Bearded seal

Bearded seal. Photo Credit: Mike Hammill

Photo Credit: Mike Hammill

Size: The bearded seal reaches about 2.1 m to 2.7 m in length and weighs between 200-430 kg.

Feeding habits: The bearded seal feeds on a variety of small prey found along the ocean floor, including crabs, clams, squid, and small amounts of fish. Its whiskers serve as feelers in the soft bottom sediments.

Reproduction and life cycle: In the Canadian Arctic, seal pups are born in May. Further south, in Alaska, most pups are born in late April. Pups are born on small drifting ice floes in shallow waters and enter the water only hours after they are born, and quickly become proficient divers. Pups nurse for 18–24 days, during which time they grow at an average rate of 3.3 kg per day.

Lifespan: 25 years.

Distribution: Bearded seals are found in the Northern Hemisphere with a circumpolar distribution that does not extend farther north than 80°N. In Canada, bearded seals are found throughout the Arctic and along the Labrador coast south to northern Newfoundland.

Population trends: unknown

Conservation status in Canada: The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) defines the status of bearded seals as ‘Data Deficient’.

Phoque barbu

Phoque barbu. Photo : Mike Hammill

Photo : Mike Hammill

Taille : Le phoque barbu mesure de 2,1 m à 2,7 m de long environ et pèse de 200 à 430 kg.

Habitudes alimentaires : Le phoque barbu se nourrit d'une variété de petites proies le long du plancher océanique, notamment le crabe, la mye, le calmar et des petites quantités de poissons. Ses moustaches servent d'antennes dans les sédiments de fonds meubles.

Reproduction et cycle de vie : Dans l'Arctique canadien, les blanchons naissent en mai. Plus au sud, en Alaska, la plupart des phoques naissent à la fin avril. Ils naissent sur de petites plaques de glace flottante dans des eaux peu profondes et ils entrent dans l'eau quelques heures seulement après leur naissance et deviennent rapidement des plongeurs chevronnés. L'allaitement dure 18 à 24 jours, période au cours de laquelle ils engraissent à un rythme de 3,3 kg par jour.

Espérance de vie : 25 ans.

Répartition : On retrouve le phoque barbu dans l'hémisphère Nord avec une répartition circumpolaire qui ne dépasse pas au nord le 80e parallèle. Au Canada, on le retrouve partout dans l'Arctique et le long du littoral du Labrador, au sud de la partie nord de Terre-Neuve.

Tendances démographiques : Inconnues.

État de conservation au Canada : Le COSEPAC définit l'état du phoque barbu comme présentant des « données insuffisantes ».