Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents Marine Protected Area (MPA)

Note:

Charts, diagrams and contact information on this website are provided for information purposes only and should not be used for fishing, navigation or other purposes. Please refer to the MPA Regulations or contact your regional Fisheries and Oceans Canada office for official coordinates.

At-A-Glance

At-A-Glance

Location

Juan de Fuca Ridge, British Columbia; Offshore Pacific Bioregion.

Approximate size (km2) contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

97 km2

Approximate % coverage contribution to Marine Conservation Targets

<0.01%

Date of designation

March, 2003

Conservation Objectives
  • Conserve the biological diversity, productivity, structural habitat, and ecosystem function of the hydrothermal vents.

Prohibitions

The Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA Regulations prohibit activities that disturb, damage, destroy or remove from this Area, living marine organisms or any part of their habitat. unless listed as exceptions in the Regulations or approved by the Minister.

Environmental Context

There are five known vent fields on the Endeavour Segment of the Juan de Fuca ridge. Their associated plumes rise rapidly about 300 metres into the overlying water column. Hydrothermal vents in the Endeavour area consist of large hot black smokers, chimney-like structures and surrounding lower temperature sites. The fields span a wide range of hydrothermal venting conditions characterized by different water temperatures and salt content, sulphide structure morphologies, and animal abundance. Temperatures associated with black smokers are typically in excess of 300℃.

Hydrothermal venting systems host one of the highest levels of microbial diversity and animal abundance on earth. In the diffuse vent flows around the sulphide structures, these abundances can range up to half a million animals per square metre. There is an amazing abundance of life in concentrated areas around the vents surrounded by a veritable desert in the deep oceans. There are some 60 distinct species native to the Juan de Fuca Ridge. Many of these species are the first in the world to be identified. Hydrothermal vents at Endeavour are home to 12 species that do not exist anywhere else in the world.

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Dataset for all MPAs available.

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Ecosystem

Ecosystem

Video: Exploring the deep sea: hydrothermal vents of the offshore Pacific

Video: Exploring the deep sea: hydrothermal vents of the offshore Pacific

The Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents Marine Protected Area (MPA) lies in water 2,250 metres deep, 250 kilometres southwest of Vancouver Island. As part of the Juan de Fuca Ridge system, the Endeavour Segment is an active seafloor-spreading zone where tectonic plates diverge and new oceanic crust is extruded onto the seafloor. In these zones, cold sea water percolates downward through the crust where it is heated by the underlying molten lava, eventually emerging through the seafloor as buoyant plumes of particle-rich, superheated fluid. The five known vent fields on the Endeavour Segment are separated along the ridge from one another by about two kilometres. Their associated plumes rise rapidly about 300 metres into the overlying water column.

Hydrothermal vents in the Endeavour area consist of large hot black smokers, chimney-like structures and surrounding lower temperature sites. The fields span a wide range of hydrothermal venting conditions characterized by different water temperatures and salt content, sulphide structure morphologies, and animal abundance. Temperatures associated with black smokers are typically in excess of 300℃. Formation of the large polymetallic sulphide chimneys takes place when dissolved minerals and metallic ions carried upward by the smokers precipitate upon contact with the cold sea water. Cooler waters below 115℃ on the seafloor and along the flanks of the chimneys support an abundance of flora and fauna. This rich ecosystem is supported by microbes whose life processes are fueled by the chemical energy from the emerging fluids in the hydrothermal vents.

Hydrothermal venting systems host one of the highest levels of microbial diversity and animal abundance on earth. The deep ocean near the Endeavour area normally only supports sparse animal abundance of about twenty worms and brittlestars per square metre. In the diffuse vent flows around the sulphide structures, these abundances can range up to half a million animals per square metre. There is an amazing abundance of life in concentrated areas around the vents surrounded by a veritable desert in the deep oceans.

Globally, hydrothermal venting systems foster numerous unique species of animals. There are some 60 distinct species native to the Juan de Fuca Ridge. Many of these species are the first in the world to be identified. Hydrothermal vents at Endeavour are home to 12 species that do not exist anywhere else in the world.

Since its discovery in 1982, the Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents have been a focus of research by Canadian and international scientists. The manned US submersible Alvin and the unmanned vehicle Jason have undertaken a number of missions in the area. Joint Canada-US studies have made use of the Canadian ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Sciences). Fisheries and Oceans Canada has conducted extensive acoustic and moored instrument programs in the area since 1985.

The Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents Marine Protected Area has been designated to ensure the protection of these hydrothermal vents, and the unique ecosystems associated with them. The Regulation to establish the Marine Protected Area prohibits the removal, disturbance, damage or destruction of the venting structures or the marine organisms associated with them. The Regulation allows for scientific research that will contribute to the understanding of the hydrothermal vents ecosystem.

Management & Conservation

Management & Conservation

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

The Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents (EHV) were designated as the first Marine Protected Area under Canada’s Oceans Act in 2003. The designation of the Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents as a MPA provides for the long-term protection of this biologically diverse and productive ecosystem.

