Ringed seal

Ringed seal. Photo Credit: Mike Hammill

Photo Credit: Mike Hammill

Size: The smallest species in the seal family, Ringed seals average about 1.5m in length and weigh between 50–70 kg.

Feeding habits: Ringed seals eat a wide variety of small prey including mysids, shrimp, Arctic cod, herring, smelt, whitefish, sculpins, perch, and other small fish or crustaceans.

Reproduction and life cycle: Females give birth to a single pup in March or April. Pups are born in a snow lair where they are protected from the environment and predators. They are weaned after one month.

Lifespan: 25 to 30 years.

Distribution: Ringed seals reside in Arctic waters and are commonly associated with ice floes and pack ice. The ringed seal maintains a breathing hole in the ice allowing it to use ice habitat that other seals cannot. Ringed seals have a circumpolar distribution from approximately 35°N to the North Pole, occurring in all seas of the Arctic Ocean. In the North Pacific, they are found in the southern Bering Sea and range as far south as the Seas of Okhotsk and Japan.

Population trends: Little is known about the population of ringed seals in the northwest Atlantic. However the North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission (NAMMCO) estimates that approximately 1.2 million ringed seals would be needed to account for a proportion of the number of seals harvested and killed by polar bears in Baffin Bay.

Conservation status in Canada: The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) designated ringed seals ‘Not at Risk’ in April 1989. The COSEWIC Marine Mammal Subcommittee has recommended that there be a new assessment.

Phoque annelé

Phoque annelé. Photo : Mike Hammill

Photo : Mike Hammill

Taille : En tant que plus petite espèce de la famille des phoques, le phoque annelé mesure en moyenne environ 1,5 m de et pèse entre 50 et 70 kg.

Habitudes alimentaires : Les phoques annelés se nourrissent d'une variété de petites proies, dont les mysidacés, les crevettes, la morue arctique, le hareng, l'éperlan, le corégone, le chabot, la perchaude et d'autres petits poissons ou crustacés.

Reproduction et cycle de vie : Les femelles donnent naissance à un seul petit en mars ou en avril. Les petits naissent dans un abri de neige où ils sont protégés contre l'environnement et les prédateurs. Ils sont sevrés après un mois.

Espérance de vie : 25 à 30 ans.

Répartition : Le phoque annelé réside dans les eaux arctiques et est communément associé à des couches de glace flottante et des banquises. Le phoque annelé maintient un trou de respiration dans la glace, ce qui lui permet d'utiliser l'habitat de banquise que les autres phoques n'utilisent pas. Les phoques annelés ont une répartition circumpolaire à partir de 35° N environ en allant vers le Pôle Nord et elle a lieu dans toutes les mers de l'océan Arctique. Dans le Pacifique Nord, on le retrouve dans la partie sud de la mer de Béring et aussi loin au sud que les mers d'Okhotsk et du Japon.

Tendances démographiques : On en sait très peu sur la population de phoques annelés de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest. Toutefois, la North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission estime qu'il faudrait près de 1,2 million de phoques annelés pour remplacer le nombre de phoques chassés et tués par les ours polaires dans la baie de Baffin.

Situation en matière de conservation au Canada : Le COSEPAC a désigné le phoque à capuchon comme espèce « non en péril », en avril 1989. Le sous-comité des mammifères marins du COSEPAC a recommandé de faire une nouvelle évaluation.