab in the observed catch. This voluntary adaptive fishing protocol allowed fishers to rapidly move fishing gear away from or altogether avoid potentially problematic areas (helping also to save their time and fuel). This approach was not adopted in CFA 4X, where very low incidence of soft crab due to timing of season has traditionally been observed. In N-ENS, extremely high soft crab landings in 2007 required more substantial management measures: an experimental early fishing season which was largely successful, in addition to the standard summer season; and closure of sub-areas based on observer reports of high soft crab incidence. Finally, the voluntary return to the sea of immature, legal sized crab ("pencil-clawed" crab) was implemented in 2006 for all areas on the Scotian Shelf to allow these crab to moult to maturity and so maximise the total yield per crab captured and simultaneously the total lifetime reproductive success of these large-sized males.

A trawl survey of snow crab on the Scotian Shelf was developed by the Gulf Fisheries Centre, Moncton, New Brunswick (GFC) as a fisheries-independent assessment approach in 1996 and accepted in 1999. These surveys demonstrated the presence of previously unexploited crab in the southeastern shelf area, which subsequently led to large increases in TACs (Tables 2-4), catch rates and fishing effort (Figures 2, 4). Trawl surveys were formally extended to CFA 4X in 2004 and are now the basis for all assessments.

Research

The research conducted on the Scotian Shelf focus upon the following major themes:

  1. Increased knowledge of the timing and control of life cycles: when and why do the crab moult/grow, reproduce and die?
  2. What are the habitat requirements and preferences of snow crab?
  3. Development of spatially-explicit models for accurate assessment of population status.
  4. What is the ecological role of snow crab on the Scotian Shelf?
  5. How important is climate variability and change for the future of the snow crab?

The research results are incorporated directly into our assessments of the snow crab and can be found in our research documents. The most recent can be obtained from:
http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/Csas/Publications/ResDocs-DocRech/2008/2008_003_e.htm

Fishery-specific information can also be found here:
http://www.enssnowcrab.com/

Information on other research projects can be obtained from:
https://sites.google.com/site/autocatalysis/

Crabe des neiges (Atlantique)

Crabe des neiges (Atlantique)
Nom latin

Chionoecetes opilio

Nom du groupe

invertébrés

Information taxonomique (en anglais seulement)

Habitat

Le crabe des neiges fréquente l’Atlantique Nord-Est, de la côte Ouest du Groenland au golfe du Maine. Il préfère les eaux froides et il vit entre 20 et 2 000 mètres de profondeur sur des fonds le plus souvent sablonneux ou vaseux

Description de l'espèce

Le crabe des neiges a une forme semblable à celle des araignées, avec une carapace ronde et plate et des pattes longues et minces. Sa coloration varie en fonction de l’âge. Peu après la mue, la partie dorsale de la carapace du crabe des neiges est rougeâtre et la partie ventrale est blanche. Au fil du temps, la coloration rouge de la partie dorsale pâlit et devient olive terne, tandis que le ventre devient jaunâtre. La carapace du crabe des neiges peut atteindre environ 15 centimètres de largeur, et les mâles atteignent une taille plus de deux fois supérieure à celle des femelles (les femelles ne font pas l’objet d’une pêche commerciale pour cette raison). Le crabe des neiges vit 12 ou 13 ans.

Répartition

Le crabe des neiges (Chionoecetes opilio) est une espèce subarctique qu'on trouve dans l'hémisphère Nord. Il est présent depuis la mer du Japon jusqu'à la mer de Béring (Alaska et Colombie Britannique) et également depuis l'ouest du Groenland jusqu'en Nouvelle-Écosse sur la côte atlantique. Peut-être a-t-il été introduit dans la mer du Nord et la mer de Barents, où on l'a observé récemment.