The MPA management:

  • ensures that human activities contribute to the conservation, protection and understanding of the natural diversity, productivity and dynamism of the ecosystem
  • ensures that responsible procedures are followed (e.g. sampling, instrument deployment and retrieval, data sharing, appropriate debris disposal).
  • provides research for the conservation, protection and understanding of the area.
  • contributes to public awareness of the values of marine ecosystems and the need to protect them.

The area has been a popular research site for more than 20 years. Scientists come to study unique biota, venting processes and chemistry, as well as seismic and magmatic activity. An organism from this site holds the current record for the upper temperature limit to life: 121℃. Researchers strive to uncover secrets of the formation of Earth’s tectonic plates and chemosynthetic food webs. They also seek a potential glimpse of the origins of life on our planet, and perhaps its origins on others.

Activity Application

Activity application for Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Scientific research is allowed in the Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA if a proponent submits a research plan to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) for Ministerial approval.

Note:

A research plan is not required if the information has been previously submitted to Global Affairs Canada to obtain a consent to conduct scientific research under the Coasting Trade Act.

Begin Activity Application process

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Endeavour Hydrothermal Vents MPA

Date modified:

Zone de protection marine (ZPM) du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

Remarque :

Les cartes, diagrammes et coordonnées sur ce site Web sont fournis à titre indicatif seulement et ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la pêche, la navigation ou autres. Veuillez consulter le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine ou communiquer avec votre bureau régional de Pêches et Océans Canada pour obtenir les coordonnées officielles.

En Bref

En Bref

Emplacement

Crête de Juan de Fuca, Colombie-Britannique; biorégion de l’extracôtière du Pacifique.

Contribution approximative en superficie (km2) aux objectifs de conservation marine

97 km2

Contribution approximative en pourcentage de couverture aux objectifs de conservation marine

< 0,01 %

Date de désignation

Mars 2003

Objectifs de conservation
  • Conserver la diversité biologique, la productivité, l’habitat structurel et les fonctions écosystémiques du champ hydrothermal.

Interdictions

Le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine (ZPM) du champ hydrothermal Endeavour interdit les activités qui perturbent, endommagent, détruisent ou d’enlèvent de cette zone, des organismes marins vivants ou toute partie de leur habitat, à moins que ces activités ne soient approuvées par le ministre.

Contexte environnemental

Il existe cinq champs d’évents hydrothermaux connus du segment Endeavour de la crête de Juan de Fuca. Leurs panaches s’élèvent rapidement à environ 300 mètres dans la colonne d’eau sus-jacente. Les évents hydrothermaux de la zone d’Endeavour sont composés de grands fumeurs chauds noirs et de structures en forme de cheminées, et sont entourés de sites où la température est plus basse. Les champs présentent diverses conditions d’hydrothermalisme, et comportent des caractéristiques différentes de température et de salinité de l’eau, de morphologie des sulfures et d’abondance de la vie animale. Les températures associées aux fumeurs noirs sont généralement supérieures à 300 ℃.

Dans les systèmes d’évents hydrothermaux, on rencontre des diversités microbiennes et des abondances animales qui sont parmi les plus élevées de la planète. Dans les flux diffus autour des édifices de sulfures, ce nombre peut au contraire atteindre un demi-million d’animaux par mètre carré. Il y a donc une abondance remarquable de formes de vie au voisinage immédiat des évents, dans le véritable désert qu’est l’océan profond. Il y a une soixantaine d’espèces animales distinctes particulières à la crête de Juan de Fuca. Nombre d’entre elles y ont été identifiées pour la première fois. On trouve dans la zone d’évents hydrothermaux Endeavour 12 espèces qui n’existent nulle part ailleurs dans le monde.

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

Ensemble de données sur les ZPM disponible.

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

Écosystème

Écosystème

Vidéo : Exploration en eau profonde : les évents hydrothermaux au large des côtes du Pacifique

Vidéo : Exploration en eau profonde : les évents hydrothermaux au large des côtes du Pacifique

La zone de protection marine (ZPM) du champ de cheminées hydrothermales Endeavour se situe par 2 250 mètres de profondeur, à 250 km au sud-ouest de l'île de Vancouver. Le segment Endeavour, qui fait partie du système de la dorsale Juan de Fuca, est une zone active d'ouverture du plancher océanique; les plaques tectoniques s'y écartent et la nouvelle croûte océanique est éjectée sur le fond. Dans ces régions, l'eau de mer froide percole lentement vers le bas à travers la croûte, y est réchauffée par la lave en fusion sous-jacente, puis remonte à travers le plancher océanique en panaches de fluide surchauffé, riche en particules. Les cinq champs de cheminées hydrothermales connus du segment Endeavour sont séparés l'un de l'autre d'environ deux kilomètres, le long de la dorsale. Leurs panaches s'élèvent rapidement jusqu'à quelque 300 mètres au-dessus de l'orifice.

