Marine Protected Areas

PDF Document

Policy - Fisheries and Oceans Canada - March 1999

Table of Contents

Canada's Commitment to Marine Protection

Canada's history has been defined by its surrounding marine environment. The Arctic, Pacific and Atlantic Oceans are important to our culture, our economy, and our national identity. Of equal significance are internal waters having large marine components such as the St. Lawrence Estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Hudson Bay and James Bay.

The richness and biodiversity of Canada's oceans provide enormous potential for both present and future generations. Our continental shelf is one of the largest in the world. The marine ecosystems found there have a remarkable diversity of species, including commercial and non-commercial fish, marine mammals, invertebrates and plants. Canada's oceans provide numerous opportunities for commercial, recreational and aboriginal fisheries; tourism; transportation; mineral production; education; and biological and technical research.

Narwhals
boys playing

In recent years, growth in Canada's ocean sector has resulted in increased pressures on the ocean environment. The biodiversity and ecological integrity of many marine ecosystems are being threatened. There is a need to proactively conserve and protect marine ecosystem functions, species, and habitats for future generations.

Achieving sustainability in the harvest of living ocean resources ultimately depends on healthy, productive ecosystems. A new approach to oceans management is needed, one that takes an ecosystem approach rather than a sectoral one. In recognition of this, the Government of Canada works with other countries to address concerns about the marine environment. Internationally, Canada has demonstrated its commitment by endorsing conventions that pursue the goals of conservation and protection, including the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity and the Global Program of Action for the Protection of the Marine Environment from Land-Based Activities.

It is equally important that the Government of Canada work with Canadians to manage activities in or affecting the marine environment. This vision of oceans management is embodied in the Oceans Act, which came into force in January 1997. The Act confirms Canada's role with respect to oceans management, specifying the need to integrate marine conservation with development activities to maintain healthy ecosystems.

Working together with interested Canadians, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will lead and facilitate the development and implementation of a national strategy for the management of estuarine, coastal, and marine ecosystems. The Oceans Strategy will be based on the principles of sustainable development, integrated management and the precautionary approach.

In addition to the Oceans Strategy, the Oceans Act identifies three complementary initiatives for the conservation and protection of the oceans. These legislated initiatives are:

Definition under the Oceans Act

Canada's Oceans Act (Section 35 (1)) states:

A marine protected area is an area of sea that forms part of the internal waters of Canada, the territorial sea of Canada or the exclusive economic zone of Canada and has been designated under this section for special protection for one or more of the following reasons:

  1. the conservation and protection of commercial and non-commercial fishery resources, including marine mammals, and their habitats;
  2. the conservation and protection of endangered or threatened marine species, and their habitats;
  3. the conservation and protection of unique habitats;
  4. the conservation and protection of marine areas of high biodiversity or biological productivity; and
  5. the conservation and protection of any other marine resource or habitat as is necessary to fulfill the mandate of the Minister (of Fisheries and Oceans Canada).

Program Overview

Bowie Fish

Canada's marine ecosystems are vast and diverse, supporting many different activities. Marine Protected Areas under the Oceans Act must, therefore, satisfy a range of needs in a variety of jurisdictional settings. As a result, the Program uses a flexible approach to the design and management of these areas. The National Framework for Establishing and Managing Marine Protected Areas provides the general approach to MPAs across Canada. Specific program details concerning the conservation, protection and use of the marine environment and its resources will be developed and implemented at the DFO regional level.

Management plans for individual MPAs will be developed with involvement of local resource users, and interested and affected parties. They will set forth details on such issues as partnering responsibilities, funding arrangements, jurisdictional coordination, zoning, protection standards, regulations, permissible activities, enforcement, monitoring and research, and public awareness. MPAs will differ from one another; some may be strict no-take zones while others may be sustainably managed zones. This type of flexible approach is needed in order to meet the range of conservation and protection requirements of MPAs.

To ensure that MPAs are part of a comprehensive initiative to protect the health and function of marine ecosystems, they should be developed and established within the context of integrated management planning. Such planning considers the protection of each area in light of both environmental and socio-economic effects.

Objective

To conserve and protect the ecological integrity of marine ecosystems, species, and habitats through a system of Marine Protected Areas, as per the Oceans Act.

Goals

Code of Practice

In implementing the Marine Protected Areas program, Fisheries and Oceans will:

boat
starfish

Developing a National System of Protected Areas for the Marine Environment

Canada's Oceans Act (Section 35 (2)) states:

For the purposes of integrated management plans ... the Minister (of Fisheries and Oceans) will lead and coordinate the development and implementation of a national system of marine protected areas on behalf of the Government of Canada.