Habitat

Figure 1 - Le crabe des neiges (Chionoecetes opilio)

Le crabe des neiges (Chionoecetes opilio)

Les habitats de prédilection du crabe des neiges sont les fonds vaseux mous, mais les petits individus fréquentent des habitats plus complexes, qui leur offrent de l'abri. Sur le plateau néo-écossais, les plus grands crabes des neiges évoluent à des profondeurs de 50 à 300 m, dans des eaux dont les températures s'échelonnent entre -1 et 11 °C. On pense qu'une exposition prolongée à des températures de plus de 7 °C est défavorable au crabe des neiges. Les principales nourritures de ce crustacé sont les crevettes, les poissons (capelan et lompe), les étoiles de mer, les oursins, les vers, les détritus, les grands organismes zooplanctoniques, les autres crabes, les quahogs nordiques, les mollusques, les natices et les anémones de mer. Les prédateurs du crabe des neiges sont le flétan, les raies (en particulier la raie épineuse), la morue, les phoques, la plie canadienne, l'encornet et les autres crabes. Les crabes dont la largeur de la carapace (LC) se situe entre 3 et 30 mm sont particulièrement vulnérables à la prédation, comme le sont aussi les crabes à carapace molle durant la mue de printemps.

Figure 2 - Cycle biologique

Cycle biologique

Les crabes des neiges femelles produisent de 16 000 à 160 000 œufs au printemps; ces œufs sont incubés par les femelles pendant une période qui peut aller jusqu'à 2 ans, selon les températures ambiantes et la nourriture. Les œufs viennent à éclosion entre la fin du printemps et le début de l'été. En sortent des larves pélagiques (stades zoé 1 et 2 et stade mégalope intermédiaire), qui se nourrissent de plancton. Au bout de 3 à 5 mois à l'état pélagique, les larves se fixent sur le fond à la fin de l'automne et en hiver. Dans les premiers stades postlarvaires qui suivent l'implantation sur le fond marin, le crabe mue environ deux fois l'an. Il mue généralement une fois l'an à partir du 5e stade jusqu'à la mue terminale (qui survient aux stades 9 à 14 chez les mâles et 9 à 11 chez les femelles). Le crabe des neiges peut atteindre la maturité sexuelle dès le 9e stade. Avant la mue terminale, le crabe mâle peut sauter une mue une année et muer l'année suivante. Les crabes des neiges mâles arrivent en général à la taille réglementaire au 12e stade, soit à un âge d'environ 9 ans après la fixation des larves au fond. Certains mâles du 11e stade ont déjà atteint la taille réglementaire.

Les femelles commencent à muer vers le stade de maturité à une taille moyenne d'environ 55 mm de LC et elles s'accouplent entre l'hiver et le printemps, tandis que leur carapace est encore molle. On a observé chez le crabe des neiges des comportements complexes : le mâle aide la femelle à se défaire de sa carapace pendant la mue, la protège des autres mâles et des prédateurs et va même jusqu'à la nourrir (indirectement). On a vu des couples se former (étreinte de la femelle par le mâle) jusqu'à trois semaines avant l'accouplement. On a vu aussi, lors de l'émergence des larves, des mâles secouer les femelles pour aider à la dispersion des larves. Les femelles sont sélectives dans le choix de leur partenaire et il arrive qu'elles trouvent la mort en résistant aux tentatives d'accouplement des mâles non élus. Les mâles, quant à eux, se disputent âprement la faveur des femelles et, ce faisant, se blessent souvent (perdant certains de leurs appendices). Après sa mue terminale, le crabe des neiges peut vivre jusqu'à encore 6 ans lorsque les conditions sont optimales. Cela signifie que les femelles peuvent se reproduire deux fois, voire davantage, selon les conditions environnementales. La dernière année d'existence du crabe, l'état de la carapace se détériore rapidement, celle-ci devenant généralement mousseuse et décalcifiée.

Entre les mues, le crabe forme de nouveaux tissus organiques et se forge une nouvelle carapace sous l'ancienne. Au terme de ce processus et quand les conditions sont favorables, la carapace du corps se fend sur le dos et le crabe mue en s'expulsant doucement, à reculons, de son ancienne carapace. Il peut falloir jusqu'à 10 heures aux grands crabes pour se défaire de leur ancienne carapace. Sitôt après la mue, le crabe mou et ridé absorbe de l'eau et gonfle jusqu'à ce qu'il atteigne sa nouvelle taille, ce qui prend quelques heures. La carapace molle, qui recouvre tout le corps et les pattes, durcit progressivement. Une fois encore, le crabe forme sous sa récente carapace de nouveaux tissus et muscles qui viennent remplacer l'eau absorbée durant la mue. Il peut s'écouler deux mois ou plus, selon les températures et la disponibilité de la nourriture, avant que la carapace d'un grand crabe adulte cesse d'être molle et atteigne sa condition optimale pour la pêche.