Les bouches hydrothermales de la zone d'Endeavour sont composées de grands fumeurs noirs, structures très chaudes en forme de cheminées, et des sites environnants, de température plus basse. Les champs présentent diverses conditions d'hydrothermalisme, présentant des caractéristiques différentes de température et de salinité de l'eau, de morphologie des sulfures et d'abondance de la vie animale. Les températures associées aux fumeurs noirs sont généralement supérieures à 300 ℃. Les grandes cheminées de sulfures polymétalliques se forment lorsque les minéraux dissous et les ions métalliques transportés vers le haut par les fumeurs précipitent au contact de l'eau de mer froide. Des températures de l'eau plus basses, de moins de 115 ℃ sur le fond marin et les flancs des cheminées, font vivre une abondance d'animaux et de végétaux. Ce riche écosystème vit des bactéries, dont les processus vitaux sont alimentés par l'énergie chimique provenant des fluides éjectés par les bouches hydrothermales.

Dans les systèmes hydrothermaux, on rencontre des diversités microbiennes et des abondances animales qui sont parmi les plus élevées de la planète. L'océan profond à proximité de la zone d'Endeavour ne présente en général que très peu de formes de vie animale, de l'ordre d'une vingtaine de vers et d'ophiures par mètre carré. Dans les flux diffus autour des édifices de sulfures, ce nombre peut au contraire atteindre un demi-million d'animaux par mètre carré. Il y a donc une abondance remarquable de formes de vie au voisinage immédiat des bouches, dans le véritable désert qu'est l'océan profond.

À l'échelle planétaire, les systèmes hydrothermaux abritent un grand nombre d'espèces animales uniques. Il y a une soixantaine d'espèces animales distinctes particulières à dorsale Juan de Fuca. Nombre d'entre elles y ont été identifiées pour la première fois. On trouve, aux bouches hydrothermales d'Endeavour, 12 espèces qui n'existent nulle part ailleurs dans le monde.

Depuis leur découverte en 1982, les bouches hydrothermales Endeavour ont été l'objet de plusieurs recherches de scientifiques canadiennes et étrangères. Le submersible habité américain Alvin et le véhicule télécommandé Jason ont effectué une douzaine de missions dans la région. Des études conjointes Canada-États-Unis ont utilisé le ROPOS (Remotely Operated Platform for Ocean Sciences, ou plate-forme océanographique téléguidée) du Canada. Depuis 1985, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada mène dans la région de vastes programmes à l'aide d'instruments acoustiques et ancrés.

Le champ de cheminées hydrothermales Endeavour a été désigné à titre de zone de protection marine afin d’assurer la protection des bouches hydrothermales et des écosystèmes de nature unique afférents. La réglementation touchant cette ZPM interdit d’enlever, de perturber ou de détruire les bouches hydrothermales de même que les organismes marins correspondants. La réglementation permet toutefois la poursuite d’initiatives scientifiques visant à mieux comprendre l’écosystème des bouches hydrothermales.

Gestion et conservation

Gestion et conservation

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

Les cheminées hydrothermales Endeavour (EHV) ont été les premières zones marines protégées, en 2003, en vertu de la Loi sur les océans au Canada. La désignation des cheminées hydrothermales Endeavour comme ZPM fournit une protection à long terme pour cet écosystème diversifié au niveau biologique et productif.

Plan de gestion des ZPM :

  • Faire en sorte que les activités humaines contribuent à la conservation, à la protection et à une meilleure connaissance de la diversité, de la productivité et du dynamisme naturels de l'écosystème.
  • Faire en sorte que des procédures responsables soient adoptées (p. ex. pour les prises d'échantillons, le déploiement et la récupération des instruments, le partage des données et l'élimination appropriée de débris).
  • Mener des recherches en vue de la conservation, de la protection et d'une meilleure connaissance de la zone.
  • Contribuer à sensibiliser le public aux valeurs des écosystèmes marins et à la nécessité de les protéger.

Depuis plus de 20 ans, la zone a été un site populaire de recherches. Les scientifiques viennent y étudier le biote unique, les processus de la cheminée et la composition chimique ainsi que l’activité séismique et magmatique. Un organisme provenant de ce site détient le record actuel pour la température la plus élevée de la vie : 121 ℃. Les chercheurs tentent de découvrir les secrets de cette formation des plaques tectoniques de la terre et des réseaux alimentaires chimiotrophes. Ils recherchent également un possible aperçu des origines de la vie sur notre planète et, peut-être, l’origine d’autres planètes.

Demande d’activités

Demande d’activités dans la ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

La recherche scientifique est autorisée dans la ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour si un promoteur soumet un plan de recherche au ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) aux fins d’approbation ministérielle.

Remarque :

Un plan de recherche n’est pas nécessaire si l’information a déjà été soumise à Affaires mondiales Canada afin d’obtenir un consentement pour mener des recherches scientifiques en vertu de la Loi sur le cabotage.

Lancer le processus de demande d'activités

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

La ZPM du champ hydrothermal Endeavour

Date de modification :