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Parks Canada and Environment Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service) all have mandated responsibilities to create protected areas in the marine environment. Since the Oceans Act names the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans as the lead federal authority responsible for oceans, DFO will lead in the development of a national system of marine protected areas* incorporating the programs of all three departments. Since management of marine ecosystems is a shared responsibility, it is essential to work together to conserve and protect these areas.

The different federal protected area programs share a common objective: to further conservation and protection of living marine resources and their habitats. By coordinating the policies, programs and prospective sites amongst the different federal agencies, the integrity and health of Canada's estuarine, coastal and marine waters will be better maintained. The booklet Working Together For Marine Protected Areas: A National Approach describes the federal programs in greater detail.

Federal Departments and Programs

Fisheries and Oceans

Parks Canada

Environment Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service):

Note:

Within this document, the name 'Marine Protected Area, MPA' refers specifically to the DFO program under the Oceans Act. The name 'marine protected area' is a generic term referring to protected areas in the marine environment created by any agency.

Published by:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Marine Ecosystems Conservation Branch
Oceans Directorate
Ottawa, ON K1A 0E6
DFO / 5870
Minister of Public Works and Government Service Canada 1999
Car. No. Fs23-365 / 1999 
ISBN 0-662-64210-4
Date modified:

Zones de protection marines

PDF Document

Politique - Pêches et Océans Canada - Mars 1999

Table of Contents

Engagement du Canada en matière de protection du milieu marin

L'histoire du Canada a été façonnée par son environnement marin. Les océans Arctique, Pacifique et Atlantique sont des éléments déterminants de notre culture, de notre économie et de notre identité nationale. Nos eaux intérieures, comme l'estuaire et le golfe du Saint-Laurent, la baie d'Hudson et la baie James caractérisées par des composantes marines importantes, le sont aussi.

La richesse et la biodiversité des océans canadiens sont des ressources inestimables pour les générations présentes et futures. Notre plateau continental se situe parmi les plus grands au monde. Ses écosystèmes marins abritent une multitude remarquable d'espèces commerciales et non commerciales de poissons, de mammifères marins, d'invertébrés et de végétaux. Les océans du Canada regorgent de possibilités pour la pêche commerciale, sportive et autochtone, le tourisme, les transports, l'exploitation minière, de l'éducation , ainsi que pour la recherche scientifique dans les domaines de la technologie et de la biologie.

Narwhals
boys playing

Au Canada, ces dernières années, la croissance du secteur des océans a augmenté la pression exercée sur le milieu marin. La biodiversité et l'intégrité écologique de nombreux écosystèmes marins sont menacées. Il faut donc adopter une approche proactive de la conservation et de la protection du fonctionnement des écosystèmes marins, des espèces et des habitats, dont profiteront les générations futures.

L'utilisation durable de la faune et de la flore marines repose en fin de compte sur des écosystèmes sains et productifs. Il est essentiel d'adopter une méthode novatrice de gestion des océans qui soit écosystémique plutôt que sectorielle. C'est la raison pour laquelle le Canada joint ses efforts à ceux d'autres pays pour trouver des solutions aux problèmes de l'environnement marin. À L'échelle internationale, il a démontré son engagement en signant des conventions qui fixent les objectifs de la conservation et de la protection, notamment la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique et le Programme d'action mondial pour la protection du milieu marin contre la pollution due aux activités terrestres.

Il est également important que le gouvernement du Canada s'associe aux citoyens pour gérer les activités qui se déroulent en mer ou dans l'envionnement marin. Cette vision de gestion des océans est enchâssée dans la Loi sur les océans entrée en vigeur en janvier 1997. Celle-ci confirme le rôle du Canada en matière de gestion des océans et précise que le maintien de la santé des écosystèmes dépend de l'intégration des activités de conservation et de développement du milieu marin.

En collaboration avec les Canadiens intéressés, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans dirigera et facilitera l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie nationale de gestion des écosystèmes estuariens, côtiers et marins. La stratégie sur les océans sera basée sur les principes du développement durable, de la gestion intégrée et de la précaution.