Maturité

Le crabe des neiges est sexuellement dimorphe, c'est à dire que parmi les individus à maturité les pattes sont plus longues et les pinces plus grosses, proportionnellement, chez les mâles que chez les femelles. L'abdomen, qui est relativement petit et replié sous le corps, a une forme de quadrilatère chez les mâles, alors qu'il est circulaire chez les femelles. ì la maturité sexuelle, les pinces des mâles deviennent proportionnellement plus grosses que celles des femelles ou des mâles immatures. Chez les femelles à maturité, la taille de l'abdomen augmente proportionnellement et les petits appendices situés sous l'abdomen grandissent aussi et se dotent de nombreuses soies fines sur lesquelles les œufs seront pondus. La taille à la maturité se situe à environ 50 mm de largeur de carapace chez les femelles et 95 mm chez les mâles. ì chaque mue, la largeur de la carapace et le poids des mâles adultes augmentent de 20 % et 60 %, respectivement. On ne connaît pas bien les taux de croissance des femelles.

La pêche

La pêche du crabe des neiges dans l'est du Canada a débuté en 1960, sous forme de prises accessoires par les dragueurs de poisson de fond près de Gaspé, au Québec. Son développement a été lent jusque dans les années 1980; elle a ensuite connu une expansion rapide, qui allait l'amener à devenir une des plus grandes pêches du pays, de par la quantité et la valeur de ses débarquements. Sur le plateau néo-écossais, la pêche du crabe des neiges existe depuis le début des années 1970; elle produisait alors des débarquements de l'ordre de 1 000 t. Après avoir atteint 1 500 t en 1979, ces débarquements ont fléchi considérablement au milieu des années 1980. Une forte vague de recrutement à la pêche a été observée en 1986. Les débarquements totaux ont atteint des sommets sans précédent, d'environ 10 000 t chaque année, au début de la décennie 2000. La répartition spatiale des débarquements totaux, qui était auparavant (2000-2002) fondée surtout sur les zones de pêche côtière, repose maintenant principalement sur les zones de pêche du large. Les femelles n'ont pas de valeur commerciale en raison de leur plus petite taille. Cela contribue à les mettre à l'abri des dangers de l'exploitation humaine et à protéger leur capacité de reproduction.

Gestion

Figure 3 - Probabilité d'observation de crabes des neiges (zones d'habitat)

Probabilité d'observation de crabes des neiges (zones d'habitat)

La gestion de la pêche du crabe des neiges sur le plateau néo-écossais s'effectue selon trois grandes zones : le nord-est de la Nouvelle-Écosse (N. E.N. É.), le sud-est de la Nouvelle-Écosse (S. E.N. É.) et la ZPC 4X. Ce découpage spatial n'a pas de fondement biologique, mais il établit des divisions ponctuelles en fonction de considérations politiques, sociales, économiques et historiques. En 2005, de nombreuses zones et sous zones ont été fusionnées, à l'exception des zones de pêche du crabe (ZPC) 23A, 23 et 24. Parallèlement, les saisons de pêche ont évolué pour des raisons d'économie, de sécurité et de conservation, p. ex. en fonction des conditions météorologiques difficiles, des captures de crabes blancs ou de crabes à carapace molle, de la perturbation des périodes de reproduction ou du chevauchement avec d'autres pêches, spécialement celle du homard. En particulier, la saison dans la ZPC 4X a été fixée pour la période allant du début de novembre à la fin de mai, et a donc été complètement disjointe de la saison dans l'E.N. É., qui va de juin à septembre. Ce changement se justifiait par la meilleure qualité des crabes des neiges destinés au marché commercial qui étaient capturés pendant la période en question et par un moindre chevauchement avec la saison de pêche du homard.

De 1982 à 1993, la gestion de la pêche du crabe des neiges dans le N. E.N. É. et le S. E.N. É., a été fondée sur la limitation de l'effort (taille et sexe des crabes capturés, saison, permis, nombre maximal de casiers). D'autres mesures de gestion ont été introduites dans la pêche de 1994 à 1999 : quotas individuels par bateau (QIB), totaux autorisés des captures (TAC), 100 % de vérification à quai, journaux de bord obligatoires et surveillance en mer par des observateurs agréés (celle ci est actuellement de 5 %, de 10 % et de 10 %, dans le N. E.N. É., le S. E.N. É. et la ZPC 4X, respectivement). Des systèmes de surveillance des navires (VMS) ont été adoptés progressivement dans cette pêche. De plus, des mesures de gestion volontaires ont aussi été introduites dans certaines zones à la demande des pêcheurs, comme le raccourcissement de la saison de pêche et la diminution du nombre de casiers. La catégorie de titulaires de permis temporaires a été abandonnée en 2005.

