Heritage lighthouses

Many heritage lighthouses are protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act or given special status by the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office.

On this page

Protecting heritage lighthouses

The Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act helps protect Canada’s cultural heritage once a surplus lighthouse is transferred to a new owner. New owners or custodians of these properties must care for and responsibly manage them by following the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. Restorations to heritage lighthouses must be consistent with national standards of conservation.

Designation of heritage lighthouses

A lighthouse can only be designated a heritage site after it’s been petitioned for heritage status. The process to transfer a lighthouse involves submitting a plan explaining how proponents intend to use the lighthouse. Generally, the public continues to have access to these sites because most surplus lighthouses are transferred to:

  • provinces
  • townships
  • non-profits
  • municipalities
  • Indigenous groups

Based on the plan for intended use, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada:

  • evaluates the historical, architectural and community value of the nominated lighthouse
  • recommends whether to transfer the lighthouse to new owners and designate the property as a heritage site

On some heritage lighthouse sites, the Government of Canada continues to operate aids to navigation. The new owners must allow the government to continue to operate and maintain the navigational equipment.

The government maintains a grants and contributions program for the disposal of surplus lighthouses, valued at $500,000 annually, to help:

  • transfer heritage lighthouses
  • ensure they’re conserved and accessible to the public

 Parks Canada has more information on:

Acquiring a heritage lighthouse

The government must consider various aspects of the transaction before transferring ownership of a lighthouse. Maintaining public access is a main consideration. Refer to the Alternate Use Study of Surplus Lighthouses to see how lighthouse around the world have been repurposed.

Contact us

For more information, contact Fisheries and Oceans Canada at info@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Les phares patrimoniaux

De nombreux phares patrimoniaux sont protégés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux. Ils se voient aussi accorder un statut spécial par le Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.

Sur cette page

Protection des phares patrimoniaux

La Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux aide à protéger le patrimoine culturel du Canada lorsqu’un phare excédentaire est transféré à un nouveau propriétaire. Les nouveaux propriétaires ou gardiens de ces propriétés doivent en prendre soin et les gérer de façon responsable en suivant les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Les restaurations des phares patrimoniaux doivent être conformes aux normes nationales de conservation.

Désignation des phares patrimoniaux

Un phare peut seulement être désigné comme site patrimonial après avoir fait l’objet d’une pétition pour son statut patrimonial. Le processus de transfert d'un phare consiste à soumettre un plan qui explique la façon que les promoteurs ont l’intention d'utiliser le phare. En général, le public continue d'avoir accès à ces sites parce que la plupart des phares excédentaires sont transférés aux :

  • cantons
  • provinces
  • municipalités
  • groupes autochtones
  • organismes à buts non lucratifs

Selon le plan d’utilisation continue, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada :

  • évalue la valeur historique, architecturale et communautaire du phare proposé
  • recommande, ou non, le transfert du phare à de nouveaux propriétaires, et désigne la propriété comme étant un bien patrimonial

Sur certains sites de phares patrimoniaux, le gouvernement du Canada continue à utiliser des aides à la navigation. Les nouveaux propriétaires doivent permettre au gouvernement de poursuivre l’utilisation et l’entretien de l’équipement de navigation.

Le gouvernement tient un programme de subventions et de contributions dont la valeur s’élève à 500 000 $ par année pour l’aliénation des phares excédentaires, pour aider à :

  • transférer des phares patrimoniaux
  • s’assurer qu’ils sont conservés et accessibles au public

Parcs Canada dispose de plus d’information sur les phares :

Acquérir un phare patrimonial

Le gouvernement doit tenir compte de divers aspects de la transaction avant de transférer la propriété d’un phare. Le maintien de l’accès au public est un élément essentiel à prendre en considération. Veuillez consulter L’étude sur la reconversion des phares excédentaires pour savoir comment des phares ont été reconvertis partout dans le monde.

Pour nous joindre

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez communiquer avec Pêches et Océans Canada à l’adresse info@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Date de modification :