À la stratégie sur les océans viennent s'ajouter, en vertu de la Loi sur les océans, trois initiatives complémentaires de conservation et de protection des océans, à savoir:

Définition des zones de protection marines selon la Loi sur les océans

Selon la Loi sur les océans du Canada (35(1)),

Une zone de protection marine est un espace maritime qui fait partie des eaux intérieures, de la mer territoriale ou de la zone économique exclusive du Canada et qui a été désignée en application du présent article en vue d'une protection particulière pour l'une ou plusieurs des raisons suivantes:

  1. la conservation et la protection des ressources halieutiques, commerciales ou autres, y compris les mammifères marins et leur habitat;
  2. la conservation et la protection des espèces en voie de disparition et des espèces menacées, et de leur habitat;
  3. la conservation et la protection d'habitats uniques;
  4. la conservation et la protection d'espaces marins riches en biodiversité ou en productivité biologique;
  5. la conservation et la protection d'autres ressources ou habitats marins pour la réalisation du mandat du ministre.

Vue d'ensemble

Bowie Fish

Les écosystèmes marins vastes et variés du Canada supportent un grand nombre d'activités. Les zones de protection marines, au titre de la Loi sur les océans, doivent donc répondre à une multitude de besoins dans les différentes juridictions. En conséquence, le programme est flexible dans la conception et la gestion de ces zones. Le Cadre national pour l'établissement et la gestion des zones de protection marines définit le mode de fonctionnement général des ZPM dans l'ensemble du Canada. Les détails spécifiques du programme relatifs à la conservation, à la protection et à l'utilisation de l'environnement marin et de ses ressources seront définis et mis en œuvre au niveau régional du MPO.

Les plans de gestion de chacune des ZPM seront élaborés grâce à la participation des utilisateurs de ressources locales, ainsi qu'à celle des parties intéressées et concernées. Ils fourniront les détails relatifs aux responsabilités des partenaires, aux mécanismes de financement, à la coordination des différentes juridictions, au zonage, aux normes de protection, à la réglementation et à son application, aux activités permises, au suivi environnemental, à la recherche scientifique, ainsi qu'à la sensibilisation du public. Les ZPM seront différentes les unes des autres; certaines pourraient être strictement interdites à la pêche alors que d'autres pourraient être gérées selon une approche de développement durable. Cette flexibilité est nécessaire pour satisfaire toute la gamme des exigences rattachées aux ZPM en matière de conservation et de protection.

Afin que les ZPM s'insèrent dans une approche globale de protection de la santé et du fonctionnement des écosystèmes marins, ces zones devront être élaborées au sein d'une gestion intégrée qui permettrait d'évaluer la protection de chaque zone et les impacts environnementaux et socio-économiques.

Objectif

Conserver et protéger l'intégrité écologique des écosystèmes, des espèces et des habitats marins par le biais d'un ensemble de zones de protection marines mis en place conformément aux dispositions de laLoi sur les océans

Buts

Code de pratiques

En mettant en œuvre le programme des zones de protection marines, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans:

boat
starfish

Mise en place d'un système national d'aires marines protégées

Selon la Loi sur les océans du Canada (35(2))

... le ministre des Pêches et des Océans dirige et coordonne l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'un système national d'aires marines protégées au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

Les ministères Pêches et Océans, Parcs Canada et Environnement Canada (Service canadien de la faune) partagent la responsabilité de la création des aires protégées dans l'environnement marin. Comme la Loi sur les océans confère au Ministre des Pêches et des Océans la responsabilité principale des océans au niveau fédéral, son ministère assurera la mise en place d'un système national d'aires marines protégées* incorporant les programmes des trois ministères. Comme la gestion des écosystèmes marins est une responsabilité conjointe, il est essentiel de conjuger les efforts de chacun afin de conserver et de protéger ces aires.

Les différents programmes fédéraux d'aires marines protégées partagent un objectif commun: favoriser la conservation et la protection de la faune et de la flore marines et de leur habitat. En coordonnant les politiques, les programmes et les sites potentiels des différents organismes fédéraux, l'intégrité et la santé des eaux estuariennes et côtières canadiennes seront mieux préservées. La brochure intitulée "La création d'aires marine protégées : une approche concertée" décrit les programmes fédéraux détaillés.

Ministères fédéraux et programmes

Pêches et Océans

Parcs Canada

Environnement Canada (Service canadien de la faune)

Note:

Dans le présent document, L'appellation "Zones de protection marine (ZPM)" fait explicitement référence au programme du ministère des Pêches et des Océans créé au titre de la Loi sur les océans.L'appellation "aire marine protégée" est un terme générique qui fait référence aux zones protégées créées dans l'environnement marin.

Publié par:
Pêches et Océans Canada
Direction de la conservation des écosystèmes marins
Direction générale des océans
Ottawa, (Ontario) K1A 0E6

DFO / 5870

Ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 1999
No. cat. : Fs23-365 / 1999 
ISBN : 0-662-64210-4
Date de modification :