Figure 4 - Probabilité d'observation de crabes des neiges selon la température

Probabilité d'observation de crabes des neiges selon la température

En 2006, un nouveau protocole sur les crabes à carapace molle a été adopté dans le S. E.N. É., parce qu'on s'attendait à y trouver une plus grande abondance de ces crabes, qui risquaient donc de subir des dommages dus à leur manutention. L'abondance relative des crabes à carapace molle constatée par les observateurs en mer a été signalée dans les 24 heures suivant les débarquements au MPO, qui en a ensuite établi une représentation selon un quadrillage par secteurs de 2 minutes et en a fait part à tous les membres de l'industrie. Ceux-ci ont été invités à s'abstenir volontairement de pêcher dans un rayon de 1,5 mille marin des lieux où les prises observées contenaient plus de 20 % de crabes à carapace molle. Ce protocole de pêche volontairement adaptée a permis aux pêcheurs de retirer rapidement leurs engins de pêche des zones problématiques ou tout simplement d'éviter ces dernières (et ce faisant de réaliser en même temps des économies de temps et de carburant). Cette approche n'a toutefois pas été adoptée dans la ZPC 4X, où en raison de la période à laquelle se déroule la pêche des prises de crabes à carapace molles observées ont toujours été faibles. Dans le N. E.N. É., les débarquements extrêmement élevés de crabes à carapace molle observés en 2007 ont nécessité des mesures de gestion plus importantes : une pré-saison de pêche expérimentale, en plus de la saison estivale normale, qui a connu un grand succès et la fermeture de sous zones en fonction des rapports d'observateurs signalant une forte abondance de crabes à carapace molle. Enfin, la remise à l'eau volontaire des crabes immatures de taille réglementaire a été adoptée en 2006 dans toutes les zones du plateau néo-écossais, dans le but de permettre à ces crabes de muer jusqu'à la maturité et de maximiser ainsi le rendement total par crabe capturé, et par voie de conséquence le succès de reproduction total de ces mâles de grande taille sur l'ensemble de leur vie.

Le Centre des pêches du Golfe (CPG), situé à Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick), a conçu en 1996 un relevé au chalut sur le crabe des neiges du plateau néo-écossais destiné à servir d'évaluation indépendante de la pêche. Cette approche a été acceptée en 1999. Les relevés au chalut ont montré la présence de crabes jusque-là inexploités dans le sud-est du plateau, ce qui a mené subséquemment à de fortes augmentations du TAC (tableaux 2-4), des taux de prises et de l'effort de pêche (figures 2, 4). Ces relevés ont été officiellement étendus à la ZPC 4X en 2004 et ils forment maintenant la base de toutes les évaluations.

Recherche

Les travaux de recherche réalisés sur le plateau néo-écossais sont axés sur les grands thèmes suivants:

  1. Meilleure connaissance de la période d'apparition des diverses phases du cycle biologique et des phénomènes qui les régissent : quand et pour quelle raison le crabe mue, croît, se reproduit et meurt-il?
  2. Besoins et préférences du crabe des neiges en matière d'habitat.
  3. Élaboration de modèles spatiaux explicites permettant une bonne évaluation de l'état des populations.
  4. Rôle écologique du crabe des neiges sur le plateau néo-écossais.
  5. Importance de la variabilité du climat et du changement climatique pour l'avenir du crabe des neiges.

Les résultats de ces travaux sont directement intégrés dans nos évaluations du crabe des neiges et sont exposés dans nos documents de recherche. Le plus récent d'entre eux figure dans le site suivant: http://www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/Csas/Publications/ResDocs-DocRech/2008/2008_003_f.htm (en anglais seulement avec résumé en français).

Des renseignements propres à la pêche sont aussi présentés dans le site suivant : http://www.enssnowcrab.com/ (en anglais seulement).

Le site https://sites.google.com/site/autocatalysis/ (en anglais seulement) contient des renseignements sur d'autres projets de recherche.