Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat
Policy on Distribution of Publications

1. Policy Title

Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat (CSAS) Policy on distribution of publications

2. Effective Date

This policy is effective May 1, 2010

3. Policy Objective

To ensure the CSAS of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) publications are distributed to clients in a cost-effective manner while meeting federal obligations under the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada.

4. Policy Statement

CSAS publications are available in electronic format only.

5. Context

CSAS printing costs increased consistently over the last few years, mainly as a result from the increased number of requests for advice and the associated publications as well as from increasing cost of production.

As stipulated in the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada (2004): responsible use of public funds to obtain maximum value for taxpayer investments is a fundamental requirement in all communication activities.

CSAS publications are all accessible on the Secretariat’s Web site (www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/) for download. CSAS clients can also be informed of the release of new CSAS publications by email upon request to the CSAS Secretariat.

The Guide for the Production of Fisheries and Oceans Canada Reports (2003) states that electronic publication is an efficient, cost-saving method of disseminating departmental information. If a report is available to the public electronically, there are no specific requirements to print and distribute hard copies of the documents for general distribution.

The Council of Fisheries and Oceans Libraries (COFOL) have established a procedure to store electronic copies of departmental publications and make them available to the public.

DFO Communications Branch at Headquarters manages the mandatory distribution for publications, including the requirements of the Depository Services Program (DSP), National Library of Canada, and DFO Libraries. For electronic publications, Communications Branch at Headquarters will distribute a hard copy print-out of the publication, as well as the URL, to the appropriate organizations.

6. Application and authority

Questions on the policy may be addressed by mail or e-mail to:

Director, Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat
Oceans and Science Sector
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
200 Kent St.
Ottawa, ON,
Canada K1A 0E6

CSAS-SCCS@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Date modified:

Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique
Politique sur la diffusion des publications

1. Titre de la politique

Politique du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique (SCCS) sur la diffusion des publications.

2. Date d’entrée en vigueur

Cette politique entre en vigueur le 1er mai 2010.

3. Objectif de la politique

Faire en sorte que les publications du SCCS du ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) soient distribuées aux clients de façon rentable, tout en respectant les obligations fédérales en vertu de la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada.

4. Énoncé de la politique

Les publications du SCCS ne peuvent être consultées qu’en format électronique.

5. Contexte

Les coûts d'impression du SCCS ont augmenté de façon constante au cours des dernières années, principalement en raison du plus grand nombre de demandes d’avis et de publications connexes ainsi que de l’augmentation des coûts de production.

Tel qu’on le mentionne dans la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada (2004), « il est essentiel d'utiliser les fonds publics de manière responsable dans toutes les activités de communication afin de maximiser l'investissement des contribuables ».

Toutes les publications du SCCS peuvent être téléchargées sur le site Web du Secrétariat (www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/). Les clients du SCCS peuvent également être informés de la date de publication des nouveaux documents du SCCS par courriel s’ils en font la demande auprès du SCCS.

Selon le Guide pour la préparation des rapports de Pêches et Océans Canada (2003), « la publication électronique est un moyen efficace et économique de diffuser l’information ministérielle. Lorsque le public a accès à un rapport sous format électronique, il n’est pas nécessaire d’imprimer de multiples copies pour une éventuelle distribution ».

Le Conseil des bibliothécaires de Pêches et Océans (CBPO) a établi une procédure pour stocker des exemplaires électroniques des publications ministérielles et les mettre à la disposition du public.

La Direction générale des communications de l’Administration centrale du MPO s’occupe de la diffusion obligatoire des publications, y compris des exigences relatives au Programme des services de dépôt (PSD), à la Bibliothèque nationale du Canada et aux bibliothèques de Pêches et Océans Canada. Dans le cas des publications électroniques, la Direction générale des communications de l’Administration centrale fournira un exemplaire imprimé de la publication ainsi que l’URL aux organismes appropriés.

6. Application et autorité

Toute question concernant cette politique peut être soumise par courrier ou par courriel à :

Directeur, Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique
Secteur des Océans et des Sciences
Pêches et Océans Canada
200, rue Kent
Ottawa, ON
Canada, K1A 0E6

CSAS-SCCS@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Date de modification :